Road Talk Spring Vol 24, no 2: Spring 2018


Concrete Slabs Provide Overnight Rehab Solution for Busy Ontario Freeways

As Ontario’s highway network expands and is subjected to increasing traffic volumes, the Ministry of Transportation Ontario (MTO) is challenged to find new and innovative solutions to preserve and maintain the highway system. The ministry identified highway sections with heavy truck traffic, more than 25,000 trucks per day, at risk of premature deterioration. These asphalt pavements with over 300 mm thickness may experience early rutting failure and /or full depth cracking.

The typical mill and repave treatment at these locations may last only three-to-five years, rather than the expected eight-to-twelve, before the rutting and cracking returns. Since the lifespan of this holding strategy is short, the ministry is investigating an option using overnight mill and inlay of precast concrete to extend the lifecycle of the rehabilitation.

The concrete inlay strategy also avoids traffic disruption. Reducing delays to the travelling public on these busy freeways during highway rehabilitation adds to the ministry’s challenge. Performing maintenance and rehabilitation work is restricted to only nightly construction closures.

In 2004, MTO successfully carried out its first precast concrete slab repairs on concrete pavements to evaluate construction techniques. The initial trial was conducted on Highway 427, in Toronto. Based on this experience, a specification was developed and additional precast repair work carried out in the following years. MTO’s success with precast concrete repairs on concrete pavement inspired the use of precast concrete slabs to repair flexible pavement in a fall 2016 trial. The benefits in using concrete inlay as a highway rehabilitation method, despite its slightly higher cost, include reduced traffic impacts, but more importantly, extend pavement lifecycle; both factors adding to the cost benefit.

Location

The ministry conducted the 2016 pilot project on the northbound section of Highway 400 between the intersections of Highways 88 (to the south) and 89 (to the north). A 2013 report indicates the average annual daily traffic in both directions was estimated to be 87,300. Figure 1 below shows the approximate location of the pilot project.

pilot-project

Figure 1: Pilot Project location on Highway 400, between Highway 88 and 89 (Source: Google Map)

Slab Support Systems

The ministry approached the concrete inlay trial based on Fort Miller Superslab® System, a slab-on-grade approach using fully cured precast concrete slabs for pavement replacement.

Three different slab support systems were evaluated based on factors such as load transfer and ease of construction. Consideration was also given to the challenges of construction staging within an eight hour work window, with adaptations of horizontal and longitudinal joint details for the anticipated temporary and permanent work. The three slab support methods used for this pilot study include:

  • Asphalt Supported Slab
  • Grade Supported Slab
  • Grout Supported Slab

Long-term monitoring instrumentation was also installed in partnership with the University of Waterloo, Centre for Pavement and Transportation Technology (CPATT).

Slab Fabrication

Twenty-two reinforced precast slabs were required for the pilot. They were fabricated in late summer 2016 at the Armtec production facility located in Mitchell, Ontario. To ensure good friction, sufficient micro and macro surface texture was mandatory on the precast slabs. Several methods were applied to the precast concrete surface to produce an acceptable surface texture. The final surface texture was a broom finish, followed by longitudinal tining. Constant pressure was applied during the brooming and longitudinal tining processes to provide the required texture. Figure 2 below shows the precast concrete slab production.

precast-slab-production

Figure 2: Precast Slab Production

Design Considerations

Core samples were taken at the pilot site to ensure sufficient asphalt depth was available to provide uniform support of the precast slabs. Three northbound lane cores indicated the asphalt thicknesses at 355, 375 and 375 mm. Since the precast concrete slabs are 205 mm, the core samples indicated sufficient asphalt thickness to mill down and place the precast concrete inlay slab, with roughly 150 mm of asphalt remaining as the base support. Figure 3 is the schematic of the precast concrete slab inlay repair of the flexible pavement.

cross-section-concrete-slab

Figure 3: Cross-section of Precast Concrete Slab Repair Rehabilitation on Asphalt Pavement (displaying an axle of dual tires running on top of the pavement)

The 205 mm thick precast concrete slabs are a lane-width wide (3.7 m) and 4.6 m long. Epoxy-coated dowels at 300 mm centres were embedded at the transverse joints. The strength of concrete is rated using megapascals (MPa). The precast concrete used in the slabs was designed for 30 MPa at 28 days with 3 per cent air void. The precast slab was reinforced by two mats of 15M epoxy coated steel bars at 300 mm spacing.

