Road Talk Fall Vol 24, no 3: Fall 2018


Sustainable Projects Introduction

The ministry’s Materials Engineering & Research Office (MERO) provides standards, policies and guidelines for the materials used in the construction of Ontario’s provincial highways and bridges (aggregates, asphalt, chemicals, concrete, metals, paint, soils etc.). In support of the annual Capital Construction Program, MERO staff work to ensure that quality materials, products and technologies are used, safeguarding public safety and protecting infrastructure investments. MERO supports innovation by evaluating and introducing new products and processes that are more environmentally friendly, reduce greenhouse gas emissions, and result in longer life, as well as being cost effective and efficient. The articles that follow, on Ground Improvement Techniques and Warm Mix Asphalt are examples of the ministry’s commitment to sustainability.

Warm Mix Asphalt Reduces Longitudinal Joint Cracking on Ontario Highways

Results are in on the performance of Ontario’s Ministry of Transportation (MTO) Warm Mix Asphalt (WMA) pavements. In the spring of 2011, the ministry published an article titled Cooling Off by Getting Warm - A Greener Alternative to Hot Mix Asphalt - the article provided an overview of WMA technology and ten of the ministry’s WMA contracts constructed from 2008 to 2010, with a commitment to monitor pavement performance. WMA’s lower production temperature was expected to improve joint quality, reduce cracking caused by asphalt oxidation, and generally outperform Hot Mix Asphalt (HMA). Monitoring of longitudinal cracking confirmed improved performance on that criterion.

WMA is produced using technology that allows for mixing, handling and compaction of an asphaltic concrete mixture, at temperatures typically 20 to 50°C lower than conventional HMA. This reduction in temperature requires less energy and generates fewer emissions, making it a “greener” alternative. WMA technologies are categorized in three ways: organic additives, chemical additives, and foaming processes. Generally, additives are added to the asphalt and/or changes are made to the production processes in order to improve workability of the cooler mix.

The ministry’s WMA contracts have undergone a comprehensive monitoring program for pavement performance evaluation. Eight of the 2008-2010 contracts included an HMA section adjacent to the WMA section for performance comparison while exposed to the same highway environment.

In 2016, these eight contracts were visually evaluated for longitudinal joint performance using iVision, a web-based application that allows synchronized viewing of highway corridor images, pavement images and pavement condition data. Evaluation results showed that the WMA sections experienced approximately 50 per cent slight longitudinal joint cracking, compared to the HMA sections which experienced up to 75 per cent moderate longitudinal joint cracking.

Overall, WMA joints were equal to or less visible than those of HMA. Figure 1 gives an example of WMA’s superior longitudinal joint performance over HMA.

Warm Mix Ashphalt (WMA) pavement Hot Mix Asphalt (HMA) pavement

Figure 1: Images of WMA Pavement (top) vs. HMA Pavement (bottom) showing better longitudinal joint performance for WMA after six years of service.

The initial cost of WMA is marginally higher than HMA due to the cost of additives. However, considering the improved performance and anticipated longer life, the life-cycle cost of WMA is expected to be similar to or less than HMA.

Further Testing Using the FHWA Specific Pavement Study SPS-10

In 2013, the U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT) Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) introduced its tenth Specific Pavement Study (SPS-10) as part of their Long Term Pavement Performance Plan (LTPP). The study, titled Warm-Mix Asphalt Overlay of Asphalt Pavements, is designed to evaluate long-term field performance of WMA relative to HMA.

Sampling Area (34m); Buffer Area (15m); 01 HMA Control Section (150m); Buffer Area (15m); Sampling Area (34m); Transition Area; Sampling Area (34m); Buffer Area (15m); 02 WMA Foaming Process Test Section (150m);	Buffer Area (15m); Sampling Area (34m); Transition Area; Sampling Area (34m); Buffer Area (15m); 03 WMA Chemical Additive Test Section (150m);	Buffer Area (15m); Sampling Area (34m)

Figure 2: Example of an SPS-10 construction layout (not to scale)

General construction involves building a minimum of two test sections using various WMA technologies in addition to a HMA control section. To improve data reliability, both sides of each section consist of a buffer area between a materials sampling area, and are separated by a transition area, as shown in Figure 2. Production and placement of the WMA must be less than or equal to 135 oC, or at least 16 oC less than the HMA section.

