Road Talk Vol 21, no 2: Fall 2015


"Well-Founded" Technology

Rammed Aggregate Piers Improve the Windsor Tunnel Plaza Project

Figure 1: Rammed aggregate piers are placed within the foundation footprint of the new Canadian Border Services Agency Building in Windsor

Figure 1: Rammed aggregate piers are placed within the foundation footprint of the new Canadian Border Services Agency Building in Windsor.

The Ontario Ministry of Transportation (MTO) completed its first successful use of rammed aggregate piers at the site of the Windsor Border project. In July 2013, 226 rammed aggregate piers were installed at the Windsor Tunnel Plaza to support floor slabs and structural footings within the foundation footprint of the new Canadian Border Services Agency building.

Rammed aggregate piers are an innovative soil reinforcement system used to improve poor foundation conditions. The rammed aggregate piers for the Windsor project were designed by GeoSolv Design-Build (Geopier Foundation Company) for the Contractor, Coco Paving / Rosati Construction.

Project Site

Rammed aggregate pier construction process – (1) auger the hole, (2) place open-graded stone, (3) tamp bottom bulb, (4) tamp well-graded stone in thin lifts.

Figure 2: Rammed aggregate pier construction process - (1) auger the hole, (2) place open-graded stone, (3) tamp bottom bulb, (4) tamp well-graded stone in thin lifts.

The Windsor-Detroit Tunnel is one of three border crossings linking Windsor, Ontario and Detroit, Michigan. The tunnel opened to traffic in 1930 and is a single tube under the Detroit River, 1.6 km long carrying one lane of traffic in each direction with toll and inspection plazas on each side of the border.

Improvements to the Canadian Plaza of the Windsor-Detroit Tunnel were part of the $300 million Let’s Get Windsor-Essex Moving (LGWEM) strategy, jointly funded by Ontario and Canada.

The overall purpose of the project was to improve capacity and operational efficiency at the Canadian plaza while addressing existing traffic concerns and anticipated future needs of border traffic in the Windsor-Detroit corridor.

This work included a new Canada Border Services Agency Commercial Building and a new Detroit-Windsor Tunnel Maintenance Building. The original design for the building foundations was conventional strip and spread footings on engineered fill. However, two potential issues arose during project design:

  • Foundation investigations indicated that the subsurface stratigraphy at the site consists of asphalt and granular base with variable layers of fill over a deep deposit of clayey silt. A contamination study revealed that the fill was contaminated in some areas and would require excavation, trucking and disposal at an approved landfill, followed by replacement with engineered fill.
  • A need for sheet piling / shoring for excavation of the fill since the new Canada Border Services Building footprint lies only 2.2 m (7.2 feet) from the roadway curb.

The original design would have required excavation of the existing fill within the building footprint, supply, installation and compaction of engineered fill to the underside of floor slab granular base, and placement of conventional footings with form wall and backfill.

Rammed aggregate piers were selected as an alternative to excavating the fill layer. This option reduces construction costs, eases construction and reduces construction truck traffic in Windsor’s downtown core.

Rammed Aggregate Piers

Rammed aggregate piers are installed by drilling 760 mm (30 inch) diameter holes and ramming thin lifts of well-graded aggregate into the holes forming very stiff, high-density aggregate piers. The drilled holes typically extend from 3 m to 7.5 m (10 to 25 feet) below grade and 2 m to 6 m (7 to 20 feet) below footing bottoms. The first lift of aggregate forms a bulb below the bottoms of the piers, providing pre-stressing and pre-straining of the soils to a depth equal to at least one pier diameter below drill depths. Subsequent lifts are typically about 300 mm to 600 mm (12 to 24 inches) in thickness.

Ramming takes place with a high-energy bevelled tamper that makes the aggregate denser and forces the aggregate laterally into the sidewalls of the hole. This action increases the lateral stress in the surrounding soil, further stiffening the stabilized composite soil mass. The end-result of the rammed aggregate pier installation is a significant strengthening and stiffening of subsurface soils that then support high bearing capacity footings.

