MTO’s Annual Road Safety Achievement Awards

Ministry of Transportation Hosts Road Safety Achievement Awards

The 21st annual Road Safety Achievement Awards were held on June 13, 2017 at The Doctor’s House in Kleinburg, Ontario.

Hosted by the Ministry of Transportation, the Honourable Steven Del Duca made opening remarks and presented the awards for 2016.

The Road Safety Achievement Awards celebrate individuals, community groups and organizations who promote road safety at the community and provincial levels. This year there were 27 nominations across the six categories, which include: Professional, Volunteer, Media Excellence, Corporate Leadership, Partnerships and Initiative of the Year.

MTO is pleased to announce the names of the 2016 Road Safety Achievement Award recipients.

Road Safety Achievement - Professional: OPP Constable Beth Ethier

Constable Ethier, a 30-year veteran of the OPP’s Upper Ottawa Valley Detachment, has had a successful career promoting road safety. Over the years, Constable Ethier oversaw several important initiatives, including child and bus safety programs in schools and local bicycle safety rodeos, and was instrumental in securing Ontario Road Safety Challenge funding to address distracted driving issues in the community.

road-safety-achievement-beth-ethier

From left to right: Minister Del Duca, Beth Ethier (Professional award recipient), Brian Brohart (nominator).

Road Safety Achievement - Volunteer: Roz Sonshine

Roz, a volunteer with the Toronto Police Service’s 33 Division, is involved in a number of road safety initiatives to promote pedestrian and cycling safety for youth and seniors. She enthusiastically organizes events, distributes safety brochures and resources, and develops innovative ways to promote road safety and engage the community, including distributing ‘safety’ loot bags for kids at Halloween.

road-safety-achievement-roz sonshine

From left to right: Hugh Bagnall (nominator), Minister Del Duca, Roz Sonshine (Volunteer award recipient), Richard Hedegus (nominator).

Media Excellence in Road Safety: Manitoulin Radio Communication

Operating out of Little Current, Ontario, Manitoulin Radio’s vision is to promote Manitoulin and the North Shore’s beauty, culture, and keep everyone informed on local news and events. The owners, Craig and Kelly Timmermans, have been using the station as a platform to connect with the community on upcoming events and promote important road safety messages on a range of topics, including impaired driving, distracted driving, seat belts and school bus safety.

media-excellence-in-road-safety-manitoulin

From left to right: Todd Fullerton (nominator), Minister Del Duca, Manitoulin Radio’s Kelly and Craig Timmermans (Media Excellence award recipients).

Corporate Leadership in Road Safety: ERB Group of Companiesy

In 2016, ERB Group partnered with TEENS LEARN to DRIVE to deliver road safety messages to high schools in five northern Ontario communities (Wawa, Marathon, Terrace Bay, Nipigon and Thunder Bay). ERB’s donation of a driver and a brand new tractor trailer was instrumental in
giving high school students the opportunity to sit in a truck driver’s seat so that they could see – or not see – other vehicles behind them.

corporate-leadership-road-safety-erb-group

From left to right: Stephanie Mattiussi and Sarah Marie Hallig (nominators), Minister Del Duca, ERB Group’s Tom Boehler and Floyd Berber (Corporate Leadership award recipients).

Road Safety Partnerships: Timiskaming Bus Buddies

Since its start in 2010, the Timiskaming Bus Buddies committee has successfully expanded its annual Young Rider Day program every year. This interactive program teaches students about school bus safety, including how to safely wait for, enter, ride and exit a school bus, as well as where the school bus danger zones are.

road-safety-partnerships-timiskaming

From left to right: Minister Del Duca, Timiskaming Bus Buddies’ Keitha Willard, Debra Smith, Julie Rivard and Chantal Reynolds (Partnerships award recipients).

Road Safety Initiative of the Year: Pledge to Ignore – York Region

York Region and York Regional Police have launched a successful campaign challenging motorists to “Pledge to Ignore” their phones when driving and pedestrians to “Pledge to Ignore” their phones when walking near roads. The campaign raises awareness of the dangers of being distracted.

road-safety-initiative-year

From left to right: Minister Del Duca, York Region’s Caroline Berryman (Initiative of the Year award recipient), Karen Hodge (nominator) and York Region’s Nelson Costa.

Two additional awards were handed out this year. The first, a special Lifetime Achievement Award, was presented to Anne Leonard, outgoing Executive Director of arrive alive DRIVE SOBER. A second award, MTO’s Road User Safety Partnership Award, was presented to Ross McKenzie, Managing Director of the Waterloo Centre for Automotive Research (WatCAR).

MTO is pleased to announce the names of the Lifetime Achievement and Road User Safety Partnership Award recipients.