In 2014, the ministry participated in the SPS-10 study by selecting five full-width test sections, consisting of two undivided lanes on Highway 48, located approximately 28 km northeast of Newmarket. The sections included:

  • One HMA control section
  • One WMA section produced using foaming process
  • Two WMA sections produced with different chemical additives
  • One WMA section produced with an organic additive

The sections were reviewed and accepted by the FHWA, and construction began in 2016. The ministry was responsible for contract administration and construction of the sections, which were completed in June 2017. FHWA is responsible for collecting performance data and conducting materials testing, as well as providing data analysis and reporting for 15 years. The resulting data is stored in the LTPP database and available online. FHWA applies a series of quality control checks to the data as they are collected in the field and prior to entry into the database.

The FHWA study’s objective is to investigate the sensitivity of WMA technology to moisture damage, low temperature cracking, fatigue cracking, and permanent deformation. Primary factors are weather, traffic loading, and WMA mix design. Secondary factors are in-situ density, Reclaimed Asphalt Pavement (RAP) content, subgrade type, existing pavement condition, roadway geometry, and layer thickness. The performance measurements collected pre and post overlay included:

  • Falling Weight Deflectometer (FWD) – in-field non-destructive testing used to determine pavement structural integrity
  • Manual Distress Surveys (MDS) - used to identify pavement distress types and severities; transverse and longitudinal profile measurements; and surface texture measurements
  • Elevation surveys for overlay thickness
  • Compacted core sampling and testing
  • Nuclear gauge density measurements for compaction
  • Non-compacted bulk material sampling and testing

Temperatures were monitored and recorded during asphalt production in the plant, delivery to the work site, and while the asphalt was laid. Figure 3(a) is an image of a chemical test section during paving operations on Ontario’s SPS-10 site. Figure 3(b) is a thermal image of the same section, showing an average paving temperature of 124 oC; about 20oC cooler than a typical paving temperature for HMA.

Images of Ontario SPS-10 WMA overlay construction

Figure 3(a): The paving operation of a chemical WMA test section

Figure 3(a): The paving operation of a chemical WMA test section

Figure 3(b): A thermal image of the same WMA test section

Figure 3(b): A thermal image of the same WMA test section

Participants in the SPS-10 study include Arizona, Florida, Manitoba, Missouri, New Mexico, Nevada, Oklahoma, Ontario, Oregon, Texas, and Washington. The Ontario SPS-10 site is the second constructed in the North Atlantic region which is considered a wet-freeze climate. The sections are contained within an 8.2 km segment of Highway 48, as shown in Figure 4.

Figure 4: Ontario SPS-10 Location Overview, ©2018 Google

Figure 4: Ontario SPS-10 Location Overview, ©2018 Google

MTO’s participation in the SPS-10 study is an excellent opportunity to learn how WMA performs under Ontario’s specific climatic settings with differing material and construction specifications, while contributing to a North American knowledge base.

An annual program is now underway at the five test sections on Highway 48 to monitor pavement performance attributes for the next 15 years. This continued monitoring will determine whether the WMA sections crack less than HMA. Based on those future findings, the ministry will have the opportunity to refine their specifications for WMA use.

For more information please contact:

Seyed Tabib, Senior Bituminous Engineer, Bituminous Section, Materials Engineering & Research Office, Highway Standards Branch at (416) 235-3544, or at Seyed.Tabib@Ontario.ca

Additional Sources of Information:

Ontario Ministry of Transportation Road Talk article, Warm Mix Asphalt – A Greener Alternative to Hot Mix Asphalt. To request a copy of the 2011 article, please contact RoadTalk@ontario.ca, stating your request in either the subject or the body of your message.

