Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Text size Enlarge Text Shrink Text
Search   |  
Getting your motorcycle licence
Level One road test

You must pass a road test of your driving skills to obtain a class M2 licence and move to Level Two. When you book the road test, you will be required to indicate the type of vehicle you plan to bring to the test (for example, motorcycle, limited-speed motorcycle or moped). The type of motorcycle you bring to the test will determine the type of licence you will receive.

If you pass the test using a limited-speed motorcycle or moped, you get an M2 licence with an L condition. The L condition restricts you to driving a limited-speed motorcycle or moped on public roads other than controlled-access highways and any other highways listed in Reg. 630 of the Highway Traffic Act.

If you pass the test on a three-wheeled motorcycle (motor tricycle or motorcycle with sidecar), you will receive an M2 licence with an M condition. The M condition will restrict you to driving only three-wheeled motorcycles on any public road in Ontario.

If you pass the test on a motor­cycle other than a three-wheeled motorcycle or a limited-speed motorcycle, you get an M2 licence (no L or M condition), and you may drive a motorcycle or motor tricycle on any public road in Ontario. You may also drive a moped or limited-speed motorcycle on public roads where they are permitted.

Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Taille du texte Augmentation de la taille du texte Réduction de la taille du texte
Recherche   |  
Cyclomoteurs
Examen pratique de niveau 1

Vous devez réussir un examen pratique pour obtenir un permis de catégorie M2 et passer au niveau 2. Lorsque vous prendrez rendez-vous pour faire cet examen, vous devrez indiquer quel type de véhicule vous fournirez (p. ex., une motocyclette, une motocyclette à vitesse limitée ou un cyclomoteur). Le type de véhicule que vous fournirez déterminera le type de permis que vous recevrez.

Si vous réussissez l’examen pratique en conduisant une motocyclette à vitesse limitée ou un cyclomoteur, vous obtiendrez un permis de catégorie M2 assorti d’une restriction L. Cette restriction signifie que vous pouvez conduire uniquement une motocyclette à vitesse limitée ou un cyclomoteur sur les routes autres que les routes à accès limité et les routes énumérées dans le Règlement 630 pris en application du Code de la route.

Si vous réussissez l’examen pratique en conduisant une motocyclette à trois roues (tricycle à moteur ou motocyclette équipée d’un side-car), vous obtiendrez un permis de catégorie M2 assorti de la restriction M. Cette restriction vous autorise à conduire une motocyclette à trois roues sur n’importe quelle voie publique en Ontario.

Si vous réussissez l’examen pratique en conduisant une motocyclette autre qu’une motocyclette à trois roues ou à vitesse limitée, vous obtiendrez un permis de catégorie M2 (sans restriction L ou M) et vous pourrez conduire une motocyclette ou un tricycle à moteur sur n’importe quelle voie publique. Vous pourrez également conduire un cyclomoteur ou une motocyclette à vitesse limitée sur les voies publiques où ces véhicules sont autorisés.