Introduction: High Speed Rail in Southwestern Ontario

This section introduces the concept of high speed rail (HSR) by providing an overview of HSR systems around the world, and describes the ongoing work to develop HSR in Ontario.

High Speed Rail (HSR)

High Speed Rail (HSR) is a form of passenger rail transportation that operates at significantly faster speeds than conventional train technologies. The Paris-based Union of International Railways (UIC) references the European Council definition of HSR as systems that operate at speeds on the order of 200 km/h on upgraded, existing corridors and at speeds equal to or greater than 250 km/h on new corridors1 .

Although the above definition has become widely accepted internationally, standards and definitions of HSR are still variable and dependent on regional and national contexts; HSR systems vary around the world in terms of train length, speed, type and technologies. Most are described as falling within one of the following general categories: dedicated, mixed conventional, or fully mixed.

Dedicated

These HSR networks are purpose-built for HSR trains only, are fully electrified and feature dedicated tracks and advanced signalling systems to allow for faster speeds and higher service frequencies. They typically cover long distances and link major metropolitan areas. The Japanese Shinkansen ("bullet train"), linking major urban centres across Japan with operating speeds of up to 320 km/h, best exemplifies this model (see Figure I.1).

Mixed Conventional

These networks feature a mix of conventional passenger rail and HSR operating on shared corridors. One such example includes France's Train à Grande Vitesse (TGV), an integrated network featuring 300+ km/h systems on dedicated tracks with traditional 200+km/h lines on conventional tracks (see Figure I.2).

Fully Mixed

These HSR networks feature a combination of HSR and conventional passenger and freight rail on the same corridor. The German Intercity-Express (ICE) is based on this model as is Amtrak's Acela Express in the U.S. (see Figures I.3 and I.4).

Figure I.1: The Shinkansen System, Japan

The Shinkansen rail System in Japan extends from Kagoshima-Chuo in the south to Sapporo in the north for a total length of 2,388 km.

Source: The Government of Japan

Figure I.2: The Train à Grande Vitesse (TGV) System, France

The Train a Grande Vitesse (TGV) system in France is a network of rail lines throughout the country and extending into neighbouring countries.

Source: EURail

Figure I.3: The Intercity-Express (ICE) System, Germany

The Intercity-Express (ICE) System in Germany showing Routes throughout the country, and into neighbouring countries.

Source: EURail

Figure I.4: The Acela Express System, United States

The Acela Express Systen in United States, which runs from Boston to Washington, DC.

Source: Amtrak

Every high speed rail system is different since each system must take city population sizes and the distances between cities, topography and existing infrastructure into account. Tracks for conventional trains can be used by high speed trains but if train speeds are planned to exceed 200 km/h, increasingly intensive maintenance is required. As well, signalling systems along the tracks where trains are travelling at speeds higher than 200 km/h need to be replaced with systems installed on the trains themselves. Because mixed train fleets with large differences in average speeds reduce track capacity, an HSR strategy that supplements the capacity of networks when they reach their limits is often implemented.

High speed travel requires specialized trains that comfortably transport passengers and meet aerodynamic, system reliability and safety requirements.

Other Jurisdictions

Many countries, recognizing the benefits of moving people at fast speeds over great distances, are upgrading existing tracks and building new dedicated ones to create HSR networks. Of particular note are those planned or already under construction in France, Spain, Germany, China and the United Kingdom, where the planned new High Speed Two (HS2) line will link the North of England to London and improve connectivity to the existing High Speed One (HS1) line and the Channel Tunnel link to continental Europe. The common theme across jurisdictions is that these projects will expand interconnectivity between economic and population hubs, as well as to wider transportation networks.

In North America, Amtrak is the only railroad currently operating and maintaining tracks over 160 km/h; Amtrak's Acela Express, which achieves a top speed of 241 km/h (150 m/h) serving the Boston-New York-Washington corridor, is the only HSR system currently in operation in North America2 . Many factors have limited HSR's development on this continent including geography, long distances between cities, mixed corridor ownership, the primacy of freight over passenger services, the public preference of car travel over rail; and, perhaps most important, the political willingness to support the huge investment over more than one election cycle.

