Road Talk Winter Vol 24, no 1: Winter 2018


Adding Pre-Treated Salt to the Winter Maintenance Tool-kit

Winter weather can have a significant impact on road conditions, affecting the safety and mobility of road users. Area Maintenance Contractors (AMCs) working for the Ontario Ministry of Transportation (MTO) follow Best Practices and Contract Specifications to plow, anti-ice and de-ice highways to provide safe driving conditions in winter. Applying dry rock salt to the roadway is a common method for snow and ice control.

MTO’s winter maintenance practices include pre-wet salt. Salt is pre-wetted by spraying it with a winter maintenance liquid as it is being applied to the roadway. The typical ratio of liquid to rock salt is about five per cent. This method allows lower application rates because the liquid coating promotes the adhesion of salt to the roadway and faster melting of snowpack, and the flexibility to use dry rock salt when conditions are suitable to it. A 1998-2001 field trials program showed pre-wet salt to perform equivalently to rock salt when applied at rates up to 30 percent lower.1

Recently, vendors have promoted pre-treated salt as an alternative to pre-wet salt. Salt is pre-treated by applying brine directly to the salt. This practice eliminates the requirement for brine storage tanks at patrol yards and spraying equipment mounted on winter maintenance vehicles. Intuitively it could be expected to work similar to pre-wetting to improve the performance of rock salt.

MTO and other road agencies have developed a good understanding about the relative performance of dry rock salt and pre-wet salt. However, no formal documentation was available about the comparative performance of pre-treated salt. The ministry, in partnership with its AMCs, elected to conduct trials to compare the benefits of each method.

A comparative testing and analysis program was developed by the Winter Materials Working Group, a joint industry-ministry body that meets twice a year to review issues related to the use of road salt and winter sand on provincial highways. The goal of the program was to establish equivalent application rates for dry rock salt and pre-treated salt, similar to the 1998-2001 testing program that established the current equivalent application rates for rock salt and pre-wet salt.

Location

The Working Group retained an independent consultant, CIMA+ to collate data and conduct the comparative analysis of dry and pre-treated salt. Four contract areas were used initially to gain experience under a variety of operating conditions; at patrols near Harriston, Verner, Morrisburg, and Huntsville. Four Area Maintenance Contractors were involved; Miller Maintenance, Broadspectrum (formerly Transfield), Carillion and Highroads Maintenance. At each site, adjacent highway sections with similar traffic and weather conditions were designated as either a control section using only rock salt (or winter sand when appropriate) or a test section using pre-treated salt.

In season two, testing was limited to Highway 17 in the Verner area to obtain a more intensive data set.

gtaw-google-map

Map courtesy of Google maps

verner-test-area

Figure 1: Verner Test Area

Materials

Application rates used for each storm varied depending on local precipitation, temperature and road conditions.

Application rates of 130 kg per 2 lane km and 170 kg per 2 lane km were used for dry salt depending on road and weather conditions.

The application rates used for the pre-treated salt were 90, 105 or 130 kg/2 lane km depending on road and weather conditions. This ensured that there was a multitude of spreading rates data captured over the course of the winter.

maintenance-equipment

Figure 2: The maintenance equipment used for applying pre-treated salt. The vehicles used for winter maintenance in Verner are combination units that can plow the road and apply salt at the same time.

The same rock salt and liquid materials were used on the test and control sections. The liquid was a concentrated solution of primarily MgCl2 and was applied at two-to-three per cent by mass, while salt in the pre-wetted sections had liquid added at five per cent by mass.

Data Collection

The program included specific performance measures collected by regular patrol staff and by a specially outfitted patrol truck with a Mobile Data Collection Unit (MDCU). Patrol staff observed and recorded Winter Operations Records (WOR) showing the activities of maintenance vehicles each time they left the patrol yard, Winter Patrol Records (WPR) recording weather and road conditions along the route, diary observations about relative conditions in the test and control sections, and electronic records of material application in each section based on Automated Vehicle Location (AVL) system, from on-board electronic spreader controllers and infra-red thermometers.

