Sustainability inSight

Letter from the Deputy Minister

Carol Layton, Sous ministre de Transport

It is with great pleasure that I introduce the Ontario Ministry of Transportation’s sustainability strategy, Sustainability inSight.  Through this strategy, MTO is affirming its commitment to become a more sustainable organization and to increase the sustainability of Ontario’s provincial transportation network.

MTO’s business lines are diverse and span great distances.  Therefore, if we are going to set a course for the ministry, we must first articulate a shared vision of where we are going.  That is what Sustainability inSight does.  It outlines seven strategic goals for a more sustainable future.  It establishes a new, ongoing process for pursuing actions that will ensure we are continually improving our performance.  It will help us to deliver on one of our top priorities: to integrate sustainability into our programs, policies, and internal business practices.

Created by MTO staff, for MTO staff, this strategy represents the collective insight and passion of many of the people working here.  MTO’s Sustainable Transportation Policy Office, in the Transportation Policy Branch, worked in partnership with the Sustainability Enabler Network (SEN), which included staff representatives from across the province, and all divisions of the ministry.  Harnessing their knowledge, experience and creativity resulted in a strategy that is thoughtful, thorough, and far-sighted.  I am confident that by channelling those skills into the implementation phase, we can achieve our goals.

With sustainability in my sight, it is my hope that this collaborative approach will characterize not just the work within MTO, but also in the interactions we have across government, as well as with our stakeholders, industry, and the public. Together, we can all move towards our common goal of putting sustainability into practice.

 

Carol Layton
Deputy Minister

Priorité Durabilité

Lettre du sous-ministre

Carol Layton, Sous ministre de Transport

C'est avec grand plaisir que je présente la stratégie Priorité Durabilité du ministère des Transports de l’Ontario (MTO). Par l’entremise de cette stratégie, le MTO s’engage à améliorer sa durabilité et celle du réseau de transport de la province.

Le MTO se livre à un large éventail d’activités et celles-ci couvrent de grandes distances. Par conséquent, pour déterminer la direction dans laquelle le ministère s’engagera, nous devons d’abord articuler une vision commune de cette direction. C'est ce que fait la stratégie Priorité Durabilité. Elle énonce sept objectifs stratégiques visant un avenir plus durable et établit un nouveau processus permanent qui nous permettra de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour améliorer continuellement notre performance. De plus, elle nous aidera à concrétiser une de nos principales priorités : l’intégration de la durabilité à nos programmes, politiques et pratiques opérationnelles internes.

Créée par le personnel du MTO à son intention, cette stratégie est le fruit des connaissances et de la passion d’un grand nombre d’employés du ministère. Le Bureau des politiques de transport durable, qui relève de la Direction des politiques du transport du MTO, a collaboré avec le Réseau des agents catalyseurs de la durabilité (RACD), formé d’employés provenant des quatre coins de la province et représentant toutes les divisions du ministère. Le savoir, l’expérience et la créativité de ces personnes ont mené à une stratégie sensée, complète et prévoyante. Je suis persuadée que, en misant sur les compétences de tous lors de la mise en œuvre, nous atteindrons nos objectifs.

La durabilité est ma priorité. J’ai espoir que cette approche coopérative caractérisera non seulement le travail accompli au sein du MTO, mais aussi les interactions avec les parties concernées au gouvernement, les intervenants, l’industrie et le public. Ensemble, nous pouvons atteindre notre objectif commun, soit de faire de la durabilité une réalité.

Carol Layton
Sous-ministre


W