Electric Vehicles


Frequently asked questions

    1. What are the different types of electric vehicle? Where do hybrids fit in?
    2. Will I have to replace my electric vehicle’s battery?
    3. Are electric vehicles safe?
    4. What vehicles are eligible for a rebate?
    5. Who can apply for the rebates?
    6. Can I get a rebate if I lease an EV?
    7. What happens if I do not comply with program conditions?
    8. Why is Ontario encouraging the adoption of electric vehicles and home charging?
    9. How will electric vehicles affect the flow of traffic in HOV lanes?

1. What are the different types of electric vehicle? Where do hybrids fit in?


Hybrid electric vehicles (HEVs) on the road today can have two complementary drive systems: a gasoline engine and fuel tank; and an electric motor, battery and controls. The engine and the electric motor can turn the transmission at the same time, and the transmission then turns the wheels. HEVs cannot be recharged from the electricity grid. HEVs are not considered electric vehicles for the purposes of the Electric Vehicle Incentive Program.

Plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEVs) run on an electric drive train and battery, which can be plugged into an external source of electricity to recharge. However, PHEVs have the support of an internal combustion engine that may be used to recharge the vehicle’s battery and/or to replace the electric drive train when the battery is low and more power is required.

A battery electric vehicle (BEV) runs entirely on a battery and electric drive train, without the support of a traditional internal combustion engine and must be plugged into an external source of electricity to recharge its battery.

PHEVs and BEVs are both eligible for rebates under the Electric Vehicle Incentive Program. HEVs are not eligible.


2. Will I have to replace my electric vehicle's battery?

The battery packs used in electric vehicles are designed to last the life of the vehicle and typically come with an eight year or 160,000 km manufacturer’s warranty.

Replacement costs vary but are expected to be in the range of 1,000s of dollars, similar to replacing an engine.


3. Are electric vehicles safe?

Yes. All electric vehicle manufacturers must meet stringent federal safety standards. In addition, manufacturers have a strong incentive to produce safe and reliable vehicles, as their reputation and the future viability of the electric vehicle industry depend on the quality of the cars they produce. Manufacturers have spent years developing the new technologies that make these vehicles possible.

All the electric vehicles eligible for a rebate under Ontario’s Electric Vehicle Incentive Program are highway-capable and can travel at the same speed as conventional vehicles. Their acceleration is comparable to that of similar conventional vehicles.


4. What vehicles are eligible for a rebate?

New plug-in hybrid electric or battery electric vehicles that are roadworthy and registered, plated, and insured in Ontario are eligible for rebates.

Check the complete list of eligible vehicles.


5. Who can apply for the rebates

The Electric Vehicle Incentive Program is open to persons, businesses, municipalities, and organizations for the purchase or lease of vehicles registered and plated in Ontario. Applicants are eligible for rebates to support the purchase of 25 vehicles or less per calendar year.

Direct purchases by the provincial or federal government, or their agencies and entities are not eligible for incentives. Original Equipment Manufacturers and their agents are also ineligible.

Read the complete eligibility and program details.


6. Can I get a rebate if I lease an electric vehicle?

Yes. To receive the full rebate, the lease term must be 36 months. For vehicles leased for shorter terms, the rebate is scaled: 33.3% of the full amount for a 12 month lease and 66.7% of the full amount for a 24 month lease.

If you shorten your lease at a later date, you will be required to return the full amount of your rebate.


7. What happens if I do not comply with the Electric Vehicle Incentive Program conditions?

Dealerships not in compliance with the Electric Vehicle Incentive Program conditions can no longer act as an agent under the program.

Applicants/registered owners not in compliance with the Electric Vehicle Incentive or Charging Incentive Program are ineligible for future incentives and may be required to return any incentive payment as a debt due to the Crown. Please review (with your agent if one is used) and understand the declarations on the application form before signing it.


8. Why is Ontario encouraging the adoption of electric vehicles and home charging?

Electric vehicles reduce harmful emissions in our communities. They also support jobs in the new and emerging green economy.