The trial slabs were installed over three consecutive nights to mitigate traffic delays. A temporary 1.0 metre longitudinal slab (sleeper slab) was used to facilitate a transition to the next night’s operations. During the day, a temporary slab was placed over the exposed dowels to support traffic during the un-grouted condition. The temporary slab was removed for the next night’s slab placement.

Planning and Installation

Together, the ministry, CPATT, the Design Consultant and the Contractor, Dufferin Construction, decided the final site location and the layout for the three installation methods. Figure 4 below shows the planned layout of the installation methods.

site-layout

Figure 4: Site Layout of the Three Support Methods

Installation of the precast concrete slabs began on Sept 20th, 2016. The contractor installed seven to eight slabs, over three nights, for each of the three methods. Installation activities were planned in advance to adhere to the tight timeline and avoid any possible construction delays. Figure 5 below is the nightly construction activity schedule.

trial-activity-schedule

Figure 5: Precast Concrete Trial Activity Schedule

Methods

Option 1: Asphalt Supported Slab Method – the fastest method

This method requires the precast concrete slabs to be supported directly on a precisely milled asphalt base and then grouted in place the following night.

A Wirtgen Model W120 CFI milling machine with a 1.2 m-wide milling head was used to achieve the required width.

wirtgen-milling-machine

Figure 6: Wirtgen Milling Machine

Since the Asphalt Supported Slab method requires a precise milling depth of the asphalt (tolerance of ± 3 mm), the Fort Miller grade check apparatus was adopted to ensure milled surface tolerances were achieved prior to placing the slab (Figure 7).

fort-miller

Figure 7: Fort Miller Grade Check Apparatus

After the first slab placement, measurements indicated the surface deferential between the adjacent lane surface and the precast slab surface differed by approximately 9 mm. This was adjusted by removing the slab and milling an additional 12 mm, based on Fort Miller’s grade check readings. The surface differential between adjacent slabs was small (within ± 3 mm tolerance as required in the specification) for the remainder of the slabs. The CPATT instrumentation was installed beneath the fourth and eighth asphalt supported slabs. Figure 8 shows the installation of a precast concrete slab.

precast-slab-installation

Figure 8: Precast Concrete Slab Installation for the Asphalt Supported Slab

A total of eight asphalt supported slabs were placed in approximately 1 hour 10 minutes, for an average placement time of approximately nine minutes per slab, followed by the temporary end slab (Figure 9). Fast-setting bedding grout, dowel grout and edge grout for longitudinal joints were applied the following night (Figure 10).

asphalt

Figure 9: Asphalt Supported Slab and Temporary End Slab

pumping

Figure 10: Pumping the Dowel Grout

Option 2: Grade Supported Slab Method

The Grade Supported Slabs were placed on the second night, September 21st, 2016. This method involved milling the asphalt, followed by placement, grading, and wetting the cement-treated bedding material (CTBM) prior to placing the precast concrete slab on top.

The same milling machine (Figure 6) and Fort Miller Grade Check Apparatus (Figure 7) were used as in the Asphalt Supported Slab method. The CPATT instrumentation was installed underneath the second and fourth slabs prior to placement of the CTBM. The CTBM was graded using a manual leveling screed and compacted using the plate tamper to the correct elevation. The material was wetted to begin hydration and the slabs were placed directly on this bedding layer (Figure 11).

compaction

Figure 11: Compaction of the CTBM Grade Supported Slab Method

A total of seven grade supported slabs and the temporary end slab were placed in approximately 90 minutes, for an average of approximately 13 minutes per slab. The edge grout for longitudinal joints was again applied the following night.

Option 3: Grout Supported Slab Method

The Grout Supported Slabs were placed on night three. This method used built-in leveling screws (or jacking bolts) which rested on the milled asphalt surface. These leveling screws have the capability to adjust the level of the concrete slab to the required elevation. Quick setting bedding grout was then injected to support the slab.

