High Speed Rail in Ontario: Message from the Special Advisor

December 2, 2016

Dear Minister,

Just over a year ago, the Government of Ontario asked me to be Special Advisor on its commitment to establish High Speed Rail service in the Toronto-Windsor corridor. Throughout the past year I have worked with a dedicated and talented team of officials from the Ministry of Transportation on the concept, preliminary business case, governance structure, financing, and next steps for delivery of High Speed Rail (HSR).

Over the course of this work I have engaged widely with local municipalities, Indigenous communities and public and private sector stakeholders to obtain their advice and considerations on how HSR should be implemented. I have drawn from the experiences other countries have had with HSR, including the United States, United Kingdom, France, Germany, Spain, Japan and China. There have been thorough market soundings with the private sector, organized by Infrastructure Ontario. All of this work has led me to the conclusion that a business case exists for HSR in the corridor, which would connect Toronto, Pearson Airport, Guelph, Kitchener-Waterloo, London, Chatham and Windsor. I have also concluded that there are opportunities to engage the private sector in financing and delivering the project.

I encourage the Government of Ontario to proceed with: detailed project planning; the environmental assessment process; further engagement with Indigenous communities, and key stakeholders including municipalities, the two national freight railway companies, VIA Rail, Metrolinx (GO Transit) and  regulatory bodies at both the Ontario and federal level; evaluation of appropriate financing and delivery models; and seeking financial approvals.

I wish to thank you and your colleagues for your cooperation throughout the mandate and wish the Government well in delivering its bold commitment to create Canada’s first High Speed Rail service.

Yours sincerely,

Signature of Honourable David Collenette

Honourable David Collenette, P.C., F.C.I.L.T.

Back to Top

Message du conseiller spécial

Le 2 décembre 2016

Monsieur le Ministre,

Il y a un peu plus d’un an, le gouvernement de l’Ontario m’a demandé d’assumer le rôle de conseiller spécial concernant son engagement de mettre en place un service de train à grande vitesse dans le couloir Toronto-Windsor. Au cours de la dernière année, j’ai travaillé avec une équipe dévouée et talentueuse de fonctionnaires du ministère des Transports sur le concept, l’analyse de rentabilité préliminaire, la structure de gouvernance et les prochaines étapes de la réalisation d’un train à grande vitesse (TGV).

Dans le cadre de ces travaux, j’ai communiqué avec un grand nombre de municipalités locales, de collectivités autochtones ainsi que d’intervenants des secteurs public et privé afin de solliciter leurs conseils et leurs points de vue sur la façon dont on devrait mettre le TGV en œuvre. J’ai tiré des leçons de l’expérience d’autres pays concernant le TGV, notamment les États-Unis, le Royaume-Uni, la France, l’Allemagne, l’Espagne, le Japon et la Chine. Infrastructure Ontario a sondé le marché de façon rigoureuse auprès du secteur privé. Tous ces travaux m’ont poussé à conclure qu’il existe un argument commercial en faveur d’un TGV dans le couloir qui relierait Toronto, l’aéroport Pearson, Guelph, Kitchener-Waterloo, London, Chatham et Windsor. J’ai également conclu qu’il est possible pour le secteur privé de participer au financement et à la mise en œuvre du projet.

J’encourage le gouvernement de l’Ontario à passer aux étapes suivantes : la planification détaillée du projet, le processus d’évaluation environnementale, d’autres consultations des collectivités autochtones et des principaux intervenants, notamment les municipalités, les deux sociétés ferroviaires nationales de transport de marchandises, VIA Rail, Metrolinx (GO Transit) et les organismes de réglementation ontariens et fédéraux, l’évaluation des modèles appropriés de financement et de réalisation et le processus d’approbations financières.

J’aimerais vous remercier, vous et vos collègues, de votre coopération tout au long du mandat et souhaiter bonne chance au gouvernement quant à la réalisation de son engagement audacieux de créer le premier service de train à grande vitesse du Canada.

Veuillez agréer l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Signature de L'honorable David Collenette

L’honorable David Collenette, c.p., FCILT.

Retour en haut de page