The Draft 2041 Northern Ontario Multimodal Transportation Strategy

The Ministry of Transportation (MTO) and the Ministry of Northern Development and Mines (MNDM) are seeking public comments and feedback on the Draft 2041 Northern Ontario Multimodal Transportation Strategy (the Draft Strategy). The online engagement involves a questionnaire you can fill out to give us comments on the goals and directions of the draft strategy. The information collected will inform work towards the final strategy and action plan.

There are a number ways to provide comments and feedback on the draft Strategy including:

About the Northern Ontario Multimodal Transportation Strategy (NOMTS)

The Ministry of Transportation Ontario and Ministry of Northern Development and Mines are developing a Northern Ontario Multimodal Transportation Strategy which is a key initiative to create a globally competitive northern economy, support communities, renew and expand modern infrastructure and foster a healthy environment. The strategy looks at all modes of travel—road, rail, air and marine—as one transportation system.

When complete the final strategy will guide transportation policy, program and investment opportunities for a modern and sustainable transportation system in northern Ontario. MTO and MNDM are seeking public comments and feedback on the goals and directions included in this document, to inform work towards the final strategy and action plans.

The final strategy will support economic development in northern Ontario and is expected to be released by the end of 2017.

The NOMTS Questionnaire

The online outreach includes a questionnaire that will help the province understand what is important for transportation planning in Ontario’s north and will help to ensure that the transportation system in northern Ontario meets your needs for the future.

The online questionnaire will take approximately 10-20 minutes to complete. The completion time depends on how many questions you choose to answer.

Why MTO is conducting online outreach for the Draft Strategy

The Draft Strategy was developed based on technical analysis and input received during the fall 2016 outreach from many partners, including northern Ontario residents, Indigenous peoples and communities, businesses, service providers, governments and non-profit organizations. The draft strategy is being distributed for public comment to help inform Ontario’s development of the final strategy and action plans. An online questionnaire was developed with the intention to reach out to as many people as possible who live, work and travel in northern Ontario.

There are other ways in which feedback can be provided: the NOMTS project website , e-mailing contact@nomts.ca or the Environmental Registry (013-0889) .

The questionnaire was developed by MTO and MNDM. More information is available on the NOMTS project website. The project team may also be contacted by telephone at 1 844 505-5006.

Information collection and your privacy

The information that you provide on the online questionnaire is protected under the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act. No personal information is being collected.

The questionnaire seeks feedback on the vision, goals and directions of the Draft Strategy. The feedback will assist the government in better understanding transportation priorities for the North. Questions about demographic details and location are asked to understand priorities across different demographic groups and geographic areas in northern Ontario.

The data will help planners understand priorities for future transportation planning. The results will be used to help the province understand what directions are important to people who live, work and travel in the north, to support development of a final Strategy and Action Plan.

Feedback and comment period

The online questionnaire will be available during the comment period, which ends September 15, 2017.

Other formats and languages for the questionnaire

A paper copy of the questionnaire can be provided by request, in English, French or Oji-Cree. Please send a request via email to contact@nomts.ca.

The questionnaire can be completed once by each person or organization. If you wish to provide further comments you can email us at contact@nomts.ca.

Frequently-asked questions

Is there a monetary incentive if I complete the online questionnaire?

Monetary incentives will not be given for completing the questionnaire. Your participation in this online outreach is critical to support planning for transportation infrastructure and services in northern Ontario.

Are there other ways to provide feedback on the Draft Strategy?

Yes. You can email contact@nomts.ca, or comment on the Environmental Registry (013-0889)

Back to Top

Ébauche de la stratégie de transport multimodal pour le Nord de l'Ontario 2041 (l'ébauche de la stratégie)

Le ministère des Transports (MTO) et le ministère du Développement du Nord et des Mines (MDNM) sollicitent des commentaires du public sur l’ébauche de la stratégie de transport multimodal pour le Nord de l’Ontario 2041 (la stratégie). L’engagement en ligne comprend un questionnaire que vous pouvez remplir pour nous donner des commentaires sur les buts et les orientations de l’ébauche de la stratégie. Les informations recueillies vont informer les travaux sur la stratégie finale et le plan d’action.

