Sustainability inSight

Why a Sustainability Strategy?

The Ministry of Transportation's vision is to be a world leader in moving people and goods safely, efficiently and sustainably to support a globally competitive economy and a high quality of life. To achieve this vision, our employees, working in all areas of the province, are focusing on delivering five key priorities:

  • increasing transit ridership
  • promoting a multimodal transportation network to support the efficient movement of people and goods
  • promoting road safety in order to remain among the safest jurisdictions in North America
  • improving Ontario's highway, bridge and border infrastructure
  • integrating sustainability into all our business areas

While sustainability is itself a priority, it is also essential to ensure that it is a consideration in all of our business areas. This strategy provides a blueprint for advancing ministry priorities in a more sustainable way.

What Is Sustainability?

Sustainability is "development that meets the needs of the present, without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs."1 There are three spheres of sustainability: the economy, society and the environment. They have a dynamic relationship, which means that any change to one affects the others. It is the reason why we cannot consider our economy or quality of life separately from the well-being of our natural environment.

The Three Spheres of Sustainability
Figure 1 - The Three Spheres of Sustainability

Figure 1 shows the economy and society nested within the environment. This illustrates that everything we do starts and ends with our natural environment. Everything we produce and consume takes from the natural world water, energy, plants or animals. Ultimately, all the goods, materials and by-products that we create are returned to the natural environment in our air, water and land. Sustainability is not just about recognizing the relationship between the three spheres of economy, society and the environment. It is also about taking a long-term view, knowing that today's decisions will influence tomorrow's choices. For this reason, we need to consider not only a decision's immediate impacts but also its potential longer-term consequences.

Challenges to Sustainable Transportation

Ontario's transportation network functions as the province's circulatory system it keeps people and goods flowing, links different parts of the province to each other and is a key driver of our economic health. This network can be disrupted by events that are outside our control. The sustainability strategy will position MTO to better take advantage of opportunities that arise from emerging challenges.

Key challenges facing Ontario's transportation system:

Climate change

Climate change is one of the greatest challenges to the future of our planet. Transportation is a major contributor to greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions. In Ontario, the transportation sector is the source of about one-third of the province's total GHG emissions, with over 80 per cent originating from road-based transportation.2 Combating climate change will require less carbon-intensive forms of transportation and strategies that reduce the need to travel.

Demographic change

Demographics influences how, when and where Ontarians travel. Over the next 20 years, population growth is expected to continue in some areas of the province, buoyed increasingly by immigration.3 Urban centres like the Greater Golden Horseshoe will experience much of this growth, adding to the region's vibrant and diverse communities. Without proper management such growth can lead to issues such as increased congestion, deteriorating air and water quality, and the loss of natural resources. Due to a relatively older population and lower levels of in-migration, it is expected that the population in Northern Ontario will remain relatively stable over the next two decades. Additionally, the number of Ontarians over the age of 65 is expected to more than double by 2030, as baby-boomers age and life expectancy continues to increase.4 It is anticipated that by 2025, one in five Ontarians will have a disability.5 A growing percentage of the population will be unable to drive or uninterested in driving, increasing the demand for alternative forms of transportation.

Congestion

A reliable transportation network is essential for trade and goods movement within Ontario and to destinations outside our borders. However, according to a 2009 estimate, congestion in the Toronto region costs Canada $3.3 billion in lost productivity each year.6 Relieving congestion is good for our economic competitiveness. It will also reduce pollution and greenhouse gas emissions from idling vehicles. Pollutants associated with transportation can negatively affect human health, leading to increased heart and lung illness and premature death.

Increasing urbanization

In 2006, more than 85 per cent of Ontarians lived in urban areas.7 Migration to urban centres is expected to continue over the next 20 years. The existing transportation system must continually adapt to accommodate this trend. If urbanization takes the form of urban sprawl, it can threaten valuable natural resources and wildlife survival by consuming natural habitat and prime agricultural land. It was predicted in 2000 that if a sprawling pattern of growth continued unabated in the Greater Toronto and Hamilton areas, an agricultural and natural land area twice the size of Toronto would be urbanized by the year 2031.8 To provide guidance on a broad range of issues that includes transportation and land-use, the Places to Grow Act was passed. With the population increases expected in the Greater Toronto Area (GTA) over the coming decades, there will be a continuing need for government policy responses to allow communities to flourish through well-managed growth.

Creating a green economy

Ontario's transportation network is a key driver of the province's economic success.9 The Ontario government believes that we do not have to choose between environmental protection and a healthy economy. Various provincial economic initiatives have emphasized that new opportunities can emerge from protecting Ontario's natural environment and reducing our greenhouse gas emissions. With prudent long-term planning, we can make the transition to a "green economy" - creating enormous opportunities for growth and jobs in new sectors of the economy, while at the same time reducing our impact on Ontario's environment.

Taking the Next Steps

These challenges highlight the interconnections between our economy, society and the environment. We need long-term planning to manage these pressures on the transportation system. Many MTO employees are already actively addressing these challenges, by making sustainability part of how they do business. Their work provides a solid foundation for MTO to take the next step - a strategic and coordinated response. Focusing on solutions will encourage us to innovate and to find efficiencies within our ministry.