To further reduce trip times, Amtrak recently announced a USD $2.45 billion investment (CDN $3.2 billion) to improve infrastructure and introduce new European-designed rolling stock (the vehicles that operate on the railway track) that can achieve top speeds of 300km/h, a major departure from normal North American practice3 . The U.S. Department of Transportation's Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) has always had higher thresholds for passenger train crashworthiness than European standards. FRA standards were developed because passenger trains in North America share rail corridors with longer, heavier freight trains.

Given the integration of American and Canadian freight rail operations, this country's rail safety regulator, Transport Canada, has always adhered to FRA standards. Now the FRA has modified its regulations in consultation with Amtrak, recognizing that modern train signalling and safety measures have made the interoperation of traditional freight trains and passenger vehicles much safer. The new Amtrak-FRA agreement will have positive implications for passenger rolling stock acquisition in Canada and particularly for high speed rail.

HSR investments are also being made in California, where North America's latest HSR project is currently under construction. Once completed, phase one will link San Francisco to Los Angeles and phase two will link Sacramento to San Diego. Operations are anticipated to commence in 20294 . Other potential HSR corridors are being studied in the U.S., including New England, Florida, Texas, Pennsylvania, and Colorado/New Mexico.

High Speed Rail in Ontario

Canada is the only G8 country that does not yet have an HSR system under construction or in operation. However, the concept has been considered and studied for a number of years in Ontario. Most recently, in 2014, the Government announced its decision to pursue further study of HSR between Toronto and Windsor in Southwestern Ontario. Specifically, the Minister of Transportation's 2014 mandate letter committed to "advancing environmental assessments for high-speed rail—building on the GTHA's forthcoming Regional Express Rail network—which will link Toronto, Lester B. Pearson International Airport, and Waterloo Region and London, as well as London and Windsor." This commitment was reiterated in Budget 2015.

To advance this mandate, in October 2015, former federal transport and defense minister the Honourable David Collenette, Privy Councillor (PC) and Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport (FCILT), was appointed as Special Advisor for High Speed Rail (HSR) to the Minister of Transportation to continue to advance HSR in the province.

The Special Advisor was tasked to provide advice to government on the implementation of HSR service between Toronto, Lester B. Pearson International Airport (Pearson Airport), Kitchener-Waterloo, London and Windsor, generally referred to as the Toronto-Windsor corridor. Mr. Collenette's mandate included working with public- and private-sector stakeholders and Indigenous communities to identify economic development opportunities associated with high speed trains, assessing international experience with HSR, and providing advice to government about a preliminary business case and financing and delivery models.

Over the course of the past year Mr. Collenette, supported by officials from the Ministry of Transportation (MTO), undertook the following key tasks:

  • Oversaw a preliminary business case analysis for alternative service scenarios, to identify travel time, ridership and other economic benefits associated with HSR.
  • Worked with the Premier's Business Advisor, the Ministry of Economic Development and Growth, and other ministries to ensure HSR is aligned with the government's economic development agenda.
  • Held engagement sessions with public- and private-sector stakeholders, as well as with Indigenous communities, to identify the opportunities and challenges associated with HSR in the Toronto-Windsor corridor and to build a relationship with communities early in the HSR project.
  • Assessed HSR experience in other countries and compiled key lessons that could be applied to support a system that meets the needs of Ontarians.
  • Conducted a market sounding with the support of Infrastructure Ontario (IO) to engage stakeholders representing the financial sector, engineering and construction firms, and operators and equipment providers to discuss key considerations with regard to financing and delivery models that will promote innovation and ensure value for money.

Budget 2016 referenced the Special Advisor's report under the section "Supporting Ontario's Innovation SuperCorridor," which underscores the importance of HSR from the perspective of economic development.

It is also important to note that, in parallel with the Special Advisor's work, MTO has been undertaking several additional tasks to advance the environmental assessment (EA) process for HSR. This includes starting work on a demand forecasting model, as well as planning for the procurement of technical and design studies. The Special Advisor's recommendations and advice will ultimately help to guide the direction of HSR work for the Province.