Lifetime Achievement Award: Anne Leonard

Anne Leonard has dedicated her career and life to preventing impaired driving. As Executive Director of arrive alive DRIVE SOBER since 1990, she has worked tirelessly, building the most recognized anti-impaired driving road safety brand in Ontario. Under her leadership, arrive alive DRIVE SOBER has not only supported advancements in legislation and enforcement leading to steady declines in impaired driving rates and fatalities but has also helped foster a cultural shift in society. Anne has been a driver of innovation and capacity building. She is a humble leader and visionary whose success can be seen through the shift in attitudes and perceptions towards impaired driving over the past three decades, as well as through the reduction of impaired driving rates in Ontario.

lifetime-achievement-award

From left to right: Andrew Davidson, Minister Del Duca, Anne Leonard (Lifetime Achievement award recipient).

Road User Safety Partnership Award: Ross McKenzie, Waterloo Centre for Automotive Research (WatCAR)

Ross McKenzie, Managing Director of the Waterloo Centre for Automotive Research, and his team have been a driving force in testing an array of technologies that could be used in autonomous vehicles. WatCAR was among the first group to register to participate under the ministry’s AV pilot framework and Ross continues to champion and advocate for MTO’s work in this area.

road-user-safety-partnership-award

From left to right: Heidi Francis, Minister Del Duca, Ross McKenzie and Sebastian Fischmeister (Road User Safety Partnership award recipients).

Recommended for you

Back to Top

Prix annuels d’excellence en sécurité routière du MTO

Le ministère des Transports anime les Prix d’excellence en sécurité routière

La 21e édition annuelle des Prix d’excellence en sécurité routière a eu lieu le 13 juin 2017 à The Doctor’s House à Kleinburg, en Ontario.

Au cours de cet événement animé par le ministère des Transports de l’Ontario (MTO), l’honorable Steven Del Duca a prononcé le mot d’ouverture et présenté les prix pour 2016.

Les Prix d’excellence en sécurité routière rendent hommage à des personnes, à des groupes communautaires ainsi qu’à des organismes qui font la promotion de la sécurité routière à l’échelle communautaire et provinciale. Cette année, on recense 27 propositions de candidature dans les six volets, à savoir : Professionnels, Bénévoles, Médias, Entreprises, Partenariats et Initiative de l’année.

Le MTO est ravi de dévoiler le nom des lauréats des Prix d’excellence en sécurité routière de 2016.

Volet Professionnels — Excellence en sécurité routière : Beth Ethier, agente de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario (PPO)

Constable Ethier, qui compte 30 ans d’expérience au sein du détachement de la vallée supérieure de l’Outaouais de la PPO, a eu une carrière très enrichissante en encourageant la sécurité routière. Au fils des ans, l’agente Ethier a supervisé plusieurs initiatives importantes, parmi lesquelles des programmes de sécurité des enfants et des autobus scolaires dans des écoles et des rodéos-cycles axés sur la sécurité, et elle a joué un rôle prépondérant dans l’obtention d’un financement pour le Défi de la sécurité routière en Ontario qui traite de la problématique liée à la conduite inattentive dans la communauté.

road-safety-achievement-beth-ethier

De gauche à droite : Le ministre Del Duca, Beth Ethier (lauréate du volet Professionnels), et Brian Brohart (auteur de la proposition de candidature).

Volet Bénévoles — Excellence en sécurité routière : Roz Sonshine

Roz, qui est bénévole auprès de la Division 33 des services policiers de Toronto, participe à un certain nombre d’initiatives sur la sécurité routière visant à promouvoir la sécurité des piétons et des cyclistes jeunes et âgés. C’est avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme qu’elle organise des
événements, distribue des dépliants et des documents sur la sécurité, et trouve des moyens novateurs de faire la promotion de la sécurité routière et de mobiliser la communauté, notamment en distribuant aux enfants des sacs de butin sur la « sécurité » à l’occasion d’Halloween.

road-safety-achievement-roz sonshine

De gauche à droite : Hugh Bagnall (auteur de la proposition de candidature), le ministre Del Duca, Roz Sonshine (lauréate du volet Bénévoles), et Richard Hedegus (auteur de la proposition de candidature).

Volet Médias — Excellence en sécurité routière : Manitoulin Radio Communication

Exploitée depuis ses locaux de Little Current, en Ontario, la Manitoulin Radio a pour vision de promouvoir les beautés et la culture de Manitoulin et de la Rive Nord et d’informer tout le monde sur les actualités et les événements locaux. Ses propriétaires, Craig and Kelly Timmermans, se servent de cette station comme plateforme de communication avec la communauté au sujet des événements à venir et pour la diffusion d’importants messages concernant la sécurité routière sur un large éventail de sujets, notamment la conduite en état d’ivresse, la conduite inattentive, le port de la ceinture de sécurité, et la sécurité des autobus scolaires.

media-excellence-in-road-safety-manitoulin

De gauche à droite : Todd Fullerton (auteur de la proposition de candidature), le ministre Del Duca, Kelly et Craig Timmermans, propriétaires de la Manitoulin Radio (lauréats du volet Médias).