The U.S Department of Transportation Federal Highway Administration – Warm Mix Asphalt information page: https://www.fhwa.dot.gov/pavement/asphalt/wma.cfm

The U.S Department of Transportation Federal Highway Administration – Specific Pavement Studies information page: https://www.fhwa.dot.gov/research/tfhrc/programs/infrastructure/pavements/ltpp/sps.cfm



Reducing a Project’s Carbon Footprint with New Ground Improvement Methods

pier installation at highway 15 crosby creek

Aggregate pier installation at Hwy 15 Crosby Creek.

Every year the Ministry of Transportation (MTO) manages construction projects that include significant foundation components, such as road embankment construction, stabilization of shallow and deep foundations, and building retaining structures. New ground improvement techniques are being introduced to ministry foundation projects to enhance foundation engineering and reduce the carbon footprint of foundation projects.

The ministry manages over 16,500 kms of road network including over 2,800 bridges, structural and non-structural culverts, retaining walls, tunnels, ferries and airports. Maintaining and enhancing ministry infrastructure requires large volumes of foundation work.

The construction of foundational components contributes to a project’s overall carbon footprint - an estimate of emissions of carbon dioxide (CO2) and other greenhouse gases (GHG). Foundation construction requires large amounts of natural resources which generate significant waste and emissions. The ministry recognizes the importance in reducing the environmental impacts of foundation processes and products.

Historically, when building roadway embankments over swamps or compressible soils, native materials were excavated then replaced with rock fill or select subgrade material (SSM). This involves a great deal of trucking of materials.

The next generation of foundation engineering design and construction for embankments involves improving the strength and compressibility of existing foundations and soils with new ground improvement techniques.

Ground improvement methods offer foundations engineering advantages by enabling faster construction of embankments and foundations without compromising quality and performance. The removal and replacement of existing soils is significantly reduced by using aggregate piers, rigid inclusions or controlled modulus columns. Soil removal may be avoided altogether by using Prefabricated Vertical Drains (PVDs), also known as wick drains. Further, by using these techniques, project fuel consumption and the use of natural resource materials are reduced.

  • Aggregate Piers –are columns of compacted stone installed in groups in poor soil to increase bearing pressure and mitigate settlement under structural footings. They are a cost-effective method to reinforce soft, cohesive soil and poor fill for all types of structures. Aggregate piers are formed when lifts of stone are introduced to an open hole and compacted using high-energy densification equipment. The phrase aggregate piers may be used to describe either a rammed pier or a vibrated pier, also called a vibro stone column (VSC).1
  • Rigid Inclusions – are stiff Ground Improvement elements that consist of aggregate mixed with cement or grout, or elements made of plain concrete. The elements are stiff enough to transfer the stress from a slab, footing or embankment load through soft soil layers down to a firm soil or weathered rock layer.2
  • Controlled Modulus Columns – Controlled modulus columns (CMC) are concrete columns placed in a network adapted to loads and settling criteria, combined with a granular bed. This distribution bed spreads the applied load between the ground and the CMC.3
  • Wick Drains - Wick drains, also known as Prefabricated Vertical Drains (PVDs), are installed to provide drainage paths for pore water in soft compressible soil.4

Recently, aggregate piers were used as a ground improvement technique to address settlement and stability requirements for the approach embankments associated with a new bridge at Crosby Creek on Highway 15. The approach embankments, 3.5 metres in height, were to be built on 4 metres of silty clay.

Rather than the removal of the silty clay stratum and rock fill, ground improvement was selected as an embankment design alternative. Removal of the silty clay would have required approximately 15,100 m3 of excavation, hauling of the excavated material, and supply and transportation of the same volume of rock fill. Post-construction monitoring confirms that the embankments are performing very well, demonstrating that ground improvement technology works. The ministry recognizes the benefits of ground improvement methods compared with the removal and replacement of silty clay from a sustainability perspective.