The AVL records provided precise geographic records at ten second intervals, of material application and plow position on each traverse of each route. The patrol truck was equipped with a friction trailer used to measure roadway friction in the left wheel track behind the truck, and a spectral camera, which measured surface temperature and estimated the road cover type, depth, and friction in the left wheel track ahead of the truck. All data were recorded at approximately one second intervals, with GPS coordinates.

friction-trailer

Figure 3: Friction Trailer

spectral-camera

Figure 4: Spectral Camera

Road-Weather Information System (RWIS) provided records of air and road temperature, wind speed/direction, and precipitation, approximately every 15 minutes. Two RWIS stations are in place in the Verner test area, one east of the pre-treat section and the other west of the dry salt section.

Data Processing, Integration and Quality Control

Twenty-six winter events having complete data sets were included in the combined analysis of de-icing materials - five events from the 2014/15 winter trials and twenty-one events from the 2015/16 winter trials. The collected data from RWIS, MDCU, the friction trailer and spectral camera were integrated to form a single dataset which included all corresponding information required for analysis.

Data analysis was completed qualitatively, through AMC observations, and quantitatively, through exploratory and statistical analysis. The statistical analysis involved a comprehensive modelling effort comparing the effectiveness of the applied snow removal treatments.

Measures of Effectiveness

The exploratory analysis involved a detailed review of the time trends observed in the adopted measure of effectiveness. The performance of the de-icing materials was compared using a range of measures indicative of their effectiveness in restoring safe driving conditions. These measures include bare pavement regain time (BPRT) and roadway friction.

Measure # 1: Bare Pavement Regain Time (BPRT)
Definition: The time between the secession of snow or freezing rain and the time when road maintenance has ended. Note: MTO considers bare pavement regained “when 95% of the driving surface (edge line to edge line) is free of snow, slush, and/or ice1. In this analysis, the end of plowing and spreading operations is considered as a proxy of 95% regain time. 2
Measure # 2: Friction
Definition: Friction coefficient, or µ, is a value between 0.0 and 1.0, which relates horizontal force to normal force and represents the maximum attainable acceleration on < a specific road surface.3
How it is Measured:

Road friction, or grip, is a measured value in the wheel track and relates directly to the distance required to stop a vehicle on a highway. For example, the friction value of a dry, good quality road might be 0.80 and that of an icy road might be 0.20.

Two types of data collection equipment in this study report friction values: the friction trailer and the spectral camera. The trailer measures the friction directly using a calibrated tire. The spectral camera calculates friction from identified cover type and depth.

Spectral camera data were used for the analysis in this study as they provided a more complete data set.

Comparative Analyses Results

The following conclusions and recommendations were made from the qualitative, exploratory, and statistical analyses:

Qualitative Analysis (from 2014/15 study):

  • Concerns were raised about apparently more frequent occurrence of re-freezing events after pre-treated salt application than after dry salt and pre-wet salt applications; and
  • A maximum cost-effective application rate for pre-treated salt was estimated as 105 kg per 2 lane km, in comparison with dry rock salt at 130 kg per 2 lane km
  • For the majority of the storm events, pre-treated salt application rates were lower than those of the dry salt while obtaining similar BPRT, implying similar performance with lower pre-treated salt application rates.

