Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Text size Enlarge Text Shrink Text
Search   |  

Guidelines for Municipal Official Plan Preparation and Review



2. Transportation Planning Policies and Guidelines


Transportation Planning Policies and Guidelines

Municipalities will be required to demonstrate that their official plans conform to the transportation-related policies in the Provincial Policy Statement (PPS) and in relevant provincial plans such as the Growth Plan for the Greater Golden Horseshoe, Regional Transportation Plan for the Greater Toronto and Hamilton Area Greenbelt Plan, Niagara Escarpment Plan, Oak Ridges Moraine Conservation Plan and Parkway Belt West Plan where applicable.

The transportation-related policies of the PPS and Growth Plan are complemented by various implementation tools – including, but not limited to, other provincial plans, guidelines and best practices. These tools and materials are available to assist planning authorities and decision-makers with implementing the policies of the PPS, Growth Plan and Regional Transportation Plan by illustrating ways for the policies to be implemented.

2.1 Transportation Planning Policies

2.1.1 Provincial Policy Statement (PPS)

All municipal OPs in Ontario are required to be consistent with the policies set out in the PPS. The PPS contains clear overall policy directions on matters of provincial interest related to land use planning and development. The "shall be consistent with" rule means that municipalities are required to ensure that policies under the PPS are applied as an essential part of the land use planning decision-making process.

Sections 1.6.5 and 1.6.6 of the PPS relate specifically to transportation and infrastructure policies. However, policies included in many other sections of the PPS could influence transportation systems and will be taken into account during MTO's review of the OP. OPs shall be consistent with the PPS in its entirety.

MTO, in collaboration with MMAH, will review municipal plans to ensure conformity with the PPS under the One Window Planning System, and in some cases, through the Municipal Plan Review process. For more information: www.mah.gov.on.ca/Asset1421.aspx

2.1.2 Growth Plan for the Greater Golden Horseshoe

In addition to the considerations listed above, all official plans for municipalities within the Greater Golden Horseshoe (GGH) are also required to conform to the policies of the Growth Plan for the Greater Golden Horseshoe.

The Growth Plan was released in June 2006 and outlines a set of policies for managing growth and development and guiding planning decisions in the Greater Golden Horseshoe over 25 years. This broad-based plan represents a planning "vision" for the GGH. The Places to Grow Act (2005) requires that planning decisions made by the province, municipalities and other authorities conform to the policies contained in the Growth Plan.

Within the Growth Plan, Sections 3.2.2, 3.2.3 and 3.2.4 contain specific transportation-related policies with which municipal OPs must conform. These policies include the promotion of transit, bicycling, walking, and transportation demand management, the identification of multi-modal corridors and the facilitation of efficient goods movement. In addition, policies in other sections of the Growth Plan have important implications for transportation, especially those regarding where and how the region will grow, such as in Sections 2.1 and 2.2 which promote compact, complete communities that are walkable and transit-supportive in planning and design. The policies of the Growth Plan must be viewed in their entirety when considering transportation planning, and OPs must conform with the entire Growth Plan

For more information: www.placestogrow.ca

2.2 Other Plans, Guidelines and Best Practices

2.2.1 HOV Network Plan

The Province has drafted a plan to reduce traffic congestion on many of the highways in the Greater Golden Horseshoe (GGH) by adding high occupancy vehicle ( (HOV) lanes. HOV lanes provide an incentive for people to carpool or take transit; thus they move more people in fewer vehicles. Giving people better alternatives to driving alone is one of the most effective ways to tackle congestion now and to provide a transportation system that is more sustainable in the future. Official plans should incorporate the priorities and objectives of the HOV network plan.

For more information: www.mto.gov.on.ca/english/traveller/hov

2.2.2 Transit-Supportive Guidelines

In communities of all sizes, environmental, social and economic concerns provide an impetus for creating more transit–supportive communities. The Provincial Policy Statement (PPS) includes a number of transit-supportive planning policies that all Ontario communities must be consistent with. MTO’s 2012 Transit-Supportive Guidelines are intended to assist municipalities in implementing the policies and objectives of the PPS as well as those of the Growth Plan for the Greater Golden Horseshoe and the Growth Plan for Northern Ontario, where applicable.