The system controls foundation settlements and is designed to limit post-construction settlements to less than 25 mm (1 inch) with a maximum differential settlement of 20 mm (¾ inch).

Design

High-energy bevelled tamper being used to make aggregate denser and forces the agreegate laterally into the sidewalls of the bored hole.

Figure 3: Bevelled tamper increases lateral pressure.

The compacted aggregate pier system is designed to support pier spread footings and strip footings based on the following criteria specified in the contract:

  • Factored geotechnical resistance at Ultimate Limit States(ULS) of 225 kPa.
  • Geotechnical reaction at Serviceability Limit States (SLS) of 150 kPa.
  • Estimated long-term total settlement of ≤ 25 mm defining the SLS geotechnical reaction.
  • Estimated long-term differential settlement of ≤ 20 mm defining the SLS geotechnical reaction.
  • Design long-term uniform pressure on floor slab of 25 kPa.
  • Design life of the building structure of 50 years.

Footing loads for spread footings supported on rammed aggregate piers ranged between 50 kN and 270 kN at SLS. Rammed aggregate piers supporting the floor slab were designed to support a load up to 25 kPa.

The design for this project included a system of rammed aggregate piers that were more widely spaced under floor slabs than under footings, typically ranging from 1.5 m to 3.5 m.

Construction

Diagram: Typical rammed aggregate pier for a footing.

Figure 4: Typical rammed aggregate pier for a footing.

Conducting the Dynamic Cone Penetrometer Test(DCPT) with hand-held equipment.

Figure 5: Conducting the Dynamic Cone Penetrometer Test(DCPT) with hand-held equipment.

Following removal of topsoil and pavement, the rammed aggregate piers were installed. Augered excavations for the aggregate piers fully penetrated the existing fill and advanced about 1 m into the underlying native grey silty clay. This formed a crust of soil upon which the footings are supported. The contractor then excavated to expose the tops of the piers and compacted the footing base using a “jumping jack” type tamper. The footing was then placed over the improved ground. More than 200 rammed aggregate piers were placed within the building footprint.

For wet excavations, one to two lifts of clear stone (19 mm or ¾”) were placed and compacted using a hydraulically operated compactor. Installation then continued by placing and compacting 350 mm to 400 mm thick lifts of Granular A. Compaction of each lift was considered adequate after 20 seconds had elapsed. After 20 seconds, there is generally no further vertical displacement of the compactor.

Several Dynamic Cone Penetrometer Tests were carried out by the contractor using hand-held equipment on the finished surface of the compacted Granular A. Results of the tests met the criteria of at least 15 blows per 45 mm penetration as an indicator of acceptable density.

A full-scale modulus load test was performed on a nonproduction aggregate pier installed on-site to verify the parameter values selected for design. The test results showed acceptable performance.

Cost Savings

Using rammed aggregate piers at this site resulted in significant project cost savings. This innovative method eliminated the need for sheet piling / shoring to protect the roadway - a savings of $375,000, excavation of contaminated fills and trucking off-site to disposal at an approved landfill - a savings of $280,000, and engineered replacement fill - an additional savings of $145,000.

Environmental Benefits

Modulus test set-up.

Figure 6: Modulus test set-up.

Implementing rammed aggregate pier foundations reduced environmental impacts such as exhaust emissions, noise, and traffic from an estimated 1100 truckloads that would have navigated through the downtown core removing contaminated fill and supplying engineered fill.

Future MTO Applications

The ministry anticipates future applications of rammed aggregate piers to include improved foundations for embankments, retaining walls and retained soil systems, commercial vehicle inspection facility buildings, ferry terminal buildings and slope stabilization. In addition, recycled concrete can be used as aggregate for the rammed aggregate piers.

For more information, please contact:

David Staseff, P. Eng.,
Senior Foundations Engineer,
Pavements and Foundations Section,
Materials Engineering and Research Office (MERO),
at (416) 235-4073 or David.Staseff@ontario.ca

Photos provided by Tulloch Engineering and Thurber Engineering.

Culvert Replacement using the Tunnel Boring Machine

Highway 11 Culvert Replacement using Innovative Contract Delivery and Installation Methods

1800 mm tunnel boring machine. title=

Figure 1: 1800 mm tunnel boring machine.

