Road Talk Vol 19, no 2: Fall 2013


Gonna Go ‘Round in Circles

Ontario Implements Education Campaign for New Roundabout Designs on Provincial Highways

The Ministry of Transportation (MTO) strives to be a world leader in moving people and goods safely, efficiently and sustainably. Ontario’s highway infrastructure supports a globally competitive economy and high quality of life. MTO is committed to implementing leading innovations; a recent example is the implementation of modern roundabouts.

Traditional traffic circles were designed with a large radius, allowing drivers to enter, circulate and exit the circle at high speeds. Drivers seldom had to yield on entry since older traffic circles were designed to allow traffic to merge and diverge without significant slow down. In modern roundabouts, a smaller radius regulates traffic speed, compelling drivers to slow down before entering the roundabout while yielding the right-of-way to circulating traffic.

Where appropriate, modern roundabout designs offer a number of benefits over traditional intersections including:

  • Improved safety–Potential vehicle collision points, severe crashes and serious injury are decreased by reducing vehicle speeds.
  • Increased capacity – A high volume of left turning vehicles maneuver better in roundabout than a signalized intersection.
  • Fewer stops and reduced delays –Yielding at a roundabout entry significantly reduces delays compared to waiting for a green light at a signalized intersection or waiting for a gap in traffic at a stop sign.
  • Less idling and air pollution – Reduced delays mean reduced fuel consumption improving air quality by reducing greenhouse gas emissions.
  • Reduced maintenance costs – Roundabouts eliminate maintenance and electricity costs associated with traffic signals.
  • Aesthetically pleasing – Opportunity for landscaping design within the centre island of a roundabout.

MTO’s first roundabout, located on Highway 33 near Picton was opened to traffic in 2009. This was followed in 2011 by the opening of the roundabout located on Highway 17 in Mattawa. As part of the ongoing work associated with the international border crossing at Windsor, a roundabout on the Rt. Hon. Herb Gray Parkway was opened to traffic in 2012. Three additional roundabouts, also completed in fall 2012, are of notable interest due to their unique design challenges: a roundabout in the City of Hamilton at Peter’s Corners on Highway 5/8 features the ministry’s first multi-lane roundabout; another in Wasaga Beach and Collingwood, on Highway 26, features unique highway lane transitioning; and Highway 406 at Main Street in Welland, where the highway terminates.

City of Hamilton Roundabout at Peters Corners (Highway 5/Highway 8/Hamilton 5/Hamilton 52)

New roundabout at Peters Corners, Hamilton, Ontario.

New roundabout at Peters Corners, Hamilton, Ontario.

In February 2001, an operational and safety review was completed for Peters Corners in the City of Hamilton. The review included collision history and operational characteristics for three individual intersections at the location.

In early 2004, the ministry and McCormick Rankin Corporation conducted a Preliminary Design Study for the location and the associated Class Environmental Assessment process was completed in 2009. A comprehensive review and analysis of intersection layout alternatives was conducted, complete with consultation with external agencies, the City of Hamilton, residents and members of the public. A roundabout was selected as the most effective design to replace the existing signalized intersection at Peters Corners.

Stantec Ltd. and Roundabouts Canada, experts in the design of roundabouts, were hired to complete the detail design. Genivar Inc. administered the construction contract, which was awarded to E. & E. Seegmiller Limited. Construction began in spring 2012 and included realignment of the affected highways, lighting and sign upgrades, drainage improvements including a storm water management pond, and landscaping improvements.

When the roundabout was opened, the ministry temporarily installed a camera at the site to monitor operations while drivers became familiar with the new highway configuration. Operations at this roundabout are successful.

Wasaga Beach and Collingwood Roundabouts

Realignment project on Highway 26, including a new roundabout.

Realignment project on Highway 26, including a new roundabout.

Highway 26 in the Wasaga Beach and Collingwood areas experiences traffic volumes up to 18,000 vehicles per day during the winter and summer months while tourists travel to these recreation attractions.

The realignment project between Wasaga Beach and Collingwood on Highway 26 included new roundabouts at Airport Road and Poplar Sideroad. The Airport Road two-lane roundabout is located at the transition from the two-lane to four-lane divided highway. The Poplar Sideroad two-lane roundabout is located at the transition from the four-lane divided to four-lane undivided highway.

