Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Home
Home > Road Safety > Road Safety Topics > Tips for Installing Child Car Seats
Text size Enlarge Text Shrink Text
Search Search  |  

Tips for Installing Child Car Seats

image of an infant
  1. Securing your child car seat
  2. Using tether straps with forward-facing car seats
  3. Using Universal Anchorage System (UAS)
  4. Using locking clips
  5. Using harness slots
  6. Securing your child in the harness
  7. Positioning your harness straps
  8. Adjusting chest clips
  9. Installing away from active air bags
  10. Installing your rear-facing child car seat on a proper angle
  11. Booster seats
  12. Check for the safety label
  13. Child Car Seat Installation Videos
    How to install a rear-facing seat for infantsHow to install a rear-facing seat for infants
    How to install a forward-facing seat for  toddlersHow to install a forward-facing seat for toddlers
    How to use a booster seatHow to use a booster seat.




Photo of driver securing the carseat

Tip 1.  Securing your child car safety seat

Always install the seat tightly, using your body weight to tighten and fasten the seatbelt. There should be no more than 2.5 cm (1") of movement where the seatbelt or the Universal Anchorage System (UAS) strap is routed through the child car seat. Each time you place your child in the car safety seat, give it a tug to make sure it is still secure. For securing the seat with the Universal Anchorage System (UAS), see Tip 3.






Top of page   Top of page


Photo of tether strap

Tip 2.  Using tether straps with forward-facing car seats



The tether strap for a forward-facing child car safety seat must be used. The tether strap is located on the rear of the child car safety seat and has a hook. The hook is designed to attach the strap to the tether anchorage on the vehicle as specified by the vehicle manufacturer. Ensure the tether is only secured to the designated anchorage point(s) in the vehicle as specified by the manufacturer.

How to install a forward-facing seat for infantsHow to install a forward-facing seat for infants.




Top of page   Top of page


Photo of Universal Anchorage System Photo of Universal Anchorage System

Tip 3.  Using Universal Anchorage System (UAS)

Canadian vehicles manufactured on or after September 1, 2002 come with lower universal anchorage points. Consult the vehicle owner's manual before using the UAS system to determine where the anchorage points are located and ensure that the correct method is used as advised by the car seat manufacturer.

Top of page   Top of page


Photo of locking clip

Tip 4.  Using locking clips

Sometimes locking clips may be required to safely secure a child car safety seat in a vehicle. Consult your owner's manual to see if you need one. If so, install the locking clip on the seatbelt within 13 mm (1/2 inch) of the latch plate.



Top of page   Top of page


Photo of harness slots

Tip 5.  Using harness slots

Your child car safety seat's harness straps must be positioned correctly by ensuring they pass through the correct slots.

  • Rear-facing child car safety seat harness straps should sit at or below the child's shoulders.
  • Forward-facing child car safety seat harness straps should sit at or above the child's shoulders.


Top of page   Top of page

Photo of child in harness Photo of harness strap

Tip 6.  Securing your child in the harness

Place the child in the child car seat, ensuring the harness straps lie flat with no more than 1 finger space between the harness and the child’s collarbone (rear-facing) or chest (forward-facing).






Tip 7.  Positioning your harness straps

Ensure that harness straps lie flat and they do not twist or fold. Harness straps need to be straightened out each time the child is secured in the seat.




Photo of chestclip





Tip 8.  Adjusting chest clip

Properly adjust the chest clip on the harness. It should lie flat against the chest and be positioned at armpit level.



Top of page   Top of page

Photo of linstalled car seats

Tip 9.  Installing away from active air bags

Always install child car safety seats away from active air bags. The safest place is in the back seat of a passenger car, sport utility vehicle or light truck and either the second or third row in a mini-van.





Top of page   Top of page

Tip 10.  Installing your rear-facing child car safety seat on a proper angle

Photo of rear-facing car seat on proper angle Photo of pool noodles under the car seat

Most child car safety seats have a recline position that must be used when in the rear-facing position for an infant (up to 9kg or 20lb). Check your child car safety seat owner's manual for instructions. For rear-facing seats, if necessary, use a tightly rolled towel or a foam bar (pool noodle) under the base of the child car safety seat to adjust the angle to 45 degrees. A forward-facing child car safety seat should be in the upright position. Make sure that when the seat is turned from rear-facing to forward-facing, the recline feature is adjusted to the upright position.