The same milling machine was again used to remove the asphalt for this support method, and the CPATT instrumentation was installed prior to slab placement. Three grout mixers were used to produce the increased amount of bedding grout required to fill the void beneath the Grout Supported Slab. Figure 12 below shows the adjustment of the levelling screws for this method.

grout-supported-slab

Figure 12: Grout Supported Slab Levelling Screw and Adjustment

A total of seven grout supported slabs were placed in approximately 85 minutes, for an average placement time of approximately 12 minutes per slab.

Post-Construction Data Analysis

The post construction data collected immediately after construction included Falling Weight Deflectometer (FWD) - a testing device used to evaluate the physical properties of pavement and to determine if a pavement is being overloaded. Friction and roughness testing data were also collected.

Out of the 22 slabs placed, only one slab did not meet the 3 mm tolerance and needed to be diamond ground as per the specification.

Falling Weight Deflectometer

The ministry retained a consultant to carry out the load transfer testing using the FWD at the transverse joints of the precast slabs. Testing was completed in October 2016. A total of 23 joints were tested for load transfer efficiency (LTE %) and void detection.

As a general practice, the load transfer is considered to be acceptable when LTE is greater than 70 per cent. The average LTE for all 23 joints was 80.3 per cent, which indicates a relatively good load transfer for these precast concrete slab placements

Friction

Roadway friction is the interaction between the roadway surface with the wheels of a vehicle. Frictional resistance testing was performed using a locked wheel Friction Tester unit per ASTM E-274 with ASTM E 501 standard ribbed tire. The tined longitudinal texture provided friction numbers in excess of FN30.

Roughness

Roughness was assessed by measuring the International Roughness Index (IRI) using the Automated Road Analyzer (ARAN). IRI is a roughness index with 0 mm/m representing a perfectly smooth pavement, and as the IRI increases, the measure represents a less smooth/rougher pavement. Typical IRI values for a concrete surface are higher than a hot mix asphalt surface because the longitudinal profile measurement will capture the tining of the concrete surface resulting in a higher reading. The average IRI summarized in 10 m intervals for all the precast concrete inlay slabs was 2.14 mm/m and for the adjacent asphalt pavement was 0.76 mm/m.

Lessons Learned

Precast concrete slabs require a uniform base for support. This pilot required precise asphalt milling to a specific depth, including the provision of a uniform surface for precast slab installation. Therefore, precise surface measurement and milling head control is critical to the success of this process.

Based on this pilot project experience, milling slightly deeper is better than under milling. The specialized milling machine was able to meet the specified grade requirement of ± 3 mm and provide a uniform milled surface texture.

Manual chipping of localized high spots and chipping of the asphalt rounding from the milling head delayed installation by about 1 hour. It is recommended that Bobcat mounted chipping equipment be used to significantly reduce chipping time.

Slabs should be broom finished at the plant, then diamond ground or grooved on site, as a post installation process.

Saw cutting of longitudinal joints prior to milling is not needed; however, transverse end joints should be saw-cut.

The milling width dimension required over-milling by 75 mm to accommodate the precast slab. However, the installation process shows a need for only 25 mm of over-milling. With the narrower gap, the temporary longitudinal steel channel is not required.

In addition, the use of the temporary one metre long end slab was a success to facilitate the next night’s start up.

In order to achieve full production speed, two crews with separate grout mixing equipment are required for the production of dowel grout and bedding grout as the two grouts have different mixing consistency. Grouting slabs the night before opening to traffic provided sufficient set time to achieve the required grout strength.

Conclusion and Recommendations

The precast concrete inlay slab trial was a success. Twenty-two precast concrete slabs using three different slab support systems were successfully placed on three consecutive nights, within the scheduled time-line. When the base support was prepared, each slab placement took about ten minutes. At full production speed, 30 to 40 slabs could be placed in an eight hour construction window.

