Transit-Supportive Guidelines

Section 2.4 Creating a Transit-Supportive Urban Form

2.4.1 Layout and Orientation of Buildings within a Block

The layout and orientation of buildings should help to support the creation of pedestrian-friendly streets and open spaces designed to enhance activity around, and connections to, stops and station areas.

The act of locating higher-density development and uses adjacent to a transit stop does not always equate to transit-supportive development. To be transit-supportive, new developments and existing communities should treat transit as a central organizing element and aim to increase ridership by orienting buildings so that activity is focussed on streets and open spaces in and around transit stops and station areas. Transit-supportive development should support a high level of walking and cycling and help to strengthen connections between transit facilities and surrounding areas.

Buildings can help to support an active pedestrian environment through careful consideration of the way they meet the street. Architectural variety, including the creation of prominent architectural features so that buildings can act as landmarks on the street and the use of clear windows and doors, can help to create an interesting and inviting environment, shortening perceived walking distances, assisting pedestrians in navigating to stations and in turn encouraging higher levels of pedestrian activity. Through the use of massing and transitions in height and density, buildings can help to frame and enclose the street giving areas a stronger sense of identity and helping to integrate higher-density station areas into surrounding development.

The layout and orientation of buildings can help to support transit use by focusing activity adjacent to transit stops and station areas and minimizing the impacts of parking.

The layout and orientation of buildings can help to support transit use by focusing activity adjacent to transit stops and station areas and minimizing the impacts of parking.

Strategies Legend
Applicable Community Scale
Small Community icon Small
Mid-size Community icon Mid-size
Large Community icon Large
Big City icon Big City
Planning Scale
Site Planning icon Site
District Planning icon District
Municipal Planning icon Municipal
Regional Planning icon Regional
Green Action icon Green Action

Strategies:

street relationship

  1. New development and redevelopment should orient towards the street and contribute to a pedestrian-friendly public realm by:
    • situating buildings close to the streetline or transit station so that they frame the street or station area and contribute to ground-level pedestrian activity;
    • orienting primary entrance points and street level uses to support higher levels of activity along key pedestrian routes, stop or station locations and at waiting areas; and
    • designing building façades to actively address public streets and open spaces through the use of transparent glazing, windows, doors and other “active” architectural treatments.Site Planning icon
  2. Buildings with active street level uses should incorporate frequent entrances to increase permeability.Site Planning icon
  3. Avoid the reverse lotting of uses, long stretches of blank walls, berms or high fences adjacent to the street. These limit street activity and prevent natural surveillance.Site Planning icon

An undesirable building orientation (top) places entrances and active uses away from the street, while parking becomes the most visible element of the streetscape. A more desirable building orientation (bottom) places active uses and building entrances at the right-of-way (ROW), creating a continuous street wall and a more attractive pedestrian environment.

An undesirable building orientation (top) places entrances and active uses away from the street, while parking becomes the most visible element of the streetscape. A more desirable building orientation (bottom) places active uses and building entrances at the right-of-way (ROW), creating a continuous street wall and a more attractive pedestrian environment.

Long stretches of blank walls and fences adjacent to the street create an unpleasant pedestrian environment with limited activity and no passive surveillance.

Long stretches of blank walls and fences adjacent to the street create an unpleasant pedestrian environment with limited activity and no passive surveillance.

Recommended Resources

Urban Design Compendium (English Partnerships and the Housing Corporation)

Transit Oriented Development Policy Guidelines (City of Calgary)

responding to context

  1. Support areas with high levels of pedestrian activity through building setbacks and pedestrian amenities such as integrated waiting areas, pedestrian lighting, and weather protection.Site Planning icon
  2. Locate higher-density buildings close to transit stops or station areas to support a greater mix of uses, higher levels of pedestrian activity and transit ridership.District Planning iconSite Planning icon
  3. Scale buildings to match their specific context. Transitions in building scale can enable higher-density uses close to transit stops/stations while integrating with the scale and character of surrounding communities.Site Planning icon

integrating transit

  1. Opportunities to integrate higher order transit stops such as subways or rapid transit stations into the base of buildings should be pursued where appropriate.Site Planning iconLarge Community iconBig City icon

parking & access

  1. Orient vehicular access, parking and servicing to minimize pedestrian conflicts and impacts on street level activity.Site Planning icon
  2. Coordinate new developments with existing and planned uses to consolidate vehicular access points, minimize curb cuts and share servicing.Site Planning icon
  3. Larger developments that require the use of internal roadways or drives should organize these elements in a manner that strengthens connections between adjacent uses and transit facilities and helps to establish a finely-grained network of interconnected streets and blocks.Site Planning icon
  4. Ensure mid-block connections are direct, well-lit and fronted by or visible from adjacent uses to enhance pedestrian safety and comfort.Site Planning icon

2.4.2 Design of Parking Facilities

Locate and design parking so that it can support the creation of an active and attractive public realm.

