Road Talk Winter Vol 22, no 1: Winter 2016


The Ministry of Transportation's Bilingual Strategy for Variable Message Signs

A sample of Ontario's new variable message signs displaying recognizable graphics and bilingual messaging.

A sample of Ontario's new variable message signs displaying recognizable graphics and bilingual messaging for seat belt use.

On January 20, 2015, the Ministry of Transportation (MTO) announced a strategy for the deployment of bilingual variable message signs (VMS) in provincial areas designated under the French Language Services Act. The work leading up to the announcement was significant for the ministry. At the time of the French Language Services Act introduction in 1986, the technology available made it impossible to display French messages on VMS. Older VMS could not display letters with French accents and there was not enough physical space to provide both English and French messages. In addition, human factors testing recommended highway messages be displayed on a single phase because large messages with more than one phase could become a driver distraction.

The ministry was granted an extension for compliance of bilingual message implementation on VMS due to these safety and technological challenges which warranted further in-depth studies.

Making bilingual VMS a reality involved many years of work on the part of ministry staff and consultants who worked diligently to roll out the strategy in 2015.

Background - French Language Services Act

Bilingual static signing in Ontario

Figure 1: Bilingual static signing in Ontario

When the French Language Services (FLS) Act was introduced, bilingual road signs were installed in French-designated areas. The MTO Bilingual Signing Policy was developed in accordance with the Act. Under the Act, provincial highways located in French-designated areas require bilingual signs.

The current MTO policy sets guidelines to provide uniformity and consistency of signs along provincial highway routes located in 26 French-designated areas.

New Signs, New Capabilities

Typical VMS located on Highway 401 in Toronto. The sign is limited in space, cannot display bilingual messages and because of high driving speeds, the signage policy prohibits the use of two-phase messaging on these full-size signs.

Figure 2: Typical VMS located on Highway 401 in Toronto. The sign is limited in space, cannot display bilingual messages and because of high driving speeds, the sign policy prohibits the use of two-phase messaging on these full-size signs.

Over the past few years, the ministry has begun to acquire new full matrix signs to replace current variable message signs as they reach the end of their lifecycles.

The new signs offer a great deal more flexibility than the old signs. They support hundreds of colours, French accents and pictograms. They also offer more flexibility with the positioning of pictograms and text.

The use of pictograms on road signs significantly reduces the amount of text required to convey messages. These capabilities have been important components of moving forward with the province-wide strategy.

Public Consultation for Highway Messaging in French Designated Areas

In 2004, an initial study was carried out by MTO, who retained IBI Group, a firm offering urban design and planning services, to develop both an English and French message library. The consultant partnered with Human Factors North, a human factor specialist firm and together they conducted a study that involved the development of pictograph concepts through a public consultation process with Anglophone and Francophone drivers, a jurisdictional scan, and an internal design team.

During the consultation, test candidates were given multiple traffic incident scenarios and asked to draw pictures that represent the various highway traffic situations. For one particular highway scenario, the majority of participants responded by showing schematic type drawings representing the highway and proposed conditions via arrows and 'x's as shown in the examples in Figure 3. This trend was observed through all language groups providing the initial ideas for developing the draft set of messages to be tested for comprehension.

Samples of traffic incident scenarios drawn by test candidates depicting two left lanes blocked.

Figure 3: Samples of traffic incident scenarios drawn by Anglophone and Francophone test candidates depicting two left lanes blocked.

Based on this initial round of consultation a complete draft library of graphics were developed and tested confirming the extent to which the messages were understood by all tested language groups. Messages with a high degree of comprehension were advanced to the final list of messages.

When messages were misunderstood, participants were asked to suggest potential improvements. These improvements were made and the updated messages were then subject to a second round of testing.

The initial consultation prompted the ministry to look further into existing well-recognized graphics used on provincial static signs, GPS devices and generally on the Internet, to represent traffic or traffic conditions.

In 2010, the ministry undertook a second study building on the findings of the initial study. The timing of the second study provided an opportunity to incorporate technological advances made since 2004, such as larger full matrix signs, the ability to produce French characters, the use of hundreds of colors and flexible placement of both text and pictograms.

Public Session for Creating Common Symbols

A new safety message with text and graphics that was tested in public consultation

Figure 4: A new safety message with text and graphics that was tested in public consultation and understood by multiple language groups.

Comprehension of the safety message by tested language groups. English - 99% French - 97% Other - 98% Total - 98%

Figure 5: Comprehension of the tested 'Safe Distance' variable message sign by various language groups.

