Road safety: Pedestrians

New rules at pedestrian crossovers and school crossings

As of January 1, 2016, drivers - including cyclists - must stop and yield the whole roadway at pedestrian crossovers, school crossings and other locations where there is a crossing guard.

These new rules do not apply to pedestrian crosswalks at intersections with stop signs or traffic signals, unless a school crossing guard is present.

Only when pedestrians and school crossing guards have crossed and are safely on the sidewalk can drivers and cyclists proceed.

There are four types of pedestrian crossovers in Ontario. Three of them are new designs. See Q9 below.

It is up to both drivers and pedestrians to keep everyone safe on Ontario roads. Learn more about how to stay safe as a pedestrian and as a driver.


For pedestrians

It is up to both drivers and pedestrians to keep everyone safe on Ontario roads. Learn more about how to stay safe as a pedestrian and as a driver.

  • Cross only at marked crosswalks or traffic lights. Don't cross in the middle of the block or between parked cars.
  • Make sure drivers see you before you cross. If the driver is stopped, make eye contact before you step into the road.
  • Wear bright or light-coloured clothing or reflective strips, especially at dusk or when it's dark.
  • At a traffic light:
    • Cross when traffic has come to a complete stop.
    • Begin to cross at the start of the green light or “Walk” signal, where provided.
    • Do not start to cross if you see a flashing “Do Not Walk” symbol or the light turns yellow.  If you already started to cross, complete your crossing in safety.
    • Never cross on a red light.
  • Watch for traffic turning at intersections or turning into and leaving driveways.

For drivers

Pay special attention to pedestrians as you drive. Here are some tips to follow:

  • Always look for pedestrians, especially when turning.
  • Watch for children. Drive slowly and cautiously through school zones, residential areas, or any other area where children could be walking or playing.
  • Watch out for Community Safety Zone signs that indicate areas where public safety is a special concern, including the possibility of encountering pedestrians.
  • Be patient, especially with seniors or pedestrians with disabilities who need more time to cross the road.
  • Drive carefully near streetcar stops with islands or zones for passengers getting on and off. Pass them at reasonable speeds, and always be ready in case pedestrians make sudden or unexpected moves.

Fines

Drivers will be fined $150 to $500 and 3 demerit points for offences at pedestrian crossings, school crossings and at crosswalks where there are traffic signals. The maximum fine for running a red light - a practice that puts pedestrians at risk - is $200 to $1000.

Fines are doubled in Community Safety Zones, near schools and public areas. These areas are clearly marked with signs.


For parents

Show your children how to cross a road safely. Teach them to:

  • Stay to the side of the road, walking as far away from traffic as they safely can
  • Stop at the edge of the sidewalk, and look both ways before crossing the road
  • Take extra care on roadways that have no curbs
  • Watch out for blind corners (for example, a car coming out of an alley may not see a child pedestrian about to cross).

New Pedestrian Safety Changes - Frequently Asked Questions

Q1: What is the new law for pedestrians?

Q2: Why are cyclists included with cars in this law?

Q3: Why did the province make this change?

Q4: Where does the new law apply? Not apply?

Q5: What is the difference between a pedestrian crossover and a crosswalk? Are they different?

Q6: What is a school crossing?

Q7: Does the law apply province wide?

Q8: What are the penalties?

Q9: Are there any new types of crossovers where this law will apply?

Q1: What is the new law for pedestrians?

As of January 1, 2016, drivers - including cyclists - must stop and yield the whole roadway at pedestrian crossovers, school crossings and other locations where there is a crossing guard.

These new rules do not apply to pedestrian crosswalks at intersections with stop signs or traffic signals, unless a school crossing guard is present.

Only when pedestrians and school crossing guards have crossed and are safely on the sidewalk can drivers and cyclists proceed.

Q2: Why are cyclists included with cars in this law? 

Cyclists must follow the same rules as drivers and may face the same fine as drivers – the new law requires cyclists to stop and yield the whole roadway to pedestrians and school crossing guards before proceeding.

Q3:  Why did the province make this change?

This new law is intended to make roads safer for school children, pedestrians and school crossing guards.  Pedestrians, school children and school crossing guards are among the most vulnerable road users. The new law responds to recommendations related to pedestrian safety in the Chief Coroner’s Report on Pedestrian Deaths released in 2012 and also to numerous requests from municipalities and safety organizations.

Q4: Where does the new law apply?  Not apply?