The Province has been studying the feasibility of HSR for more than two decades. In 1991, it implemented the Ontario/Quebec Rapid Train Task Force, whose findings provided a basis for studies conducted in 1993 and 1995. In 2011, a detailed study on the feasibility of HSR between Windsor and Quebec City, referred to as the EcoTrain report, was conducted jointly by MTO, Transport Canada, and the Ministère des Transports du Québec (MTQ).

In 2014, the Province retained the British transportation consulting firm First Class Partnerships (FCP) to conduct a pre-feasibility study of HSR on a specific segment of the previously studied corridor between Toronto and London. This segment forms a key area within Ontario's Innovation SuperCorridor, whose dense pockets of start-ups, research institutions and world-class talent comprise one of Canada's most innovative regions.

These two recent studies determined that HSR service in Ontario is conceptually feasible and has the potential to realize benefits for the Province.

The Special Advisor's extensive engagement, research and business case analysis over the past year have taken these previous studies of HSR to the next level, demonstrating that there is a tremendous opportunity to bring HSR to the Toronto-Windsor corridor.

As part of Ontario's transportation system, HSR can connect communities, generate economic growth and opportunity, and support the Province of Ontario in its desire for Moving Ontario Forward. Recommendations for the implementation of HSR in Southwestern Ontario are included throughout the report, as well as key considerations for the Province to support decision-making.

References


1 Union of International Railways (2016). High Speed and European Council (2007).; DECISION No 1692/96/EC OF THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT AND OF THE COUNCIL of 23 July 1996 on Community guidelines for the development of the trans-European transport network., 8.

2 National Railroad Passenger Corporation (2016). Amtrak National Facts..

4 California High-Speed Rail Authority (June 2016). California High-Speed Rail Big Picture..

Back to Top

Introduction

La présente section explique le concept de train à grande vitesse (TGV) en offrant un aperçu des réseaux de TGV ailleurs dans le monde et décrit les travaux en cours visant à mettre en place un service de TGV en Ontario.

Train à grande vitesse (TGV)

Le train à grande vitesse (TGV) est une forme de transport ferroviaire de passagers qui fonctionne à des vitesses considérablement plus élevées que les technologies ferroviaires classiques. L’Union internationale des chemins de fer (UIC), qui a son siège social à Paris, fait référence à la définition de TGV du Conseil européen selon laquelle il s’agit de systèmes qui fonctionnent à des vitesses de l’ordre de 200 km/h dans les couloirs existants améliorés et à des vitesses d’au moins 250 km/h dans de nouveaux couloirs1 .

Bien que la définition ci-dessus soit largement acceptée à l’échelle internationale, les normes et les définitions relatives au TGV varient encore selon les contextes régionaux et nationaux. Les réseaux de TGV dans le monde présentent des différences pour ce qui est de la longueur et de la vitesse des trains, du type de train et des technologies utilisées. La majorité des TGV appartiennent à l’une des catégories générales suivantes : voies réservées, circulation mixte classique ou circulation entièrement mixte.

Voies réservées

Ces réseaux sont construits sur mesure pour les TGV uniquement, sont entièrement électrifiés et comportent des voies réservées et des systèmes de signalisation de pointe afin de permettre des vitesses plus élevées et des fréquences de service accrues. Ils couvrent généralement de grandes distances et relient de grandes régions métropolitaines. Le train japonais Shinkansen (« train superexpress »), qui relie les principaux centres urbains du Japon et qui atteint des vitesses de 320 km/h, est le meilleur exemple de ce modèle (voir la figure I.1).

Circulation mixte classique

Ces réseaux permettent la circulation mixte de trains de passagers classiques et de TGV dans des couloirs partagés. Parmi les exemples de tels réseaux figure le train à grande vitesse (TGV) de la France, un réseau intégré dont les trains peuvent atteindre plus de 300 km/h sur des voies réservées et plus de 200 km/h sur des voies classiques (voir la figure I.2).