From a sustainability point of view, it is important that a proper assessment of foundation processes and products is performed. Only then, can sustainable choices be made. Moving forward, the ministry recommends a consistent approach to assess the benefits of alternative foundations. A life cycle assessment (LCA) tool can efficiently and comprehensively quantify the resources used and environmental impacts of foundation processes and products, and can help decide on alternatives that have less impact on the environment. Ground improvement has definite advantages from a foundations engineering perspective but it also has environmental and sustainability advantages which support LCA.

Life cycle assessment was not used to select the ground improvement method at the Hwy 15/Crosby Creek site. However, the ministry and academia are collaborating to assess sustainability by developing a systematic methodology for performing LCA of different foundation systems and products managed by the MTO. Performing LCA for the foundation component of ministry projects will be beneficial in developing standards and procedures for sustainability assessment. This process will result in sustainability optimization of the use of materials, energy and the environmental impacts of ministry projects.

For more information, please contact Tony Sangiuliano, Senior Foundation Engineer, at (416) 235-5267, or at Tony.J.Sangiuliano@ontario.ca

  1. Source: https://www.subsurfaceconstructors.com/services/ground-improvement/aggregate-piers-vibro-stone-columns/
  2. Source : http://www.geostructures.com/solutions/ground-improvement/geopier-rigid-inclusions#What is a Rigid Inclusion
  3. Source: http://menardcanada.ca/ground-improvement-solutions/controlled-modulus-columns/
  4. Source : http://www.haywardbaker.com/solutions/techniques/wick-drains

For more information on Wick Drain use at MTO, please request the Winter 2007 Road Talk publication at RoadTalk@ontario.ca

Back to Top

Road Talk : Vol. 24, nº 3 automne 2018


Présentation de projets durables

Le Bureau du génie des matériaux et de la recherche (BGMR) du Ministère établit les normes, les politiques et les lignes directrices relatives aux matériaux (agrégats, asphalte, produits chimiques, béton, métaux, peintures, sols, etc.) utilisés dans la construction des routes provinciales et des ponts en Ontario. En appui au programme annuel des immobilisations, le personnel du BGMR veille à l’emploi de matériaux, de produits et de technologies de qualité, dans un objectif de sécurité publique et de préservation des investissements dans les infrastructures. Le BGMR soutient l’innovation en évaluant et en introduisant de nouveaux produits et processus moins dommageables pour l’environnement, moins générateurs de gaz à effet de serre, durables, économiques et efficients. Les articles qui suivent, l’un sur l’asphalte tiède et l’autre les techniques d’amélioration des sols, sont des exemples démontrant l’engagement du Ministère envers la durabilité.

L’asphalte tiède réduit la fissuration longitudinale des joints sur les routes de l’Ontario

Nous venons de recevoir les résultats sur la performance des revêtements d’asphalte tiède mis à l’essai par le ministère des Transports de l’Ontario (MTO). Au printemps 2011, le Ministère a publié un article intitulé Cooling Off by Getting Warm - A Greener Alternative to Hot Mix Asphalt, dans lequel on pouvait lire un survol de la technologie et une description de dix projets de pavage à l’asphalte tiède réalisés par le Ministère entre 2008 et 2010. Le Ministère s’y engageait en outre à faire un suivi de la performance du procédé. L’hypothèse était que l’asphalte tiède, en raison de sa basse température, produirait des joints de meilleure qualité, réduirait la fissuration due à l’oxydation de l’asphalte et dépasserait la performance générale de l’asphalte chaud. L’observation de la fissuration longitudinale a confirmé la performance de l’asphalte à cet égard.

L’asphalte tiède est produit au moyen d’une technologie qui permet de faire le mélange, la manipulation et le compactage d’une mixture de béton asphaltique à des températures de 20 à 50 °C inférieures à celles de l’asphalte chaud conventionnel. Ce procédé consomme donc moins d’énergie et émet moins de gaz à effet de serre, ce qui en fait une solution de rechange plus « verte ». On compte trois catégories de procédés d’asphalte tiède : avec additifs organiques, avec additifs chimiques et par moussage. En général, des additifs sont ajoutés à l’asphalte ou des changements sont apportés au procédé de production pour améliorer la malléabilité du mélange, qui est moins chaud.