Statistical Analysis:

  • The exploratory analysis identified certain road sections that were susceptible to snow drifting or to intersection traffic characteristics that could potentially bias the analysis. The end points were identified and the potentially biased sections were automatically excluded from the statistical analysis using GPS coordinates.
  • Average friction number on individual traverses and through a storm event was identified as the key performance indicator for comparison of dry and pre-treated salt. A multiple regression analysis was used to estimate the coefficients of relative performance of dry and pre-treated salt when applied at different rates during the storms included in the analysis, and variable interaction was used to account for differences in performance associated with different road surface temperature conditions. The graphs in Figure 5 summarize the results for the analysis based on average friction on each traverse of the test and control sections. Similar results were obtained using an event level analysis
friction-estimation

Figure 5: Friction estimated with variable interaction between salt type and application rate (kg/2 lane km), and surface temperature (oC)

  • Each line on the graphs is based on traverse level averages of all the friction values measured at one second intervals through all traverses of all storms included in the analysis, and the associated road surface temperatures. Each of the lines shows the estimated friction value at a given surface temperature. The graph on the left shows results during heavier snow cover conditions (road was plowed during that traverse) and the graph on the right shows results during light snow conditions (plow was not in use), and each graph includes only cases within 30 minutes or less elapsed between the time of material spreading and the time of friction measurement.
  • A higher position of the performance estimate line on the graph indicates higher friction and implies better snow clearing performance. Thus, under heavier snow conditions, pre-treated salt at application rate 130 performed best at all temperatures. Pre-treated salt at application rate 105 performed better than dry salt at application rate 130 in warmer conditions but not at colder conditions.
  • Crossing of performance estimate lines implies equal performance between the two treatment types at specified application rates. The crossing of the pre-treat 105 and dry 130 performance lines under plowed conditions suggest that they performed equally at -4oC, implying that pre-treat could be used at 20 per cent lower application rate for equal performance to rock salt, but only at relatively warm temperatures The equivalency at -8oC is 15 percent lower application of pre-treated salt.
  • Pre-treated salt generally outperformed rock salt under the heavier snow conditions but equivalency under the range of conditions experienced would restrict the reduction in application rates with pre-treated salt to 15% less than dry salt. The results for lighter snow conditions suggest that, except near freezing, rock salt performed better than pre-treated salt.
  • The performance under heavier snow conditions in comparison to the 1998-2001 trials of pre-wet salt, corresponds roughly with the ratio of liquid to rock salt.

Conclusion

Ministry contractors were hopeful to use pre-treated salt at similar application rates to pre-wet salt (up to 30% less than rock salt) on the rationale of cost savings when compared to total cost of materials and equipment. However, results show that the performance of the pre-treated salt was intermediate between dry salt and pre-wet salt.

The difference in performance may relate back to the amount of liquid used on the salt. When salt is pre-treated, it holds one to three per cent of the applied liquid, while the remainder drains off. When salt is pre-wet during application, as much liquid as required can be used with no liquid loss.

While the final results indicate that the equivalent application rates do not provide economic justification at the present time for using pre-treated salt, the results are being incorporated into Maintenance Best Practices to allow application rate reductions up to 15% for pre-treated salt, compared with 30% for pre-wet salt, at the option of Area Maintenance Contractors.

The full details of the 2014-2016 trials, data collection and analysis were presented at the Transportation Association of Canada (TAC) Conference in September 2017.

The full Combined Analysis of Pre-Treated Salt Trials, April 2017 report is available at the Ministry of Transportation library.

Winter Material Working Group

An industry-Ministry working partnership was established in 2014 in response to a ministry review of the winter maintenance program, with the purpose to review and improve practices for the use of winter maintenance materials. It includes representatives from all Area Maintenance Contractors, the Provincial Maintenance Management Office and all Regional Offices. The role of the Working Group was strengthened following a 2015 Report of the Provincial Auditor General about Winter Highway Maintenance.

The Terms of Reference are; to conduct literature reviews, discussions and scientific or practical research as needed to ensure that road salt and other anti-icing or de-icing chemicals and winter sand, are used in a cost-effective and environmentally sensitive manner for winter maintenance on provincial highways. Pre-treated salt was advanced by industry as a top study priority when the group was formed. Other current priorities include: pre-wet winter sand; anti-icing with liquids in advance of snow accumulation and; innovative methods of mechanical removal of hard packed snow at very cold temperatures.