Applies at:

Does not apply at:

  • All pedestrian crossovers.
  • School crossings and any location where a school crossing guard is present.
  • Crosswalks – with or without traffic signals or stop signs – unless a school crossing guard is present

Q5: What is the difference between a pedestrian crossover and a crosswalk?

The new law applies at all pedestrian crossovers, not at crosswalks, unless a school crossing guard is present.

Pedestrian crossovers are identified by specific signs, pavement markings and lights; some have illuminated overhead lights/warning signs and pedestrian push buttons.

diagram of a pedestrian crossover. The image shows a mid-block pedestrian crossover on a four-lane roadway. Two large white X marks appear on the roadway in the two lanes approaching the crossover. The crossover is marked by two sets of double white bars which run across the roadway. Two rectangular signs with a large black X and the word “pedestrians” in black on a white background are installed at the crossover on each side of the roadway – underneath, there are two signs with the message “stop for pedestrians”. Two rectangular amber signs with a black X marking are installed over the roadway, one for each direction of travel. There are two round amber lights near the inside edges of the rectangular amber signs. Pedestrians are crossing the road. Cars and a bicycle are stopped at the crossover. They must wait until pedestrians are on the sidewalk across the road before they proceed.

Drivers and cyclists must wait until pedestrians have completely crossed the road. There are 3 new types of pedestrian crossovers (see Q9 below).

A crosswalk is a crossing location usually found at intersections with traffic signals, pedestrian signals or stop signs. A crosswalk can be:

  • the portion of a roadway that connects sidewalks on opposite sides of the roadway into a continuous path; or,
  • the portion of a roadway that is indicated for pedestrian crossing by signs, lines or other markings on the surface of the roadway at any location, including an intersection. 
diagram of crosswalks at an intersection with traffic signals and pedestrian signals. The image shows a four-way intersection of two two-lane roadways. There are two traffic signals for each direction of travel. There are four crosswalks which link the corners of the intersection.  Each crosswalk is marked by two parallel white bars that run across the roadway. There is a pedestrian signal at each end of every crosswalk. Cars and bicycles are stopped at stop lines marked by white bars on one roadway. Stopped cars and bicycles are facing a red light. Pedestrians who face a lit-up “walking person” symbol in white on the pedestrian signal are crossing the roadway. When this symbol is not lit up and the orange hand symbol is lit up, pedestrians are not allowed to enter the crosswalk. Cars and bicycles proceed through the intersection when the traffic light they face turns green.

Illustration of crosswalks at an intersection with traffic signals and pedestrian signals

Q6: What is a school crossing?

A school crossing is any pedestrian crossing where a school crossing guard is present and displaying a school crossing stop sign.

diagram of an example of a school crossing. The image shows a mid-block pedestrian crosswalk on a two-lane roadway marked by two sets of double white bars which run across the roadway. Two rectangular signs with black symbols of two school children crossing on a fluorescent yellow green background are installed at the school crossing on each side of the roadway – underneath, there are two fluorescent yellow green signs with the message “school crossing” in black. A school crossing guard is showing a school crossing stop sign to cars and bicycles stopped at the crossing. Children are crossing the road. Cars and bicycles must wait until the school crossing guard and children crossing the road are on the sidewalk across the roadway before they proceed.

Drivers and cyclists must wait until children, school crossing guards and all pedestrians have completely crossed the road

Q7: Does the law apply province wide?

As of January 1, 2016 the new law applies province wide to all pedestrian crossovers, school crossings and other locations where there is a school crossing guard.

Q8: What are the penalties?

Drivers and cyclists may face a fine in the range of $150-$500 – drivers may also face 3 demerit points. Fines will be doubled in community safety zones.

Q9: Are there any new types of crossovers where this law applies?

Yes. In response to requests from municipalities for more options for pedestrian crossovers, road authorities may choose to install one of the new types of crossovers.The law also applies at these new types of pedestrian crossovers.

diagram of a pedestrian crossover. The image shows a mid-block pedestrian crossover on a two-lane roadway. A ladder crosswalk, consisting of many white parallel bars between two perpendicular white outer lines, runs across the roadway. A yield to pedestrians line made of white triangles with the bottom points facing the direction of approaching traffic appears on the roadway in each direction of travel before the crossover. These lines look like shark teeth. There are two rectangular signs with a black symbol of a person crossing from right to left on a white background installed at the crossover: one on a pole on the side of the roadway and another one above the roadway facing approaching traffic. There is a rectangular flashing light above the sign on the side of the roadway and underneath a sign which reads “stop for pedestrians”. The signs and light are also installed on the other side of the crossover, but the black symbols show a person crossing from right to left. Pedestrians are crossing the road. Cars and a bicycle are stopped at the shark teeth lines. They must wait until pedestrians are on the sidewalk across the road before they proceed.

