Integrating sustainability into ministry programs

Ontario's Ministry of Transportation (MTO) has a long and strong tradition of making significant contributions to the quality of life that we enjoy in Ontario. Increasingly, however, factors such as climate change, demographic change, growing traffic congestion and increasing urbanization are putting pressure not only on the province's transportation system but also on the environment. Given the breadth and scope of our mandate, MTO has a unique opportunity to make a positive contribution towards greater sustainability in Ontario.

Sustainability strategy

Sustainability insight report cover page

Sustainability in some form has always been part of the ministry's business, but now it will fit under a cohesive framework that articulates a shared vision for the ministry. This framework, Sustainability inSight, will assist MTO in integrating sustainability into the ministry's programs, policies and internal operations - one of the ministry's top priorities.

Sustainability inSight (PDF - 1.74 MB) - available on request

Sustainability inSight brochure (PDF - 440 KB) - available on request

Sustainability Implementation Plan

The Sustainability Implementation Plan outlines the steps MTO is taking to become a more sustainable organization and support a more sustainable provincial transportation system.

To see the commitments that have been made in our first implementation plan and to read about innovative sustainability initiatives already underway, please visit the Sustainability Implementation Plan.

Sustainability at MTO

Follow the links below to see what's already being done to foster a more sustainable transportation sector in Ontario.

Back to Top

Durable

Intégrer la durabilité dans les programmes du ministère

Depuis longtemps, le ministère des Transports de l'Ontario (MTO) apporte une contribution importante à la qualité de vie en Ontario. Toutefois, des facteurs comme les changements climatiques et démographiques, les embouteillages et l'urbanisation exercent des pressions croissantes non seulement sur le système de transport de la province, mais aussi sur l'environnement. Grâce à son vaste mandat, le MTO peut jouer un rôle unique afin d'accroître la durabilité en Ontario.

Stratégie de durabilité

rapport de durabilité aperçu page de couverture

Sous une forme ou une autre, la durabilité a toujours fait partie des activités du ministère. Elle sera désormais intégrée à un cadre cohésif énonçant une vision commune pour le ministère. Ce cadre, appelé Priorité Durabilité, aidera le MTO à intégrer la durabilité à ses programmes, politiques et opérations internes, ce qui constitue une de ses principales priorités.

Priorité DurabilitéPDF - 1.74 Mo ) - disponible en faisant la demande

Brochure Priorité DurabilitéPDF - 1.90 Mo ) - disponible en faisant la demande

Plan de durabilité

Le Plan de durabilité présente les mesures prises par le ministère des Transports de l'Ontario pour devenir un organisme plus durable et favoriser la durabilité du système de transport provincial.

Pour connaître les engagements pris dans notre premier Plan de durabilité, et pour vous renseigner sur les initiatives novatrices en matière de durabilité en cours, veuillez visiter plan de durabilité

Durabilité au MTO

Cliquez sur les liens ci-dessous pour prendre connaissance des mesures qui ont déjà été prises pour favoriser la durabilité du secteur des transports en Ontario.

Retour en haut de page