As part of the second study, in 2011 two rounds of human factors testing were conducted in the cities of Toronto, Sudbury and Ottawa, and included extensive outreach to Francophone stakeholders in order to obtain a desired sample of 200 French-speaking drivers. The human factors testing scheduled for French-speaking drivers was conducted entirely in French.

By the end of the study, approximately 600 regular commuters were involved in the human factors testing. Participants were classified as either French as first language (those who have knowledge of French and use it at home), English as a first language or Other as first language, with an even split between the three groups. Over 200 participants identified themselves as speaking French as a first language.

Participants also ranged in terms of age into three separate categories: 25 years old and younger, 25 years to 55 years old and 55 years old and older, representing common highway driving demographics.

The input received from the Francophone community was invaluable to the study, giving the ministry good insight into which graphic images were most effective. Feedback also provided clear direction for deciding when to incorporate text or simply a concise stand-alone graphic on signs. The Francophone respondents also provided input that assisted the development of policies for pictogram signing. Figure 4 shows an example of a safety message and graphic that had undergone two rounds of testing. This example scored a very high level of comprehension among all three language groups, as shown in Figure 5.

VMS Fonts and Legibility

Arrive Alive, Don't Drink & Drive pictograms, easily recognized by multiple language groups.

Figure 6: Arrive Alive, Don't Drink & Drive pictograms, easily recognized by multiple language groups.

Based on the Human Factors North study results, some messages require both French and English text to supplement the graphic to enhance comprehension. However, the amount of text is significantly reduced.

A new font was also developed for new VMS support text. The new font and letters with French accents were brought into the human factors testing to ensure their legibility to the Francophone audience. This new font was then incorporated into the final set of pictogram messages where required.

A finalized library of messages and message templates were developed for all messages shown to be well understood by all three language groups.

After extensive consultation and human factors testing with both Francophone and Anglophone participants, the ministry opted for a strategy that relies heavily on the use of pictograms. Pictogram messages are typically comprised of easily recognizable graphics reducing the requirement for text. Through the use of pictograms and shorter text messages the ministry can now display both French and English messages when the pictogram requires the addition of text for enhanced message comprehension.

Bilingual Variable Message Sign Implementation

A sample of Ontario's new variable message signs displaying recognizable graphics and bilingual messaging.

A sample of Ontario's new variable message signs displaying recognizable graphics and bilingual messaging for seat belt use.

The implementation of the bilingual Variable Message Signs occurred in two phases due to the complexity of the road safety messages and the size of the sign structures in Ontario's regions. In 2010, the government completed the first phase in the implementation of bilingual messages on signs in northern Ontario. The second phase of the project involved the development of a new library of combined symbol and bilingual text messages for larger VMS in other parts of the province. The use of graphics in these messages reduced the dependency on text and allowed messages to be easily understood by all drivers regardless of their first language. The ministry undertook significant human factors testing to ensure that the new messages were understood by drivers and easy to read at a distance.

Each stage throughout the project led to the modification of the central sign control software. Once the pictogram library was approved federal-provincial funding was secured for an education campaign. A provincial VMS policy was developed and publicity of the study across government transportation and transit agencies, consulting firms, industry vendors and software developers took place. The ministry presented the public consultation findings to 250 delegates at the Association of Francophone Municipalities of Ontario's Annual Conference in New Liskeard, Ontario, and to 300 delegates at the Intelligent Transportation Systems Annual Conference in 2013.

The culmination of this work was unveiled on January 20, 2015, when, Steven Del Duca, the Minister of Transportation, rolled out the strategy for bilingual variable messaging to the media. The use of colour, along with internationally-recognized images and symbols using less text allows drivers to easily interpret important road safety information and respond to traffic conditions accordingly. To date, more than 40 new electronic signs have been introduced in Ontario with bilingual variable messaging capability. Older VMS across the province will gradually transition to the new sign type as they reach the end of their lifecycle.

Best practices from around the world combined with regional research and public input have assisted the ministry to create signs designed for Ontario drivers. This is the first bilingual image-based sign plan developed and executed province-wide in Canada.