Drivers and cyclists must wait until pedestrians have completely crossed the road

diagram of a pedestrian crossover. The image shows a mid-block pedestrian crossover on a two-lane roadway. A ladder crosswalk, consisting of many white parallel bars between two white outer lines, runs across the roadway. A yield to pedestrians line made of white triangles with the bottom points facing the direction of approaching traffic appears on the roadway in each direction of travel before the crossover. These lines look like shark teeth. A rectangular sign with a black symbol of a person crossing the road from right to left on a white background is installed at the crossover on the side of the roadway. There is a rectangular flashing light above the sign and a sign underneath which reads “stop for pedestrians”. The signs and light are also installed on the other side of the crossover, but the black symbols show a person crossing from right to left. Pedestrians are crossing the road. Cars and a bicycle are stopped at the shark teeth lines. They must wait until pedestrians are on the sidewalk across the road before they proceed.

Drivers and cyclists must wait until pedestrians have completely crossed the road

diagram of a pedestrian crossover. The image shows a mid-block pedestrian crossover on a two-lane roadway. A ladder crosswalk, consisting of many white parallel bars between two white outer lines, runs across the roadway. A yield to pedestrians line made of white triangles with the bottom points facing the direction of approaching traffic appears on the roadway in each direction of travel before the crossover. These lines look like shark teeth. A rectangular sign with a black symbol of a person crossing from right to left on a white background is installed at the crossover on the side of the roadway. There is also a sign which reads “stop for pedestrians” under that sign. The signs are also installed on the other side of the crossover, but the black symbols show a person crossing from right to left. Pedestrians are crossing the road. Cars and a bicycle are stopped at the shark teeth lines. They must wait until pedestrians are on the sidewalk across the road before they proceed.

Drivers and cyclists must wait until pedestrians have completely crossed the road


Recommended for you

Back to Top

Sécurité routière : piétons

Nouvelles règles visant les passages pour piétons et élèves

Depuis le 1er janvier 2016, les conducteurs – y compris les cyclistes – doivent s’immobiliser et céder le passage aux passages pour piétons, aux passages pour élèves et en présence d’un passeur scolaire.

Cette nouvelle règle ne s’applique pas aux passages protégés pour piétons des intersections dotées de panneaux d’arrêt ou de feux de signalisation, à moins qu’un passeur scolaire ne soit présent.

Les conducteurs et les cyclistes peuvent poursuivre leur route seulement quand les piétons et les passeurs scolaires ont traversé et sont en sécurité sur le trottoir.

Il existe quatre sortes de passages pour piétons en Ontario, dont trois nouvelles (voir Q9 ci-après).

Il incombe à la fois aux conducteurs et aux piétons d'assurer la sécurité de tous les usagers de la route en Ontario. Voici quelques conseils de sécurité pour les piétons et les conducteurs.


Pour les piétons

Il y a des moyens simples d'assurer votre sécurité quand vous traversez la rue :

  • Traversez la rue uniquement à un passage protégé pour piétons ou à un feu de circulation. Ne traversez pas entre deux intersections ou entre deux voitures garées.
  • Assurez-vous que les conducteurs vous voient avant de traverser. Si un conducteur s'est arrêté, regardez-le dans les yeux avant de traverser.
  • Portez des vêtements de couleurs vives ou pâles ou munis de bandes réfléchissantes, surtout au crépuscule et quand il fait noir.
  • À un feu de circulation :
    • attendez que les véhicules se soient arrêtés avant de traverser
    • traversez quand le feu passe au vert ou quand le signal pour piétons indique « walk » (« passez »)
    • ne traversez pas si le feu passe au jaune ou si le signal pour piétons « don’t walk » (« ne passez pas ») clignote. Si vous êtes déjà engagé dans l’intersection, continuez de façon sécuritaire
    • ne traversez jamais quand le feu est rouge
  • Prenez garde aux véhicules qui tournent à une intersection, ainsi qu'à ceux qui tournent dans une entrée de cour ou en sortent

Pour les conducteurs

Portez attention aux piétons quand vous conduisez. Voici quelques conseils à ce sujet :

  • Vérifiez toujours s'il y a des piétons autour de votre véhicule, surtout lorsque vous faites un virage.
  • Prenez garde aux enfants. Ralentissez et soyez prudent dans les zones scolaires, les quartiers résidentiels et les autres endroits où des enfants marchent ou jouent.
  • Portez attention aux panneaux indiquant une zone de sécurité communautaire, où la sécurité publique est une priorité, notamment la sécurité des piétons.
  • Soyez patient, surtout si le piéton est une personne âgée ou handicapée qui a besoin de plus de temps pour traverser la rue.
  • Soyez prudent près des arrêts de tramways munis d'un îlot ou d'une zone où les passagers montent à bord du véhicule et en descendent. Roulez à une vitesse raisonnable et soyez prêt à réagir si un piéton pose un geste soudain ou imprévu.