Volet Entreprises — Excellence en sécurité routière : ERB Group of Companies

En 2016, ERB Group s’est associé à TEENS LEARN to DRIVE en vue de diffuser des messages sur la sécurité routière auprès des écoles secondaires de cinq communautés du Nord de l’Ontario (Wawa, Marathon, Terrace Bay, Nipigon et Thunder Bay). ERB a fait don d’un chauffeur et d’un camion gros porteur flambant neuf, ce qui a permis à des élèves du secondaire de s’asseoir à la place d’un chauffeur pour voir, ou ne pas voir, les autres véhicules derrière eux.

corporate-leadership-road-safety-erb-group

De gauche à droite : Stephanie Mattiussi et Sarah Marie Hallig (auteures de la proposition de candidature), le ministre Del Duca, Tom Boehler et Floyd Berber d’ERB Group (lauréats du volet Entreprises).

Volet Partenariats — Excellence en sécurité routière : Timiskaming Bus Buddies

Depuis sa création en 2010, le comité Timiskaming Bus Buddies a réussi, chaque année, à étendre son programme annuel Young Rider Day. Ce programme interactif inculque aux élèves des notions importantes sur la sécurité des autobus scolaires, notamment sur la manière d’attendre l’autobus en toute sécurité, d’y prendre place, de voyager à bord d’un autobus scolaire et d’en descendre, en plus de leur indiquer l’emplacement des zones dangereuses tout autour des autobus scolaires.

road-safety-partnerships-timiskaming

De gauche à droite : Le ministre Del Duca, Keitha Willard, Debra Smith, Julie Rivard et Chantal Reynolds de Timiskaming Bus Buddies (lauréats du volet Partenariats).

Volet Initiative de l'année — Excellence en sécurité routière : Pledge to Ignore – Région de York

La Région de York et la police régionale de York ont lancé une campagne couronnée de succès dans laquelle elles défient les automobilistes de s’engager à ne pas répondre à leur téléphone (Pledge to Ignore) quand ils conduisent, et aux piétons d’en faire de même lorsqu’ils longent des routes. Cette campagne vise à sensibiliser aux dangers liés à l’inattention.

road-safety-initiative-year

De gauche à droite : Le ministre Del Duca, Caroline Berryman de la Région de York (lauréate du volet Initiative de l'année), Karen Hodge (auteure de la proposition de candidature), et Nelson Costa de la Région de York.

Deux autres prix ont été décernés cette année. Le premier, un Prix d'excellence spécial pour l'ensemble des réalisations, a été remis à Anne Leonard, directrice générale sortante d’Arrivez sain et sauf — LA SOBRIÉTÉ AU VOLANT. Un second prix, le Prix du partenariat de la sécurité des usagers de la route du MTO, a été remis à Ross McKenzie, administrateur délégué du Waterloo Centre for Automotive Research (WatCAR).

Le MTO est ravi de dévoiler le nom des lauréats du Prix d'excellence pour l'ensemble des réalisations et du Prix du partenariat de la sécurité des usagers de la route.

Prix d'excellence pour l'ensemble des réalisations : Anne Leonard

Anne Leonard a consacré sa carrière et sa vie à éviter que des conducteurs ne prennent le volant en état d’ivresse. En tant que directrice générale d’Arrivez sain et sauf — LA SOBRIÉTÉ AU VOLANT depuis 1990, elle a travaillé sans relâche à créer la marque en faveur de la sécurité routière et contre la conduite en état d’ivresse la plus reconnue en Ontario. Sous sa direction, Arrivez sain et sauf — LA SOBRIÉTÉ AU VOLANT n’a pas seulement contribué à faire des progrès sur le plan de la législation et de l’application de la loi qui ont abouti à une diminution constante du nombre de conducteurs en état d’ivresse et du nombre de morts, mais a aussi aidé à favoriser un changement de culture au sein de la société. Anne est une source d’inspiration en matière d’innovation et de renforcement des capacités. Le succès obtenu par cette modeste porte-drapeau et visionnaire est visible dans le changement des mentalités et des perceptions à l’égard de la conduite en état d’ivresse qui est survenu ces trois dernières décennies, ainsi que dans la baisse du nombre de conducteurs en état d’ivresse en Ontario.

lifetime-achievement-award

De gauche à droite : Andrew Davidson, le ministre Del Duca, et Anne Leonard (lauréate du Prix d'excellence pour l'ensemble des réalisations).

Prix du partenariat de la sécurité des usagers de la route : Ross McKenzie, Waterloo Centre for Automotive Research (WatCAR)

Ross McKenzie, administrateur délégué du Waterloo Centre for Automotive Research, et son équipe sont une force motrice en matière de tests effectués sur un large éventail de technologies susceptibles d’être utilisées dans des véhicules autonomes. WatCAR a été l’un des premiers groupes à s’inscrire dans le but de participer au cadre réglementaire pilote du Ministère sur les véhicules autonomes, et Ross continue de préconiser et de plaider en faveur du travail mené par le MTO dans ce domaine.

road-user-safety-partnership-award

De gauche à droite : Heidi Francis, le ministre Del Duca, Ross McKenzie et Sebastian Fischmeister (lauréats du Prix du partenariat de la sécurité des usagers de la route).

Nos recommandations

Retour en haut de page