Sponsored projects have access to specialized equipment and personnel for precisely monitoring maintenance operations and resulting snow conditions or traction in live-testing situations on highways. Additional research and analysis expertise is obtained when needed, from consultants and universities. Study results are peer-reviewed and can be obtained through the ministry’s library or from conference presentations such as the Transportation Association of Canada or the U.S. Transportation Research Board.

For more information, contact:

Max Perchanok, Coordinator for Innovations and Sustainability, Provincial Highways Management Division, at (905) 704-3998, or at Max.Perchanok@ontario.ca

    1aurora-program.org, Completed Project 1997-03, Appendix C.

    2 Provincial Maintenance Memorandum #2015-06, Bare Pavement Definitions, Maintenance Management Office, MTO

    3 Experiences of Mobile Road Condition Monitoring, Taisto Haavasoja, Juhani Nylander and Pauli Nylander, SIRWEC 2012, Helsinki, 2012

Back to Top

Road Talk : Vol. 24, nº 1 été 2018


Ajout de sel prétraité à la trousse d’entretien hivernal

Les conditions hivernales ont une très grande incidence sur l’état des routes, car elles affectent la sécurité et la mobilité des usagers de la route. Les entrepreneurs d’entretien régionaux suivent les pratiques exemplaires et les conditions contractuelles pour déblayer, déneiger et déglacer les routes afin d’offrir des conditions de conduite sécuritaires en hiver. L’épandage de sel sec sur la chaussée est une méthode courante de déneigement et de déglaçage.

Les pratiques d’entretien hivernal de l’Ontario comprennent l’épandage de sel prémouillé. Ainsi, on mouille le sel en le vaporisant d’un liquide d’entretien hivernal à mesure qu’il est épandu sur la chaussée. Le rapport type entre sel et liquide est d’environ 5 %. Cette méthode permet d’épandre moins de sel, puisque le sel enduit de liquide adhère mieux à la chaussée et fait fondre la neige plus rapidement, tout en permettant d’utiliser du sel sec lorsque les conditions le permettent. Un programme d’essais sur le terrain mené entre 1998 et 2001 a démontré que le sel prémouillé a un rendement équivalent à celui du sel même lorsqu’il est appliqué à des doses jusqu’à 30 % plus faibles que le sel1.

Récemment, les fournisseurs ont fait la promotion du sel prétraité comme solution de rechange au sel prémouillé. Le sel est prétraité en y appliquant directement de la saumure. Cette pratique fait en sorte qu’il n’est plus nécessaire de disposer de réservoirs de stockage de saumure dans les entrepôts de sels ni d’installer du matériel de pulvérisation sur les véhicules d’entretien hivernal. Au premier abord, on pourrait s’attendre à ce que le prétraitement donne des résultats semblables au prémouillage pour améliorer le rendement du sel.

Les autorités responsables des routes de l’Ontario et d’ailleurs comprennent maintenant bien le rendement relatif du sel sec et du sel prémouillé. Toutefois, elles ne disposent d’aucune documentation officielle sur le rendement comparatif du sel prétraité. Le Ministère, en partenariat avec ses entrepreneurs d’entretien régionaux, a choisi de mener des essais pour comparer les avantages de chaque méthode.

Un programme d’essai et d’analyse comparatifs a donc été élaboré par le Groupe de travail sur les produits pour l’entretien hivernal, organisme réunissant l’industrie et le Ministère qui discute deux fois l’an de questions liées à l’utilisation du sel de voirie et du sable d’hiver sur les routes provinciales. Il visait à établir les taux d’application équivalents du sel sec et du sel prétraité, à l’instar du programme d’essai mené entre 1998 et 2001 qui a permis d’établir les taux d’application équivalents en vigueur pour le sel et le sel prémouillé.