Parking requirements that respond to a car-oriented environment can often make it challenging to move to higher-density, urban development patterns. As higher-density, walkable places, in close proximity to transit, transit-supportive places require a shift in the way parking is mandated, managed and designed.

It is important that the design and location of parking is unobtrusive and not a detriment to the quality and vitality of surrounding streets and open spaces. This is particularly significant around transit stops and in station areas where the quality of the pedestrian environment and street level activity has been shown to have a direct relationship to ridership levels, perceptions of safety and ease of access. In downtowns, town centres and areas of higher density, this means dramatically reducing surface parking and placing parking underground, in above-grade parking garages and/or screened from pedestrians behind buildings. Where surface parking exists, the creation of a street and block structure within larger lots can help to enhance pedestrian connectivity, establish parcels for future development and provide additional on-street parking.

This surface parking lot in Portland, Oregon is screened from the street, includes provision for pedestrian circulation and cyclists, and incorporates environmental features such as permeable paving and bio-swales that can absorb and filter stormwater run-off. Accessible parking has been located near the principal accessible entrance.

This surface parking lot in Portland, Oregon is screened from the street, includes provision for pedestrian circulation and cyclists, and incorporates environmental features such as permeable paving and bio-swales that can absorb and filter stormwater run-off. Accessible parking has been located near the principal accessible entrance.

Strategies:

parking structures

  1. Provide parking in nodes or corridors in below-grade or structured parking facilities, where possible, to allow for higher-density development and active street-level uses.Site Planning iconLarge Community iconBig City icon
  2. Where feasible, wrap above-ground parking structures in residential, retail or commercial uses to screen parking from the street and increase street-level activity.Site Planning iconLarge Community iconBig City icon
  3. Providing access ramps along active street frontages or on primary pedestrian routes should be discouraged to minimize conflicts between pedestrians and vehicles.Site Planning icon
  4. To reduce the visual impact of structured parking along a street, treat the façade like an active building frontage (Guideline 2.4.1). Reflect the characteristics of more active building types through techniques such as:
    • screening diagonal ramps and non-horizontal parking plates with horizontal banding elements;
    • screening parked cars from view through the use of walls, windows or parapets; and
    • incorporating active uses at grade that can contribute to the animation and activity of the street.Site Planning iconLarge Community iconBig City icon

Above ground parking structures should be wrapped with active uses to screen parking from the public realm.

Above ground parking structures should be wrapped with active uses to screen parking from the public realm.

Recommended Resources

Parking Facilities (National Institute of Building Sciences)

Design Guidelines for Greening Surface Parking Lots (City of Toronto)

street parking

  1. Paid, on-street parking can minimize the need for dedicated parking spaces, providing space for short-stay visitors and helping to support main street retail uses. On-street parking adjacent to bike-ways should provide an additional 0.6m of width indicated by lines or hatching, to accommodate car door openings, which could interfere with cyclists (Guideline 2.2.4).District Planning icon

surface parking

  1. Prohibit surface parking between a building and a street within designated nodes or corridors.Site Planning icon
  2. Where possible and costs permit, particularly where there are large areas of parking, design surface parking lots to include dedicated provisions for pedestrian circulation, including internal walkways and pedestrian priority paving treatments.Site Planning icon
  3. Where larger areas of surface parking exist, encourage the introduction of a street and block pattern within the parking lot that can help enhance pedestrian access, enable the introduction of streetscape treatments and create development parcels for infill over time.Site Planning icon
  4. In designated growth areas and where higher densities are planned, encourage development applications and master plans to demonstrate how large areas of surface parking can be redeveloped over time.District Planning iconSite Planning icon
  5. In the design of large areas of surface parking, encourage the inclusion of a range of environmental features, such as solar panels, shade trees, permeable paving and bio-swales that can absorb and filter stormwater run-off. See Guideline 2.5.2 for other measures to address the sustainability of parking facilities.Site Planning iconGreen Action icon

2.4.3 Intensification of Station Areas

Planning for station areas should take into consideration the potential for intensification over time.