The Transit-Supportive Guidelines provide strategies, case studies and resources to assist land use planners, transit planners, municipal politicians, developers, transportation engineers and others in creating an environment that is supportive of transit and in increasing transit ridership.

These guidelines are a distillation of transit-friendly land use planning, urban design and operational practices, drawing from experiences in Ontario, elsewhere in North America and abroad. They include transit-supportive principles and strategies to promote development patterns that make transit less expensive, less circuitous, more efficient and more convenient, and to enhance the service and operational characteristics of transit systems to make them more attractive to potential transit users.

For more information: www.mto.gov.on.ca/english/transit/supportive-guideline/.

2.2.3 A Guide to Preparing a Transit Ridership Growth Plan

In 2005, MTO, with the support and assistance of the municipal sector, developed A Guide to Preparing a Transit Ridership Growth Plan. The guide was developed to assist municipalities in preparing their own municipal transit ridership growth plans. The Guide is a generic best practices guide that outlines general strategies to achieve ridership growth. It also suggests commonly used initiatives for both conventional and specialized transit.

For more information contact MTO's Provincial Transit Policy Office at 416-585-7387.

2.2.4 Bicycle Policy

The ministry’s Bicycle Policy, which defines MTO’s role in supporting cycling, is under review. While the policy is under review, municipalities that would like to construct cycling facilities that impact provincial highways, or which would require changes to provincial highway infrastructure, are invited to contact MTO's Regional Offices to discuss their plans. MTO reviews cycling proposals on a case by case basis and will allow changes to take place on provincial highway structure only after an analysis of the impact on safety and traffic operations. MTO does not currently provide funding support for new cycling infrastructure.

For more information on the Bicycle Policy, or assistance in contacting the appropriate Regional Office, please contact MTO's Sustainable Transportation Office at activetransportation@ontario.ca.

2.2.5 Ontario Bikeways Planning and Design Guidelines

MTO publishes the Ontario Bikeways Planning and Design Guidelines. This document contains a set of guidelines that show geometric designs for a number of bicycle facilities. We would encourage municipalities to review best practices in bicycle design in other Canadian provinces and US States for additional guidance. Also, national cycling guidelines are available through Transportation Association of Canada.

For more information, please contact the MTO's Design and Contract Standards Office at (905) 704-2293.

Top of page   Top of page

Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Taille du texte Augmentation de la taille du texte Réduction de la taille du texte
Recherche   |  

Lignes directrices du ministère des Transports de l’Ontario sur la préparation et l’examen du plan municipal officiel



2. POLITIQUES ET LIGNES DIRECTRICES CONCERNANT LA PLANIFICATION DES TRANSPORTS


2 POLITIQUES ET LIGNES DIRECTRICES CONCERNANT LA PLANIFICATION DES TRANSPORTS

Les municipalités devront prouver que leur plan officiel se conforme aux politiques de transport énoncées dans la Déclaration de principes provinciale (DPP) et dans les plans provinciaux pertinents tels que le Plan de croissance de la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe, le Plan régional de transport pour la région du grand Toronto et de Hamilton et le Plan de la ceinture de verdure, le Plan d'aménagement de l'escarpement du Niagara, le Plan de conservation de la moraine d'Oak Ridges, et le Plan d'aménagement de la ceinture ouest de promenades, le cas échéant.

Divers outils de mise en œuvre, sans en exclure d’autres, et d’autres plans provinciaux, lignes directrices et meilleures pratiques viennent compléter les politiques de la DPP et le Plan de croissance en matière de transport. Ces outils et ces documents sont là pour aider les services de l’urbanisme et les décideurs à mettre en œuvre les politiques de la DPP, du Plan de croissance et du Plan régional de transport en proposant des moyens d’appliquer ces politiques.