The Ontario Ministry of Transportation (MTO) replaces or rehabilitates many culverts each year. During a regular culvert maintenance inspection in 2010, it was determined that an existing corrugated steel pipe culvert under Highway 11, a major north-south corridor, had deteriorated, displaying excessive deformations. The ministry replaced the culvert in 2012 using an innovative new contract delivery model and a state-of-the art installation method.

The ministry considered many alternative culvert installation methods and multiple delivery models for acquiring design and construction services for this project. MTO identified the Highway 11 centerline culvert replacement project as a candidate for the DesignBuild (DB) method for delivering construction projects. The ministry implemented the Design Build Type B Minor model due to project complexity, the opportunity for innovation and the need to reduce the time for project completion.

Highway 11 Project Site and Preliminary Field Investigations

A sinkhole developing in the east embankment threatens the integrity of the adjacent northbound lane on Highway 11.

Figure 2: A sinkhole developing in the east embankment threatens the integrity of the adjacent northbound lane on Highway 11.

Installed in 1975, the original 215m long, 1.8m diameter corrugated steel culvert crossed both the southbound lane(SBL) and northbound lane (NBL) highway embankments. The embankments are 17 m high; the slopes are covered with sparse vegetation, cobbles and large boulders.

The depth of the embankment fills along the existing culvert alignment ranged from 1.4 m along the east toe of the NBL embankment, to 16.8 m over the SBL. The new culvert was to be installed between the embankment fill and the underlying native deposits.

In May 2011 and February 2012, two separate foundation investigations at the site identified subsurface soils consisting of a superficial layer of sand and gravel fill underlain by silty sand. Borehole samples taken on the embankment crest showed groundwater levels approximately 1.0m to 2.0m above the existing culvert invert. Subsurface conditions at the site would require a tunnelling operation below groundwater level to replace the culvert.

Accessing the Launch Site

Two sections of the Corrugated Steel Pipe braced in 2009 to prevent further movement.

Figure 3: Two sections of the Corrugated Steel Pipe braced in 2009 to prevent further movement.

In order to accommodate the tunnel-boring machine, access roads were cut into the southeastern slope of the adjacent creek valley with a 25 to 30 per-cent slope down to the valley floor.

In September 2012, the DB team began construction of the entrance pit with the installation of sheet-pile walls to hold back soil in the excavation. The necessary dimensions for the entrance pit were 8 m in length by 4.9 m wide and 485 mm below the invert level of the concrete pipe. Once the entrance road was complete and all sheet piles were installed, the backstop area for the boring machine was constructed. Concrete was placed between the steel components and inserted in the eight friction tube piles installed creating a massive support system for the jack station.

A 250 mm concrete slab was placed on the native subgrade.To provide extra support for the south sheet-pile wall of the entrance pit, 5 m long H-Piles were installed in one row, three meters away from the pit, and anchored with steel cables passing through the braced walls. The installed system combined steel H-Piles and steel cables to minimize deformations on the braced sheet-pile wall.

Tunnel Boring Machine

Access road for the exit pit located at the west side of the southbound lane.

Figure 4: Access road for the exit pit located at the west side of the southbound lane.

Marathon Drilling Co. Ltd., tunnelling contractors, a DB team member, and experts in trenchless installation technology, installed a 1.5 m diameter concrete jacking pipe Class 140-D culvert using an 1800 mm tunnel boring machine (TBM).

The Earth Pressure Balance tunnel boring machine, operated and owned by Marathon Drilling, is state-of-the art equipment, manufactured by the Palmieri Group in Italy, and is the only one available in Ontario.

The TBM consists of a cutting head connected to an enclosed pressure chamber where, spoils are passed into the TBM by a screw conveyor. The 18-080 mm cutting head is equipped with rock cutters. This mechanized Earth Pressure Balance machine allows different deposits to be tunnelled safely, including wet, soft deposits and unstable ground.