Les projets d’asphalte tiède du Ministère ont fait l’objet d’un programme exhaustif d’évaluation de la performance du pavage. Huit des projets réalisés entre 2008 et 2010 comptaient une section en asphalte tiède adjacente à une section en asphalte chaud, dans le but de comparer la performance des deux procédés dans des conditions identiques.

En 2016, ces huit projets ont été évalués par inspection visuelle des joints longitudinaux au moyen d’iVision, une application Web de visualisation qui synchronise les images des corridors routiers, les images de la chaussée et les données sur l’état de la chaussée. Les résultats d’évaluation montrent que les sections en asphalte tiède présentaient environ 50 pour cent de fissuration longitudinale légère, tandis que les sections en asphalte chaud présentaient jusqu’à 75 pour cent de fissuration longitudinale modérée.

Globalement, les joints d’asphalte tiède étaient aussi visibles ou moins visibles que les joints d’asphalte chaud. Un exemple comparant la performance des deux types d’asphalte est montré à la figure 1.

revêtements en asphalte tiède (WMA) revêtements en asphalte chaud (HMA)

Figure 1 : Photos de revêtements en asphalte tiède (en haut) et en asphalte chaud (à bas) montrant la durabilité supérieure des joints longitudinaux en asphalte tiède après six ans.

Les additifs haussent légèrement le coût initial de l’asphalte tiède comparativement à l’asphalte chaud. Cependant, quand on tient compte de la performance et de la durabilité, on estime que le coût sur le cycle de vie de l’asphalte tiède est égal ou inférieur à celui de l’asphalte chaud.

Tests plus poussés dans l’étude Specific Pavement Study (SPS-10) de la FHWA

En 2013, la Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) du Département des Transports des États-Unis (USDOT) a lancé sa dixième étude sur le pavage Specific Pavement Study (SPS-10), dans le cadre de son plan à long terme de performance des chaussées (Long Term Pavement Performance Plan, ou LTPP). L’étude, intitulée Warm-Mix Asphalt Overlay of Asphalt Pavements, vise à comparer la performance de l’asphalte tiède et de l’asphalte chaud sur une longue période.

Segment d’échantillonnage (34 m); Segment tampon (15 m); 01 Section témoin 
d’asphalte chaud (150 m); 01 Section témoin d’asphalte chaud (150 m); Segment tampon (15 m); Segment d’échantillonnage (34 m); Segment de transition; Segment d’échantillonnage (34 m); Segment tampon (15 m); 02 Section de test du procédé d’asphalte tiède par moussage (150 m);	Segment tampon (15 m); Segment d’échantillonnage (34 m); Segment de transition; Segment d’échantillonnage (34 m); Segment tampon (15 m); 03 Section de test du procédé d’asphalte tiède avec additif chimique (150 m);Segment tampon (15 m); Segment d’échantillonnage (34 m)

Figure 2 : Exemple de construction d’une section de route expérimentale selon le protocole de l’étude SPS-10 (le schéma n’est pas à l’échelle)

Le protocole expérimental consiste à construire au moins deux sections de route au moyen de divers procédés d’asphalte tiède, ainsi qu’une section témoin en asphalte chaud. Par souci de fiabilité des résultats, chaque section est bordée aux deux extrémités d’un segment tampon adjacent à un segment d’échantillonnage. Des segments de transition séparent les différentes sections expérimentales. La configuration générale est illustrée à la figure 2. La production et l’étalement de l’asphalte tiède devaient se faire à une température inférieure ou égale à 135 oC, ou à une température inférieure d’au moins 16 oC à celle de l’asphalte chaud.