Based on the post construction data collected to date, the Grout Supported Slab method is slightly superior in terms of load transfer and roughness. However, the ministry prefers the Asphalt Supported Slab method based on a constructability/cost perspective. This method was constructed the quickest during the pilot, adding to the cost/benefit ratio. Precision milling achieves the final grading and it does not require additional bedding grout. The Asphalt Supported method is recommended for future projects incorporating embedded leveling screws in the precast slab as a contingency to correct any grade issues.

The ministry will carry out the ongoing performance monitoring. Instrumentation installed beneath all trial inlay slabs will be monitored by CPATT in partnership with MTO. Based on lessons learned, revisions to the specification, and installation method standardization are required prior to full implementation.

For more information, please contact:
Stephen Lee, P.Eng.
Head, Pavements and Foundations Section,
Materials Engineering and Research Office at (416) 235-3732 or at Stephen.Lee@ontario.ca

Back to Top

Road Talk : Vol. 24, nº 2 été 2018


Les dalles de béton offrent une solution pratique sur les autoroutes achalandées de l’Ontario en facilitant l’exécution des travaux de réfection pendant la nuit

Comme le réseau des autoroutes de l’Ontario ne cesse de grandir et connaît une hausse constante des débits routiers, le ministère des Transports de l’Ontario (MTO) doit redoubler d’efforts pour trouver des solutions nouvelles et novatrices de préservation et d’entretien de ce réseau. Le ministère a localisé certains tronçons d’autoroutes où la circulation de véhicules lourds est particulièrement intense, atteignant parfois plus de 25 000 camions par jour, ce qui représente un risque de détérioration précoce. Ces revêtements bitumineux d’une épaisseur de plus de 300 mm sont exposés à un risque d’orniérage précoce ou de fissuration de pleine profondeur.

Le traitement habituel de fraisage et de revêtement à ces emplacements n’offre parfois qu’une durée de vie de trois à cinq ans, alors que la durée prévue avant l’apparition d’ornières et de fissures serait normalement de huit à douze ans. Comme la durée de vie de cette stratégie de conservation est courte, le ministère examine une technologie consistant à procéder de nuit au fraisage et à la mise en place de béton préfabriqué pour allonger le cycle de vie de la réfection.

La stratégie de mise en place de béton permet également d’éviter les perturbations de la circulation. La nécessité de réduire le plus possible les ralentissements que doivent subir les usagers de ces autoroutes achalandées pendant les travaux de réfection oblige le ministère à trouver des solutions encore plus efficaces. L’exécution des travaux d’entretien et de réfection ne peut faire appel qu’à des fermetures de voie pendant la nuit.

En 2004, le MTO a pour la première fois fait un essai réussi de réparation de la chaussée rigide par la mise en place de dalles préfabriquées en béton. Le but était d’évaluer les techniques de construction. L’essai a été mené sur l’autoroute 427 à Toronto. Après cet essai, des spécifications ont été rédigées, et d’autres travaux de réparation par béton préfabriqué ont été réalisés au fil des années. Les succès du MTO en matière de réparations par béton préfabriqué sur une chaussée rigide ont incité le ministère à mener un autre essai à l’automne 2016, qui consistait à utiliser des dalles préfabriquées en béton pour la réparation d’une chaussée souple. Les avantages de la mise en place de béton comme méthode de réfection des autoroutes, malgré son coût légèrement supérieur, comprennent une réduction des effets sur la circulation, mais surtout un prolongement du cycle de vie de la chaussée; ces deux facteurs contribuent aux avantages en matière de coûts.

Lieu

Le ministère a mené le projet pilote sur le tronçon en direction nord de l’autoroute 400, entre les intersections des autoroutes 88 (vers le sud) et 89 (vers le nord). Un rapport de 2013 indique que le débit journalier moyen dans les deux directions s’élève à environ 87 300 véhicules. La figure 1 ci-dessous montre l’emplacement approximatif du projet pilote.

pilot-project

Figure 1: emplacement du projet pilote sur l’autoroute 400, entre les autoroutes 88 et 89 (source : Google Map)

Systèmes de soutien des dalles

Le ministère, pendant l’essai, a adopté l’approche de dalle sur terre-plein du système Super-SlabMD de Fort Miller, qui fait appel à des dalles préfabriquées en béton entièrement durcies pour le remplacement de sections de chaussée.