Circulation entièrement mixte

Ces réseaux comprennent une combinaison de TGV et de trains classiques de passagers et de transport de marchandises dans le même couloir. L’Intercity-Express (ICE) allemand s’appuie sur ce modèle, de même que l’Acela Express d’Amtrak aux États-Unis (voir les figures I.3 et I.4).

Figure I.1 : Réseau Shinkansen (Japon)

Le réseau ferroviaire Shinkansen au Japon s’étend de Kagoshima-Chuo au sud à Sapporo au nord, totalisant ainsi 2 388 km.

Source : Gouvernement du Japon

Figure I.2 : Réseau de trains à grande vitesse (TGV) (France)

Le réseau de trains à grande vitesse (TGV) en France couvre tout le pays et s’étend aux pays avoisinants.

Source : EURail

Figure I.3 : Réseau Intercity-Express (ICE) (Allemagne)

Réseau Intercity-Express (ICE) en Allemagne montrant les trajets qui couvrent l’ensemble du pays ainsi que les pays avoisinants.

Source : EURail

Figure I.4 : Réseau Acela Express (États-Unis)

Réseau Acela Express aux États-Unis, qui part de Boston pour se rendre à Washington, D.C.

Source : Amtrak

Chaque réseau de train à grande vitesse est différent, étant donné que chacun doit tenir compte de la taille de la population des villes, des distances entre les villes, de la topographie et de l’infrastructure existante. Les voies ferroviaires classiques peuvent accueillir les trains à grande vitesse, mais, s’il est prévu que la vitesse des trains dépasse 200 km/h, un entretien de plus en plus intensif est nécessaire. En outre, les systèmes de signalisation situés le long des voies sur lesquelles se déplacent les trains à des vitesses supérieures à 200 km/h doivent être remplacés par des systèmes embarqués dans les trains. Comme les parcs de trains mixtes qui présentent un écart important entre les vitesses moyennes réduisent la capacité des voies, une stratégie de TGV qui augmente la capacité des réseaux lorsque ceux-ci atteignent leurs limites est souvent mise en place.

Les déplacements à grande vitesse exigent des trains spéciaux qui transportent confortablement les passagers et qui répondent à des exigences d’aérodynamique, de fiabilité des systèmes et de sécurité.

Autres territoires de compétence

De nombreux pays, qui reconnaissent les avantages du transport de personnes à des vitesses élevées sur de longues distances, améliorent les voies existantes et construisent de nouvelles voies réservées afin de créer des réseaux de TGV. Il convient particulièrement de mentionner les réseaux prévus ou déjà en construction en France, en Espagne, en Allemagne, en Chine et au Royaume-Uni, où le projet de nouvelle ligne High Speed Two (HS2) reliera le nord de l’Angleterre à Londres et améliorera la connectivité avec la ligne existante High Speed One (HS1) et la liaison du tunnel sous la Manche avec le continent européen. Le thème commun aux divers territoires de compétence est que ces projets accroîtront l’interconnectivité entre les centres économiques et démographiques, ainsi que la connectivité avec les réseaux de transport dans leur ensemble.

En Amérique du Nord, Amtrak est le seul service ferroviaire qui exploite et entretient des voies où circulent des trains à une vitesse supérieure à 160 km/h; l’Acela Express d’Amtrak, dont la vitesse maximale atteint 241 km/h (150 mi/h) et qui dessert le couloir Boston-New York-Washington, est le seul réseau de TGV actuellement exploité en Amérique du Nord2 . De nombreux facteurs ont limité le développement des TGV sur ce continent, y compris la géographie, les longues distances entre les villes, la propriété mixte des couloirs, la primauté des services de transport de marchandises sur les services de passagers, la préférence du public pour les déplacements en voiture par rapport aux déplacements en train et, peut-être ce qui importe le plus, la volonté politique d’effectuer un énorme investissement sur plus d’un cycle électoral.