A comprehensive education campaign helped improve local driver awareness and increase public confidence in the months leading up to the roundabout’s opening. A public education centre provided information materials including a website, brochure, video, three-dimensional model, proposed sign designs and information presentations. Education also included radio and newspaper media releases providing tips for navigating new roundabouts.

Temporary cameras at Airport and Poplar Roads monitor traffic and operations. Ministry staff continues to make adjustments to signing, pavement markings and other details as necessary. A third roundabout being constructed at the existing Highway 26/Mosley Street intersection is scheduled to open in the summer of 2013.

First Provincial Freeway to Terminate in a Multi-Lane Roundabout – Highway 406, Region of Niagara

Proposed roundabout at the terminus of Highway 406 on Main Street in Welland.

Proposed roundabout at the terminus of Highway 406 on Main Street in Welland.

In summer 2013 the ministry will open the province’s first multi-lane roundabout at a highway terminus.

Highway 406 is the primary north-south route through the Niagara Penninsula providing a connection between the Queen Elizabeth Way and Highway 3. Highway 406 links St. Catharines, Thorold, Welland, and Port Colborne municipalities. Highway 406 terminates in the City of Welland, Region of Niagara.

The ministry performed a road safety and human factors review focusing on three different proposed design alternatives for the Highway 406 terminus including a signalized intersection and two roundabout designs. After public consultation, analyses indicated a roundabout design provides several important advantages for the location.

Once the Highway 406/Main Street roundabout is operational, rear-end crash problems and collisions are expected to be reduced.

The roundabout will allow drivers from each direction to enter at speeds of 30 to 40 km/hr, except when queuing occurs during peak hours when maximum queue lengths are expected to be 40 metres. When queuing doesn’t occur, speed-adapted drivers won’t be required to stop. Instead, these drivers will slow down through multiple curves on the approach to the roundabout.

Guide signs are a unique design challenge for this roundabout. Motorists on the westbound approach drive through a tunnel under the Welland Canal and then proceed uphill to the new roundabout. In the summer of 2012, the ministry coordinated a temporary night time closure of the highway to test the proposed overhead signs for the roundabout to verify that motorists would see them with sufficient time to move safely to their designated lane; signs were refined accordingly.

Design Standards for Provincial Roundabouts

MTO has developed design standards and guidelines for roundabouts on provincial highways (e.g.: traffic control devices and illumination) and provincial standards for pavement markings and signing at roundabouts.

The Future of Provincial Roundabouts

With more than 50 provincial roundabouts in various stages of planning, design and construction across the province roundabouts are now considered in MTO’s design phase whenever possible due to their success. In 2007, MTO established the Roundabout Implementation Team (RIT). RIT is mandated to review all provincial roundabout designs to ensure consistency as we move forward with our roundabout program. The Team also provides input into the development of provincial design standards for roundabouts based on lessons learned during design, construction and operation of provincial roundabouts. This will ensure that our standards will continue to grow and evolve, building on our collective experience.

For more information:

To learn more about the benefits of roundabouts, including driving tips, an instructional video and a brochure, please visit the roundabout website or contact:

Lance Dutchak,
Traffic Supervisor, Hamilton & Niagara
at (416) 235-5596, or at Lance.Dutchak@Ontario.ca

OR

Sheri Graham,
Manager,
Traffic Office, Highway Standards Branch
at (905) 704-2940, or at Sheri.Graham@ontario.ca


Form Follows Function in Highway Landscape Architecture

Uniting Function and Aesthetics in Highway Landscape Design

Mature plants grow along an Ontario provincial highway right-of-way.

Mature plants grow along an Ontario provincial highway right-of-way.

The vast open spaces beyond the travelled portion of Ontario’s highways have a number of important functions that go beyond attractive aesthetics. The Ministry of Transportation (MTO) carefully considers the sustainability of the surrounding environment as a key element of highway design. Safe and sustainable highway landscapes are achieved by following the principle, “form follows function”, a term credited to American architect Louis Sullivan. When the functional needs of the landscape are in focus during the design process the final form will be successful. MTO has embarked on multiple innovative projects to unite functionality and appearance along highway landscapes.