Trois systèmes de soutien des dalles ont été évalués, en fonction de facteurs comme le transfert de charges et la facilité de la construction. L’évaluation tenait également compte de la difficulté de déterminer les étapes des travaux en respectant un créneau quotidien de huit heures, et des adaptations des caractéristiques des joints horizontaux et longitudinaux pour les travaux prévus temporaires et permanents. Les trois méthodes de soutien des dalles mises à l’essai pendant l’étude pilote comprenaient :

  • les dalles sur revêtement bitumineux
  • les dalles sur terre-plein
  • les dalles sur coulis

Des instruments de surveillance à long terme ont également été installés en partenariat avec le Centre for Pavement and Transportation Technology (CPATT) de l’Université de Waterloo.

Fabrication des dalles

Le projet pilote comprenait l’utilisation de 22 dalles de béton armé préfabriquées. Elles ont été fabriquées à la fin de l’été 2016 dans les installations de production de Armtec à Mitchell, en Ontario. Pour assurer une bonne friction, les dalles préfabriquées devaient obligatoirement avoir des microtextures et macrotextures adéquates. Plusieurs méthodes ont été utilisées sur la surface de béton préfabriqué afin de produire une texture superficielle acceptable. La texture superficielle finale était un fini par balayage, suivi d’un striage longitudinal. Les processus de balayage et de striage longitudinal utilisaient une pression constante pour produire la texture désirée. La figure 2 ci-dessous illustre le processus de production des dalles préfabriquées en béton.

precast-slab-production

Figure 2 : Production des dalles préfabriquées

Facteurs de conception

Des échantillons de carotte prélevés sur le site du projet pilote permettaient de vérifier que le revêtement avait une profondeur suffisante pour fournir un soutien uniforme des dalles préfabriquées. Trois échantillons de la voie en direction nord révélaient des profondeurs du revêtement de 355, 375 et 375 mm. Comme les dalles préfabriquées en béton ont une épaisseur de 205 mm, les échantillons de carotte ont montré que l’épaisseur du revêtement suffisait pour le fraisage et la mise en place des dalles, le soutien étant alors assuré par le revêtement resté en place d’environ 150 mm. La figure 3 montre de manière schématique la mise en place de la dalle préfabriquée en béton sur chaussée souple.

cross-section-concrete-slab

Figure 3 : coupe transversale de la réfection de réparation par dalle de béton préfabriquée sur revêtement bitumineux (la chaussée est surmontée d’un essieu reliant deux pneus jumelés)

Les dalles préfabriquées en béton d’une épaisseur de 205 mm ont la largeur d’une voie (3,7 m) et une longueur de 4,6 m. Des goujons enduits d’époxy (espacement de 300 mm) étaient insérés au niveau des joints transversaux. La résistance du béton est mesurée en mégapascal (MPa). Le béton préfabriqué utilisé dans la fabrication des dalles était conçu dans le but de respecter une norme de 30 MPa à 28 jours après la pose, avec un vide interstitiel de 3 %. La dalle préfabriquée était renforcée par deux treillis de barres d’acier enduites d’époxy de 15M, avec un espacement de 300 mm.

Les dalles de l’essai ont été installées en trois nuits consécutives pour atténuer les retards de la circulation. Une dalle longitudinale temporaire de 1,0 mètre (sous-dalle) était utilisée pour faciliter la transition jusqu’aux travaux de la nuit suivante. Pendant le jour, une dalle temporaire placée sur les goujons exposés permettait d’assurer la circulation dans des conditions d’absence de coulis. Cette dalle temporaire était retirée avant la mise en place des dalles de la nuit suivante.

