Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Home
Home > Bus Handbook > Bus licence classes C and F > Daily inspection, classes C and F
Text size Enlarge Text Shrink Text
Search   |  
III. Bus licence classes C and F
 
Daily inspection, classes C and F
 

A driver is not permitted to drive a bus, motor coach, school bus or a school-purposes vehicle unless the driver or another person has, within the previous 24 hours, conducted an inspection of the vehicle and completed an inspection report. The driver must continue to check all systems throughout the day for defects, because the condition of the vehicle can change. The driver and operator are both responsible for the safe operating condition of the commercial motor vehicle. By staying alert, you can spot trouble before it causes a breakdown or collision.

For the full inspection schedules outlining all major and minor defects, which all commercial vehicle drivers are required to complete daily, refer to the Ontario Regulation 199/07 “Commercial Motor Vehicle Inspections” in the Highway Traffic Act at www.e-laws.gov.on.ca.

The inspection is conducted in accordance with an inspection schedule. It provides a list of vehicle systems and compo­nents that the driver is required to inspect, and provides a list of defects to guide and assist the driver.

The schedule for the inspection depends upon the type of bus and its use, as follows:

Schedule 2

Buses (except school buses), motor coaches, trailers towed by either vehicle.

The inspection schedule divides defects into two categories, major and minor. When a minor defect is identified, the driver must record the defect on the inspection report and report it to the operator. Drivers are not permitted to drive a vehicle with a major defect.

Drivers must carry both the current inspection report and the applicable inspection schedule. Electronic reports and schedules are permitted.

Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Taille du texte Augmentation de la taille du texte Réduction de la taille du texte
Recherche   |  
III. Inspection, permis de catégories C et F
 
Inspection quotidienne
 

Il est interdit de conduire un autobus, un autocar, un autobus scolaire ou un véhicule à usage scolaire si, au cours des 24 dernières heures, le conducteur ou une autre personne n’a pas inspecté le véhicule et n’a pas rempli de rapport d’inspection. Le conducteur doit continuer à vérifier que tous les systèmes sont en bon état pendant la journée parce que l’état du véhicule peut changer. Le conducteur et l’utilisateur sont tous deux responsables de la sécurité du véhicule utilitaire. En faisant preuve de vigilance, on peut voir venir les problèmes avant qu’ils ne provoquent une panne ou une collision.

Pour prendre connaissance des calendriers d’inspection (où sont énumérés tous les défauts majeurs et mineurs) et des détails de l’inspection que les conducteurs de véhicules utilitaires doivent faire tous les jours, consultez le Règlement de l’Ontario 199/07 sur l’inspection des véhicules utilitaires, pris en application du Code de la route, à www.ontario.ca/fr/lois.

L’inspection est faite conformément au calendrier d’inspection. Ce calendrier indique les systèmes et les pièces du véhicule que le conducteur doit inspecter et comprend une liste de défauts pour aider le conducteur dans cette tâche.

Le calendrier d’inspection utilisé dépend du type d’autobus et de l’usage que l’on en fait.

Calendrier 2
Autobus (sauf les autobus scolaires), autocars et remorques tirées par l’un ou l’autre de ces véhicules.

Pour les besoins du calendrier d’inspection, les défauts sont soit majeurs, soit mineurs. S’il repère un défaut mineur, le conducteur doit l’inscrire dans le rapport d’inspection et en informer l’utilisateur. Il est interdit aux conducteurs de conduire un véhicule ayant un défaut majeur.

Les conducteurs doivent avoir en leur possession le rapport d’inspection actuel et le calendrier d’inspection en vigueur. Les rapports et les calendriers électroniques sont permis.