For more information, please contact:

Robert Chan,
Supervising Engineer,
Implementation Unit, Intelligent Transportation Systems Program Section, Traffic Office, Central Region,
Ontario Ministry of Transportation,
at (416) 235-4501, or at Robert.Chan@ontario.ca

OR

Rachel Baril,
MTO French Language Services Coordinator,
French Language Services Land & Resources Cluster,
Ministry of the Environment and Climate Change
at (905) 704-2045, or at Rachel.Baril@ontario.ca


Recommended for you

Back to Top

Road Talk : Vol. 22, nº 1 hiver 2016


La stratégie bilingue du ministère des Transports pour les panneaux à messages variables

Exemple d’un PMV de l’Ontario avec un élément graphique facile à reconnaître et un message bilingue encourageant l’utilisation de la ceinture de sécurité.

Exemple d’un PMV de l’Ontario avec un élément graphique facile à reconnaître et un message bilingue encourageant l’utilisation de la ceinture de sécurité.

Le 20 janvier 2015, le ministère des Transports (MTO) a annoncé une stratégie de mise en place de panneaux à messages variables (PMV) bilingues dans les régions de la province visées par la Loi sur les services en français. Les travaux ayant conduit à cette annonce ont été importants pour le Ministère. Lors de l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur les services en français, en 1986, il était impossible, avec la technologie alors disponible, d’afficher des messages français sur les PMV. Les anciens PMV ne pouvaient pas afficher des lettres avec les accents utilisés en français, et l’espace était insuffisant pour afficher des messages en anglais et en français. En outre, à la suite d’essais usuels, on recommandait que les messages sur les autoroutes soient affichés en une seule phase, puisqu’un message avec plus d’une phase pourrait distraire les automobilistes.

Ces difficultés sur les plans de la technologie et de la sécurité exigeaient des études plus approfondies, et le Ministère avait obtenu une prolongation pour la mise en œuvre de messages bilingues sur les PMV afin de se conformer à la législation.

Le personnel et les conseillers du Ministère ont travaillé assidûment pendant de nombreuses années pour lancer la stratégie en 2015 et faire des PMV bilingues une réalité.

Contexte – Loi sur les services en français

Panneaux à messages fixes bilingues en Ontario

Figure 1 : Panneaux à messages fixes bilingues en Ontario

Lorsque la Loi sur les services en français est entrée en vigueur, des panneaux de signalisation bilingues ont été installés dans les régions désignées françaises. La Politique d’affichage bilingue du MTO a été élaborée conformément à cette Loi. Aux termes de cette dernière, des panneaux bilingues étaient requis sur les autoroutes provinciales situées dans les régions désignées françaises.

La politique actuelle du MTO définit les lignes directrices d’uniformité des panneaux le long des autoroutes provinciales dans 26 régions désignées françaises.

Nouveaux panneaux, nouvelles capacités

PMV normal situé sur l’autoroute 401 à Toronto. Le panneau a un espace limité et ne peut pas afficher de messages bilingues, et, compte tenu de la vitesse de conduite élevée, la politique interdit l’utilisation de messages à deux phases sur de tels panneaux.

Figure 2 : PMV normal situé sur l’autoroute 401 à Toronto. Le panneau a un espace limité et ne peut pas afficher de messages bilingues, et, compte tenu de la vitesse de conduite élevée, la politique interdit l’utilisation de messages à deux phases sur de tels panneaux.

Au cours des quelques dernières années, le Ministère a commencé à acquérir de nouveaux panneaux à matrice dense pour remplacer les PMV actuels qui atteignent la fin de leur cycle de vie.

Les nouveaux panneaux offrent une bien plus grande souplesse que les anciens. Ils peuvent afficher des centaines de couleurs, les accents utilisés en français et des pictogrammes. Ils offrent aussi une plus grande souplesse quant à l’emplacement des pictogrammes et du texte.

L’utilisation de pictogrammes sur les panneaux de signalisation permet de réduire considérablement la quantité de texte nécessaire pour transmettre un message. Ces capacités ont joué un rôle important pour l’adoption d’une stratégie à l’échelle provinciale.

Consultation publique concernant les messages en français sur les autoroutes dans les régions désignées françaises

En 2004, le MTO a mené une étude initiale en faisant appel à IBI Group, une entreprise de services de planification et de conception urbaines, dans le but d’établir un répertoire de messages anglais et français. En collaboration avec Human Factors North, une entreprise spécialisée dans les facteurs humains, elle a mené une étude sur l’élaboration de concepts pictographiques au moyen d’une consultation publique auprès des conducteurs anglophones et francophones, d’un examen des compétences et d’une équipe interne de conception.