Emplacement

Le groupe de travail a retenu les services d’une société d’experts-conseils indépendante, CIMA+, pour recueillir des données et effectuer l’analyse comparative du sel sec et du sel prétraité. Quatre zones contractuelles ont d’abord été ciblées pour acquérir de l’expérience dans diverses conditions d’utilisation, soit les entrepôts de sels situés près de Harriston, Verner, Morrisburg et Huntsville. Quatre entrepreneurs d’entretien régionaux ont pris part à ces essais : Miller Maintenance, Broadspectrum (autrefois Transfield), Carillion et Highroads Maintenance. À chacun de ces sites, des tronçons de route adjacents présentant des conditions de circulation et des conditions météorologiques semblables ont été désignés comme tronçons de contrôle à traiter uniquement avec du sel (ou du sable d’hiver, le cas échéant) ou comme tronçons d’essai à traiter avec du sel prétraité.

Au cours de la deuxième saison, les essais se sont limités à la zone de Verner afin d’obtenir un ensemble de données plus exhaustif.

gtaw-google-map

Carte avec l’aimable autorisation de Google Maps

verner-test-area

Figure 1 : Zone d’essai Verner

Matériaux

Les taux d’application utilisés à chaque tempête varient selon les précipitations locales, la température et les conditions routières.

Des doses d’épandage de 130 kg/km de double voie et de 170 kg/km de double voie ont été utilisées pour le sel sec, selon les conditions routières et météorologiques.

Les doses d’application utilisées pour le sel prétraité ont été de 90, 105 ou 130 kg/km de double voie selon les conditions routières et météorologiques. Ainsi, il a été possible de recueillir une foule de données sur les débits d’épandage au cours de l’hiver.

maintenance-equipment

Figure 2 : Matériel d’entretien utilisé pour l’application du sel prétraité. À Verner, les véhicules utilisés pour l’entretien hivernal sont des camions polyvalents qui peuvent à la fois déneiger la route et épandre du sel.

Le même sel et les mêmes liquides ont été utilisés sur les tronçons d’essai et de contrôle. Le liquide, soit une solution concentrée composée surtout de MgCl2, a été épandu à une dose de 2 ou 3 % de la masse, alors qu’il a été utilisé à une dose d’environ 5 % de la masse pour mouiller le sel au préalable.

Collecte de données

Le programme prévoyait une collecte de mesures de rendement précises par le personnel de patrouille régulier et un camion de patrouille spécialement équipé d’un appareil mobile de collecte de données. À la suite de ses observations, le personnel de patrouille a ainsi tenu un registre des opérations hivernales pour consigner les activités menées par les véhicules d’entretien chaque fois qu’ils quittent l’entrepôt de sels, un registre des patrouilles hivernales pour consigner les conditions météorologiques et l’état des routes tout au long du parcours, un journal d’observations sur les conditions relatives prévalant sur les tronçons d’essai et de contrôle, ainsi qu’un registre électronique de l’application des matériaux sur chaque tronçon en fonction des données du Système de localisation automatisée des véhicules (Système LAV) recueillies grâce aux systèmes de commande électronique d’épandage et des thermomètres infrarouges embarqués.

Les données du Système LAV ont fourni des relevés géographiques précis, à intervalles de dix secondes, concernant l’application des matériaux et la position du chasse-neige sur chaque traversée de chaque route. Le camion de patrouille était muni d’une remorque à friction permettant de mesurer le frottement de la roue gauche arrière du camion à la chaussée, ainsi que d’une caméra spectrale permettant de mesurer la température de surface et d’évaluer le type de revêtement, la profondeur et le frottement de la roue gauche avant du camion. Toutes les données ont été consignées à intervalles d’environ une seconde, avec coordonnées GPS.

friction-trailer

Figure 3 : Remorque à friction

spectral-camera

Figure 4 : Caméra spectrale

Le Système d’information météoroutière (SIM) a fourni des données sur la température de l’air et de la route, la vitesse et la direction du vent et les précipitations, et ce, environ toutes les 15 minutes. Deux stations du SIM sont en place dans la zone d’essai de Verner, l’une à l’est du tronçon déglacé par du sel prétraité et l’autre à l’ouest du tronçon traité au sel sec.