Station areas represent opportunities for transit-supportive development, with the potential to attract new riders and generate much needed revenue for fiscally constrained transit providers. Many station areas are underutilized, with significant amounts of land dedicated to surface parking. The design and location of station area facilities can also make the introduction of new uses difficult. Restricted access resulting from transit infrastructure and multiple authorities with responsibilities in the area can also complicate matters.

Recognizing and planning for the intensification potential of station areas can allow station facilities and infrastructure to be designed and located so that they do not hinder the long-term development potential of the station area.

Phased intensification surrounding a transit station in Oakville, ON. The creation of a station area vision that establishes a framework for gradual intensification can help to ensure that short-term decisions don’t preclude the long-term development potential of a station area.

Phased intensification surrounding a transit station in Oakville, ON. The creation of a station area vision that establishes a framework for gradual intensification can help to ensure that short-term decisions don’t preclude the long-term development potential of a station area.

Strategies:

general

  1. Ensure new development within station areas is transit-supportive (Guideline 2.4.1), fronting key pedestrian areas with active uses, helping to integrate the station area into surrounding neighbourhoods and supporting opportunities for new uses and further intensification over time.District Planning iconSite Planning icon
  2. Municipalities and transit agencies should consider the potential for the intensification of station areas when planning for new investments to ensure that they support the long-term development potential for the intensification.District Planning icon
  3. Weigh the benefits of new development on station lands against the impacts on access and operations.District Planning icon
  4. Transit agencies should identify and prioritize stations with the potential for further intensification. Give priority to stations where intensification has the potential to generate higher levels of transit ridership or where intensification would enhance the relationship of the station to its surroundings, strengthen connections and provide enhanced amenities for transit users.Regional Planning iconMunicipal Planning icon

A poorly placed parking deck creates awkward development parcels that are too small for intensification of the station area.

A poorly placed parking deck creates awkward development parcels that are too small for intensification of the station area.

By strategically locating the parking facility the potential for long term intensification of the station area can be preserved.

By strategically locating the parking facility the potential for long term intensification of the station area can be preserved.

Recommended Resources

Case Study: Station Intensification

Mobility Hub Guidelines (Metrolinx)

The Big Move Strategy #7 (Metrolinx)

Station Site and Access Planning Manual (Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority)

Brentwood Station Area Redevelopment Plan (City of Calgary)

planning process

  1. The creation of station area visioning documents can be a helpful tool in planning for the intensification of station areas by establishing the expectations of the transit agency and creating a starting point for discussions with development partners. A visioning document should:
    • identify a long-term vision for the station area that is both compatible with the surrounding pattern of development and consistent with local planning guidance;
    • establish a framework for the gradual intensification of the station area while addressing and preserving for the needs of transit operations, including pick-up and drop-off areas, passenger amenities and managed parking spaces;
    • identify potential development parcels and the desired characteristics of related development, including appropriate built form, public realm characteristics, transportation networks, key connections and land use characteristics; and
    • outline an implementation strategy for achieving the vision that helps to guide both public and private investments within the station area.Municipal Planning iconDistrict Planning icon

Back to Top

Lignes directrices en matière d'aménagement axé sur les transports en commun

Section 2.4 Création d'une forme urbaine axée sur les transports en commun

2.4.1 Disposition et orientation des bâtiments à l'intérieur d'un pâté de maisons

La disposition et l'orientation des bâtiments doivent contribuer à favoriser la création de rues et d'espaces ouverts adaptés aux piétons dans le but d'améliorer l'activité autour des arrêts et des stations ainsi que les liaisons avec ceux-ci.

Le fait de situer l'aménagement et les utilisations à plus forte densité à proximité d'un arrêt de transport en commun ne constitue pas toujours un aménagement axé sur les transports en commun. Pour être axés sur les transports en commun, les nouveaux aménagements et les collectivités existantes doivent traiter ces derniers comme un élément organisationnel central et viser à accroître le nombre d'usagers en orientant les bâtiments de façon que l'activité soit axée sur les rues et les espaces ouverts à l'intérieur et autour des arrêts et des stations de transport en commun. L'aménagement axé sur les transports en commun doit favoriser un niveau élevé de déplacements à pied et à bicyclette et contribuer à renforcer les liaisons entre les installations de transport en commun et les zones avoisinantes.