 

 


2.1 Politiques relatives à la planification des transports

2.1.1 Déclaration de principes provinciale (DPP)

Tous les PO municipaux en Ontario doivent se conformer aux politiques énoncées dans la DPP. La DPP contient des orientations stratégiques générales bien définies sur des sujets d’intérêt provincial se rapportant à l’aménagement et à la mise en valeur du territoire. La règle selon laquelle les municipalités « tiennent compte » signifie que les municipalités doivent veiller à ce que les politiques prises en application de la DPP soient appliquées comme faisant partie intégrante du processus décisionnel relatif à l’aménagement du territoire.

Les sections 1.6.5 et 1.6.6 de la DPP touchent en particulier aux politiques relatives aux transports et aux infrastructures. Par contre, les politiques figurant dans de nombreuses autres sections de la DPP pourraient influer sur les systèmes de transport et elles seront prises en considération pendant l’examen du PO mené par le MTO. Les PO doivent être conformes avec la DPP dans son intégralité.

Le MTO, en collaboration avec le MAML, passera en revue les plans municipaux afin de s’assurer de leur conformité à la DPP dans le cadre du Système de planification à guichet unique et, dans certains cas, par le truchement du processus d’examen du plan municipal. Pour obtenir plus d’information : http://www.mah.gov.on.ca/Asset3407.aspx.

2.1.2 Plan de croissance de la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe

En plus des éléments d’appréciation susmentionnés, tous les plans officiels des municipalités se situant dans la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe (RÉGH) doivent aussi respecter les politiques énoncées dans le Plan de croissance de la RÉGH.

Le Plan de croissance, publié en juin 2006, présente un ensemble de politiques pour gérer la croissance et la mise en valeur et orienter les décisions de planification dans la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe pendant 25 ans. Ce vaste plan représente une « vision » de planification pour la RÉGH. La Loi sur les zones de croissance stipule que de telles décisions prises par la province, les municipalités et d’autres administrations, doivent s’aligner sur les politiques du Plan de croissance.

Dans le Plan de croissance, les sections 3.2.2, 3.2.3 et 3.2.4 contiennent des politiques propres au transport sur lesquelles chaque PO municipal doit s’aligner. Ces politiques comprennent la promotion de l’usage des transports en commun, du vélo, de la marche, et de la gestion de la demande en transport, l’identification de couloirs de transport multimodaux et la simplification de la circulation des marchandises. De plus, les politiques énoncées dans les autres sections du Plan de croissance ont des incidences considérables sur les transports, surtout celles concernant l’endroit et la manière dont la région se développera, comme dans les sections 2.1 et 2.2 qui promeuvent la planification et l’aménagement de manière plus compacte des collectivités que l’on peut parcourir à pied et qui sont en faveur des transports en commun. Les politiques du Plan de croissance doivent être considérées dans leur intégralité quand on réfléchit à la planification des transports, et les PO doivent s’aligner sur tout le Plan de croissance.

Pour obtenir plus d’information : www.placestogrow.ca

 

2.2 Autres plans, lignes directrices et meilleures pratiques

2.2.1 Plan pour le réseau des VMO

La province a préparé un plan visant à réduire l’engorgement des principales routes de la RÉGH en ajoutant des voies réservées aux véhicules multioccupants (VMO). Les VMO motivent les personnes à faire du covoiturage ou à emprunter les transports en commun; ainsi, grâce aux VMO, il y a plus de monde sur les routes à bord d’un plus petit nombre de véhicules. Proposer aux gens de meilleures alternatives à la conduite seule est un excellent moyen de s’attaquer aujourd’hui aux problèmes d’encombrement sur les routes et de proposer un système de transport qui soit plus durable à l’avenir. Les plans officiels doivent contenir les priorités et les objectifs énoncés dans le plan pour le réseau des VMO.

Pour obtenir plus d’information : www.mto.gov.on.ca/french/traveller/hov/    

2.2.2 Lignes directrices en matière d'aménagement axé sur les transports en commun

Dans les collectivités de toutes tailles, diverses préoccupations d’ordre environnemental, social et économique donnent une lancée à la création de collectivités plus axées sur les transports en commun. La Déclaration de principes provinciale (DPP) comprend un certain nombre de politiques en matière d’aménagement axé sur les transports en commun auxquelles les collectivités de l’Ontario doivent se conformer. Les Lignes directrices en matière d’aménagement axé sur les transports en commun de 2012 du MTO visent à aider les collectivités à mettre en œuvre les politiques et objectifs de la DPP ainsi que ceux du Plan de croissance de la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe et du Plan de croissance pour le Nord de l’Ontario, s’il y a lieu.