How to install a rear-facing seat for infantsHow to install a rear-facing seat for infants.

Top of page   Top of page


Photo of child in booster seat

Tip 11.  Booster seats

Booster seats are required for children under the age of eight, weighing 18 kg or more but less than 36 kg (40-80 lb) and who stand less than 145 cm (4 feet-9 inches) tall.

Booster seats raise a child up so that the adult seatbelt fits and works more effectively. A lap and shoulder belt combination must be used for both the high-back and low-back booster seat. If your vehicle only has lap belts in the rear seat, contact your local dealer regarding retrofitting it with a shoulder belt. Never use a lap belt alone with a booster seat. Your child's head must be supported by the top of the booster seat and the vehicle seat or head rest. The shoulder strap must lie across your child's shoulder and the middle of their chest (not the neck or face) and the lap belt must cross low over the hips (not the stomach/abdomen). Never use seatbelt adjusters.

A child can start using a seatbelt alone once any one of the following criteria is met:

  • the child turns eight years old;
  • the child weighs 36 kg (80 lb.); or,
  • the child is 145 cm (4 feet-9 inches) tall.
    How to use a booster seatHow to use a booster seat.

Top of page   Top of page


Photo of CMVSS label

Tip 12.  Check for the safety label

All child car safety seats manufactured for sale in Canada on and after March 15, 1998 must have a Canadian Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (CMVSS) label on the seat. Prior to this date, a Statement of Compliance label was attached to the side of the child car safety seat. Both the CMVSS and Statement of Compliance are the manufacturer's certification that the child car seat meets all applicable regulations in effect at the time the child car seat was manufactured.

  • Also, check your child car seat for an expiry date. Some manufacturers indicate an expiry date in the instruction booklet or on the child car safety seat. Transport Canada provides a list of manufacturers of car seats and booster seats sold in Canada which includes the expiry/life date of their products at www.tc.gc.ca/eng/roadsafety/safedrivers-childsafety-notices

If you are having difficulty or want more information, contact ServiceOntario at 1-800-268-4686 (TTY: 1-866-471-8929), or your local public health unit.

To find a public health unit, check the blue pages of your phone book, call the ServiceOntario information line at 1-800-268-4686, or visit the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care: Public Health Units.

See also:

Related Links

Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Page d'accueil
Page d'accueil > Sécurité routière > Sujets traitant de la sécurité routière > Conseils pratiques pour l'installation des sièges d'auto pour enfants
Taille du texte Augmentation de la taille du texte Réduction de la taille du texte
Recherche Recherche  |  

Conseils pratiques pour l'installation des sièges d'auto pour enfants


Conseils pratiques pour l'installation des sièges d'auto pour enfants

infant
  1. Bien fixer les sièges d'auto pour enfants
  2. Utilisation des sangles d'attache avec les sièges d'aito pour enfants orientés vers l'avant
  3. Utilisation du système d'ancrage universel (UAS)
  4. Utilisation des attaches verrouillables
  5. Utilisation des crans de réglage du harnais
  6. Bien attacher votre enfant dans le harnais
  7. Positionnement des sangles du harnais
  8. Ajustement des attaches
  9. Installation des sièges loin des sacs gonflables activés
  10. Installation au bon angle des sièges d'auto pour enfants orientés vers l'arrière
  11. Sièges d'appoint
  12. Sièges d'appoint
  13. Vidéos d'installation de siège de voiture d'enfant
    Comment installer un siège orienté vers l’arrière pour les petits enfantsComment installer un siège orienté vers l’arrière pour les petits enfants
    Comment installer un siège orienté vers l’avant pour les petits enfantsComment installer un siège orienté vers l’avant pour les petits enfants
    Comment utiliser un siege d’appointComment utiliser un siege d’appoint




Photo d'une conductrice fixant correctement un siège d'auto

1er conseil.  Bien fixer le siège d'auto pour enfants

Installez toujours le siège en le fixant bien et utilisez le poids de votre corps pour bien serrer la ceinture de sécurité. Le jeu au passage de la ceinture de sécurité ou de la sangle du système d'ancrage universel dans le siège ne devrait pas être supérieur à 2,5 cm (1 pouce). Chaque fois que vous placez votre enfant dans le siège d'auto, vérifiez le siège pour voir s'il est toujours bien attaché. (Pour bien fixer le siège en vous servant du système d'ancrage universel, voir le (3e conseil.)





