MTO Service Commitment -2

The Ministry of Transportation is committed to providing you with excellent service that meets your needs. Our program service commitments explain what you can expect from us and how you can provide feedback on the quality of our service.

Corridor Management Permit Applications

Anyone planning to construct on or adjacent to a provincial highway may require a permit from the Ministry of Transportation (MTO).

The ministry's Corridor Management Offices is committed to providing prompt and clear information and guidance to help process your building, entrance, sign and encroachment applications, as well, streamlining the review processes for residential subdivision proposals

Gas Tax Program

The government is committed to working with municipalities to reduce congestion, improve the environment and support economic growth. The gas tax program is a long-term source of transit funding that municipalities can count on. The program provides stable and predictable transit funding for Ontario municipalities by providing two cents per litre of provincial gas tax to improve and expand transit.

International Registration Plan

Licensing services for commercial motor vehicle carriers that travel through multiple jurisdictions to help facilitate travel and commerce, while reducing unnecessary inter-jurisdictional overlap. The International Registration Plan (IRP) is a registration reciprocity agreement among states of the United States and provinces of Canada that allows apportionable fees on the basis of total distance operated in all jurisdictions. The Yukon, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Alaska and Mexico are not members of the plan.

Medical Review

To improve driver safety in Ontario by providing medical review programs that include suspending driving privileges for drivers found to be unfit due to medical reasons and reinstating driving privileges for those individuals deemed to meet the medical standards.

In Ontario, all drivers must meet basic medical standards to operate a motor vehicle. Higher medical standards apply for those wishing to drive a commercial vehicle.

Road Construction Report

To provide road construction information for provincial highways in English and French and make the information continuously available to the public by Internet, telephone, and teletypewriter (TTY). Road construction information is updated weekly.

Road Test Appointment Booking

Ontario's driver examination services are delivered at DriveTest Centres, operated by Serco DES Inc. (Serco), on behalf of the Ministry of Transportation.

Road test appointments at Driver Examination Centres* are available within 42 days of the date requested.

(*excludes some part-time travel points)

Snow and Ice Control

To deliver snow and ice control services on provincial highways and get back to bare pavement within standard times for at least 90% after a winter storm.

There are snow and ice control time standards for highways to be restored to normal conditions after a storm has ended. The standard varies depending on winter traffic volume and road type. For example, the standard is eight hours, after the end of a storm, for high volume highways. Some highways with lower volumes are maintained in snow-packed conditions throughout the winter.

Ontario's snow and ice control standards are consistent with the best practices used across North America.

Winter Road Conditions

To provide winter road condition information for provincially maintained highways to the public in English and French. Information can be accessed by telephone, Internet, or teletypewriter (TTY).

Wolfe Island/Kingston and Glenora/Adolphustown Ferry Services

The Ministry of Transportation owns and operates the Wolfe Island/Kingston and Glenora/Adolphustown ferry services. It provides free, year-round service on a first-come, first-served basis.

Engagement de service

Le ministère des Transports s'engage à vous fournir un excellent service répondant à vos besoins. Les engagements de service de notre programme expliquent ce que vous pouvez attendre de nous et comment nous pouvons vous fournir des commentaires sur la qualité de notre service. 

Demandes de permis de gestion des couloirs routiers

Quiconque projette de construire sur une autoroute provinciale ou à côté de celle-ci pourrait avoir besoin d’un permis délivré par le ministère des Transports;

Le Bureau de gestion des couloirs routiers (ministère des Transports) tient à fournir promptement des renseignements clairs et un bon encadrement pour faciliter le traitement des demandes relatives à des bâtiments, à des entrées, à des écriteaux ou à des emprises, et pour simplifier les procédés d’examen des propositions relatives à des ensembles résidentiels.

Programme de financement par la taxe sur l’essence

Le gouvernement s’engage à collaborer avec les municipalités pour diminuer les embouteillages, améliorer l’environnement et stimuler la croissance économique. Le Programme de financement par la taxe sur l’essence constitue une source de financement des transports en commun à long terme sur laquelle les municipalités peuvent compter. Ce programme offre un financement stable et prévisible aux municipalités de l’Ontario en consacrant deux cents par litre de la taxe provinciale sur l’essence à l’amélioration et à l’expansion des transports en commun.

Plan d'immatriculation international 

Fournir des services de délivrance de permis aux transporteursexploitant des véhicules automobiles qui traversent plusieurs territoires afinde faciliter les déplacements et le commerce, tout en réduisant le chevauchement intraterritorial inutile.

Dossier médical

Le dossier médical améliore la sécurité des conducteurs de l'Ontario en fournissant des programmes d'examens médicaux qui impliquent la suspension des privilèges de conduite pour les conducteurs qui ne sont pas considérés aptes pour des raisons médicales et le rétablissement des privilèges de conduite aux individus qui respectent les normes médicales.

En Ontario, tous les conducteurs doivent respecter les normes médicales de base pour conduire un véhicule motorisé. Des normes médicales élevées s'appliquent à ceux qui veulent conduire un véhicule utilitaire.

Rapports sur les travaux de construction des routes

Fournir de l'information sur la construction routière concernant les routes provinciales en anglais et en français, et la rendre disponible au public en tout temps par Internet, téléphone et téléimprimeur (TTY). L'information sur la construction routière est mise à jour chaque semaine.

Réservation D'un Examen Pratique

En Ontario, les services d'examen pratique sont dispensés dans les Centres d'examen Test au Volant exploités par Serco DES Inc. (Serco) pour le ministère des Transports.

Les examens pratiques de conduite dans les Centres d'examen Test au Volant* sont disponibles dans les 42 jours suivant la date de la demande.

(* exception faite de quelques « centres aux heures variables »)

Déneigement et déglaçage des routes

Offrir des services de déneigement et de déglaçage sur les routes provinciales et ramener la surface au revêtement dans des délais normaux 90 % du temps à la suite d'une tempête de neige.

Il y a des normes en matière d'enlèvement de la neige et de la glace qui indiquent un temps donné pour que les routes soient ramenées un état normal à la suite d'une tempête. La norme varie selon le volume de la circulation et le type de chaussée. Par exemple, la norme est de huit heures pour les routes où la circulation est dense. Certaines routes moins fréquentées sont maintenues dans des conditions de neige damée tout au long de l'hiver.

Les normes ontariennes en matière d'enlèvement de la neige et de la glace sont conformes aux pratiques exemplaires en usage en Amérique du Nord.

Conditions des routes en hiver

Fournir de l'information en anglais et en français sur les conditions des routes en hiver pour les routes entretenues par la province. L'information est accessible par téléphone, Internet ou téléimprimeur (TTY).

Services de traversier reliant l'île Wolfe à Kingston et Glenora à Adolphustown

Le ministère des Transports possède et exploite les services de traversier reliant l'île Wolfe à Kingston et Glenora à Adolphustown. Ses services sont fournis gratuitement toute l'année selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi.

W