Les bâtiments peuvent aider à soutenir un environnement piétonnier actif grâce à un examen minutieux de la façon dont ils sont situés par rapport à la rue. La variété architecturale, notamment la création d'éléments architecturaux marquants pour que les bâtiments puissent servir de repères sur la rue et l'utilisation de fenêtres et de portes transparentes, peut contribuer à créer un milieu intéressant et invitant, raccourcissant les distances de marche perçues, aidant les piétons à se rendre jusqu'aux stations et encourageant des niveaux plus élevés d'activité piétonnière. Grâce au groupement et aux transitions en hauteur et en densité, les bâtiments peuvent permettre d'encadrer et d'enclore la rue, donnant aux zones un plus fort sentiment d'identité et contribuant à intégrer des zones de station à plus forte densité dans l'aménagement avoisinant.

La disposition et l'orientation des bâtiments peuvent contribuer à favoriser l'utilisation des transports en commun en concentrant l'activité à proximité des arrêts et des stations de transport en commun et en minimisant les répercussions du stationnement.

La disposition et l'orientation des bâtiments peuvent contribuer à favoriser l'utilisation des transports en commun en concentrant l'activité à proximité des arrêts et des stations de transport en commun et en minimisant les répercussions du stationnement.

Légende des stratégies
Échelle de collectivité applicable
Petite Petite
Moyenne Moyenne
Grande Grande
Grande ville Grande ville
Échelle de planification
Emplacement Emplacement
District District
Municipalité Municipalité
Région Région
Mesure écologique Mesure écologique

Stratégies :

rapport avec la rue

  1. Les nouveaux aménagements et les réaménagements doivent être orientés vers la rue et contribuer à créer un domaine public adapté aux piétons grâce aux mesures suivantes :
    • situer les bâtiments près du bord de la rue ou de la station de transport en commun de sorte qu'ils puissent encadrer la rue ou la zone de station et contribuer à l'activité piétonnière au niveau du sol;
    • orienter les principaux points d'entrée et les principales utilisations au niveau de la rue de manière à favoriser des niveaux plus élevés d'activités le long des principales voies piétonnières, à l'emplacement des arrêts ou des stations et des zones d'attente;
    • concevoir la façade des bâtiments en utilisant des vitrages, des fenêtres, des portes et autres éléments architecturaux « actifs » transparents de manière à interagir activement avec les rues et les espaces ouverts publics. Site Planning icon
  2. Les bâtiments qui comptent des utilisations actives au niveau de la rue doivent comporter de nombreuses entrées afin d'accroître la perméabilité. Site Planning icon
  3. Éviter les utilisations dans les cours arrière adjacentes aux artères, les longs murs pleins, les talus ou les hautes clôtures à proximité de la rue. Ces éléments limitent l'activité au niveau de la rue et empêchent la surveillance naturelle. Site Planning icon

L'orientation peu souhaitable des bâtiments (en haut) éloigne les entrées et les utilisations actives de la rue, tandis que le stationnement devient l'élément le plus visible du paysage de rue. Une orientation plus souhaitable des bâtiments (en bas) situe les utilisations actives et les entrées des bâtiments de manière à donner sur l'emprise, créant un mur de rue continu et un environnement piétonnier plus attrayant.

L'orientation peu souhaitable des bâtiments (en haut) éloigne les entrées et les utilisations actives de la rue, tandis que le stationnement devient l'élément le plus visible du paysage de rue. Une orientation plus souhaitable des bâtiments (en bas) situe les utilisations actives et les entrées des bâtiments de manière à donner sur l'emprise, créant un mur de rue continu et un environnement piétonnier plus attrayant.

Les longs murs pleins et les longues clôtures adjacentes à la rue créent un environnement désagréable pour les piétons, sans surveillance passive, où l'activité est limitée.

Les longs murs pleins et les longues clôtures adjacentes à la rue créent un environnement désagréable pour les piétons, sans surveillance passive, où l'activité est limitée.