Amendes

Une amende allant de 150 $ à 500 $ et trois points d'inaptitude sont imposés aux conducteurs qui commettent une infraction à un passage pour piétons, à un passage pour élèves ou à un passage protégé pour piétons muni de feux de circulation. Une amende allant de 200 $ à 1 000 $ est imposée aux personnes qui ne s'arrêtent pas à un feu rouge, car elles menacent la sécurité des piétons.

Les amendes sont doublées dans les zones de sécurité communautaire près des écoles et des lieux publics. Ces zones sont indiquées clairement à l'aide de panneaux.


Pour les parents

Apprenez aux enfants à traverser la rue en toute sécurité. Dites-leur de :

  • rester sur le côté de la rue, le plus loin possible de la circulation
  • Arrêtez-vous au bord du trottoir, puis regardez des deux côtés avant de traverser
  • redoubler de prudence lorsqu'il n'y a pas de bordure
  • faire attention s'ils ne voient pas ce qui se cache derrière un virage (par exemple, il se peut qu'un conducteur qui sort d'une allée ne voie pas un enfant qui s'apprête à traverser la rue)

Nouveaux changements en matière de sécurité des piétons - Foire aux questions

Q1 : En quoi consistent les nouvelles dispositions législatives pour les piétons?

Q2 : Pourquoi les cyclistes sont-ils aussi visés par ces dispositions?

Q3 : À quoi sert ce changement?

Q4 : Quels sont les lieux visés par la nouvelle Loi?

Q5 : Y a-t-il une différence entre les passages pour piétons et les passages protégés pour piétons?

Q6 : Qu’est-ce qu’un passage pour élèves?

Q7 : La nouvelle Loi s’applique-t-elle à l’ensemble de la province?

Q8 : Quelles sont les peines en cas d’infraction?

Q9 : La Loi s’appliquera-t-elle aux nouveaux types de passages?

Q1 : En quoi consistent les nouvelles dispositions législatives pour les piétons?

Depuis le 1er janvier 2016, les conducteurs – y compris les cyclistes – doivent s’immobiliser et céder le passage aux passages pour piétons, aux passages pour élèves et en présence d’un passeur scolaire.

Cette nouvelle règle ne s’applique pas aux passages protégés pour piétons des intersections dotées de panneaux d’arrêt ou de feux de signalisation, à moins qu’un passeur scolaire ne soit présent.

Les conducteurs et les cyclistes peuvent poursuivre leur route seulement quand les piétons et les passeurs scolaires ont traversé et sont en sécurité sur le trottoir.

Q2 : Pourquoi les cyclistes sont-ils aussi visés par ces dispositions?

Les cyclistes doivent observer les mêmes règles que les conducteurs et sont exposés aux mêmes amendes qu’eux. C’est pourquoi les nouvelles dispositions exigent aussi des cyclistes qu’ils s’immobilisent et cèdent le passage aux piétons et aux passeurs scolaires avant de poursuivre leur chemin.

Q3 : À quoi sert ce changement?

La nouvelle Loi vise à rendre les routes plus sûres pour les élèves, les piétons et les passeurs scolaires, qui font partie des usagers de la route les plus vulnérables. Elle fait suite aux recommandations en matière de sécurité des piétons que le coroner en chef de l’Ontario a présentées dans son rapport de 2012 sur les décès de piétons, ainsi qu’à de nombreuses demandes de municipalités et d’organismes de prévention des accidents.

Q4 : Quels sont les lieux visés par la nouvelle Loi?

Lieux visés Lieux non visés
  • Passages pour piétons
  • Passages pour élèves et lieux de travail des passeurs scolaires
  • Passages protégés pour piétons – munis ou non de feux de circulation ou de panneaux d’arrêt – sauf si un passeur scolaire se trouve sur place

Q5 : Y a-t-il une différence entre les passages pour piétons et les passages protégés pour piétons?