On-site inventories, careful consideration of site requirements and attention to site needs must be considered in the highway landscape architectural planning phase. Attractive landscapes are the end result, not the starting point of good design. MTO’s primary goals when modifying the environment along highways include:

  • reducing soil compaction
  • increasing water infiltration, reducing runoff, minimizing erosion and preventing soil loss
  • increasing biodiversity through a complexity of species and vegetation types and reducing the growth of invasive plant species.
  • improving air quality and reducing urban heat island effects created by large expanses of hard pavement surfaces
  • context sensitive design

Site preparation and soil quantity are critical for long term plant health. Sub soiling, or deep cultivation, breaks up compacted soils promoting stronger root penetration. Larger amounts of topsoil significantly increase plant health and longevity; this applies to both woody plants and vegetative plants such as turf.

The challenges of highway planting continue beyond initial planting. Factors that challenge growth after planting include wind, soil compaction, lack of water and road salt. It is not uncommon to see some reduction in plant growth many years after planting due to these stress factors. In addition, plant stakes and guy-wires left in place too long can girdle tree trunks and cause the tree to die; excessive mulch can cause a secondary root system to develop, which weakens a tree’s overall structural integrity; rodents can also be a problem because they are often destructive.

To meet its design objectives and address the challenges of planting along highways, the ministry is now running three research and innovation projects through its partnership with the Vineland Research and Innovation Centre. This research will provide consistent evidence-based results to guide sustainable landscape management. The Landscape Sustainability Project is designed to assess current site preparation techniques, species selection, installation methods, and growing. Part of the study compares outplant (trees transplanted from greenhouses, nursery beds or other transplant) survival against the performance of four deciduous tree species produced in three production systems. The study will also compile an inventory of surviving trees at existing highway sites planted 15, 10 and 5 years ago. Tree survival assessments will assist in developing a historical record of survival over time by populating a database of hardy trees and shrubs suited to roadside conditions. This can be used to guide future tree selections for highway planting. Research metrics include CO2 emission levels, carbon capture content, favorable and unfavorable planting methods, and growing techniques. The results from this project are expected by 2017 with subsequent research analyzing tree soil and water tolerance. In the future, MTO anticipates conducting research to investigate the oxygen content in roadside soils.

Beyond research, MTO has also invested in maintaining sustainable highway landscapes through the Greening of the Right-of-Way Program. In 2010, the ministry began a 5-year plan to plant up to 1 million trees along southern Ontario’s highways. In the past, MTO conducted reforestation by planting a range of native species of trees and shrubs. The Greening of the Right-of-Way Program differs in its approach by focusing on reforestation through the use of small seedlings that are based on functional site requirements (screening, windbreaks, feature planting, and erosion control), hardiness, existing site conditions and complementary or symbiotic relationships of existing plants. Research shows that using smaller plants in symbiotic plant communities is more successful than using fewer, larger tree specimens.

Those travelling the highway often assume vegetation is placed to create a pleasant setting. While it is important to create user experiences that are enjoyable, these qualities occur naturally as a result of sound design.

For more information, please contact:

Paula Berketo,
Principal Landscape Architect, Design and Contract Standards Office,
at (905) 704-2229, or at Paula.Berketo@ontario.ca


Recommended for you

Back to Top

Road Talk : Vol. 19, nº 2 automne 2013


Pour que tout tourne rond

L'Ontario met en œuvre une campagne de sensibilisation aux nouveaux carrefours giratoires aménagés sur les routes provinciales

Le ministère des Transports (MTO) s'efforce d'être un chef de file mondial du transport sécuritaire, efficace et durable des personnes et des marchandises. L'infrastructure routière de l'Ontario contribue au maintien d'une économie concurrentielle à l'échelle mondiale et d'une qualité de vie élevée. Le MTO est résolu à mettre en œuvre des innovations de pointe, comme en font foi les carrefours giratoires modernes qu'il a récemment aménagés.

Les carrefours giratoires traditionnels présentaient un grand rayon, ce qui permettait aux automobilistes d'y entrer, d'y circuler et d'en sortir à une vitesse élevée. De plus, les automobilistes avaient rarement besoin de céder le passage en y entrant, puisque les anciens carrefours giratoires étaient conçus de manière à permettre de s'insérer dans la circulation et d'en sortir sans ralentir de façon importante. De leur côté, les carrefours giratoires modernes présentent un rayon plus petit qui limite la vitesse des véhicules, ce qui force les automobilistes à ralentir avant d'y entrer et à céder le passage aux véhicules qui y circulent.