Ressources recommandées

Urban Design Compendium (English Partnerships et Housing Corporation)

Transit Oriented Development Policy Guidelines (ville de Calgary)

réaction au contexte

  1. Favoriser les zones qui présentent des niveaux élevés d'activité piétonnière en construisant les bâtiments en retrait de la rue et en prévoyant des commodités pour les piétons comme des zones d'attente intégrées, des dispositifs d'éclairage et des abris contre les intempéries. Site Planning icon
  2. Situer les bâtiments à forte densité près des arrêts ou des stations de transport en commun afin de favoriser une plus grande diversité d'utilisations, des niveaux plus élevés d'activité piétonnière et l'utilisation des transports en commun. District Planning iconSite Planning icon
  3. Adapter l'échelle des bâtiments à leur contexte particulier. Les transitions à ce chapitre peuvent permettre des utilisations à plus forte densité près des arrêts et des stations de transport en commun tout en assurant une continuité sur les plans de l'échelle et du caractère des collectivités avoisinantes. Site Planning icon

intégration des transports en commun

  1. Le cas échéant, il faut profiter des possibilités d'intégrer les arrêts de transport en commun d'un niveau supérieur comme les stations de métro ou les stations de transport en commun rapide au soubassement des bâtiments. Site Planning iconLarge Community iconBig City icon

stationnement et accès

  1. Orienter l'accès des véhicules, le stationnement et les services de manière à minimiser les conflits avec les piétons et les répercussions sur les activités au niveau de la rue. Site Planning icon
  2. Coordonner les nouveaux aménagements avec les utilisations existantes et prévues de manière à regrouper les points d'accès des véhicules, à minimiser les bateaux de trottoirs et à partager les services. Site Planning icon
  3. Dans les aménagements plus importants qui nécessitent l'utilisation de voies de circulation ou d'allées internes, ces éléments doivent être organisés de manière à renforcer les liaisons entre les utilisations adjacentes et les installations de transport en commun et à un réseau serré de rues et de pâtés de maisons interreliés. Site Planning icon
  4. Faire en sorte que les passages pour piétons en section courante soient directs et bien éclairés et qu'ils donnent sur les utilisations adjacentes ou soient visibles à partir de celles-ci afin d'améliorer la sécurité et le confort des piétons. Site Planning icon

2.4.2 Conception des installations de stationnement

Situer et concevoir le stationnement de sorte qu'il puisse favoriser la création d'un domaine public actif et attrayant.

Les exigences de stationnement d'un environnement axé sur l'automobile peuvent souvent compliquer le passage à des schémas d'aménagement urbain à forte densité. Puisque les emplacements axés sur les transports en commun sont des environnements à densité élevée adaptés aux piétons à proximité des transports en commun, il faut alors modifier la façon dont le stationnement est autorisé, géré et conçu.

Il importe que la conception et l'emplacement du stationnement soient discrets et ne nuisent pas à la qualité et à la viabilité des rues et des espaces ouverts environnants. Cela est particulièrement important autour des arrêts de transport en commun et dans les zones de station où il a été démontré que la qualité de l'environnement piétonnier et l'activité au niveau de la rue ont une relation directe avec les niveaux d'utilisation des transports en commun, les perceptions de sécurité et la facilité d'accès. Dans les centres-villes et les zones à forte densité, cela entraîne une réduction considérable du stationnement en surface et son aménagement sous terre, dans des garages en élévation et (ou) à l'abri du regard des piétons derrière les bâtiments. Dans les grands parcs de stationnement en surface existants, la création d'une structure de rues et de pâtés à l'intérieur de ceux-ci peut contribuer à améliorer la connectivité pour les piétons, à établir des parcelles en vue d'un aménagement futur et à fournir davantage de places de stationnement dans la rue.

Ce parc de stationnement en surface à Portland (Oregon) est caché de la rue, permet la circulation des piétons et des cyclistes et incorpore des caractéristiques environnementales comme un revêtement perméable et des rigoles de drainage biologiques qui peuvent absorber et filtrer les eaux de ruissellement. Des places de stationnement accessibles ont été aménagées près de la principale entrée.