Traitement, intégration et contrôle de la qualité des données

L’analyse combinée des matériaux de déglaçage porte sur 26 événements hivernaux pour lesquels on dispose d’un ensemble complet de données : cinq événements découlant des essais hivernaux de 2014-2015 et 21 événements provenant des essais hivernaux de 2015-2016. Les données provenant du SIM, de l’appareil mobile de collecte de données, de la remorque à friction et de la caméra spectrale ont été intégrées pour former un seul ensemble de données comprenant tous les renseignements nécessaires à l’analyse.

On a procédé à une analyse qualitative des données à partir des observations des entrepreneurs d’entretien régionaux, puis à leur évaluation quantitative dans le cadre d’analyses exploratoires et statistiques. L’analyse statistique a exigé un énorme travail de modélisation pour comparer l’efficacité des traitements de déneigement utilisés.

Mesure de l’efficacité

L’analyse exploratoire a nécessité un examen détaillé des tendances temporelles observées dans la mesure de l’efficacité adoptée. Le rendement des matériaux de déglaçage a été comparé à l’aide d’une série de mesures indiquant l’efficacité de chaque matériau pour rétablir des conditions de conduite sécuritaires. Ces mesures sont notamment le temps nécessaire pour retrouver une chaussée dégagée et le frottement sur la chaussée.

Mesure no 1 : Temps nécessaire pour retrouver une chaussée dégagée
Définition Temps entre l’arrêt des chutes de neige ou de pluie verglaçante et la fin de l’entretien des routes. Remarque : Le MTO considère qu’une chaussée dégagée est retrouvée « lorsque 95 % de la surface de conduite (d’une ligne de bordure à l’autre) est libre de neige, de neige fondante ou de glace1 ». Dans le cadre de cette analyse, la fin des opérations de déneigement et de déglaçage est considérée pour évaluer approximativement le temps nécessaire pour dégager 95 % de la chaussée2.
Mesure no 2 : Frottement
Définition Le coefficient de frottement, ou µ, est une valeur comprise entre 0,0 et 1,0, qui correspond à la force horizontale par rapport à la force normale et représente l’accélération maximale réalisable sur la surface d’une chaussée donnée3.
Méthode de mesure

Le frottement, ou adhérence, à la chaussée est une valeur mesurée dans le sillage des roues et se rapporte directement à la distance nécessaire pour immobiliser un véhicule sur une route. Par exemple, la valeur de frottement d’une route sèche de bonne qualité pourrait être de 0,80 et celle d’une route glacée, de 0,20.

Deux types d’appareils de collecte de données ont été utilisés dans cette étude pour obtenir les valeurs de frottement : la remorque à friction et la caméra spectrale. La remorque mesure le frottement directement à l’aide d’un pneu étalonné. La caméra spectrale calcule le frottement à partir du type de revêtement et de la profondeur déterminés.

Ce sont les données de la caméra spectrale qui ont servi à l’analyse menée dans le cadre de cette étude, car elles offrent un ensemble de données plus complet.

Résultats des analyses comparatives

Voici les conclusions et recommandations découlant des analyses qualitative, exploratoire et statistique.

Analyse qualitative (à partir de l’étude 2014-2015)

  • La réapparition de conditions glacées semble plus fréquente après l’épandage de sel prétraité qu’après l’épandage de sel sec et de sel prémouillé, ce qui soulève des préoccupations.
  • Selon les estimations, la dose d’épandage maximale rentable pour le sel prétraité est de 105 kg/km de double voie, alors qu’elle est de 130 kg/km de double voie pour le sel sec.
  • Lors de la majorité des tempêtes, les doses d’épandage de sel prétraité ont été inférieures à celles du sel sec, mais ont nécessité le même temps pour retrouver une chaussée dégagée, ce qui signifie qu’il est possible d’obtenir un rendement similaire en épandant moins de sel prétraité.

