Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Home
Home > Bus Handbook > Driver's licence laws > Mandatory alcohol education and treatment
Text size Enlarge Text Shrink Text
Search   |  
Driver's licence laws
 
Mandatory alcohol education and treatment
 

If you are convicted of an impaired driving-related Criminal Code offence, you must complete an alcohol-education-and-treatment program during your licence suspen­sion, also referred to as a remedial measures program.

If you are convicted of a drinking-and-driving-related Criminal Code offence, you must take the impaired driving program called Back on Track, delivered by the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health. The three-part program, which is available across the province, involves assessment, education or treatment, and follow­up. You must pay for the program. If you have not completed the Back on Track program by the time your Criminal Code suspension expires, your licence will be further suspended until you have completed the remedial requirements.

This program also applies to Ontario residents convicted of driving-related Criminal Code offences in any other province of Canada, or equivalent offences in the states of Michigan and New York, as well as to out-of-province drivers who are convicted in Ontario.

If your driver’s licence has been suspended for driving in the warn range of .05 to .08 for a second time in a five-year period, you must com­plete a remedial alcohol education program in 120 days from the date of the suspension. For a third or sub­sequent occurrence of driving in the warn range, you must complete a remedial alcohol-treatment program within 180 days from the date of the suspension. You must pay for these remedial programs, which are also delivered by the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health. Failure to com­plete the required remedial program within the specified time period will result in a licence suspension until the remedial program is completed.