Planification et installation

Collectivement, le ministère, le CPATT, le consultant en conception et l’entrepreneur, Dufferin Construction, ont choisi l’emplacement final du site et la configuration qui serait utilisée pour les trois méthodes d’installation La figure 4 ci-dessous montre la configuration prévue pour les différentes méthodes d’installation.

site-layout

Figure 4 : configuration du site pour l’essai des trois méthodes de soutien

L’installation des dalles préfabriquées en béton a commencé le 20 septembre 2016. L’entrepreneur a installé sept à huit dalles en trois nuits pour chacune des trois méthodes mises à l’essai. La planification rigoureuse des activités d’installation visait à assurer le respect de l’échéancier serré et à éviter tout risque de retards dans les travaux. La figure 5 ci-dessous montre l’horaire des travaux de nuit.

trial-activity-schedule

Figure 5 : Horaire d’activité de l’essai sur le béton préfabriqué

Méthode

Option 1 : La méthode des dalles sur revêtement bitumineux – la méthode la plus rapide

La méthode implique la mise en place directe des dalles préfabriquées en béton sur un revêtement bitumineux ayant fait l’objet d’un fraisage d’une grande précision, avant l’ajout d’un coulis de scellement la nuit suivante.

L’utilisation du modèle de fraiseuse W120 CFi de Wirtgen, dotée d’une tête de 1,20 m, permettait d’obtenir la largeur désirée.

wirtgen-milling-machine

Figure 6 : Fraiseuse Wirtgen

Comme la méthode de dalle sur revêtement bitumineux exige une grande précision dans la profondeur du fraisage (marge de tolérance de ± 3 mm), l’appareil de vérification du nivellement de Fort Miller a été utilisé afin d’assurer le respect de ces marges avant la mise en place des dalles (figure 7).

fort-miller

Figure 7 : Appareil de vérification du nivellement de Fort Miller

Après la mise en place de la première dalle, les mesures indiquaient un différentiel de surface entre la surface de chaussée adjacente et la surface de la dalle préfabriquée d’environ 9 mm. L’ajustement a consisté à retirer la dalle et à procéder à un fraisage d’une profondeur de 12 mm, conformément aux mesures de la vérification du nivellement de Fort Miller. Le différentiel de surface entre dalles adjacentes était modeste (il respectait la marge de tolérance de ± 3 mm des spécifications) pendant la mise en place du reste des dalles. Les instruments du CPATT ont été installés entre la quatrième et la huitième dalle sur revêtement bitumineux. La figure 8 montre l’installation d’une dalle préfabriquée en béton.

precast-slab-installation

Figure 8 : Installation d’une dalle préfabriquée en béton selon la méthode de la dalle sur revêtement bitumineux

Un total de huit dalles sur revêtement bitumineux a été installé en environ 1 h 10 minutes, ce qui représente une durée moyenne de mise en place d’environ 9 minutes par dalle, suivi de la pose de la dalle terminale temporaire (figure 9). Le coulis de scellement, le coulis pour l’ancrage des goujons et le coulis de rebord à durcissement rapide ont été injectés la nuit suivante (figure 10).

asphalt

Figure 9 : dalle sur revêtement bitumineux et dalle terminale temporaire

pumping

Figure 10 : injection du coulis pour l’ancrage des goujons

Option 2 : Méthode de dalle sur terre-plein

Les dalles sur terre-plein ont été installées la deuxième nuit, soit le 21 septembre 2016. La méthode implique le fraisage du revêtement bitumineux, puis la mise en place, le nivellement et le mouillage du matériel d’assise traité au ciment avant que la dalle préfabriquée en béton soit déposée par-dessus.

La même fraiseuse (figure 6) et le même appareil de vérification du nivellement de Fort Miller (figure 7) ont été utilisés que pour la méthode de dalle sur revêtement bitumineux. Les instruments du CPATT ont été installés sous la deuxième et la quatrième dalle avant la pose du matériel d’assise traité au ciment. Le nivellement du matériel d’assise traité au ciment a été effectué manuellement au moyen d’une règle à araser, puis le compactage a été effectué au moyen d’un dameur jusqu’à obtention de la hauteur désirée. Le matériel a été mouillé pour commencer l’hydratation et les dalles ont été déposées directement sur cette couche d’assise (figure 11).

compaction

Figure 11 : compactage du matériel d’assise traité au ciment dans le cadre de la méthode de dalle sur terre-plein

Un total de sept dalles sur terre-plein, en plus de la dalle terminale temporaire, a été mis en place en environ 90 minutes, ce qui représente une moyenne de 13 minutes par dalle. Comme dans le cas de la méthode précédente, le coulis de rebord pour les joints longitudinaux a été appliqué la nuit suivante.