Afin de réduire davantage les temps de déplacement, Amtrak a récemment annoncé un investissement de 2,45 milliards de dollars américains (3,2 milliards de dollars canadiens) visant à améliorer l’infrastructure et à mettre en service du nouveau matériel roulant (les véhicules qui roulent sur la voie ferrée) conçu en Europe et pouvant atteindre des vitesses de 300 km/h, une réorientation majeure par rapport à la pratique courante en Amérique du Nord3 . La Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) du Département des transports des États-Unis a toujours fixé des seuils supérieurs à ceux des normes européennes en ce qui a trait à la résistance à l’impact des trains de passagers. Les normes de la FRA ont été ainsi définies parce que les trains de passagers en Amérique du Nord partagent les couloirs ferroviaires avec des trains de marchandises plus longs et plus lourds.

Étant donné l’intégration des activités ferroviaires canadiennes et américaines pour le transport des marchandises, l’organisme de réglementation de la sécurité ferroviaire du Canada, Transports Canada, a toujours respecté les normes de la FRA. La FRA a maintenant modifié ses règlements en consultation avec Amtrak, reconnaissant le fait que les mesures de sécurité et de signalisation des services ferroviaires modernes ont rendu l’interopérabilité des trains de marchandises classiques et des trains de voyageurs plus sécuritaire. La nouvelle entente entre Amtrak et la FRA aura des conséquences positives sur l’acquisition de matériel roulant servant au transport de passagers au Canada et particulièrement sur le train à grande vitesse.

Des investissements dans le service TGV sont également en cours en Californie, où le plus récent projet de TGV en Amérique du Nord est en voie de construction. Une fois achevées, l’étape un reliera San Francisco à Los Angeles et l’étape deux, Sacramento à San Diego. Le début de l’exploitation est prévu pour 2029 4 . D’autres couloirs potentiels de TGV sont actuellement à l’étude aux États-Unis, notamment en Nouvelle-Angleterre, en Floride, au Texas, en Pennsylvanie et au Colorado/Nouveau-Mexique.

Train à grande vitesse en Ontario

Le Canada est le seul pays du G8 qui n’a pas encore de réseau de TGV en construction ou en exploitation. Toutefois, le concept est envisagé et étudié depuis un certain nombre d’années en Ontario. Plus récemment, en 2014, le gouvernement a annoncé sa décision de procéder à une étude approfondie d’un TGV entre Toronto et Windsor dans le Sud-Ouest de l’Ontario. La lettre de mandat de 2014 du ministre des Transports évoquait plus particulièrement l’engagement de « promouvoir les évaluations environnementales des réseaux ferroviaires à grande vitesse, en misant sur le réseau régional de train rapide à venir de la RGTH qui reliera Toronto, l’aéroport international Lester B. Pearson, la région de Waterloo et London, ainsi que London et Windsor ». Cet engagement a été réitéré dans le Budget 2015.

Afin de faire progresser ce mandat, en octobre 2015, l’ancien ministre fédéral de la Défense et des Transport, l’honorable David Collenette, conseiller privé (c.p.) et Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport (FCILT), a été nommé conseiller spécial pour le train à grande vitesse (TGV) auprès du ministre des Transports afin de poursuivre le projet de TGV dans la province.

Le conseiller spécial a reçu le mandat de conseiller le gouvernement sur la mise en œuvre d’un service de TGV reliant Toronto, l’aéroport international Lester B. Pearson (aéroport Pearson), Kitchener-Waterloo, London et Windsor, généralement appelé le couloir Toronto-Windsor. Le mandat de M. Collenette comprenait la collaboration avec les intervenants des secteurs public et privé et les collectivités autochtones afin de cerner les possibilités de développement économique liées aux trains à grande vitesse, l’évaluation de l’expérience internationale concernant les TGV et la formulation de conseils au gouvernement sur une analyse de rentabilité préliminaire ainsi que les modèles de financement et de réalisation.

