Gas Tax Program Performance Report 2015 Service Commitment

As you know, our government is committed to working with municipalities to reduce congestion, improve the environment, and support economic growth. Overall, since 2003, we have invested more than $21.8 billion in public transit in Ontario. These investments are paying off - in 2014, public transit ridership in Ontario increased by more than 217 million passenger trips, compared to 2003.

We remain committed to providing a long-term, stable and predictable transit funding source for Ontario municipalities by providing two cents per litre of provincial gas tax to improve and expand transit. Ontario moved forward with our commitment to make gas tax funding permanent with the passage of the Dedicated Funding for Public Transportation Act, 2013.

Since 2004, we have committed $3.4 billion for municipal transit through the Dedicated Gas Tax Funds for Public Transportation Program (the "Program"), including $332.9 million for this, the twelfth year of the program.

Service Commitment

  • We will mail four copies of the Letter of Agreement to each municipality within one business day of the gas tax program announcement.
  • Gas tax payments are paid on a quarterly basis. Gas tax payments will be paid to the municipality within 30 business days of the start of the quarter, subject to the two signed Letters of Agreement and acceptable authorizing municipal bylaw being received prior to the start of the quarter.
  • The final quarterly payment will be paid to the municipality subject to the receipt of all of the final, correctly-completed gas tax reporting forms.

Measurement

  • A spreadsheet is used to facilitate tracking and monitoring of each step of the process, such as dates when documents are received, approved and paid. Performance measures are implemented for each step of the process.

Performance - 2015-2016 program

  • For the 2015-2016 program covering the period of April 1, 2015 to March 31, 2016 the Ministry mailed Letters of Agreement to each municipality within one business day of announcing the Gas Tax Program 100% of the time.
  • The Ministry met the standards for payments to municipalities within 30 business days 100% of the time and final quarterly payments to municipalities who submitted all of the final, correctly-completed gas tax reporting forms 97 % of the time.

2015-2016 Program Performance Results

100% - Mailing of Package
100% - 1st Payment in 30 Business Days
97% - Final Payment

Action to Address Performance Issues

  • Over the last two program years Program Management Office increased communication with municipalities within the last quarter of the fiscal year resulting in more municipalities meeting the requested deadline. This resulted in an increase from 77% in 2014-2015 to 97% in 2015-2016 of payments to municipalities within 30 business days who submitted all of the final, correctly-completed gas tax reporting forms. With performance results nearing 100% there are currently no performance issues that require action.

Engagement en matière de service 2015

Rapport sur le Rendement Du Programme De Financement Par la taxe sur l’essence

Comme vous le savez, notre gouvernement s’est engagé à collaborer avec les municipalités pour diminuer les embouteillages, améliorer l’environnement et soutenir la croissance économique. Dans l’ensemble, depuis 2003, nous avons investi plus de 21,8 milliards de dollars dans les transports en commun en Ontario. Ces investissements sont payants, puisqu’en 2014, l’utilisation des transports en commun dans la province a augmenté de plus de 217 millions de trajets de passagers par rapport à 2003.

Nous maintenons notre engagement à fournir aux municipalités de l’Ontario une source de financement à long terme stable et prévisible pour les transports en commun en consacrant 2 cents par litre de la taxe provinciale sur l’essence à l’amélioration et à l’expansion des réseaux de transport en commun. L’Ontario avance dans la mise en œuvre de son engagement à rendre permanent le financement par la taxe sur l’essence avec l’adoption de la Loi de 2013 réservant des fonds aux transports en commun.

Depuis 2004, nous avons octroyé 3,4 milliards de dollars pour les services municipaux de transport en commun dans le cadre du Programme de financement des transports en commun par la taxe sur l'essence (le « Programme »), dont 332,9 millions de dollars durant le présent exercice, la douzième année du programme.

Engagement en matière de service

  • Nous enverrons quatre exemplaires de la lettre d’entente à chaque municipalité dans un délai d’un jour ouvrable à compter de la date de l’annonce du programme de financement par la taxe sur l’essence.
  • Les paiements au titre de la taxe sur l’essence seront effectués tous les trimestres. Ils seront versés à la municipalité dans les 30 jours ouvrables suivant le début du trimestre, sous réserve de la réception, avant le début du trimestre, des deux lettres d’entente signées et du règlement municipal d’autorisation.
  • Le dernier paiement trimestriel ne sera versé à la municipalité qu’après réception de tous les formulaires de déclaration définitive dûment remplis concernant la taxe sur l’essence.

Measure du rendement

  • Une feuille de calcul est utilisée pour faciliter le suivi et le contrôle de chaque étape du processus, notamment les dates de réception des documents, d’approbation et de paiement. Des mesures du rendement sont mises en place pour chaque étape du processus.

Rendement – Programme 2015-2016

  • Pour la période du programme 2015-2016 allant du 1er avril 2015 au 31 mars 2016, dans 100 % des cas, le ministère a envoyé les lettres d’entente à chaque municipalité au plus tard le jour suivant l’annonce du programme de taxe sur l’essence.
  • Le ministère a atteint dans 100 % des cas la cible de 30 jours ouvrables pour les paiements trimestriels aux municipalités et dans 97 % des cas celle concernant le dernier paiement trimestriel aux municipalités qui ont présenté tous les formulaires de déclaration dûment remplis concernant la taxe sur l'essence.

Résultats du Programme 2015-2016

100 % – Envoi des documents
100 % – 1er paiement dans les 30 jours ouvrables
97 % – Paiement du solde

Mesures prises pour régler les problèmes de rendement

  • Au cours des deux dernières années du Programme, le Bureau de gestion du programme a intensifié ses communications avec les municipalités pendant le dernier trimestre de l’exercice, ce qui a permis à un plus grand nombre d'entre elles de respecter la date d’échéance. Il en est résulté une augmentation de 77 % en 2014-2015 à 97 % en 2015-2016 des paiements, dans les 30 jours ouvrables, aux municipalités qui ont présenté tous les formulaires de déclaration dûment remplis concernant la taxe sur l'essence. Puisque le rendement approche 100 %, il ne se présente aucun problème de rendement nécessitant une intervention.

W