Ce parc de stationnement en surface à Portland (Oregon) est caché de la rue, permet la circulation des piétons et des cyclistes et incorpore des caractéristiques environnementales comme un revêtement perméable et des rigoles de drainage biologiques qui peuvent absorber et filtrer les eaux de ruissellement. Des places de stationnement accessibles ont été aménagées près de la principale entrée.

Stratégies :

parcs de stationnement en élévation

  1. Prévoir, dans la mesure du possible, des places de stationnement à l'intérieur des carrefours d'activités ou des couloirs dans des installations souterraines ou des parcs de stationnement en élévation afin de permettre un aménagement à forte densité et des utilisations actives au niveau de la rue. Site Planning iconLarge Community iconBig City icon
  2. Lorsque cela est possible, aménager les parcs de stationnement en surface dans des utilisations résidentielles ou commerciales de manière à masquer le stationnement et à accroître l'activité au niveau de la rue. Site Planning iconLarge Community iconBig City icon
  3. L'aménagement de rampes d'accès aux terrains en bordure des rues actives ou sur les principales voies piétonnières doit être découragé afin de minimiser les conflits entre les piétons et les véhicules. Site Planning icon
  4. Pour réduire l'impact visuel des parcs de stationnement en élévation le long d'une rue, traiter la façade comme celle d'un bâtiment actif (ligne directrice 2.4.1). Reproduire les caractéristiques de types de bâtiments plus actifs en utilisant notamment les techniques suivantes :
    • masquer les rampes diagonales et les plaques de stationnement non horizontales à l'aide d'éléments horizontaux;
    • masquer les voitures stationnées par des murs, des fenêtres ou des parapets;
    • incorporer au niveau du sol des utilisations actives qui peuvent contribuer à l'animation et à l'activité de la rue. Site Planning iconLarge Community iconBig City icon

Les parcs de stationnement en élévation doivent se fondre dans les utilisations actives pour masquer le stationnement du domaine public.

Les parcs de stationnement en élévation doivent se fondre dans les utilisations actives pour masquer le stationnement du domaine public.

Ressources recommandées

Parking Facilities (National Institute of Building Sciences)

Design Guidelines for Greening Surface Parking Lots (ville de Toronto)

stationnement dans la rue

  1. Le stationnement payant dans la rue peut minimiser le besoin de places de stationnement réservées, fournissant de l'espace aux visiteurs de courte durée et contribuant à favoriser les utilisations de vente au détail sur la rue principale. Le stationnement dans la rue à proximité des voies cyclables doit prévoir une largeur supplémentaire de 0,6 m, marquée par des lignes ou des hachures, afin de permettre l'ouverture des portes de voiture, ce qui pourrait nuire aux cyclistes (ligne directrice 2.2.4). District Planning icon

stationnement en surface

  1. Interdire le stationnement en surface entre un bâtiment et la rue à l'intérieur des carrefours d'activités ou des couloirs désignés. Site Planning icon
  2. Lorsque la situation et les coûts le permettent, en particulier aux endroits où il y a de grands parcs de stationnement, concevoir les parcs de stationnement en surface de manière à y inclure des aménagements réservés aux piétons, y compris des allées internes et des revêtements accordant la priorité aux piétons. Site Planning icon
  3. Dans les grands parcs de stationnement en surface existants, encourager l'aménagement à l'intérieur de ceux-ci d'un schéma de rues et de pâtés qui peut contribuer à améliorer l'accès des piétons, permet l'aménagement du paysage de rue et crée des parcelles à des fins d'aménagement intercalaire au fil du temps. Site Planning icon
  4. Dans les zones de croissance désignées et lorsque des densités plus élevées sont prévues, encourager les auteurs des demandes d'aménagement et des plans directeurs à démontrer comment les grands parcs de stationnement en surface peuvent être réaménagés au fil du temps. District Planning iconSite Planning icon
  5. Dans la conception des grands parcs de stationnement en surface, encourager l'intégration d'un éventail de caractéristiques environnementales, comme des panneaux solaires, des arbres d'ombrage, un revêtement perméable et des rigoles de drainage biologiques qui peuvent absorber et filtrer les eaux de ruissellement. Voir la ligne directrice 2.5.2 pour connaître les autres mesures qui permettent d'assurer la viabilité des installations de stationnement. Site Planning iconGreen Action icon

2.4.3 Densification des zones de station

La planification des zones de station doit prendre en compte les possibilités de densification au fil du temps.