Oui : la nouvelle Loi s’applique à tous les passages pour piétons et non aux passages protégés pour piétons (sauf si un passeur scolaire est sur les lieux).

Les passages pour piétons sont indiqués au moyen de panneaux, et de marques sur la chaussée; certains sont équipés des panneaux lumineux ou d’avertissement installés en hauteur ainsi que des boutons d’appel de feux pour piétons.

Texte de remplacement : Illustration d’un passage pour piétons. L’image montre un passage pour piétons en section courante sur une route à quatre voies. Deux grands « X » blancs sont peints sur les voies à l’approche du passage. Le passage pour piétons est indiqué au moyen de deux séries de lignes blanches doubles traversant la chaussée. De part et d’autre de la route se trouvent un panneau rectangulaire affichant un grand « X » noir et le mot « Piétons » écrit en noir sur fond blanc, et en dessous de celui-ci, un panneau où il est écrit : « Priorité aux piétons ». Deux panneaux rectangulaires ambrés marqués d’un « X » noir sont installés au-dessus de la chaussée, soit un dans chaque direction. Entre eux se trouvent deux lumières rondes de couleur ambre. Des piétons traversent la rue. Des automobilistes et un cycliste sont immobilisés à la hauteur du passage : ils doivent attendre que les piétons aient atteint le trottoir de l’autre côté de la rue avant de poursuivre leur chemin.

Les conducteurs et les cyclistes doivent attendre que les piétons aient fini de traverser la chaussée. Il y a trois nouvelles sortes de passages pour piétons (voir Q9 ci-après).

Les passages protégés pour piétons se trouvent généralement à des intersections munies de feux de circulation ou de feux pour piétons, ou de panneaux d’arrêt. Il peut s’agir par exemple :

  • d’une section de la route qui raccorde les trottoirs des côtés opposés de la chaussée;
  • d’une portion de chaussée, à une intersection ou ailleurs, où les piétons peuvent traverser et qui est indiquée au moyen de panneaux, de lignes ou d’autres marques sur la chaussée.
Texte de remplacement : Illustration de passages protégés pour piétons à une intersection dotée de feux de circulation et de feux pour piétons. L’image montre une intersection à quatre sens où se croisent deux routes à deux voies. On voit deux feux de circulation dans chaque direction. Les coins de l’intersection sont raccordés par quatre passages protégés pour piétons, qui sont indiqués au moyen de deux lignes blanches parallèles traversant la chaussée. Des feux pour piétons se trouvent à chaque extrémité des passages. Des automobilistes et des cyclistes se sont immobilisés face à une lumière rouge, à la hauteur des lignes d’arrêt blanches peintes sur la voie de droite. Des piétons se trouvant devant un feu pour piétons allumé (silhouette blanche qui marche) traversent la chaussée. Lorsque ce symbole est éteint et que celui d’une main orange est allumé, les piétons ne sont pas autorisés à emprunter le passage. Les automobilistes et les cyclistes traversent l’intersection lorsque le feu de circulation devant eux tourne au vert.

Passages protégés pour piétons à une intersection dotée de feux de circulation et de feux pour piétons

Q6 : Qu’est-ce qu’un passage pour élèves?

Un passage pour élèves est un passage pour piétons indiqué par un panneau et où travaille un passeur scolaire.

Texte de remplacement : Illustration d’un passage pour élèves. L’image montre un passage pour piétons en section courante sur une route à deux voies indiqué au moyen de deux séries de lignes blanches doubles traversant la chaussée. Deux panneaux rectangulaires jaune-vert fluorescent, où sont illustrées deux silhouettes noires d’élèves traversant la rue, sont installés à la hauteur du passage pour élèves de chaque côté de la chaussée. Sous chacun d’eux se trouve un panneau de même couleur où il est inscrit « Passage pour élèves » en noir. Un passeur scolaire brandit un panneau d’arrêt à l’intention des automobilistes et du cycliste immobilisés à la hauteur du passage. Des enfants traversent la route. Les automobilistes et le cycliste doivent attendre que le passeur scolaire et les enfants atteignent le trottoir de l’autre côté de la route avant de poursuivre leur chemin.

Les conducteurs et les cyclistes doivent attendre que tous les enfants, passeurs scolaires et piétons aient fini de traverser la chaussée

Q7 : La nouvelle Loi s’applique-t-elle à l’ensemble de la province?

Depuis le 1er janvier 2016, la nouvelle Loi s’applique à tous les passages pour piétons, passages pour élèves et lieux où travaille un passeur scolaire en Ontario.