Le cas échéant, les carrefours giratoires modernes offrent un certain nombre d'avantages par rapport aux intersections traditionnelles, dont ceux qui sont indiqués ci-dessous.

  • Accroissement de la sécurité – La diminution de la vitesse des véhicules réduit le nombre de points de collision potentiels ainsi que d'accidents et de blessures graves.
  • Accroissement de la capacité – Les carrefours giratoires assurent la circulation plus fluide d'un nombre élevé de véhicules tournant à gauche qu'une intersection à signalisation.
  • Diminution des arrêts et des retards – Le fait de céder le passage à l'entrée d'un carrefour giratoire réduit considérablement les retards plutôt que d'attendre le feu vert à une intersection ou d'attendre de pouvoir s'insérer dans la circulation à un panneau d'arrêt.
  • Diminution du fonctionnement au ralenti et de la pollution atmosphérique – La réduction des retards entraîne une diminution de la consommation de carburant, ce qui améliore la qualité de l’air en réduisant les émissions de gaz à effet de serre.
  • Réduction des coûts d’entretien – Les carrefours giratoires éliminent les coûts d’entretien et d’électricité rattachés aux feux de circulation.
  • Amélioration esthétique de l’infrastructure – L’îlot central des carrefours giratoires offre des possibilités d’aménagement paysager.

Le premier carrefour giratoire du MTO, situé sur la route 33 à proximité de Picton, a été ouvert à la circulation en 2009. Cette ouverture a été suivie par celle du carrefour giratoire de la route 17, à Mattawa, en 2011. Dans le cadre des travaux en cours associés au passage frontalier international à Windsor, le carrefour giratoire de la promenade Rt. Hon. Herb Gray a été inauguré en 2012. Trois autres carrefours giratoires, également achevés en 2012, présentent un intérêt notable en raison des défis uniques qu'ils ont posés sur le plan de la conception, soit un carrefour situé dans la ville de Hamilton, à Peters Corners, à l'intersection des routes 5 et 8, qui est le tout premier carrefour giratoire à voies multiples du ministère, un carrefour situé dans la région de Wasaga Beach et de Collingwood, sur la route 26, qui présente une configuration de transition routière unique, et un carrefour situé à l'extrémité de l'autoroute 406, au niveau de la rue Main à Welland.

Carrefour giratoire de la ville de Hamilton situé à Peters Corners (à l'intersection des routes 5 et 8 et des routes régionales 5 et 52)

Nouveau carrefour giratoire situé à Peters Corners, Hamilton (Ontario).

Nouveau carrefour giratoire situé à Peters Corners, Hamilton (Ontario).

En février 2001, on a procédé à un examen du fonctionnement et de la sécurité de Peters Corners, dans la ville de Hamilton. Dans le cadre de cet examen, on s'est notamment penché sur l'historique des collisions et les caractéristiques opérationnelles de trois intersections situées dans le secteur.

Le ministère et la McCormick Rankin Corporation ont procédé à une étude de conception préliminaire du secteur au début de 2004, tandis que l'évaluation environnementale de portée générale connexe s'est terminée en 2009. De plus, on a procédé à un examen et à une analyse approfondis des autres possibilités de configuration et on a mené des consultations auprès d'organismes externes, de la ville de Hamilton, de résidants et de membres du public. Cela a permis de déterminer qu'un carrefour giratoire constituait la configuration la plus efficace pour remplacer l'intersection à signalisation existante à Peters Corners.

On a retenu les services des sociétés Stantec Ltd. et Roundabouts Canada, expertes en conception de carrefours giratoires, afin qu'elles réalisent l'avant-projet détaillé. Genivar Inc. a administré le contrat de construction qui a été accordé à E. & E. Seegmiller Limited. La construction, entreprise au printemps 2012, comprenait le réalignement des routes touchées, la mise à niveau de l'éclairage et de la signalisation, l'amélioration du drainage, notamment par l'aménagement d'un bassin de rétention des eaux pluviales, et l'amélioration de l'aménagement paysager.