Figure 2 : Exemple de construction d’une section de route expérimentale selon le protocole de l’étude SPS-10 (le schéma n’est pas à l’échelle)

En 2014, le Ministère s’est joint à l’étude SPS-10. Cinq sections pleine largeur de la route 48, environ 28 km au nord-est de Newmarket, ont été sélectionnées à des fins expérimentales. Les sections expérimentales de cette route à chaussée unique étaient les suivantes :

  • une section témoin en asphalte chaud;
  • une section en asphalte tiède construite au moyen du procédé de moussage;
  • deux sections en asphalte tiède construites avec différents additifs chimiques;
  • une section en asphalte tiède construite avec un additif organique.

La FHWA a examiné et approuvé les sections, et la construction a commencé en 2016. Le Ministère était responsable de l’administration des contrats et de la construction des sections, achevées en juin 2017. La FHWA est responsable de la collecte des données et des tests des matériaux, ainsi que de l’analyse des données et de la production de rapports pour une période de 15 ans. Les résultats, stockés dans la base de données du LTPP, sont accessibles en ligne. La FHWA soumet les données à une série de contrôles de la qualité au fur et à mesure qu’elles sont collectées sur le terrain et avant leur saisie dans la base de données.

L’objectif de l’étude de la FHWA était de mesurer la résistance de l’asphalte tiède aux dommages dus à l’humidité, à la fissuration à basse température, à la fissuration due à l’usure et à la déformation permanente. Les facteurs primaires sont le climat, l’intensité du trafic et le type de mélange d’asphalte tiède. Les facteurs secondaires sont la densité locale, le contenu en asphalte recyclé, le type de sol de fondation, l’état de la chaussée existante, la géométrie de la route et l’épaisseur de la couche d’asphalte. Les mesures de performance prises avant et après la pose du revêtement sont les suivantes.

  • Mesure de l’intégrité structurelle de la chaussée, au moyen d’un test non destructif au déflectomètre à masse tombante.
  • Tests manuels de détérioration, pour relever la nature des dommages à la chaussée et leur gravité; mesures du profil transverse et longitudinal; mesures de la texture de surface.
  • Sondages d’élévation pour la mesure de l’épaisseur du revêtement.
  • Échantillonnage et analyse de carottes de matériau compacté.
  • Densitométrie à la jauge nucléaire pour l’analyse de la compaction.
  • Échantillonnage et analyse de matériau non compacté en vrac.

Les températures ont été mesurées et notées durant la production de l’asphalte en usine, la livraison au chantier et la pose. La figure 3(a) montre la construction de la section expérimentale avec additif chimique sur le site de l’étude SPS-10 en Ontario. La figure 3(b) est une image thermique de la même section, montrant une température moyenne du revêtement de 124 oC; soit environ 20 oC de moins que la température typique d’application de l’asphalte chaud.

Photos de la pose du revêtement d’asphalte tiède, étude SPS-10 en Ontario

Figure 3(a) : Revêtement de la section expérimentale d’asphalte tiède avec additif chimique

Figure 3(a) : Revêtement de la section expérimentale d’asphalte tiède avec additif chimique

Figure 3(b) : Image thermique de la même section

Figure 3(b) : Image thermique de la même section

L’Arizona, la Floride, le Manitoba, le Missouri, le Nouveau-Mexique, le Nevada, l’Oklahoma, l’Ontario, l’Oregon, le Texas et l’État de Washington ont participé à l’étude SPS-10. Le site ontarien du SPS-10 est le deuxième du genre construit en Amérique du Nord dans une région considérée comme sujette à l’humidité et au gel. Les sections sont comprises dans un segment de 8,2 km de la route 48, comme le montre la figure 4.

ontario-sps-location

Figure 4 : Emplacement de la zone expérimentale du SPS-10 en Ontario, ©2018 Google

La participation à l’étude SPS-10 est une excellente occasion pour le MTO de mesurer la performance de l’asphalte tiède dans les conditions climatiques de l’Ontario avec différents matériaux et spécifications de construction, tout en contribuant à une base de données nord-américaine.