Option 3 : Méthode de dalle sur coulis

L’installation des dalles sur coulis a été réalisée au cours de la troisième nuit. La méthode fait appel à des vis intégrées de nivellement (ou vérins) posées sur la surface du revêtement après le fraisage. Ces vis de nivellement permettent d’ajuster le niveau de la dalle en béton jusqu’à la hauteur désirée. On injecte alors le coulis de scellement à durcissement rapide afin d’assurer le soutien de la dalle.

La même fraiseuse a été utilisée pour l’enlèvement d’une couche du revêtement bitumineux dans le cas de cette méthode de soutien. Les instruments du CPATT ont été installés avant la mise en place de la dalle. Trois malaxeurs à coulis ont été utilisés pour produire la quantité supplémentaire de coulis de scellement qui était nécessaire pour remplir le vide sous la dalle installée selon cette méthode. La figure 12 montre l’ajustement des vis de nivellement pendant l’essai de cette méthode.

grout-supported-slab

Figure 12 : vis de nivellement pour dalle sur coulis et ajustement

Un total de sept dalles sur coulis a été mis en place en environ 85 minutes, ce qui représente une moyenne de 12 minutes par dalle.

Analyse des données recueillies après la fin des travaux

Les données recueillies immédiatement après la fin de travaux comprenaient des données obtenues par déflectomètre à masse tombante (FWD). Cet instrument de mesure sert à évaluer les propriétés physiques de la chaussée et à déterminer si une chaussée subit une surcharge. La collecte de données comprenait également des données d’essai sur la friction et la rugosité.

Sur les 22 dalles mises en place, seulement une s’écartait de la marge de tolérance de 3 mm et avait besoin d’un meulage par disques diamantés pour respecter les spécifications.

Déflectomètre à masse tombante

Le ministère a fait appel à un consultant pour mener à bien les essais de transfert de charge au moyen d’un déflectomètre à masse tombante. La zone testée était les joints transversaux des dalles préfabriquées. Les essais ont été réalisés en octobre 2016. Un total de 23 joints a été mis à l’essai. Les paramètres comprenaient l’efficacité du transfert de charge (load transfer efficiency ou LTE, exprimé en pourcentage) et la détection du vide.

Généralement, le transfert de charge est considéré comme acceptable lorsque la LTE est supérieure à 70 %. La LTE moyenne des 23 joints était de 80,3 %, ce qui laisse penser que le transfert de charge de cette mise en place de dalles préfabriquées en béton est relativement bon.

Friction

La friction dans le domaine des chaussées est l’interaction entre la surface de la voie de circulation et les roues d’un véhicule. L’essai de résistance à la friction a été réalisé au moyen d’un appareil de mesure du coefficient de frottement avec roue de mesure conforme à ASTM E-274 et pneumatique nervuré standard ASTM E 501. La texture de stries longitudinales a donné des résultats dépassant la valeur de FN30.

Rugosité

La rugosité a été évaluée au moyen de l’appareil Automated Road Analyser (ARAN) afin d’obtenir une mesure selon l’indice international d’uni (IRI). L’IRI est un indice de rugosité dans lequel 0 mm/m représente une chaussée parfaitement lisse. Les valeurs supérieures indiquent que la chaussée est de moins en moins lisse, et donc plus rugueuse. Les valeurs habituelles selon l’IRI pour une surface de béton sont supérieures à celles d’une surface de béton bitumineux à chaud. En effet, la mesure du profil longitudinal capte le striage de la surface du béton, ce qui produit une mesure plus élevée. L’IRI moyen, en fonction d’intervalles de 10 m pour toutes les dalles préfabriquées en béton, était de 2,14 mm/m. Il était de 0,76 mm/m pour le revêtement bitumineux adjacent.