Dès l'ouverture du carrefour giratoire, le ministère a temporairement utilisé une caméra sur les lieux afin de surveiller la circulation pendant que les automobilistes se familiarisaient avec la nouvelle configuration de la route, ce qui a permis de déterminer que le carrefour giratoire fonctionnait très bien.

Carrefours giratoires de Wasaga Beach et de Collingwood

Projet de réalignement de la route 26 comprenant l'aménagement d'un nouveau carrefour giratoire.

Projet de réalignement de la route 26 comprenant l'aménagement d'un nouveau carrefour giratoire.

Dans la région de Wasaga Beach et de Collingwood, jusqu'à 18 000 véhicules circulent quotidiennement sur la route 26 l'hiver et l'été, périodes au cours desquelles les touristes affluent vers les attractions récréatives locales.

Le projet de réalignement du tronçon de la route 26 qui relie Wasaga Beach et Collingwood comprenait l'aménagement de nouveaux carrefours giratoires au niveau des chemins Airport Road et Poplar Side Road. Le carrefour giratoire à deux voies du chemin Airport Road est situé à l'endroit où la route passe d'une configuration à deux voies à une configuration à chaussées séparées à quatre voies. Le carrefour giratoire à deux voies du chemin Poplar Side Road est situé à l'endroit où la route passe d'une configuration à chaussées séparées à quatre voies à une configuration à chaussée unique à quatre voies.

Une vaste campagne de sensibilisation a permis de conscientiser davantage les automobilistes de la région et d'accroître la confiance du public dans les mois précédant l'ouverture des carrefours. Un centre d'information publique a offert des renseignements sous différentes formes, dont un site Web, une brochure, une vidéo, un modèle tridimensionnel, des dessins des panneaux proposés et des présentations. De plus, on a distribué aux stations de radio et aux journaux des communiqués qui fournissaient des conseils pour circuler dans les nouveaux carrefours giratoires.

Des caméras temporaires installées aux carrefours des chemins Airport Road et Poplar Side Road surveillent la circulation et les activités. Le personnel du ministère continue d'apporter des correctifs à la signalisation, au marquage de la chaussée et à d'autres éléments, lorsque cela s'avère nécessaire. Un troisième carrefour giratoire, en cours de construction à l'intersection de la route 26 et de la rue Mosley, devrait être ouvert à la circulation à l'été 2013.

Première autoroute provinciale à se terminer par un carrefour giratoire à voies multiples : l'autoroute 406, dans la région de Niagara

Carrefour giratoire proposé à l'extrémité de l'autoroute 406, à la jonction de la rue Main à Welland.

Carrefour giratoire proposé à l'extrémité de l'autoroute 406, à la jonction de la rue Main à Welland.

À l'été 2013, le ministère inaugurera le tout premier carrefour giratoire à voies multiples de fin d'autoroute de la province.

L'autoroute 406 constitue la principale voie de circulation nord-sud de la péninsule du Niagara qui assure la liaison entre l'autoroute Queen-Elizabeth et la route 3. Elle relie les municipalités de St. Catharines, de Thorold, de Welland (dans la région du Niagara), où elle se termine, et de Port Colborne.

Le ministère a procédé à un examen de la sécurité routière et des facteurs humains axé sur trois projets différents de conception à l'extrémité de l'autoroute 406, dont une intersection à signalisation et deux modèles de carrefours giratoires. Au terme de la consultation publique, les analyses ont révélé que l'aménagement d'un carrefour giratoire procurerait plusieurs avantages notables dans ce secteur.

La mise en service du carrefour giratoire à l'intersection de l'autoroute 406 et de la rue Main devrait réduire les collisions, notamment par l'arrière. Dans chaque direction, les automobilistes pourront y entrer à une vitesse de 30 à 40 km/h, sauf en cas de congestion aux heures de pointe, pendant lesquelles la longueur maximale des files d'attente devrait atteindre 40 mètres. Les automobilistes n'auront toutefois pas besoin d'arrêter en l'absence de congestion, puisqu'ils seront ralentis dans les multiples courbes menant au carrefour.