Les zones de station offrent des possibilités d'aménagement axé sur les transports en commun, en plus d'attirer de nouveaux usagers et de générer des revenus dont ont grandement besoin les fournisseurs de transport en commun aux prises avec des contraintes financières. Un grand nombre de ces zones sont sous-utilisées, une partie importante des terrains étant réservée au stationnement en surface. De plus, la conception et l'emplacement des installations dans les zones de station peuvent rendre difficile la mise en place de nouvelles utilisations. L'accès restreint découlant de l'infrastructure de transport en commun et la présence de multiples autorités responsables à l'intérieur de la zone peuvent aussi compliquer les choses.

Le fait de reconnaître les possibilités de densification des zones de station et de planifier en conséquence peut permettre de concevoir et de situer les installations et l'infrastructure de façon qu'elles ne réduisent pas le potentiel d'aménagement à long terme de la zone.

Densification par étapes autour d'une station de transport en commun d'Oakville (Ontario). La création d'une vision qui établit un cadre de densification graduelle de la zone de station peut faire en sorte que les décisions à court terme n'excluent pas les possibilités d'aménagement à long terme de la zone en question.

Densification par étapes autour d'une station de transport en commun d'Oakville (Ontario). La création d'une vision qui établit un cadre de densification graduelle de la zone de station peut faire en sorte que les décisions à court terme n'excluent pas les possibilités d'aménagement à long terme de la zone en question.

Stratégies :

généralités

  1. Veiller à ce que tout nouvel aménagement à l'intérieur des zones de station soit axé sur les transports en commun (ligne directrice 2.4.1), incorporant des utilisations actives à l'avant des zones piétonnières, aidant à intégrer la zone aux quartiers avoisinants et favorisant les possibilités de nouvelles utilisations et de densification plus poussée au fil du temps. District Planning iconSite Planning icon
  2. Les municipalités et les organismes de transport en commun doivent examiner les possibilités de densification des zones de station au moment de la planification des nouveaux investissements afin de faire en sorte qu'ils soutiennent les possibilités de densification des aménagements à long terme. District Planning icon
  3. Soupeser les avantages d'un nouvel aménagement sur les terrains de la station par rapport aux répercussions sur l'accès et les activités. District Planning icon
  4. Les organismes de transport en commun doivent désigner les stations qui présentent des possibilités de densification plus poussée et leur accorder la priorité. Accorder la priorité aux stations où la densification pourrait générer des niveaux plus élevés d'utilisation des transports en commun ou améliorerait la relation entre la station et ses environs, renforcerait les liaisons et fournirait des commodités améliorées aux usagers des transports en commun. Regional Planning iconMunicipal Planning icon

Un parc de stationnement mal situé crée des parcelles d’aménagement peu pratiques qui sont trop petites pour permettre la densification de la zone de station.

Un parc de stationnement mal situé crée des parcelles d’aménagement peu pratiques qui sont trop petites pour permettre la densification de la zone de station.

En situant les installations de stationnement de façon stratégique, on peut préserver les possibilités de densification à long terme de la zone.

En situant les installations de stationnement de façon stratégique, on peut préserver les possibilités de densification à long terme de la zone.

processus de planification

  1. La création de documents de visualisation peut s'avérer utile pour la planification de la densification des zones de station en établissant les attentes de l'organisme de transport en commun et en créant un point de départ pour les discussions avec les partenaires des projets d'aménagement. Un tel document doit :
    • déterminer pour la zone de station une vision à long terme qui est à la fois compatible avec le schéma d'aménagement des environs et conforme aux directives de planification locales;
    • établir un cadre de densification graduelle de la zone tout en abordant et en préservant les besoins des services de transport en commun, y compris les zones d’embarquement et de débarquement, les commodités pour les passagers et les places de stationnement gérées;
    • désigner les parcelles d'aménagement éventuelles et les caractéristiques souhaitées d'aménagement connexe, y compris la forme bâtie appropriée, les caractéristiques du domaine public, les réseaux de transport, les principales liaisons et les caractéristiques d'utilisation des sols;
    • énoncer les grandes lignes d'une stratégie de mise en œuvre de la vision qui contribue à orienter les investissements à la fois publics et privés à l'intérieur de la zone. Municipal Planning iconDistrict Planning icon

haut de page  


Retour en haut de page