Analyse statistique

  • L’analyse exploratoire a permis de déterminer que certains tronçons routiers sont plus favorables à la poudrerie ou présentent des caractéristiques de circulation aux intersections qui pourraient fausser l’analyse. Les extrémités de ces tronçons possiblement biaisés ont été définies, puis ceux-ci ont été automatiquement exclus de l’analyse statistique à l’aide des coordonnées GPS.
  • L’indice de frottement moyen obtenu à chaque traversée pendant une tempête a été déterminé en guise d’indicateur de rendement clé en vue de comparer le sel sec et le sel prétraité. Une analyse de régression multiple a permis d’estimer les coefficients de rendement relatif du sel sec et du sel prétraité, lorsqu’appliqués à diverses doses pendant les tempêtes à l’étude, alors qu’une interaction variable a permis de tenir compte des différences de rendement liées aux différentes conditions de température de surface de la route. Les graphiques de la figure 5 résument les résultats de l’analyse en fonction du frottement moyen à chaque traversée sur les tronçons d’essai et de contrôle. Des résultats semblables ont été obtenus lors de l’analyse de chaque événement.
friction-estimation

Figure 5 : Frottement estimatif selon une interaction variable entre le type de sel, la dose d’application (kg/km de double voie) et la température de surface (oC)

  • Chacune des lignes des graphiques repose sur les moyennes par traversée de toutes les valeurs de frottement mesurées à intervalles d’une seconde pour toutes les traversées de toutes les tempêtes comprises dans l’analyse, ainsi que les températures de surface de la route. Elle indique la valeur de frottement estimée à une température de surface donnée. Le graphique de gauche montre les résultats obtenus dans des conditions d’enneigement plus abondantes (la route a été déneigée pendant cette traversée), alors que le graphique de droite montre les résultats obtenus dans des conditions de neige légère (le chasse-neige n’était pas utilisé). Chaque graphique ne comprend que les cas survenus dans les 30 minutes ou moins qui se sont écoulées entre le moment de l’épandage du matériau et le moment de la mesure du frottement.
  • Une position plus élevée de la ligne d’estimation du rendement sur le graphique indique un frottement plus élevé et signifie un meilleur rendement du déneigement. Ainsi, dans des conditions de neige plus abondante, le sel prétraité à la dose d’épandage de 130 donne de meilleurs résultats à toutes les températures. Le sel prétraité à la dose d’application de 105 donne de meilleurs résultats que le sel sec à la dose d’application de 130 dans des conditions moins froides, mais pas dans des conditions plus froides.
  • Le croisement des lignes d’estimation du rendement indique un rendement égal des deux types de traitement aux doses d’application précisées. Le croisement des lignes de rendement du sel prétraité à une dose de 105 et du sel sec à une dose de 130 sur une route déneigée suggère que les types de sel ont donné les mêmes résultats à -4 oC, ce qui signifie que le sel prétraité pourrait être utilisé à une dose d’application inférieure de 20 % pour obtenir un rendement égal à celui du sel sec, mais seulement à des températures relativement chaudes. À -8 oC, le sel prétraité pourrait être utilisé à une dose inférieure de 15 % pour obtenir les mêmes résultats.
  • Le sel prétraité offre généralement un rendement supérieur à celui du sel sec dans les conditions de neige plus abondante, mais pour obtenir les mêmes résultats dans les diverses conditions rencontrées, il faut limiter la réduction des doses d’application de sel prétraité à 15 % par rapport au sel sec. Les résultats obtenus dans des conditions de neige plus légère donnent à penser que, sauf lorsque la température se situe près du point de congélation, le sel sec donne de meilleurs résultats que le sel prétraité.
  • Par rapport aux essais menés entre 1998 et 2001 avec le sel prémouillé, le rendement du sel prétraité dans des conditions de neige plus abondante correspond à peu près au rapport entre liquide déglaçant et sel.