1 Report of the World Commission on Environment and Development: Our Common Future (1987).

2 Pocket Guide to Transportation (Ontario Ministry of Transportation, 2008).

3 Ontario’s Long-Term Report on the Economy (Ontario Ministry of Finance, 2010).

4 Ontario’s Long-Term Report on the Economy (Ontario Ministry of Finance, 2010).

5 “Making Ontario accessible,” (Ontario Ministry of Community and Social Services, 2010).

6 OECD Territorial Reviews: Toronto, Canada (Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development, 2010).

7 OECD Territorial Reviews: Toronto, Canada (Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development, 2010).

8 Toronto-Related Region Futures Study, Interim Report: Implications of Business-As-Usual Development (Neptis Foundation, 2002).

9 The Productivity Performance of Canada’s Transportation Sector: Market Forces and Governance Matter (Conference Board of Canada, 2009).

A Closer Look at Climate Change

"Scientists, and most notably, the United Nations Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) have shown that the earth’s climate is changing dramatically, and human industrial activity and the burning of fossil fuels are largely to blame.

Before the Industrial Revolution, the carbon dioxide (CO2) concentration in the earth’s atmosphere was about 280 parts per million. We are now at about 380 parts per million. At 380 parts per million, coral reefs are dying, glaciers are melting, seas are rising and an estimated 35,000 people died in the 2003 European heat wave. According to the IPCC, without significant action to reduce emissions, CO2 concentrations may reach 750 parts per million this century ... [M]olecules of CO2 remain in the atmosphere for up to 200 years. Which means the CO2 molecules produced by the first cars, the Wright brothers’ plane and the first coal-fired electricity plants may still be airborne.”

Go Green: Ontario’s Action Plan on Climate Change (2007)

Priorité Durabilité

Pourquoi adopter une stratégie de durabilité?

Le MTO entend être un chef de file mondial du déplacement sécuritaire, efficient et durable des passagers et des marchandises pour soutenir une économie compétitive et une très bonne qualité de vie. Pour ce faire, ses employés mettent l’accent sur cinq priorités :

  • accroître le nombre d’usagers des transports en commun;
  • mettre en place un réseau de transport multimodal permettant le déplacement efficient des passagers et des marchandises;
  • promouvoir la sécurité routière pour demeurer un des territoires les plus sûrs en Amérique du Nord;
  • améliorer les routes, les ponts et les postes frontaliers de l’Ontario;
  • intégrer la durabilité à toutes nos activités.

La stratégie décrit les mesures qui donneront suite aux priorités du ministère de façon plus durable.

Qu’est-ce que la durabilité?

Le développement durable est « un développement qui répond aux besoins du présent sans compromettre la capacité des générations futures de répondre aux leurs1 ». Il y a trois sphères de durabilité : l’économie, la société et l’environnement.

Les trois sphères de la durabilité
Figure 1 - Les trois sphères de la durabilité

Tout changement touchant une sphère a une incidence sur les deux autres. C’est pourquoi on ne peut envisager les questions touchant l’économie ou la qualité de vie sans tenir compte de l’environnement. Tout geste que nous posons affecte l’environnement. Tout ce que nous produisons et consommons provient du milieu naturel (eau, énergie, plantes ou animaux). En bout de ligne, tous les biens et matériaux que nous créons retournent dans le milieu naturel, que ce soit dans l’air, dans l’eau ou sous terre.

La durabilité ne signifie pas uniquement reconnaître le lien entre l’économie, la société et l’environnement. Il faut savoir que les décisions d’aujourd’hui influenceront les choix de demain et envisager non seulement les effets immédiats d’une décision, mais aussi ses conséquences potentielles à long terme.

Défis liés au transport durable

Le réseau de transport des passagers et des marchandises joue un rôle essentiel dans l’économie. Des événements indépendants de notre volonté peuvent le perturber. La stratégie de durabilité permettra au MTO de mieux tirer parti des possibilités découlant des nouveaux défis.

Défis clés touchant le système de transport de l’Ontario :

Changements Climatiques

Les changements climatiques menacent l’avenir de notre planète. Le secteur des transports génère de fortes émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES). Il est à l’origine du tiers environ des émissions totales de GES de la province. Plus de 80 % de ces émissions sont attribuables au transport routier2. Pour lutter contre les changements climatiques, il faudra adopter des modes de transport et des stratégies à plus faible intensité carbonique qui réduisent les déplacements requis.