Haut de la page   Haut de la page



Photo d'une sangle d'attache

2econseil.  Utilisation des sangles d'attache avec les sièges d'auto pour enfants orientés vers l'avant

Vous devez utiliser la sangle d'attache d'un siège d'auto pour enfants orienté vers l'avant. La sangle d'attache est située sur l'arrière du siège d'auto et comporte un crochet. Le crochet est conçu de manière à attacher la sangle au point d'ancrage du véhicule, comme il est indiqué par le constructeur du véhicule. Veillez à ce que l'attache soit fixée uniquement aux points d'ancrage désignés du véhicule, selon les instructions du constructeur.

Comment installer un siège orienté vers l’avant pour les petits enfantsComment installer un siège orienté vers l’avant pour les petits enfants

Haut de la page   Haut de la page



Photo du système d'ancrage universelPhoto du système d'ancrage universel

3econseil.  Utilisation du système d'ancrage universel (UAS)

Les véhicules canadiens construits le ler septembre 2002 ou après sont pourvus de points d'ancrage universels inférieurs. Consultez le manuel du propriétaire du véhicule avant d'utiliser le système UAS pour déterminer où sont situés les points d'ancrage et veiller à ce que la bonne méthode soit utilisée, comme le conseille le fabricant du siège d'auto.

Haut de la page   Haut de la page

Photo d'une attache verrouillable

4econseil.  Utilisation des attaches verrouillables

Il arrive parfois que des attaches verrouillables soient requises pour fixer de manière sûre un siège pour enfants dans un véhicule. Consultez le manuel du propriétaire pour voir si vous en avez besoin. Le cas échéant, installez l'attache verrouillable sur la ceinture de sécurité à 13 mm (1/2 pouce) de la plaque de verrouillage.



Haut de la page   Haut de la page

5econseil.  Utilisation des crans de réglage du harnais

Photo des crans de réglage du harnais

Les sangles du harnais du siège d'auto de votre enfant doivent être bien positionnées et, pour cela, elles doivent passer à travers les bons crans de réglage.

  • Les sangles du harnais d'un siège d'auto orienté vers l'arrière doivent être à la hauteur des épaules de l'enfant ou plus bas que ses épaules.
  • Les sangles du harnais d'un siège d'auto orienté vers l'avant doivent être à la hauteur des épaules de l'enfant ou plus haut que ses épaules.


Haut de la page   Haut de la page


Photo d'un enfant retenu par le harnais Photo du harnais

6econseil.  Bien attacher votre enfant dans le harnais

Assoyez l'enfant dans le siège d'auto et veillez à ce que le harnais soit bien à plat et qu'il ne permette qu'un jeu d'un doigt entre la sangle et la clavicule (siège orienté vers l'arrière) ou la poitrine de l'enfant (siège orienté vers l'avant).




7econseil.  Positionnement des sangles du harnais

Veillez à ce que les sangles du harnais restent plates et ne se tordent pas ou ne plient pas. Le harnais doit être redressé chaque fois que l'enfant est attaché à son siège.

Photo d'une attache à plat contre la poitrine

8econseil.  Ajustement de l'attache

Ajustez bien l'attache du harnais. Elle doit rester à plat contre la poitrine de l'enfant et être placée au niveau des aisselles.







Haut de la page   Haut de la page


Photo de sièges d'auto bien installés

9econseil.  Installation des sièges loin des sacs gonflables activés

Installez toujours les sièges d'auto pour enfants loin des sacs gonflables activés. L'endroit le plus sûr est sur le siège arrière d'une automobile, d'un véhicule utilitaire sport ou d'un camion léger et sur la deuxième ou troisième rangée dans le cas d'une mini-fourgonnette.