The intent of the Electric Vehicle Incentive Program is to reward early adopters and make it easier for people to buy and drive electric vehicles.

We’ve had our Electric Vehicle Incentive Program in place for about three years. The Charging Incentive Program is a critical next step in encouraging the growth of this emerging market in Ontario.

By helping Ontario drivers install home charging stations, we’re encouraging off-peak charging. These stations contribute to grid reliability, boost vehicle driving time and help ensure the proper installation of third party certified home charging stations.


9. How will electric vehicles affect the flow of traffic in HOV lanes?

It is important not to overload the capacity of the HOV lanes or reduce their primary function in managing congestion, which is why access to HOV lanes will be granted to green plated vehicles for a limited five-year window. The Ministry of Transportation will continue to monitor capacity in the HOV lanes during the program.

Frequently asked questions...

Véhicules électriques


Foire aux questions

    1. Quels sont les différents types de véhicules électriques? Où les véhicules hybrides se situent-ils?
    2. Devrai-je remplacer la batterie de mon véhicule électrique?
    3. Les véhicules électriques sont-ils sécuritaires?
    4. Quels véhicules donnent droit à une remise?
    5. Qui peut demander les remises?
    6. Puis-je obtenir une remise si je loue un VE?
    7. Qu’arrive-t-il si je ne me conforme pas aux conditions du programme?
    8. Pourquoi l'Ontario encourage-t-il l'adoption des véhicules électriques et la recharge à domicile?
    9. Comment les véhicules électriques influeront-ils sur le débit de circulation des voies réservées aux VMO?

1. Quels sont les différents types de véhicules électriques? Où les véhicules hybrides se situent-ils?

Les véhicules hybrides électriques (VHE) actuellement en circulation peuvent avoir deux systèmes de propulsion complémentaires : un moteur à essence avec son réservoir de carburant et un moteur électrique avec sa batterie et ses commandes. Le moteur à combustion et le moteur électrique peuvent entraîner les organes de transmission en même temps, ces derniers faisant alors tourner les roues. Les VHE ne peuvent pas être rechargés à partir du réseau électrique. Les VHE ne sont pas considérés comme étant des véhicules électriques aux fins du Programme d'encouragement pour les véhicules électriques.


Les véhicules hybrides électriques rechargeables (VHER) fonctionnent grâce à un groupe motopropulseur électrique alimenté par une batterie, qui peut être branchée à une source externe d'électricité pour être rechargée. Cependant, les VHER comptent aussi sur un moteur à combustion interne qui peut être utilisé pour recharger la batterie du véhicule et (ou) se substituer au groupe motopropulseur électrique lorsque la batterie est faible et qu’il faut plus de puissance.


Un véhicule électrique à batterie (VEB) est mû entièrement par un groupe motopropulseur électrique alimenté par une batterie, sans le support d'un moteur à combustion interne traditionnel, et doit être branché à une source externe d'électricité pour recharger sa batterie.


Les VHER et les VEB donnent droit tous les deux à des remises dans le cadre du Programme d'encouragement pour les véhicules électriques. Les VHE n'y donnent pas droit.


2. Devrai-je remplacer la batterie de mon véhicule électrique?

Les batteries d'accumulateurs utilisées dans les véhicules électriques sont conçues pour durer pendant la vie utile du véhicule et sont normalement assorties d'une garantie du fabricant de huit ans ou 160 000 km.

Les coûts de remplacement varient, mais on estime qu'ils sont de quelques milliers de dollars, comme ceux du remplacement d'un moteur à essence.


3. Les véhicules électriques sont-ils sécuritaires?

Oui. Tous les fabricants de véhicules électriques doivent respecter de rigoureuses normes de sécurité fédérales. De plus, les fabricants de véhicules électriques sont fortement incités à construire des véhicules sécuritaires et fiables, car leur réputation et la pérennité de cette industrie dépendent de la qualité des véhicules qu'ils construisent. Les fabricants ont consacré plusieurs années à mettre au point les nouvelles technologies grâce auxquelles la fabrication de ces véhicules est possible.