Au cours de la dernière année, M. Collenette, appuyé par des fonctionnaires du ministère des Transports (MTO), a entrepris les principales tâches suivantes :

  • surveiller l’analyse de rentabilité préliminaire d’autres scénarios de service afin d’établir les temps de déplacement, l’achalandage et les autres retombées économiques liées au TGV;
  • travailler avec le conseiller de la première ministre pour les affaires économiques, le ministère du Développement économique et de la Croissance ainsi que d’autres ministères afin de veiller à ce que le TGV respecte le programme de développement économique du gouvernement;
  • organiser des séances de consultation auprès des intervenants des secteurs public et privé et des collectivités autochtones afin de cerner les possibilités et les défis liés au TGV dans le couloir Toronto-Windsor et d’établir une relation avec les collectivités dès le début du projet de TGV;
  • évaluer l’expérience d’autres pays en ce qui a trait au TGV et compiler les leçons importantes qui pourraient s’appliquer afin de favoriser un réseau répondant aux besoins des Ontariennes et des Ontariens;
  • avec l’aide d’Infrastructure Ontario, sonder le marché afin d’amener des intervenants représentant le secteur des finances, les entreprises de génie et de construction, ainsi que les exploitants et les fournisseurs d’équipement à discuter des questions importantes relatives aux modèles de financement et de réalisation qui favoriseront l’innovation et assureront l’optimisation des ressources.

Le Budget 2016 fait référence au rapport du conseiller spécial dans la section « Soutien au super pôle d’innovation de l’Ontario », qui souligne l’importance du TGV du point de vue du développement économique.

Il importe également de souligner que, parallèlement aux travaux du conseiller spécial, le MTO a entrepris plusieurs autres tâches visant à faire progresser le processus d’évaluation environnementale concernant le TGV. Cela comprend le début de travaux sur un modèle de prévision de la demande, ainsi que la planification de la commande d’études techniques et conceptuelles. Les conseils et les recommandations du conseiller spécial contribueront en définitive à orienter les travaux de la province en ce qui a trait au TGV.

La province étudie la faisabilité du TGV depuis plus de deux décennies. En 1991, elle a mis en place le Groupe de travail Train Rapide Québec/Ontario dont les conclusions ont jeté les bases des études réalisées en 1993 et 1995. En 2011, une étude détaillée sur la faisabilité d’un TGV entre Windsor et Québec, appelée le rapport EcoTrain, a été réalisée conjointement par le MTO, Transports Canada et le ministère des Transports du Québec (MTQ).

En 2014, la province a retenu les services du cabinet d’experts-conseils en transport britannique First Class Partnerships (FCP) afin de réaliser une étude de préfaisabilité du TGV sur un segment particulier du couloir déjà étudié entre Toronto et London. Ce segment correspond à une zone clé du super pôle d’innovation de l’Ontario, dont la grande concentration d’entreprises en démarrage, d’établissements de recherche et de talent de calibre mondial constitue l’une des régions les plus innovantes au Canada.

Ces deux récentes études ont permis d’établir que le service de TGV en Ontario est théoriquement faisable et qu’il a le potentiel d’entraîner des retombées pour la province.

Les consultations élargies, les recherches et les analyses de rentabilité réalisées au cours de la dernière année par le conseiller spécial ont fait passer les études précédentes sur le TGV au niveau supérieur, démontrant qu’il existe une possibilité extraordinaire de mettre en place un service de TGV dans le couloir Toronto-Windsor.

En tant qu’élément du réseau de transport de l’Ontario, le TGV peut relier les collectivités, favoriser la croissance économique, générer des débouchés et soutenir la province quant à son souhait de Faire progresser l’Ontario. Les recommandations relatives à la mise en œuvre du TGV dans le Sud-Ouest de l’Ontario sont présentées tout au long du rapport, de même que les principaux points que la province doit prendre en considération pour soutenir le processus décisionnel.

Bibliographie

1 Union internationale des chemins de fer.High Speed, (2016) et Conseil européen, DÉCISION N° 1692/96/CE DU PARLEMENT EUROPÉEN ET DU CONSEIL DU 23 juillet 1996 sur les orientations communautaires pour le développement d’un réseau transeuropéen de transport, 2007., p. 8.

2 National Railroad Passenger Corporation. Amtrak National Facts, 2016.

3 Leeds, Christina.Amtrak Invests $2.4 Billion for Next-Gen High-Speed Trainsets and Infrastructure Upgrades, 26 août 2016..

4 California High-Speed Rail Authority. California High-Speed Rail Big Picture, juin 2016.

Retour en haut de page