Changements Démographiques

Les changements démographiques déterminent en partie comment et quand les Ontariens se déplacent et où ils se rendent. On prévoit que, au cours des 20 prochaines années, la croissance de la population se poursuivra dans certaines régions de la province, notamment en raison de l’immigration3. La majeure partie de cette croissance aura lieu dans les centres urbains comme la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe. Si on ne gère pas cette croissance adéquatement, il y aura davantage d’embouteillages, la qualité de l’air et de l’eau se détériorera et les ressources naturelles seront affectées. En raison du vieillissement de la population et de la baisse de la migration intérieure, on prévoit que la population du Nord de l’Ontario demeurera stable au cours des deux prochaines décennies. Le nombre d’Ontariens de plus de 65 ans devrait plus que doubler d’ici 2030 en raison du vieillissement des baby-boomers et de la hausse soutenue de l’espérance de vie4. D’ici 2025, un Ontarien sur cinq aura un handicap5. Davantage de personnes ne voudront plus ou ne pourront plus conduire, ce qui haussera la demande d’autres modes de transport.

Embouteillages

Un réseau de transport fiable est essentiel pour le commerce et le déplacement des marchandises en Ontario et hors de la province. Toutefois, on a estimé en 2009 que les embouteillages dans la région de Toronto coûtent 3,3 milliards de dollars par année au Canada sous forme de pertes de productivité6. La réduction des embouteillages favorise la compétitivité de la province et atténue la pollution et les émissions de GES. Les polluants associés au transport peuvent accroître la fréquence des maladies cardiaques et pulmonaires et le nombre de décès prématurés.

Urbanisation accrue

En 2006, plus de 85 % des Ontariens habitaient dans un centre urbain7. La migration vers les centres urbains devrait se poursuivre au cours des 20 prochaines années. Le système de transport doit s’adapter continuellement à cette tendance. L’étalement urbain peut menacer nos ressources naturelles précieuses et la survie de la faune. En 2000, on a prévu que si l’étalement urbain se poursuivait dans le grand Toronto et à Hamilton, une zone agricole et naturelle deux fois plus grande que Toronto serait urbanisée d’ici 20318. Pour orienter diverses questions liées notamment au transport et à l’aménagement du territoire, on a adopté la Loi sur les zones de croissance. Comme la population devrait s’accroître dans le grand Toronto au cours des décennies à venir, le gouvernement devra adopter des politiques permettant aux collectivités de prospérer grâce à une croissance bien gérée.

Économie verte

Le réseau de transport de l’Ontario joue un rôle essentiel dans la réussite économique de la province9. Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a mis en œuvre diverses initiatives économiques ayant démontré que la protection de l’environnement et la réduction des émissions de GES peuvent créer des possibilités économiques. Une planification prudente et à long terme nous aidera à faire la transition vers une économie verte. Ainsi, on stimulera la croissance et l’emploi dans de nouveaux secteurs tout en atténuant l’incidence de nos activités sur l’environnement.

Prochaines étapes

Ces défis illustrent le lien entre l’économie, la société et l’environnement. Il faut élaborer des plans à long terme pour gérer les pressions exercées sur le système de transport.

Le MTO se penche déjà sur ces défis en intégrant la durabilité à ses activités, lui permettant ainsi d’adopter une démarche stratégique et coordonnée. En misant sur les solutions, on favorisera l’innovation et l’efficience au sein du ministère.

1 Notre avenir à tous : Rapport de la Commission mondiale sur l’environnement et le développement (1987).

2 Guide de poche sur les transports (ministère des Transports de l’Ontario, 2008).

3 Rapport sur les perspectives économiques à long terme de l’Ontario (ministère des Finances de l‘Ontario, 2010).

4 Rapport sur les perspectives économiques à long terme de l’Ontario (ministère des Finances de l’Ontario, 2010).

5 Rendre l’Ontario accessible (ministère des Services sociaux et

communautaires de l’Ontario, 2010).

6 OECD Territorial Reviews: Toronto, Canada (Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques, 2010).

7 Faits saillants du recensement 2006 : Feuille de renseignements 1 (ministère des Finances de l’Ontario, 2007).

8 Toronto-Related Region Futures Study, Interim Report: Implications of Business-As-Usual Development (Neptis Foundation, 2002).

9 The Productivity Performance of Canada’s Transportation Sector: Market Forces and Governance Matter (Conference Board du Canada, 2009).

Les changements climatiques

Selon le Groupe d’experts intergouvernemental sur l’évolution du climat (GIEC) des Nations Unies, le climat de la terre subit des changements importants et les activités humaines et l’utilisation de combustibles fossiles contribuent grandement à ce problème.

Avant la révolution industrielle, la concentration en dioxyde de carbone (CO2) dans l’atmosphère était d’environ 280 parties par million. Elle est maintenant d’environ 380 parties par million. À cette concentration, les récifs coralliens meurent, les glaciers fondent, le niveau des océans s’élève et quelque 35 000 personnes sont décédées lors d’une vague de chaleur en Europe en 2003. Selon le GIEC, si on ne réduit pas les émissions, la concentration en CO2 pourrait atteindre 750 parties par million au cours de ce siècle. La durée de vie des molécules de CO2 dans l’atmosphère peut atteindre 200 ans. Autrement dit, le CO2 émis par les premières automobiles, par l’avion des frères Wright et par les premières centrales au charbon pourrait être encore présent dans l’atmosphère.

Ontario vert : Plan d’action de l’Ontario contre le changement climatique (2007).



W