Un programme annuel a été lancé pour mesurer la performance de la chaussée dans les cinq sections expérimentales de la route 48 au cours des 15 prochaines années. Ce suivi permettra de comparer la fissuration des sections en asphalte tiède et en asphalte chaud. Le Ministère pourra ensuite, à la lumière de ces résultats, préciser ses spécifications pour l’utilisation de l’asphalte tiède.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Seyed Tabib, ingénieur principal, matériaux bitumineux, Section des matériaux bitumineux, Bureau du génie des matériaux et de la recherche, Direction des normes routières au (416) 235-3544, ou à Seyed.Tabib@Ontario.ca

Sources d’information additionnelles :

Article du bulletin Road Talk du ministère des Transports de l’Ontario intitulé Warm Mix Asphalt – A Greener Alternative to Hot Mix Asphalt. Pour demander un copie cet article de 2011, veuillez écrire à RoadTalk@ontario.ca, en indiquant votre demande en objet ou dans le corps du message.

Page d’information sur l’asphalte tiède de la Federal Highway Administration du Département des Transports des États-Unis : https://www.fhwa.dot.gov/pavement/asphalt/wma.cfm

Page d’information sur les études Specific Pavement Studies de la Federal Highway Administration du Département des Transports des États-Unis : https://www.fhwa.dot.gov/research/tfhrc/programs/infrastructure/pavements/ltpp/sps.cfm



De nouvelles méthodes d’amélioration des sols réduisent l’empreinte carbone d’un projet

pier installation at highway 15 crosby creek

Pose d’une pile d’agrégats au ruisseau Crosby, sur la route 15.

Chaque année, le MTO gère d’importants chantiers de fondations routières, comme la construction de remblais routiers, la stabilisation de fondations superficielles ou profondes et la construction de structures de retenue. Dans le cadre de ses projets de fondations, le Ministère introduit de nouvelles techniques d’amélioration des sols dans le but de raffiner la conception des fondations et de réduire son empreinte carbone.

Le Ministère gère un réseau routier de plus de 16 500 km comptant plus de 2 800 ponts, ponceaux structuraux et non structuraux, murs de soutènement et tunnels, ainsi que des traversiers et des aéroports. L’entretien et l’amélioration de ces infrastructures représentent une énorme charge de travail de fondations.

La construction des éléments de fondation contribue à l’empreinte carbone – l’estimation des émissions de dioxyde de carbone (CO2) et d’autres gaz à effet de serre (GES) – d’un projet. La construction de fondations demande une grande quantité de ressources naturelles, ce qui se traduit par une importante production de déchets et d’émissions. Le Ministère est soucieux de réduire les impacts environnementaux de ses procédés et de ses produits.

Le procédé traditionnel de construction d’un remblai de route sur un sol marécageux ou compressible consiste à excaver le sol présent, puis à remplir la cavité de pierre ou d’un matériau de sol de fondation sélectionné (MSFS). Ce procédé demande beaucoup de transport de matériau par camion.

Les nouveaux concepts et procédés de construction de remblais consistent à améliorer les propriétés de résistance et de compressibilité des fondations et des sols présents au moyen de techniques d’amélioration des sols.

Les méthodes d’amélioration des sols ont l’avantage d’accélérer la construction des remblais et des fondations, sans en compromettre la qualité ou la performance. Le recours à des piles d’agrégats, des inclusions rigides et des colonnes à module contrôlé réduit considérablement la quantité de sol qu’il est nécessaire d’excaver et de remplacer. Les drains verticaux préfabriqués (DVP), quant à eux, permettent d’éviter toute excavation du sol présent. En outre, ces techniques réduisent la quantité de carburant et de ressources naturelles nécessaires à la réalisation du projet.