Q8 : Quelles sont les peines en cas d’infraction?

Les conducteurs et les cyclistes s’exposent à une amende de 150 à 500 $, ou au double si l’infraction a lieu dans une zone de sécurité communautaire. Dans le cas des conducteurs, trois points d’inaptitude peuvent également être inscrits à leur dossier.

Q9 : La Loi s’appliquera-t-elle aux nouveaux types de passages?

Oui. Pour répondre aux demandes des municipalités, qui veulent davantage d’options en matière de passages pour piétons, les administrations routières peuvent décider d’installer l’un des nouveaux types de passages, auxquels la Loi s’applique également.

Texte de remplacement : Illustration d’un passage pour piétons. L’image montre un passage pour piétons en section courante sur une route à deux voies. La présence d’un passage protégé pour piétons est indiquée sur la chaussée au moyen d’une série de rayures parallèles blanches comprises entre deux lignes blanches perpendiculaires à la route. Une ligne, composée de triangles blancs pointant en direction des véhicules en approche, est peinte sur la chaussée dans les deux directions, juste avant le passage pour piétons. Ces lignes ressemblant à des dents de requin signalent que les piétons ont la priorité. Deux panneaux rectangulaires où est illustrée une silhouette noire sur fond blanc (traversant la rue de la droite vers la gauche, ou vice versa) sont installés sur des poteaux à la hauteur du passage pour piétons, de part et d’autre de la route. Au-dessus de chacun d’eux se trouvent une lumière clignotante rectangulaire, et en dessous, un panneau indiquant « Priorité aux piétons ». Un panneau rectangulaire est aussi installé au-dessus de la chaussée, face à la circulation. Des piétons traversent la rue. Des automobilistes et un cycliste sont immobilisés à la hauteur des lignes en dents de requin : ils doivent attendre que les piétons aient atteint le trottoir de l’autre côté de la rue avant de poursuivre leur chemin.

Les conducteurs et les cyclistes doivent attendre que les piétons aient fini de traverser la chaussée

Texte de remplacement : Illustration d’un passage pour piétons. L’image montre un passage pour piétons en section courante sur une route à deux voies. Le passage est indiqué au moyen d’une série de rayures parallèles blanches comprises entre deux lignes blanches perpendiculaires à la route. Une ligne, composée de triangles blancs pointant en direction des véhicules en approche, est peinte sur la chaussée dans les deux directions, juste avant le passage pour piétons. Ces lignes ressemblant à des dents de requin signalent que les piétons ont la priorité. Deux panneaux rectangulaires où est illustrée une silhouette noire sur fond blanc (traversant la rue de la droite vers la gauche, ou vice versa) sont installés à la hauteur du passage pour piétons, de part et d’autre de la route. Au-dessus de chacun d’eux se trouvent une lumière clignotante rectangulaire, et en dessous, un panneau indiquant « Priorité aux piétons ». Des piétons traversent la rue. Des automobilistes et un cycliste sont immobilisés à la hauteur des lignes en dents de requin : ils doivent attendre que les piétons aient atteint le trottoir de l’autre côté de la rue avant de poursuivre leur chemin.

Les conducteurs et les cyclistes doivent attendre que les piétons aient fini de traverser la chaussée

Texte de remplacement : Illustration d’un passage pour piétons. L’image montre un passage pour piétons en section courante sur une route à deux voies. Le passage est indiqué au moyen d’une série de rayures parallèles blanches comprises entre deux lignes blanches perpendiculaires à la route. Une ligne, composée de triangles blancs pointant en direction des véhicules en approche, est peinte sur la chaussée dans les deux directions, juste avant le passage pour piétons. Ces lignes ressemblant à des dents de requin signalent que les piétons ont la priorité. Deux panneaux rectangulaires où est illustrée une silhouette noire sur fond blanc (traversant la rue de la droite vers la gauche, ou vice versa) sont installés à la hauteur du passage pour piétons, de part et d’autre de la route. Sous chacun d’eux se trouve un panneau indiquant « Priorité aux piétons ». Des piétons traversent la rue. Des automobilistes et un cycliste sont immobilisés à la hauteur des lignes en dents de requin : ils doivent attendre que les piétons aient atteint le trottoir de l’autre côté de la rue avant de poursuivre leur chemin.

Les conducteurs et les cyclistes doivent attendre que les piétons aient fini de traverser la chaussée


Recommandations pour vous

Back to Top