Les panneaux de signalisation posent un défi unique sur le plan de la conception dans le cas de ce carrefour giratoire. Les automobilistes provenant de l'embranchement ouest passent dans un tunnel sous le canal Welland, puis empruntent une montée jusqu'au nouveau carrefour giratoire. À l'été de 2012, le ministère a procédé à une fermeture de nuit temporaire de l'autoroute afin de mettre à l'essai les panneaux de signalisation suspendus proposés pour le carrefour giratoire dans le but de vérifier si les automobilistes avaient suffisamment de temps pour les voir et se déplacer en toute sécurité dans la voie désignée; on a pu ainsi améliorer les panneaux en conséquence.

Normes de conception des carrefours giratoires de la province

Le MTO a élaboré des normes et des lignes directrices relatives à la conception des carrefours giratoires aménagés sur les routes provinciales (p. ex., à l'égard des dispositifs de régulation de la circulation et de l'éclairage), ainsi que des normes provinciales régissant le marquage de la chaussée et la signalisation des carrefours giratoires.

Avenir des carrefours giratoires de la province

Comme en font foi les quelque 50 carrefours giratoires qui en sont à divers stades de planification, de conception et de construction aux quatre coins de la province, le MTO prend maintenant cette solution en compte dans la phase de conception de ces projets chaque fois que cela est possible en raison de leur succès. En 2007, le MTO a mis sur pied l'équipe de mise en œuvre des carrefours giratoires. Cette équipe a comme mandat d'examiner tous les carrefours giratoires de la province afin d'en assurer l'uniformité au fil de l'évolution du programme d'aménagement de ces carrefours. De plus, elle participe à l'élaboration des normes provinciales de conception des carrefours giratoires en s'appuyant sur les leçons retenues pendant la conception, la construction et l'utilisation des carrefours giratoires de la province. Cela fera en sorte que ces normes continuent d'évoluer grâce à l'expérience de tout un chacun.

Pour obtenir plus d'information :

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les avantages des carrefours giratoires, dont des conseils de conduite, une vidéo d'information et une brochure, veuillez consulter le site ou communiquer avec l'une des personnes-ressources ci-dessous.

Lance Dutchak,
superviseur de la circulation, Hamilton et Niagara,
au (416) 235-5596, ou à l'adresse Lance.Dutchak@Ontario.ca

OU

Sheri Graham,
chef,
Bureau de la circulation routière, Direction des normes routières,
au (905) 704-2940, ou à l'adresse Sheri.Graham@ontario.ca


La fonction dicte la forme dans l'architecture paysagère routière

Conjugaison de la fonction et de l'esthétique en aménagement paysager routier

Plantes matures croissant le long de l'emprise d'une route provinciale ontarienne.

Plantes matures croissant le long de l'emprise d'une route provinciale ontarienne.

Les vastes espaces verts qui bordent la chaussée des routes de l'Ontario remplissent un certain nombre de fonctions importantes qui vont au-delà de l'esthétisme. Le ministère des Transports (MTO) considère à juste titre la durabilité du milieu environnant comme étant un élément important de la conception routière. C'est en suivant le principe selon lequel la fonction dicte la forme, attribué à l'architecte américain Louis Sullivan, que l'on obtient des aménagements paysagers routiers sécuritaires et durables. Ainsi, lorsqu'on met l'accent sur les besoins fonctionnels du paysage durant le processus de conception, la forme finale s'en trouve réussie. Le MTO a entrepris de nombreux projets novateurs visant à conjuguer fonctionnalité et apparence en matière d'aménagements paysagers routiers.

Il faut tenir compte des éléments présents sur place, examiner attentivement les exigences de l'emplacement et prêter attention aux besoins durant la phase de planification architecturale du paysage routier. Les aménagements attrayants constituent le résultat final et non le point de départ d'une conception adéquate. Lorsque le MTO modifie l'environnement le long d'une route, ses principaux objectifs consistent notamment à :

  • réduire le compactage du sol;
  • accroître l'infiltration d'eau, réduire le ruissellement, minimiser l'érosion et prévenir la perte de sol;
  • accroître la biodiversité par la mise en place d'une variété complexe d'espèces et de types de plantes et réduire la croissance des espèces envahissantes;
  • améliorer la qualité de l'air et réduire l'effet d'îlot thermique urbain que créent les grandes surfaces recouvertes d'un revêtement dur;
  • concevoir des aménagements adaptés au contexte.