Tous les véhicules électriques donnant droit à une remise dans le cadre du Programme d'encouragement pour les véhicules électriques de l'Ontario peuvent circuler sur autoroute à la même vitesse que les véhicules traditionnels. Leur accélération se compare à celle des véhicules traditionnels semblables.


4. Quels véhicules donnent droit à une remise?

Les véhicules hybrides électriques rechargeables et les véhicules électriques à batterie neufs conformes aux normes qui sont enregistrés, immatriculés et assurés en Ontario donnent droit aux remises.
Consulter la liste complète des véhicules admissibles.


5. Qui peut demander les remises?

Le Programme d'encouragement pour les véhicules électriques s'adresse aux personnes, aux entreprises, aux municipalités et aux organismes qui achètent ou louent des véhicules enregistrés et immatriculés en Ontario. Les demandeurs ont droit aux remises à l'achat de 25 véhicules ou moins par année civile.

Les achats directs par le gouvernement provincial ou le gouvernement fédéral, ou par leurs organismes et entités ne sont pas admissibles aux primes d'encouragement. Constructeurs automobiles et ses agents ne sont admissibles non plus.

Lire les détails complets sur l'admissibilité et le programme.


6. Puis-je obtenir une remise si je loue un véhicule électrique?

Oui. Le bail doit avoir une durée de 36 mois pour donner droit à la remise complète. La remise est progressive pour les baux d'une durée inférieure : 33,3 % du plein montant pour un bail de 12 mois et 66,7 % du plein montant pour un bail de 24 mois.

Si, plus tard, vous réduisez la durée de votre bail, vous devrez rembourser le plein montant de votre remise.


7. Qu’arrive-t-il si je ne me conforme pas aux conditions du Programme d'encouragement pour les véhicules électriques?


Les établissements concessionnaires qui ne se conforment pas aux conditions du Programme d'encouragement pour les véhicules électriques ne peuvent plus agir à titre de mandataires dans le cadre du programme.

Les demandeurs ou propriétaires enregistrés qui ne se conforment pas aux conditions du Programme d'encouragement pour les véhicules électriques ou du Programme d'encouragement pour les infrastructures de recharge des véhicules électriques n'auront pas droit aux incitatifs futurs et pourraient devoir rendre toute somme qui leur a été versée à titre d'incitatif comme une dette envers la Couronne. Veuillez examiner (avec votre mandataire, le cas échéant) et comprendre les déclarations figurant dans le formulaire de demande avant de le signer.


8. Pourquoi l'Ontario encourage-t-il l'adoption des véhicules électriques et la recharge à domicile?

Les véhicules électriques réduisent les émissions nocives dans nos collectivités. En outre, ils créent des emplois dans la nouvelle économie verte.

Le Programme d'encouragement pour les véhicules électriques a pour but de récompenser les premiers consommateurs qui adoptent ces véhicules et d'en faciliter l'achat.

Le Programme d'encouragement pour les véhicules électriques est en place depuis environ trois ans. L'étape suivante, le Programme d'encouragement pour les infrastructures de recharge des véhicules électriques, est cruciale parce qu'elle vise à encourager la croissance de ce marché émergent en Ontario.

En aidant les conducteurs de l’Ontario à installer des bornes de recharge chez eux, nous encourageons le chargement pendant les heures creuses. Ce programme renforce la fiabilité du réseau, prolonge la durée d’utilisation des véhicules et fait en sorte que les bornes soient correctement installées par des entreprises certifiées.


9. Comment les véhicules électriques influeront-ils sur le débit de circulation des voies réservées aux VMO?

Il importe de ne pas dépasser la capacité des VMO ou de réduire leur fonction première de gestion de la congestion; c'est pourquoi les véhicules ayant des plaques d'immatriculation vertes pourront circuler dans les VMO pendant une période limitée de cinq ans. Le ministère des Transports continuera de surveiller la capacité des VMO pendant la durée du programme.


Foire aux questions...