Conclusion

Les entrepreneurs du Ministère espéraient utiliser du sel prétraité à des doses d’application semblables à ceux du sel prémouillé pour réduire le coût total des matériaux et de l’équipement. Cependant, les résultats démontrent que le rendement du sel prétraité se situe entre celui du sel sec et celui du sel prémouillé.

Cette différence de rendement peut être liée à la quantité de liquide utilisée sur le sel. Lorsque le sel est prétraité, il ne retient que 1 % à 3 % du liquide appliqué; le reste s’écoule. Lorsque le sel est prémouillé pendant l’application, on peut utiliser autant de liquide que nécessaire sans perte de liquide.

Bien que les résultats obtenus indiquent que les doses d’application équivalentes ne fournissent pas de motifs économiques d’utiliser du sel prétraité à l’heure actuelle, ils seront tout de même intégrés aux pratiques exemplaires d’entretien pour permettre de réduire jusqu’à 15 % les doses d’application du sel prétraité, par rapport à la réduction de 30 % qu’offre le sel prémouillé, au choix des entrepreneurs d’entretien régionaux.

Tous les détails des essais menés entre 2014 et 2016, de la collecte à l’analyse des données, ont été présentés à la conférence de l’Association des transports du Canada (TAC) en septembre 2017. Le rapport Combined Analysis of Pre-Treated Salt Trials, April 2017 est disponible en anglais seulement dans la bibliothèque du ministère des Transports.

Groupe de travail sur les produits pour l'entretien hivernal

Partenariat de travail entre l’industrie et le Ministère établi en 2014 à la suite d’un examen ministériel du programme d’entretien hivernal, dans le but de revoir et d’améliorer les pratiques relatives à l’utilisation des matériaux d’entretien hivernal. Le Groupe de travail compte des représentants de tous les entrepreneurs d’entretien régionaux, du Bureau de la gestion de l'entretien et de tous les bureaux régionaux. Son rôle a été renforcé à la suite du rapport de 2015 du Bureau de la vérificatrice générale de l’Ontario intitulé L’entretien des routes en hiver.

Le mandat consiste à mener des analyses documentaires, des discussions et des recherches scientifiques ou pratiques, au besoin, pour s’assurer que le sel de voirie et d’autres produits chimiques de déglaçage ainsi que le sable d’hiver sont utilisés de façon rentable et respectueuse de l’environnement pour l’entretien hivernal des routes provinciales. Au moment de la formation du groupe, le sel prétraité a été mis de l’avant par l’industrie comme l’une des principales priorités d’étude. Parmi les autres priorités actuelles, mentionnons : le sable d’hiver prémouillé; l’antigivrage à l’aide de liquides avant l’accumulation de neige, et les méthodes novatrices d’enlèvement mécanique de la neige dure compactée à des températures très froides.

Les projets commandités ont accès à de l’équipement et du personnel spécialisés pour surveiller avec précision les opérations d’entretien et les conditions de neige ou de traction qui en résultent dans des situations d’essai en direct sur les routes. Au besoin, il est possible d’obtenir d’autres compétences en recherche et en analyse auprès de consultants et d’universités. Les résultats de l’étude sont examinés par des pairs et peuvent être obtenus par l’entremise de la bibliothèque du Ministère ou des présentations données à des conférences comme celles de l’Association des transports du Canada ou du Transportation Research Board des États-Unis.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, il faut communiquer avec :

Max Perchanok, coordonnateur, Innovation et durabilité, Division de la gestion des routes provinciales, au 905-704-3998 ou à l’adresse Max.Perchanok@ontario.ca.

    1aurora-program.org, Completed Project 1997-03, Appendix C.

    2Provincial Maintenance Memorandum #2015-06, Bare Pavement Definitions, Maintenance Management Office, MTO

    3Experiences of Mobile Road Condition Monitoring, Taisto Haavasoja, Juhani Nylander et Pauli Nylander, SIRWEC 2012, Helsinki, 2012.

Retour en haut de page