La préparation du site et la quantité de terre s'avèrent essentielles à la santé à long terme des plantes. Le sous-solage, ou labour profond, brise la terre compactée, ce qui favorise la pénétration des racines.La présence d'une grande quantité de terre végétale améliore considérablement la santé et la longévité des plantes; cela vaut autant pour les végétaux ligneux que pour les plantes végétatives comme le gazon.

La plantation en bordure des routes continue de poser des défis au-delà de l'étape initiale. Divers facteurs influent sur la croissance après la plantation, dont le vent, le compactage du sol, le manque d'eau et le sel de voirie. Il n'est pas rare d'observer une certaine réduction de la croissance des plantes de nombreuses années après la plantation en raison de ces facteurs de stress. De plus, les tuteurs et les haubans laissés en place trop longtemps peuvent enserrer le tronc des arbres et tuer ceux-ci; l'excès de paillis peut faire croître un système radiculaire secondaire, minant ainsi l'intégrité structurelle globale des arbres; la présence de rongeurs peut poser problème, puisqu'ils causent souvent des dommages.

Afin d'atteindre ses objectifs au chapitre de la conception et de relever les défis de la plantation en bordure des routes, le ministère mène actuellement trois projets de recherche et d'innovation dans le cadre de son partenariat avec le Vineland Research and Innovation Centre. Ces travaux de recherche fourniront des résultats cohérents fondés sur des données probantes afin d'orienter la gestion d'aménagements paysagers durables. Le projet relatif à la durabilité des aménagements paysagers vise à évaluer les techniques actuelles de préparation des sites, la sélection des espèces, les méthodes d'installation et le processus de croissance. Dans le cadre de cette étude, on compare notamment la survie d'arbres transplantés (depuis des serres, des pépinières ou autres emplacements) à celle de quatre espèces d'arbres à feuilles caduques issues de trois systèmes de production. De plus, l'étude dressera l'inventaire des arbres qui ont été plantés sur des sites routiers existants il y a 15, 10 et 5 ans et qui sont toujours en vie. L'évaluation de la survie des arbres contribuera à l'établissement d'un registre historique de survie au fil du temps par la création d'une base de données répertoriant les arbres et les arbustes résistants qui se sont adaptés aux conditions routières. Ces données pourront servir à orienter la sélection future des arbres destinés à être plantés aux abords des routes. Les niveaux d'émission de CO2, la teneur de carbone captée, les méthodes de plantation favorables et défavorables et les techniques de culture comptent parmi les paramètres de recherche. On devrait obtenir les résultats de ce projet d'ici 2017, après quoi on réalisera d'autres recherches afin d'analyser le sol de plantation et la tolérance à l'eau des arbres. Le MTO compte effectuer plus tard des recherches afin de déterminer la teneur en oxygène du sol aux abords des routes.

Outre la recherche, le MTO a investi dans le maintien d'aménagements paysagers routiers durables dans le cadre du programme Écologisation des emprises routières. En 2010, il a lancé un plan quinquennal en vertu duquel il compte planter jusqu'à un million d'arbres le long des routes du Sud de l'Ontario. Dans le passé, le MTO a mené des activités de reboisement en plantant diverses espèces indigènes d'arbres et d'arbustes. Le programme Écologisation des emprises routières fait appel à une démarche différente, mettant l'accent sur le reboisement par l'emploi de petits semis en fonction des exigences fonctionnelles du site (écrans, brise-vent, plantes spécimens et lutte contre l'érosion), de la durabilité, des conditions existantes et des relations complémentaires ou symbiotiques entre les plants existants. La recherche révèle qu'il s'avère plus fructueux d'utiliser de petits plants en symbiose les uns avec les autres que d'utiliser des spécimens d'arbres plus gros, mais moins nombreux.

Bien souvent, les usagers de la route croient que la végétation en place vise à créer un milieu plaisant. Bien qu'il importe de rendre l'expérience des usagers agréable, ces qualités sont le résultat naturel d'une conception efficace.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Paula Berketo,
architecte paysagiste principale, Bureau de la conception et des normes de contrats,
au (905) 704-2229, ou à l'adresse Paula.Berketo@ontario.ca


Recommandé pour vous

Retour en haut de page