Southern and Northern Highways Programs

The Southern Highways Program (SHP) and Northern Highways Program (NHP) are annually published, five-year investment plans for highway construction in southern and northern Ontario.


Southern Highways Program

The Southern Highways Program (SHP) is an annually published five-year investment plan in highway construction for Southern Ontario.

On request, we can arrange for an accessible format of these publications. Please send your request through the Contact Us page on the Ministry of Transportation website.


Northern Highways Program

The Northern Highways Program (NHP) is an annually published five-year investment plan in highway construction for Northern Ontario.

On request, we can arrange for an accessible format of these publications. Please send your request through the Contact Us page on the Ministry of Transportation website.


Update on Highway 69 from Ontario Minister of Transportation, Steven Del Duca

March 6, 2015

The four-laning of Highway 69 is extremely important project to the Province of Ontario and to the Government of Ontario. We have invested over $700 million in the work that has already taken place. The funding for the remainder of the investment is in our capital plan and from the Premier to MPP Glenn Thibeault and to myself, we know how important this project is to the region from a road and highway safety perspective and also from the perspective of this particular part of the province's economy.

We have about 50 kilometres of the project completed so far, about 20 kilometres currently in progress or under construction. Of those 20 under construction, 9 kilometres will be paved and in service this summer, the remaining 11 kilometres will be paved and in service in 2016. In addition, we will be putting out to tender later this spring the contract for the CN Rail re-alignment that will permit us to build down to Highway 522. So there is tremendous progress that has been taking place.

I have said before that I am an optimistic person by nature and wanted very much to see the project's completion by 2017. Publically, I know there have been some concerns, and internally, I had been advised there may be some challenges but I remained optimistic because conversations were going well and we were working towards some important milestones. After proper due diligence, we now know for sure there will be some delays.

We have done additional due diligence, and we continue to have very strong conversations with many of our partners, including First Nations and, based on that due diligence, and those conversations and the work that will continue, we are now looking at project completion targets of 2019 through 2021.

We have sent out a letter to the Mayor of Sudbury, Mayor Bigger, and members of council to provide them with that update. We will continue to have productive conversations with our First Nations partners. We will continue to ensure we have the federal approvals required through that process and we will get the job completed.


Recommended for you

Back to Top

Programmes des routes du Nord et du Sud

Le Programme des routes du Sud et le Programme des routes du Nord sont des plans d'investissement quinquennaux publiés chaque année sur la construction de routes dans le sud et le nord de l'Ontario.


Programme des routes du Sud

Le Programme des routes du Sud (PRS) est un plan d'investissement quinquennal pour la construction routière dans le Sud de l'Ontario qui est publié chaque année.

Sur demande, nous pouvons faire en sorte de publier ces documents dans un format accessible. Veuillez envoyer votre demande par l'intermédiaire de la page Contactez-nous sur le site Web du ministère des Transports.


Programme des routes du Nord

Le Programme des routes du Nord (PRN) est un plan d'investissement quinquennal pour la construction routière dans le Nord de l'Ontario qui est publié chaque année.

Sur demande, nous pouvons faire en sorte de publier ces documents dans un format accessible. Veuillez envoyer votre demande par l'intermédiaire de la page Contactez-nous sur le site Web du ministère des Transports.


Le point par le ministre des Transports de l'Ontario, Steven Del Duca

Le 6 mars 2015

L'élargissement à quatre voies de la route 69 est un projet extrêmement important pour la province de l'Ontario et son gouvernement. Nous avons investi plus de 700 millions de dollars dans les travaux qui ont déjà été effectués. Le financement pour le reste de l'investissement figure dans notre plan d'immobilisations, et nous savons tous, de la Première ministre au député provincial Glenn Thibeault et à moi-même, à quel point ce projet est important sur le plan routier et du point de vue de la sécurité sur les routes, et aussi en ce qui concerne cet aspect particulier de l'économie de la province.

Environ 50 kilomètres du projet sont maintenant achevés, et environ 20 kilomètres sont en cours de construction. Sur ces 20 kilomètres en construction, 9 kilomètres seront pavés et en service cet été, et les 11 autres kilomètres seront pavés et en service en 2016. En outre, nous lancerons un appel d'offres plus tard ce printemps pour le contrat du réalignement de la voie du CN qui nous permettra de construire jusqu'à la route 522. Le projet est donc remarquablement avancé.

J'ai déjà déclaré que j'étais une personne optimiste par nature et que je voulais que le projet soit achevé en 2017. Dans le public, je sais qu'il y a eu quelques préoccupations, et, à l'interne, on m'a indiqué qu'il pouvait y avoir quelques problèmes, mais je suis demeuré optimiste parce que les discussions allaient bon train et que nous travaillions à atteindre quelques jalons importants. Après avoir fait montre de la diligence appropriée, nous n'ignorons pas qu'il y aura quelques retards.

Nous avons continué de faire montre de diligence et nous poursuivons nos excellentes discussions avec beaucoup de nos partenaires, dont des Premières Nations, et, sur la base de cette diligence appropriée, et de ces discussions et du travail qui se poursuivra, nous prévoyons maintenant la fin du projet entre 2019 et 2021.

Nous avons envoyé une lettre au maire Bigger, de Sudbury, et aux membres du conseil, pour les mettre au courant. Nous continuerons à avoir des discussions productives avec nos partenaires des Premières Nations. Nous continuerons de faire en sorte de disposer des approbations fédérales nécessaires tout au long de ce processus, et nous nous assurerons que les travaux puissent être réalisés.


Recommandé pour vous

Retour en haut de page