Au cours des consultations, on a présenté aux candidats différents scénarios d’incidents de circulation et on leur a demandé de représenter par dessin ces diverses situations. Pour l’un de ces scénarios, la majorité des participants a répondu en faisant des dessins schématiques représentant l’autoroute et a illustré les conditions proposées au moyen de flèches et de « x », comme dans les exemples de la figure 3. Cette tendance a été constatée dans tous les groupes linguistiques, ce qui a donné lieu aux premières idées pour l’élaboration d’une ébauche de messages dont la clarté serait mesurée.

Exemples de scénarios d’incidents de circulation dessinés par des candidats anglophones et francophones, illustrant deux voies de gauche bloquées.

Figure 3 : Exemples de scénarios d’incidents de circulation dessinés par des candidats anglophones et francophones, illustrant deux voies de gauche bloquées.

Un répertoire complet d’éléments graphiques a été élaboré en fonction de cette première ronde de consultations et mis à l’essai pour confirmer dans quelle mesure les messages étaient compris par tous les groupes linguistiques visés. Les messages très bien compris étaient ajoutés à la liste définitive de messages.

Si un message était mal compris, on demandait aux participants de proposer des améliorations potentielles. Ensuite, on apportait ces améliorations et les messages à jour faisaient l’objet d’une deuxième ronde d’essais.

La première consultation a poussé le Ministère à se pencher davantage sur les éléments graphiques existants bien connus utilisés sur les panneaux à message fixe, les appareils GPS et de façon générale sur Internet pour illustrer la circulation et les conditions de route.

En 2010, le Ministère a entrepris une deuxième étude en s’appuyant sur les conclusions de la première. Au moment de cette deuxième étude, il a été possible d’inclure les percées technologiques réalisées depuis 2004, notamment les plus grands panneaux à matrice dense, la possibilité d’afficher les caractères français, l’utilisation de centaines de couleurs et la souplesse de l’emplacement du texte et des pictogrammes.

Séance publique sur la création de symboles communs

Nouveau message de sécurité incluant texte et éléments graphiques, mis à l’essai durant les consultations publiques et compris par les différents groupes linguistiques.

Figure 4 : Nouveau message de sécurité incluant texte et éléments graphiques, mis à l’essai durant les consultations publiques et compris par les différents groupes linguistiques.

Compréhension par les groupes linguistiques du message de PMV « Distance sécuritaire » mis à l’essai. Anglais 99% compréhension, Françias 97% compréhension, Autre 98% compréhension, Total 98% compréhension.

Figure 5 : Compréhension par les groupes linguistiques du message de PMV « Distance sécuritaire » mis à l’essai.

Dans le cadre de la deuxième étude, en 2011, deux rondes d’essais usuels ont été effectuées à Toronto, à Sudbury et à Ottawa. Elles incluaient d’importantes mesures de sensibilisation auprès des intervenants francophones de manière à constituer un échantillon de 200 conducteurs francophones. Les essais usuels auprès de ceux-ci ont été menés entièrement en français.

Avant la fin de l’étude, environ 600 navetteurs avaient participé aux essais usuels. Les participants étaient divisés en trois groupes égaux : français langue maternelle (ceux qui connaissent le français et le parlent à la maison), anglais langue maternelle ou autre langue maternelle. Plus de 200 participants avaient le français pour langue maternelle.

De plus, les participants étaient divisés en trois groupes d’âge : 25 ans et moins, 25 à 55 ans et 55 ans et plus; ce qui représente la démographie habituelle des grands routiers.

Les commentaires fournis par la communauté francophone ont été précieux et ont donné un bon aperçu au Ministère des éléments graphiques les plus efficaces. On a défini une orientation précise en fonction de la rétroaction pour déterminer quand il est pertinent d’intégrer du texte ou d’afficher seulement un élément graphique. Les participants francophones ont également formulé des commentaires qui ont contribué à l’élaboration des politiques sur les pictogrammes. La figure 4 donne un exemple de message sur la sécurité et d’un élément graphique qui a fait l’objet de deux rondes d’essais. Cet exemple a été très bien compris par les membres des trois groupes linguistiques, comme l’illustre la figure 5.

Police et lisibilité des PMV

Pictogramme incitant à éviter l’alcool au volant facilement reconnu par les différents groupes linguistiques.

Figure 6 : Pictogramme incitant à éviter l’alcool au volant facilement reconnu par les différents groupes linguistiques.

D’après les résultats de l’étude menée par Human Factors North, certains messages doivent inclure du texte dans les deux langues et des éléments graphiques pour favoriser la compréhension. Cependant, la quantité de texte nécessaire est considérablement réduite.