10econseil.  Installation au bon angle du siège d'auto pour enfants orienté vers l'arrière

Photo d'un siège faisant face à l'arrière ajusté à un angle de 45 degrésPhoto des matelas en mousse sous la base du siège d'auto

La plupart des sièges d'auto pour enfants ont une position réglable qui doit être utilisée dans le cas d'un siège pour nourrisson (jusqu'à 9 kg ou 20 lb) faisant face à l'arrière. Vérifiez le manuel du propriétaire du siège d'auto pour connaître le mode d'emploi. Dans le cas de sièges faisant face à l'arrière, utilisez s'il y a lieu une serviette bien serrée ou une barre en mousse (nouille de piscine) sous la base du siège d'auto pour ajuster l'angle à 45 degrés. Un siège d'auto pour enfants faisant face à l'avant devrait être en position verticale. Lorsque vous changez la position du siège faisant face à l'arrière pour le mettre faisant face à l'avant, n'oubliez pas d'ajuster le siège pour le mettre en position verticale.

Comment installer un siège orienté vers l’arrière pour les petits enfantsComment installer un siège orienté vers l’arrière pour les petits enfants

Haut de la page   Haut de la page

11econseil.  Sièges d'appoint

Photo d'un enfant assis dans un siège d'appoint

Les sièges d'appoint sont obligatoires pour les enfants de moins de huit ans, pesant 18 kg ou plus mais moins de 36 kg (40 - 80 lb) et dont la taille est inférieure à 145 cm (4 pieds et 9 pouces)..

Un siège d'appoint sert à surélever l'enfant de manière à ce que la ceinture de sécurité pour adulte convienne et fonctionne plus efficacement. Une ceinture sous-abdominale et une ceinture diagonale doivent être utilisées pour les sièges d'appoint à dossier haut et à dossier bas. Si votre véhicule est muni uniquement de ceintures sous-abdominales sur le siège arrière, communiquez avec un concessionnaire pour qu'il vous installe une ceinture diagonale. N'utilisez jamais une ceinture sous-abdominale à elle seule avec un siège d'appoint. La tête de l'enfant doit être soutenue par la partie supérieure du siège d'appoint, la banquette ou l'appuie-tête du véhicule. La ceinture diagonale doit passer sur l'épaule de l'enfant et au milieu de sa poitrine (non pas sur le cou ou le visage). La ceinture sous-abdominale doit passer sur le bas des hanches (non pas sur l'estomac ni l'abdomen). N'utilisez jamais de dispositif de réglage des ceintures de sécurité.

Un enfant peut commencer à utiliser une ceinture de sécurité seule lorsqu'il répond à l'un ou l'autre des critères suivants :

Haut de la page   Haut de la page

12e.  Vérifiez l'étiquette de sécurité

Photo de l'étiquette NSVAC

Tous les sièges d'auto pour enfants fabriqués au Canada le ou après le 15 mars 1998 doivent porter l'étiquette des Normes de sécurité des véhicules automobiles du Canada (NSVAC). Avant cette date, une étiquette de déclaration de conformité était apposée au siège d'auto pour enfants. Les NSVAC et l'étiquette de déclaration de conformité sont la preuve du fabricant que le siège d'auto pour enfants est conforme à tous les règlements applicables et en vigueur à la date de fabrication du siège d'auto pour enfants.

  • Par ailleurs, vérifiez la date d'expiration de votre siège d'auto pour enfants. Certains fabricants indiquent une date d'expiration dans le guide d'emploi ou sur le siège d'auto. Transports Canada fournit une liste de fabricants des sièges de voiture et des sièges d’appoint vendus au Canada qui inclut la date d'échéance/de vie utile de ses produits à l’adresse www.tc.gc.ca/eng/roadsafety/safedrivers-childsafety-notices

Haut de la page   Haut de la page


Si vous avez des difficultés lors de l'installation de votre siège ou si vous voulez obtenir plus de renseignements, communiquez avec ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-4686 (ATS : 1 866 471-8929) ou votre bureau de santé publique.

Pour trouver un bureau de santé publique, consultez les pages bleues de votre annuaire téléphonique, appelez la ligne d'information de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-4686, ou consultez le site Web du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée : Bureaux de santé publique.

Voir aussi :


Lien connexe