Since the tunnelling site consisted of fine granular soil in the presence of an elevated ground water table, the use of the Earth Pressure Balance tunnelling machine maintained a balance between the TBM face pressures and the earth pressures and eliminated the need for dewatering along the tunnel alignment. Bentonite slurry was used as a lubricant for the cutting head and to fill the possible spaces and any remaining voids outside of the pipes.

Monitoring

All concrete pipe segments installed in the tunnel.

Figure 5: All concrete pipe segments installed in the tunnel.

Based on the performance-based specification’s minimum requirements for an instrumentation monitoring system and settlement monitoring criteria, the DB team installed more than 40 ground movement monitoring points consisting of surface points, in-ground points and deep in-ground points.Five non-yielding survey control points were also installed as benchmarks outside the zone of influence of the tunnel. The ministry will continue to monitor ground movement at the culvert site.

Lessons Learned

Many aspects of this experience were successful and the ministry acquired valuable learning experiences for reducing construction difficulties. Numerous challenges arose during the placement and installation of the entrance pit components leading to revisions to the design, installation methods and construction techniques.

Since this project, the ministry has begun conducting more detailed preliminary foundation investigations to detect organic material deposits underneath existing embankments.

The ministry will consider trenchless technologies for the replacement of culverts situated in deep fill embankments and encourage its use where technically applicable for its foundations component. Since rock fill embankments are common along new alignments and extensions throughout the province, using innovative ways to replace structures under deep embankments are necessary.

For more information, please contact:

Márcia Mora, P.Eng.,
Head of Corridor Management,
at (705) 497-5530, or at Marcia.Mora@ontario.ca


Recommended for you

Back to Top

Road Talk : Vol. 21, nº 2 automne 2015


Une technologie « bien fondée »

Des piliers en agrégat damé pour améliorer le projet de l’esplanade du tunnel Windsor

Des piliers en agrégat damé sont placés sur toute la superficie de la fondation du nouvel édifice de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada à Windsor.

Figure 1 : Des piliers en agrégat damé sont placés sur toute la superficie de la fondation du nouvel édifice de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada à Windsor.

MLe ministère des Transports de l’Ontario (MTO) a utilisé pour la première fois avec succès des piliers en agrégat damé sur le site du projet frontalier de Windsor. En juillet 2013, 226 piliers en agrégat damé ont été installés à l’esplanade du tunnel Windsor pour supporter les dalles de plancher et les semelles structurelles sur toute la superficie de la fondation du nouvel édifice de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada.

Les piliers en agrégat damé constituent un système de renforcement innovant permettant d’améliorer les fondations construites dans de mauvais sols de fondation. Les piliers en agrégat damé utilisés pour le projet Windsor ont été conçus par Geosolv Design Build (Geopier Foundation Company), pour le compte de l’entrepreneur, Coco Paving / Rosati Contruction.

Établissement participant au projet

Diagramme : Processus de construction de piliers en agrégat damé -1)forcer le trou, 2)placer la pierre à granulométrie ouverte, 3)damer l'ampoule formée au fond du trou, 4)damer la pierre à granulométrie continue en couches minces.

Figure 2 : Processus de construction de piliers en agrégat damé – 1) forcer le trou, 2) placer la pierre à granulométrie ouverte, 3) damer l’ampoule formée au fond du trou, 4) damer la pierre à granulométrie continue en couches minces.

Le tunnel Windsor-Detroit est l’un des trois passages frontaliers qui relient Windsor (Ontario) et Detroit (Michigan). Le tunnel a été ouvert à la circulation en 1930 et est constitué d’un seul tube passant sous la rivière Detroit. Il mesure 1,6 kilomètre et comporte une voie dans chaque sens, ainsi que des postes de péage et des centres d’inspection de part et d’autre de la frontière.

Les améliorations à l’esplanade canadienne du tunnel Windsor-Detroit ont été réalisées dans le cadre de la stratégie « Il faut que ça bouge à Windsor-Essex », financée conjointement par l’Ontario et le Canada au coût de 300 millions de dollars.

Le projet visait principalement à améliorer les opérations et la capacité de l’esplanade canadienne, tout en réglant les problèmes de circulation existants et en anticipant les besoins futurs en matière de circulation frontalière dans le corridor Windsor-Detroit.

