Ontario Municipal Cycling Infrastructure Program

Building cycling infrastructure is important in helping us achieve the vision of #CycleON: Ontario's Cycling Strategy: Ontario as a great place to ride a bike.

As part of #CycleON Action Plan 1.0, the Ministry of Transportation (MTO) established the $10 million Ontario Municipal Cycling Infrastructure Program, to help municipalities build new and improve existing cycling infrastructure.

The two-year program was launched on July 3, 2015. There was a great deal of interest from across the province, with almost 150 municipalities submitting expressions of interest (EOIs). Municipalities were eligible to apply for funding for up to 50% of the total eligible costs of a cycling infrastructure project to a maximum amount of $325,000.

An evidence-based approach was used to select projects that most closely aligned with program objectives such as developing better cycling networks, promoting safety, encouraging innovation, supporting partnerships, collecting data and enabling cycling to be better recognized as a viable transportation mode.

A total of 51 municipalities, whose EOIs most effectively aligned with program objectives, were invited to submit full applications. Applications were evaluated and 37 projects in municipalities across the province were approved for funding.

We thank all who applied to the program.

Funds will be provided between April 1, 2016 and March 31, 2018.

For more information:
Toll-free: 1-844-671-7438
E-mail: omcip@ontario.ca

Recommended for you:

Back to Top

Programme ontarien pour le réseau municipal d'infrastructure cyclable

Il est important de construire une infrastructure cyclable pour nous aider à réaliser la vision de #VéloOntario : Stratégie ontarienne de promotion du vélo - que l'Ontario soit un endroit idéal où faire du vélo.

Dans le cadre du Plan d'action #VéloOntario 1.0, le ministère des Transports (MTO) a créé le Programme ontarien pour le réseau municipal d'infrastructure cyclable, doté d'une enveloppe de 10 millions de dollars, pour aider les municipalités à construire de nouvelles infrastructures cyclables et à améliorer l'infrastructure existante.

Le programme de deux ans a été lancé le 3 juillet 2015. Il a suscité beaucoup d'intérêt. Près de 150 municipalités, des quatre coins de la province, ont remis une déclaration d'intérêt. Les municipalités pouvaient demander une subvention représentant jusqu'à 50 % du coût total admis d'un projet d'infrastructure cyclable, jusqu'à un maximum de 325 000 $.

Une démarche fondée sur des données probantes a été utilisée pour retenir les projets qui correspondaient le mieux aux objectifs du programme, ceux-ci étant entre autres : créer de meilleurs réseaux de voies cyclables, favoriser la sécurité, encourager l'innovation, soutenir les partenariats, recueillir des données et faire mieux reconnaître la viabilité du cyclisme comme mode de transport.

En tout, 51 municipalités, dont la déclaration d'intérêt était le mieux alignée sur les objectifs du programme, ont été invitées à présenter une demande de subvention. Les demandes ont été traitées, et 37 projets, présentés par des municipalités de divers endroits en Ontario, ont été approuvés pour une subvention.

Le ministère remercie toutes les municipalités qui ont présenté une demande.

Le financement sera remis entre le 1er avril 2016 et le 31 mars 2018.

Renseignements
Appel sans frais : 1 844 671-7438
Courriel : omcip@ontario.ca

Recommandé pour vous :

Back to Top