De plus, une nouvelle police a été mise au point pour le nouveau texte des PMV. La nouvelle police et les lettres avec accents français ont été utilisées lors des essais usuels pour s’assurer qu’ils sont lisibles par les francophones. Cette nouvelle police a été intégrée dans le jeu final de pictogrammes, lorsque nécessaire.

Un répertoire définitif de messages et de modèles a été préparé pour tous les messages affichés afin que les trois groupes linguistiques puissent bien les comprendre.

Après une consultation approfondie et des essais usuels auprès des participants francophones et anglophones, le Ministère a opté pour une stratégie reposant en grande partie sur l’emploi de pictogrammes. Les messages avec pictogrammes sont habituellement composés d’éléments graphiques faciles à reconnaître et réduisent la nécessité d’afficher du texte. Ainsi, le Ministère peut désormais afficher des messages bilingues lorsqu’il est nécessaire d’ajouter du texte à un pictogramme pour en favoriser la compréhension.

Mise en œuvre des PMV bilingues

Exemple d’un PMV de l’Ontario avec un élément graphique facile à reconnaître et un message bilingue encourageant l’utilisation de la ceinture de sécurité.

Exemple d’un PMV de l’Ontario avec un élément graphique facile à reconnaître et un message bilingue encourageant l’utilisation de la ceinture de sécurité.

La mise en œuvre des PMV bilingues s’est déroulée en deux étapes en raison de la complexité des messages de sécurité routière et de la taille des panneaux dans les régions de l’Ontario. En 2010, le gouvernement a procédé à la première étape de la mise en œuvre de panneaux à messages bilingues dans le Nord de l’Ontario. La deuxième étape du projet consistait à élaborer un nouveau répertoire de symboles jumelés à du texte bilingue pour les plus grands PMV ailleurs dans la province. Les éléments graphiques de ces messages ont réduit la nécessité d’utiliser du texte et ont facilité la compréhension des messages par tous les conducteurs, peu importe leur langue maternelle. Le Ministère a entrepris des essais usuels pour s’assurer que les nouveaux messages ont été bien compris par les conducteurs et sont faciles à lire à distance.

À chaque étape du projet, le logiciel de contrôle central des panneaux a été modifié. Une fois le répertoire de pictogrammes approuvé, on a obtenu du financement fédéral-provincial pour une campagne de sensibilisation. Une politique provinciale sur les PMV a été rédigée et on a fait la publicité de l’étude auprès des organismes de transports en commun et gouvernementaux de transport, des sociétés d’experts-conseils, des fournisseurs industriels et des développeurs de logiciels. Le Ministère a présenté les conclusions de la consultation publique à 250 représentants lors de la conférence annuelle de l’Association française des municipalités de l’Ontario à New Liskeard (Ontario), et à 300 représentants lors de la conférence annuelle de la Société des systèmes de transport intelligents du Canada, en 2013.

Le point culminant de ce travail a été le dévoilement aux médias, le 20 janvier 2015, de la stratégie sur les messages variables bilingues par Steven Del Duca, ministre des Transports. Grâce à l’emploi de couleurs ainsi que d’images et de symboles reconnus à l’échelle internationale avec moins de texte, les conducteurs peuvent facilement interpréter d’importants renseignements de sécurité routière et s’adapter aux conditions de trafic en conséquence. Jusqu’à présent, plus de 40 nouveaux panneaux électroniques pouvant afficher des messages variables bilingues ont été installés en Ontario. Petit à petit, les anciens PMV de la province, à l’approche de la fin de leur cycle de vie, seront remplacés par de nouveaux panneaux.

Le Ministère s’est appuyé sur des meilleures pratiques de partout dans le monde, des recherches régionales et la rétroaction du public pour créer des panneaux conçus pour les conducteurs ontariens. Il s’agit du premier plan de signalisation bilingue avec images conçu et réalisé à l’échelle provinciale au Canada.

Pour obtenir plus d’information, veuillez contacter

Robert Chan,
superviseur des travaux d’ingénierie,
Unité de mise en œuvre, Section des programmes relatifs aux systèmes de transport intelligents, Bureau de la circulation routière, Région du Centre,
ministère des Transports de l’Ontario,
au (416) 235-4501 ou Robert.Chan@ontario.ca

OU

Rachel Baril,
coordonnatrice des services en français du MTO,
Services en français, Groupement pour les terres et les ressources,
ministère de l’Environnement et de l’Action en matière de changement climatique :
(905) 704-2045, ou Rachel.Baril@ontario.ca


Recommandé pour vous

Retour en haut de page