Les travaux comprenaient la construction d’un nouvel édifice commercial pour l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada et d’un nouvel édifice d’entretien pour le tunnel Detroit-Windsor.

À l’origine du projet, les édifices devaient avoir une fondation superficielle par semelles filantes sur un remblai stabilisé. Cependant, deux problèmes se révélèrent durant la phase de conception :

  • Des enquêtes sur le sol de fondation indiquèrent que la stratigraphie de la subsurface du site consistait en une base d’asphalte et de matériaux granulaires recouverte de différentes couches de remblai, le tout reposant sur un dépôt profond de silt argileux. Une étude de contamination a révélé que le remblai était contaminé à certains endroits. Par conséquent, il faudrait excaver le remblai, le transporter et l’enfouir dans un site d’enfouissement approuvé, puis le remplacer par un remblai stabilisé.
  • Il serait nécessaire de procéder à l’installation d’une paroi de palplanches ou à l’étayage en vue de l’excavation puisque la fondation du nouvel édifice de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada se trouve à seulement 2,2 m (7,2 pieds) de la bordure de la chaussée.

La conception d’origine prévoyait l’excavation du sol existant dans les limites de la fondation de l’édifice, l’approvisionnement, l’installation et le compactage du remblai stabilisé au-dessous de la base granulaire de la dalle du plancher, et l’installation de semelles superficielles avec coffrages de murs et le remblayage.

Les piliers en agrégat damé ont été choisis comme solution de rechange à l’excavation de la couche de remblai. Cette option permet de faciliter la construction tout en en réduisant les coûts, et réduit la circulation de camions au centre-ville de Windsor.

Piliers en agrégat damé

Les piliers en agrégat damé sont installés en perçant des trous de 760 mm (30 po) de diamètre, puis en damant en couches minces un agrégat à granulométrie continue dans les trous, formant des piliers en agrégat très rigides ayant une densité très élevée. Les trous percés s’étendent habituellement de 3 m à 7,5 m (de 10 à 25 pieds) sous le niveau du sol et de 2 m à 6 m (de 7 à 20 pieds) sous les semelles. La première couche d’agrégat damé forme une ampoule sous le bas des piliers, assurant la précontrainte et le prébridage du sol à une profondeur équivalant au moins à un diamètre d’un pilier sous le niveau de forage. Les couches subséquentes atteignent habituellement entre 300 mm et 600 mm (12 et 24 pouces) d’épaisseur.

Le damage s’effectue à l’aide d’une dameuse biseautée de grande puissance qui accroît la densité de l’agrégat et le force à s’infiltrer latéralement dans les parois du trou. Cette action occasionne une augmentation de la contrainte latérale dans le sol environnant, rendant encore plus rigide la masse de terre composite stabilisée. L’installation de piliers en agrégat damé entraîne un renforcement et un durcissement significatifs du sol de la subsurface, qui peut ensuite soutenir des semelles à résistance élevée.

Le système limite le tassement de la fondation. Il est conçu pour limiter le tassement après la construction à moins de 25 mm (1 pouce), avec un tassement différentiel maximal de 20 mm (3/4 pouce).

Conception

Dameuse diseautée de grande puissance utilisée pour accroître la densitée de l'agrégat et la forcer à pénétrer latéralement dans les parois du trou foré.

Figure 3 : Une dameuse biseautée augmente la pression latérale.

Le système de piliers en agrégat damé est conçu pour supporter les semelles de fondation et des semelles filantes selon les critères suivants énumérés dans le contrat :

  • Résistance géotechnique prévue à l’état-limite ultime de 225 kPa.
  • Réaction géotechnique à l’état-limite de service de 150 kPa.
  • Tassement total à long terme estimé à ≤ 25 mm au point de réaction géotechnique à l’état-limite de service.
  • Tassement différentiel à long terme de ≤ 20 mm au point de réaction géotechnique à l’état-limite de service.
  • Conception pour une pression uniforme à long terme sur la dalle du plancher à 25 kPa.
  • Conception pour une durée de vie nominale de la structure de l’édifice de 50 ans.