Il existe plusieurs façons de fournir des commentaires et une rétroaction sur l’ébauche de la stratégie, notamment :

À propos de la stratégie de transport multimodal pour le nord de l’Ontario (l'ébauche de la stratégie)

Le ministère des Transports de l’Ontario et le ministère du Développement du Nord et des Mines élaborent une stratégie de transport multimodal pour le Nord de l’Ontario, une initiative clé pour créer une économie nordique concurrentielle à l’échelle mondiale, soutenir les collectivités, renouveler et élargir l’infrastructure moderne et favoriser un environnement sain. La stratégie couvre tous les modes de transport : routier, ferroviaire, aérien et maritime, en tant que système de transport unique.

Une fois achevée, la stratégie finale guidera les politiques, les programmes et les possibilités d’investissement pour un système de transport moderne et durable dans Nord de l’Ontario. Le MTO et le MDNM sollicitent les commentaires et la rétroaction du public sur les objectifs et les orientations incluses dans ce document, afin d’informer les travaux sur la stratégie finale et les plans d’action.

La stratégie finale appuiera le développement économique dans le Nord de l’Ontario et devrait être publiée d’ici la fin de 2017.

Le questionnaire de la stratégie

La sensibilisation en ligne comprend un questionnaire qui aidera la province à comprendre ce qui importe pour la planification des transports dans le Nord de l’Ontario et aidera à assurer que le système de transport dans le Nord de l’Ontario répond à vos besoins pour l’avenir.

Le questionnaire en ligne prendra environ de 10 à 20 minutes. Le temps d’achèvement dépend du nombre de questions auxquelles vous choisissez de répondre.

Pourquoi le MTO mène-t-il des activités de sensibilisation en ligne pour l'ébauche de la stratégie?

L’ébauche de la stratégie a été élaborée en fonction de l’analyse technique et des commentaires reçus au cours de l’automne 2016 auprès de nombreux partenaires, y compris les résidents du Nord de l’Ontario, les peuples et les communautés autochtones, les entreprises, les fournisseurs de services, les gouvernements et les organismes à but non lucratif. L’ébauche de la stratégie est en cours de diffusion pour commentaires du public afin d’aider à l’élaboration par l’Ontario de la stratégie finale et des plans d’action. Un questionnaire en ligne a été préparé avec l’intention de toucher le plus grand nombre possible de personnes qui vivent, travaillent et voyagent dans le Nord de l’Ontario.

Collecte de l’information et votre vie privée

Les informations que vous fournissez sur le questionnaire en ligne sont protégées en vertu de la Loi de 1990 sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée. Aucune information personnelle n’est recueillie.

Le questionnaire sollicite des commentaires sur la vision, les objectifs et les orientations de l’ébauche de la stratégie. Les commentaires aideront le gouvernement à mieux comprendre les priorités en matière de transport pour le Nord. Des questions sur les détails démographiques et l’emplacement sont demandées pour comprendre les priorités dans différents groupes démographiques et régions géographiques du Nord de l’Ontario.

Les données aideront les planificateurs à comprendre les priorités pour la planification future des transports. Les résultats seront utilisés pour aider la province à comprendre quelles orientations sont importantes pour les personnes qui vivent, travaillent et voyagent dans le Nord, afin de soutenir l’élaboration d’une stratégie finale et d’un plan d’action.

Période de commentaires et de rétroaction

Le questionnaire en ligne sera disponible pendant la période de commentaires, qui se terminera le 15 septembre 2017.

Autres formats et langues pour le questionnaire

Une copie papier du questionnaire peut être fournie sur demande, en anglais, en français ou en Oji Cree. Veuillez envoyer une demande par courriel à contact@nomts.ca.

Le questionnaire peut être rempli une fois seulement par chaque personne ou organisme. Si vous souhaitez fournir d’autres commentaires, vous pouvez nous envoyer un courriel à contact@nomts.ca.

Foire aux questions

Existe-t-il une incitation monétaire si je remplis le questionnaire en ligne?

Non. Aucune incitation monétaire ne sera donnée pour remplir le questionnaire. Votre participation à cette sensibilisation en ligne est essentielle pour soutenir la planification des infrastructures et des services de transport dans le Nord de l’Ontario.

Existe-t-il d’autres façons de fournir des commentaires sur l'ébauche de la stratégie?

Oui. Vous pouvez envoyer un courriel à contact@nomts.ca, ou formuler des observations sur le Registre environnemental (identificateur no 013-0889).

Retour en haut de page