Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Home
Home > Motorcycles Handbook > Keeping a cushion of space around you > Sharing the road with large vehicles
Text size Enlarge Text Shrink Text
Search   |  
III. Keeping a cushion of space around you
Sharing the road with large vehicles

It is very important to know how to safely share the road with large vehi­cles such as tractor-trailers and buses. Keep the following factors in mind:

  • Blind spots
    Large vehicles have large blind spots on both sides. Avoid following too closely behind a large vehicle. Not only does it block your vision, but the driver of the large vehicle will not be able to see you back there. If the vehicle has to stop suddenly, you might crash into it. Remember that, if you can’t see the driver’s face in his or her side-view mirror, the driver probably can’t see you.
  • Stopping distance
    Many drivers do not realize that large vehicles require a much longer distance to stop than smaller vehicles. When passing a large vehicle, do not cut in front too closely. Not only is it discour­teous, it is dangerous because it reduces the space cushion the large vehicle needs in order to stop safely if the need arises. When you are passing a large vehicle, make allowances for this longer stopping distance.
  • Wide turns
    When making a right turn, a large vehicle may need to first swing wide to the left and then back around to the right in order to avoid hitting the right curb. If a large vehicle in front of you is making a right turn, do not move up into the space that opens up in the right lane; you are putting yourself into a very dangerous position. Once the front of the large vehicle has cleared the corner, the rest will move partially back into the right lane. If you are in that lane, your vehicle will be squeezed between the large vehicle and the curb. Instead, stay well back until the truck has completely cleared the lane. This situation can also occur on expressway off-ramps that have two left-turning lanes. Do not drive up into the left lane when a large vehicle is making a left turn in front of you. Stay well back until the truck has cleared the turn, or else you may get squeezed between the truck and the curb.
  • Rolling back
    Leave plenty of room when you are stopped behind a large vehicle. When the driver of a large vehicle releases the brakes after being stopped, the large vehicle may roll back.
  • Spray
    In bad weather, large vehicles are capable of spraying up large amounts of mud, snow, and debris, which could hit your face shield and block your vision, or even worse, cause you to lose control of your vehicle. Stay well back from large vehicles in bad weather.
  • Turbulence
    Passing a large vehicle on a motorcycle or moped is difficult and can be dangerous. Due to various factors such as air pressure and airflow, a large vehicle can create heavy turbulence that can seriously affect your ability to control your vehicle when you are passing the larger one. If you must pass a large vehicle, try to relax and work with the air turbulence. After you pass through the first blast of turbulent air coming off the back of the truck, you will feel a stream of air either pulling you toward the truck or pushing you away from it, depending on wind direction. Lean away from the truck if the wind is pulling you toward it, or lean toward the truck if you are being pushed away. More turbulence will be waiting for you coming off the front of the truck. Lean into this wind as you pass in front of the truck.

Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Taille du texte Augmentation de la taille du texte Réduction de la taille du texte
Recherche   |  
III. Garder un espace tampon autour de vous
Partager la route avec de gros véhicules

Il est très important de savoir comment partager la route avec de gros véhicules comme des semi-remorques et des autobus en toute sécurité. Tenez compte des points suivants :

  • Angle mort
    Les gros véhicules ont un angle mort considérable de chaque côté. Il importe donc de ne pas les suivre de trop près, car non seulement le véhicule vous empêchera de voir au loin, mais en plus le conducteur du véhicule ne vous verra pas. Si le véhicule doit freiner brusquement, vous pourriez le percuter. N’oubliez pas que, si vous ne pouvez voir le visage du conducteur dans son rétroviseur, cela signifie que ce dernier ne vous voit sans doute pas.
  • Distance de freinage
    Un grand nombre de conducteurs ne se rendent pas compte que les gros véhicules ont besoin de beaucoup plus d’espace pour freiner que les petits véhicules. Lorsque vous dépassez un gros véhicule, ne vous placez pas trop proche devant lui. Cela est impoli, mais surtout dangereux car le gros véhicule dispose de moins d’espace devant pour freiner en toute sécurité si cela est nécessaire. Tenez compte de la distance de freinage des gros véhicules lorsque vous les dépassez.
  • Grand rayon de braquage
    Il se peut que, lorsqu’il tourne à droite, un gros véhicule doive d’abord se déplacer vers la gauche pour ne pas heurter le bord de la chaussée à droite. Si un gros véhicule fait un virage à droite devant vous, ne vous placez pas dans l’espace qui se libère dans la voie de droite, car vous pourriez vous mettre en danger. En effet, lorsque le devant du gros véhicule aura dépassé l’intersection, le reste du véhicule reviendra dans la voie de droite. Si vous vous trouvez dans cette voie, vous serez coincé(e) entre le véhicule et le bord de la chaussée. Restez loin derrière le camion jusqu’à ce qu’il ait libéré la voie. Cette situation peut également se produire à la sortie des autoroutes, sur les bretelles qui ont deux voies de virage à gauche. Ne vous placez pas dans la voie de gauche si un gros véhicule effectue un virage à gauche devant vous. Restez loin derrière jusqu’à ce que le camion ait terminé le virage sans quoi vous pourriez être coincé(e) entre le camion et le bord de la chaussée.
  • Roulement en arrière
    Laissez suffisamment d’espace entre votre motocyclette ou votre cyclomoteur et un gros véhicule arrêté devant vous. Il se peut que, lorsque le conducteur desserrera les freins, le gros véhicule se mette à reculer.
  • Éclaboussures
    Quand il fait mauvais, les gros véhicules peuvent projeter de grandes quantités de boue, de neige et de débris qui pourraient heurter votre casque et vous bloquer la vue ou, pire encore, vous faire perdre la maîtrise de votre véhicule. Dans ces conditions, restez loin derrière les gros véhicules.
  • Turbulences
    Il est difficile et parfois dangereux pour un conducteur de motocyclette ou de cyclomoteur de dépasser un gros véhicule. Divers facteurs comme la pression et l’écoulement d’air font en sorte qu’un gros véhicule peut créer des turbulences considérables qui peuvent nuire à votre capacité de diriger votre motocyclette ou votre cyclomoteur lorsque vous dépassez ce véhicule. Si vous devez dépasser un gros véhicule, efforcez-vous de vous détendre et tirez parti de la turbulence. Après avoir traversé la première zone de turbulence produite par l’arrière du camion, vous sentirez un courant d’air qui vous tirera vers le camion ou vous en éloignera, selon la direction du vent. Penchez-vous dans la direction opposée au camion si le vent vous tire vers le camion ou penchez-vous vers le camion si le vent vous en éloigne. Vous traverserez une autre zone de turbulence à l’avant du camion. Penchez-vous dans la direction du vent lorsque vous dépasserez le camion.