Les charges des semelles pour les fondations superficielles supportées par des piliers en agrégat damé varient entre 50 kN et 270 kN à l’état-limite de service. Les piliers en agrégat damé supportant la dalle de plancher sont conçus pour supporter jusqu’à 25 kPa.

La conception de ce projet prévoyait un système de piliers en agrégat damé qui était à l’origine plus espacés sous la dalle du plancher que sous les semelles, variant généralement entre 1,5 m et 3,5 m.

Construction

Diagram: Typical rammed aggregate pier for a footing.

Figure 4: Typical rammed aggregate pier for a footing.

Conducting the Dynamic Cone Penetrometer Test(DCPT) with hand-held equipment.

Figure 5: Conducting the Dynamic Cone Penetrometer Test(DCPT) with hand-held equipment.

À la suite de l’excavation de la terre végétale et de la chaussée, les piliers en agrégat damé ont été installés. Les excavations réalisées pour les piliers en agrégat ont traversé le remblai existant de même qu’environ 1 m de la couche d’argile limoneuse grise indigène, formant une croûte de terre sur laquelle sont déposées les semelles. L’entrepreneur a ensuite excavé pour exposer le dessus des piliers et a damé la base de la semelle à l’aide d’une dameuse sauteuse. La semelle a ensuite été placée sur le sol amélioré. Plus de 200 piliers en agrégat damé ont été placés dans la superficie de la fondation de l’édifice.

Pour les excavations sous l’eau, une ou deux couches de pierre de décantation (19 mm ou 3/4 po) ont été placées, puis damées à l’aide d’un compacteur hydraulique. L’installation s’est ensuite poursuivie par l’installation et le compactage de couches de matériaux granulaires A de 350 mm à 400 mm. Le compactage de chaque couche était considéré comme adéquat après 20 secondes. Après 20 secondes, il n’y a habituellement plus de déplacement vertical du compacteur.

L’entrepreneur a effectué plusieurs essais dynamiques de pénétromètre à cône à l’aide d’équipement manuel, sur la surface finie de matériaux granulaires A compactés. Les résultats des essais étaient conformes au critère établi à un minimum de 15 coups par pénétration de 45 mm, considéré comme un indicateur acceptable de la densité. Un essai de charge de module complet a été réalisé sur un pilier non destiné à la production installé sur le site pour vérifier les valeurs des paramètres choisis pour la conception. Les résultats ont été jugés acceptables.

Un essai de charge de module complet a été réalisé sur un pilier non destiné à la production installé sur le site pour vérifier les valeurs des paramètres choisis pour la conception. Les résultats ont été jugés acceptables.

Économies de coûts

L’utilisation de piliers en agrégat damé à ce site s’est traduite par des économies de coûts substantielles. Cette méthode innovatrice a éliminé le besoin de parois de palplanches ou d’étayage pour protéger la chaussée – une économie de 375 000 $, d’excavation de matériaux de remblai contaminés et d’envoi à un site d’enfouissement approuvé – une économie de 280 000 $, et l’utilisation d’un remblai stabilisé en remplacement – une économie de 145 000 $ de plus.

Avantages environnementaux

Mise en place d’un essai de charge de module.

Figure 6 : Mise en place d’un essai de charge de module.

La mise en place de piliers en agrégat damé a réduit les répercussions environnementales, comme les émissions d’échappement, le bruit et le trafic routier occasionné par environ 1 100 chargements de camions qui auraient autrement dû circuler au centre-ville pour transporter le remblai contaminé et le remblai de remplacement.

Applications futures pour le MTO

Le ministère prévoit intégrer les piliers en agrégat damé dans plusieurs autres applications, notamment l’amélioration des fondations dans les remblais, les murs de soutènement et les systèmes de renforcement de sol, les édifices d’inspection de véhicules commerciaux, les terminaux de traversier et la stabilisation des pentes. De plus, le béton recyclé peut être utilisé comme agrégat pour les piliers en agrégat damé.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

David Staseff, Ing.,
ingénieur principal en fondations,
Section des revêtements et des fondations,
Bureau de la recherche et du génie en matière de matériaux
au (416) 235-4073 ou David.Staseff@ontario.ca

Les photos sont une gracieuseté de Tulloch Engineering et Thurber Engineering.