Leçons retenues

Les dalles préfabriquées en béton ont besoin d’une fondation uniforme pour assurer leur soutien. Le projet pilote exigeait une grande précision dans le fraisage du revêtement bitumineux selon une profondeur prédéterminée, et l’obtention d’une surface uniforme pour l’installation des dalles préfabriquées. Le processus ne peut donc réussir qu’avec des mesures précises des surfaces et une bonne maîtrise de la tête de fraisage. Une des leçons retenues du projet pilote est qu’un fraisage à une profondeur légèrement supérieure à celle qui était visée vaut mieux qu’un fraisage insuffisant. La fraiseuse spécialisée utilisée permettait de satisfaire à l’exigence de niveau de ± 3 mm et de produire une texture de surface fraisée uniforme. Le gravillonnage manuel d’endroits élevés localisés et le gravillonnage du revêtement lié à la tête de fraisage ont retardé l’installation d’environ 1 heure. Il est recommandé d’utiliser un équipement de gravillonnage monté sur un véhicule Bobcat pour réduire considérablement la durée de cette tâche.

Les dalles doivent recevoir leur fini par balayage à l’usine, puis leur meulage par disques diamantés ou leur striage sur le site, en tant que processus postérieur à l’installation.

Le sciage des joints longitudinaux avant le fraisage n’est pas nécessaire. Par contre, le sciage des joints transversaux terminaux est recommandé.

La largeur de fraisage exigeait l’ajout de 75 mm par rapport aux mesures afin de faciliter la pose de la dalle préfabriquée. Cependant, le processus d’installation montre que cet ajout à la largeur de fraisage n’a besoin d’être que de 25 mm. Avec un intervalle plus étroit, le canal longitudinal temporaire en acier n’est plus nécessaire.

Par ailleurs, l’utilisation de la dalle temporaire terminale d’un mètre pour faciliter le début des travaux de la nuit suivante s’avère concluante.

Pour obtenir une vitesse maximale de production, il est nécessaire d’avoir deux équipes disposant chacune de leur propre équipement de malaxage du coulis. Le coulis pour l’ancrage des goujons et le coulis de scellement ont en effet des consistances de mélange différentes. L’application du coulis la nuit avant l’ouverture de la voie donnait un temps de durcissement suffisamment long pour obtenir la résistance de coulis désirée.

Conclusion et recommandations

L’essai de mise en place de dalles préfabriquées en béton s’avère concluant. Vingt-deux dalles préfabriquées en béton utilisant trois systèmes de soutien différents ont été mises en place avec succès en trois nuits d’affilée, en respectant l’échéancier établi. Une fois que la fondation est en place, la mise en place de chaque dalle exige une dizaine de minutes. À la vitesse maximale de production, il serait possible d’installer 30 à 40 dalles pendant un créneau de travaux de huit heures.

Selon les données suivant les travaux, la méthode de dalle sur coulis est légèrement supérieure aux autres sur le plan du transfert de charge et de la rugosité. Cependant, le ministère préfère la méthode de dalle sur revêtement bitumineux, qui offre des avantages sur le plan des coûts et de la constructibilité. Cette méthode arrivait par ailleurs au premier rang sur le plan de la rapidité des travaux dans le cadre du projet pilote, ce qui améliore encore davantage le ratio coûts-avantage. Le fraisage de précision permet d’obtenir les résultats escomptés en matière de nivellement final, et il n’est donc pas nécessaire d’ajouter plus de coulis de scellement. La méthode de dalle sur revêtement bitumineux est donc recommandée dans le cas des projets futurs qui feront appel à des vis de nivellement insérées dans la dalle préfabriquée pour corriger tout problème de niveau.

Le ministère procédera à la surveillance continue du rendement. Le CPATT mènera à bien la surveillance des instruments installés sous les dalles d’essai en collaboration avec le MTO. Selon les leçons retenues, il convient de procéder à des révisions des spécifications, et de normaliser la méthode de mise en place avant une mise en œuvre à grande échelle.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :
Stephen Lee, ing.
Responsable, Section ds revêtements et des fondations
Bureau de la recherche et du génie en matière de matériaux, au 416 235-3732 ou au Stephen.Lee@ontario.ca

Retour en haut de page