Les Lignes directrices en matière d’aménagement axé sur les transports en commun présentent des stratégies, des études de cas et des ressources visant à aider les urbanistes, les planificateurs en transports, les responsables politiques municipaux, les promoteurs, les ingénieurs des transports et d’autres intervenants à créer un environnement qui soutient les transports en commun et en augmente l’utilisation.

Ces lignes directrices sont un distillat de pratiques d’aménagement du territoire et d’aménagement urbain et de pratiques opérationnelles axées sur les transports en commun et tirées de l’expérience acquise en Ontario, ailleurs en Amérique du Nord et à l’étranger. Elles comprennent des principes et des stratégies axés sur les transports en commun qui favorisent l’établissement de modèles de développement qui rendent les transports en commun moins coûteux, plus directs, plus efficaces et plus commodes et qui améliorent les caractéristiques liées aux services et aux opérations des systèmes de transport en commun de manière à les rendre plus attrayants auprès des éventuels usagers des transports en commun.

Pour obtenir plus d’information : www.mto.gov.on.ca/french/transit/supportive-guideline/.

2.2.3 Guide de préparation d’un plan de croissance de l’utilisation des transports en commun

En 2005, le MTO a élaboré, avec le soutien et l’aide du secteur municipal, un Guide de préparation d’un plan de croissance de l’utilisation des transports en commun. Le guide a été conçu pour aider les municipalités à préparer leur propre plan de croissance municipal d’utilisation des transports en commun. Ce guide est un condensé des meilleures pratiques et présente des stratégies générales pour parvenir à une croissance du taux d'utilisation des transports en commun. Il recommande aussi des initiatives communément utilisées autant par les transports en commun habituels que par les transports en commun spécialisés.

Pour obtenir plus d’information, veuillez communiquer avec la Direction provinciale des politiques de transport en commun du MTO au 416 585-7387.

2.2.4 Politique sur le vélo

La politique sur le vélo, qui définit le rôle que joue le ministère des Transports pour encourager et faciliter le cyclisme, est en cours d'examen. Pendant l'examen, les municipalités qui voudraient se doter d'aménagements cyclables qui se répercuteraient sur les routes provinciales ou nécessiteraient que des modifications soient apportées à l'infrastructure routière provinciale sont invitées à communiquer avec un bureau régional du ministère des Transports pour discuter de leur plan. Les propositions se rapportant au cyclisme sont étudiées dossier par dossier, et le ministère autorise les changements apportés à l'infrastructure routière provinciale seulement après avoir analysé les effets que cela pourrait avoir sur la sécurité et la circulation. Le ministère n'accorde pour le moment aucun appui financier pour de nouveaux aménagements cyclables.

Pour en savoir plus sur la politique sur le vélo ou obtenir de l'aide pour communiquer avec un bureau régional, veuillez vous adresser au Bureau pour le transport durable (ministère des Transports de l'Ontario), à l'adresse activetransportation@ontario.ca.

2.2.5 Lignes directrices sur la planification et l’aménagement de voies cyclables en Ontario

Le ministère des Transports de l'Ontario a publié le document intitulé Lignes directrices sur la planification et l'aménagement de voies cyclables en Ontario (Ontario Bikeways Planning and Design Guidelines). Le document renferme un ensemble de lignes directrices qui montrent des conceptions géométriques pour un certain nombre d'aménagements cyclables. Le ministère encourage les municipalités à examiner les pratiques exemplaires que d'autres provinces du Canada et des États américains emploient pour la conception d'aménagements cyclables. On peut aussi obtenir les lignes directrices nationales sur le cyclisme en s'adressant à l'Association des transports du Canada.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le Bureau de la conception des normes de contrats (ministère des Transports de l'Ontario), au 905 704-2293.

FileZilla