Remplacement d’un ponceau à l’aide d’un tunnelier

Remplacement d’un ponceau sur la route 11 à l’aide d’un nouveau modèle d’exécution de contrats et d’une méthode d’installation novatrice

Tunnelier de 1 800 mm

Figure 1 : Tunnelier de 1 800 mm

Le ministère des Transports de l’Ontario (MTO) remplace ou remet en état de nombreux ponceaux chaque année. Durant une inspection d’entretien régulier des ponceaux en 2010, le MTO a déterminé qu’un ponceau en tôle d’acier ondulé existant situé sous la route 11, un important couloir nord-sud, s’était détérioré, laissant paraître des déformations excessives. En 2012, le ministère a remplacé le ponceau à l’aide d’un nouveau modèle d’exécution de contrats novateur et d’une méthode d’installation de pointe.

Le ministère a étudié de nombreuses différentes méthodes pour l’installation du ponceau et de multiples modèles d’exécution pour acquérir les services de conception et de construction dans le cadre de ce projet. Le MTO a déterminé le projet de remplacement du ponceau central de la route 11 comme étant admissible à la méthode de conceptionconstruction pour la réalisation de projets de construction. Le ministère a mis en oeuvre le modèle de conceptionconstruction de type B mineur en raison de la complexité du projet, de la possibilité d’innover et de la nécessité de réduire le délai d’achèvement du projet.

Site du projet de la route 11 et enquêtes préliminaires sur le terrain

Figure 2 : Une doline se développant dans le remblai menace l’intégrité de la voie direction nord adjacente sur la route 11.

Figure 2 : Une doline se développant dans le remblai menace l’intégrité de la voie direction nord adjacente sur la route 11.

Installé en 1975, le ponceau d’origine fait d’un tuyau d’acier ondulé d’une longueur de 215 m et d’un diamètre de 1,8 m traversait les deux remblais routiers de la voie direction sud et de la voie direction nord. Les remblais sont d’une hauteur de 17 m; les pentes sont recouvertes de végétation éparse, de galets et de gros blocs rocheux.

La profondeur des remblais le long du tracé du ponceau existant variait de 1,4 m le long de l’extrémité est du remblai de la voie direction nord à 16,8 m sur la voie direction sud. Le nouveau ponceau devait être installé entre le remblai et les dépôts d’origine sous-jacents.

En mai 2011 et en février 2012, deux enquêtes distinctes sur le sol de fondation menées sur le site ont révélé des couches inférieures du sol constituées d’une couche superficielle de remblais de sable et de gravier composés de sable silteux. Des carottes prélevées sur la crête du remblai ont révélé des niveaux d’eaux souterraines environ 1,0 m à 2,0 m au-dessus du radier du ponceau existant. L’état de la sous-surface du site exigerait l’exécution d’une opération de creusement en dessous du niveau des eaux souterraines afin de remplacer le ponceau.

Accès au site de lancement

Deux sections du tuyau d’acier ondulé ont été contreventées en 2009 afin de prévenir tout déplacement.

Figure 3 : Deux sections du tuyau d’acier ondulé ont été contreventées en 2009 afin de prévenir tout déplacement.

Afin de permettre l’accès au tunnelier, les voies d’accès ont été encastrées dans la pente sud-est de la vallée du ruisseau adjacente ayant une inclinaison de 25 à 30 pour cent vers le fond de vallée.

En septembre 2012, l’équipe de conception-construction a commencé la construction du puits d’entrée avec l’installation de parois en palplanches pour retenir le sol dans l’excavation. Les dimensions nécessaires pour le puits d’entrée étaient une longueur de 8 m par une largeur de 4,9 m et une profondeur de 485 mm en dessous du niveau du radier du tuyau en béton. Une fois la route d’accès terminée et toutes les palplanches installées, la zone d’adossement du tunnelier a été construite. Du béton a été coulé entre les composants d’acier et dans les huit pieux à tube battu à friction installés, créant ainsi un système de soutien massif pour le bras de levage du vérin.