  • Aggregate Piers –are columns of compacted stone installed in groups in poor soil to increase bearing pressure and mitigate settlement under structural footings. They are a cost-effective method to reinforce soft, cohesive soil and poor fill for all types of structures. Aggregate piers are formed when lifts of stone are introduced to an open hole and compacted using high-energy densification equipment. The phrase aggregate piers may be used to describe either a rammed pier or a vibrated pier, also called a vibro stone column (VSC).1
  • Rigid Inclusions – are stiff Ground Improvement elements that consist of aggregate mixed with cement or grout, or elements made of plain concrete. The elements are stiff enough to transfer the stress from a slab, footing or embankment load through soft soil layers down to a firm soil or weathered rock layer.2
  • Controlled Modulus Columns – Controlled modulus columns (CMC) are concrete columns placed in a network adapted to loads and settling criteria, combined with a granular bed. This distribution bed spreads the applied load between the ground and the CMC.3
  • Wick Drains - Wick drains, also known as Prefabricated Vertical Drains (PVDs), are installed to provide drainage paths for pore water in soft compressible soil.4

On a récemment utilisé des piles d’agrégats pour atteindre les exigences de compactage et de stabilité du sol sous les remblais d’approche d’un nouveau pont enjambant le ruisseau Crosby sur la route 15. Les remblais d’approche, de 3,5 m de hauteur, devaient être construits sur une couche d’argile limoneuse de 4 m d’épaisseur.

Une méthode d’amélioration du sol a été préférée à la méthode traditionnelle, qui aurait consisté à excaver la couche d’argile puis à remplir la cavité de roche. La méthode traditionnelle aurait demandé l’excavation et le transport d’environ 15 100 m3 de matériau, ainsi que l’approvisionnement et le transport d’autant de matériau d’enrochement. Les mesures effectuées après la construction ont confirmé la performance des remblais, démontrant ainsi le bien-fondé de la technologie d’amélioration des sols. Le Ministère reconnaît les avantages des méthodes d’amélioration des sols par rapport à l’excavation et au remplacement des sols en argile limoneuse d’un point de vue de durabilité.

Dans une perspective de durabilité, il importe de réaliser une évaluation adéquate des procédés et des produits de fondations. Ce n’est qu’au terme d’une telle évaluation que des choix durables peuvent être faits. Pour l’avenir, le Ministère recommande une approche standardisée d’évaluation des solutions de rechange en construction de fondations. Un outil d’analyse du cycle de vie (ACV) peut être un moyen de quantifier efficacement et exhaustivement les ressources utilisées et les impacts environnementaux des procédés et des produits de fondations, et peut faciliter la prise de décision quant aux solutions de rechange moins dommageables pour l’environnement. L’amélioration des sols est nettement avantageuse d’un point de vue d’ingénierie des fondations, et ses caractéristiques en termes d’environnement et de durabilité sont également favorables dans une ACV.

Aucune ACV n’a été employée dans le choix la méthode d’amélioration des sols au site du ruisseau Crosby sur la route 15. Cependant, le Ministère et ses collaborateurs universitaires développent de concert une méthodologie systématique d’ACV pour différents systèmes et produits de fondations gérés par le MTO. La réalisation d’ACV pour le volet fondations des projets du Ministère contribuera à l’établissement de normes et de procédures d’évaluation de la durabilité. Ce processus permettra d’optimiser l’aspect durabilité des projets du Ministère, comme l’utilisation des matériaux, l’énergie et les impacts environnementaux.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec Tony Sangiuliano, ingénieur principal, fondations : (416) 235-5267 ou Tony.J.Sangiuliano@ontario.ca

  1. Source: https://www.subsurfaceconstructors.com/services/ground-improvement/aggregate-piers-vibro-stone-columns/
  2. Source : http://www.geostructures.com/solutions/ground-improvement/geopier-rigid-inclusions#What is a Rigid Inclusion
  3. Source: http://menardcanada.ca/ground-improvement-solutions/controlled-modulus-columns/
  4. Source : http://www.haywardbaker.com/solutions/techniques/wick-drains
Retour en haut de page