Une dalle de béton de 250 mm a été placée sur le sol de fondation d’origine. Afin de fournir du soutien supplémentaire aux parois en palplanches situées sur le côté sud du puits d’entrée, des palplanches en H d’une longueur de 5 m ont été installées dans une rangée, à une distance de trois mètres du puits et ancrées à l’aide de câbles d’acier passant à travers les parois contreventées. Le système installé combinait des palplanches d’acier en H et des câbles d’acier afin de réduire au minimum les déformations sur les parois en palplanches contreventées.

Tunnelier

Voie d’accès pour le puits de sortie située à l’ouest de la voie direction sud.

Figure 4 : Voie d’accès pour le puits de sortie située à l’ouest de la voie direction sud.

Forage Marathon Cie Ltée, des entrepreneurs en creusement, un membre de l’équipe de conception-construction et des experts en technologie d’installation sans tranchée ont installé un ponceau de catégorie 140-D en béton non armé d’un diamètre de 1,5 m à l’aide d’un tunnelier de 1 800 mm.

Le tunnelier à pression de terre, exploité par Forage Marathon Cie Ltée et lui appartenant, est une machine à la fine pointe de la technologie fabriquée par le Palmieri Group en Italie et est la seule en Ontario.

Le tunnelier est doté d’une tête de forage reliée à une chambre de pression close où les déblais passent dans le tunnelier par un transporteur à vis. La tête de forage de 1 800 mm est munie de dérocteurs. Ce tunnelier mécanisé à pression de terre permet de creuser différents dépôts de façon sécuritaire, notamment des dépôts mous et humides ainsi que des terrains instables.

Puisque le site de creusement est constitué d’un sol pulvérulent fin en présence d’une surface hydrostatique élevée, l’utilisation du tunnelier à pression de terre a permis de maintenir un équilibre entre les pressions du tunnelier et les poussées des terres, et d’éliminer la nécessité d’assécher le long du tracé du tunnel. De la boue bentonitique a été utilisée comme lubrifiant pour la tête de forage et pour remplir les espaces possibles et tout vide restant à l’extérieur des tuyaux.

Surveillance

Installation de tous les tronçons de tuyaux en béton dans le tunnel

Figure 5 : Installation de tous les tronçons de tuyaux en béton dans le tunnel

En se fondant sur les exigences minimales relatives aux spécifications fondées sur le rendement pour un système de surveillance d’instrumentation et sur les critères de surveillance de tassement, l’équipe de conception-construction a installé plus de 40 points de surveillance de mouvements de terrain qui comprennent des points de surface, des points sur le terrain et des points sur le terrain profond. De plus, cinq points de contrôle pour les levés résistants ont été installés comme points de référence à l’extérieur de la zone d’influence du tunnel. Le ministère continuera de surveiller les mouvements de terrain sur le site d’installation du ponceau.

Leçons retenues

De nombreux aspects de cette expérience ont été fructueux. Le ministère a retenu de précieuses leçons relativement à la réduction des difficultés liées à la construction. De nombreux problèmes se sont présentés durant la mise en place et l’installation des composants du puits d’entrée, menant à des révisions de la conception, des méthodes d’installation et des techniques de construction.

Depuis la mise en oeuvre de ce projet, le ministère a commencé à mener des enquêtes préliminaires plus détaillées sur le sol de fondation afin de détecter des dépôts de matières organiques en dessous des remblais existants.

Le ministère envisagera le recours à des technologies sans tranchée pour le remplacement des ponceaux situés dans des remblais profonds et encouragera leur utilisation dans les cas où elles sont techniquement applicables aux éléments des sols de fondation. Puisque les barrages en enrochement sont courants le long des nouveaux alignements et prolongements dans l’ensemble de la province, il est nécessaire de recourir à des moyens novateurs pour remplacer les structures sous les remblais profonds.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Márcia Mora, Ing.,
responsable de la gestion des couloirs routiers,
au (705) 497-5530, ou à l'adresse Marcia.Mora@ontario.ca


Recommandé pour vous

Retour en haut de page