Transit-Supportive Guidelines

Section 2.1 Layout of Local Streets and Open Spaces

2.1.1 Local Street and Block Pattern

The local street and block pattern should be designed as an interconnected grid network aimed at maximizing connectivity for all travel modes and minimizing travel distances to surrounding streets, uses and open spaces.

A key factor in the creation of transit-supportive environments is the establishment of a well connected street system capable of accommodating diverse transportation modes including walking, cycling, transit and the private automobile. Transit users are sensitive to the distance they must walk or ride their bike to reach a transit stop or station, and long, circuitous routes will discourage travel to and from transit services even if the quality and frequency of transit service is good. While mid-block walkways can sometimes help compensate for a disconnected street network, these must be designed for safe, year-round use with appropriate lighting and maintenance to ensure that they are appealing to a range of users.

Streets in transit-supportive places bring together and balance a wide range of users, from pedestrians and cyclists to private vehicle drivers, in a setting that is highly visible and connected to the uses around them. Establishing a grid pattern of streets and blocks with a high street intersection density that maximizes connectivity and links with both the existing and proposed networks of streets will create multiple options for moving between destinations. This can provide more direct connections with transit services along arterial and collector streets and minimize travel times for pedestrians and cyclists.

Walkable neighbourhoods typically have a higher number of intersections per hectare (iph). Achieving an intersection density of 0.6 iph or higher in nodes and corridors will help create multiple options for moving between destinations, enhancing connections between transit services and nearby uses.

Walkable neighbourhoods typically have a higher number of intersections per hectare (iph). Achieving an intersection density of 0.6 iph or higher in nodes and corridors will help create multiple options for moving between destinations, enhancing connections between transit services and nearby uses.

Strategies Legend
Applicable Community Scale
Small Community icon Small
Mid-size Community icon Mid-size
Large Community icon Large
Big City icon Big City
Planning Scale
Site Planning icon Site
District Planning icon District
Municipal Planning icon Municipal
Regional Planning icon Regional
Green Action icon Green Action

Strategies:

layout

  1. Establish an interconnected network of streets in new developments and retrofit existing areas (Guideline 1.1.4) to maximize routing options between destinations.Municipal Planning iconDistrict Planning iconSite Planning icon
  2. Extend new streets and block connections across property lines and design networks to link with existing and proposed streets within the community.District Planning iconSite Planning icon
  3. Design or retrofit street networks so that a significant majority of residents or jobs (e.g. 90%) are located within a 400 m (approximately 5 minutes) or less walk from a transit stop.District Planning iconSite Planning icon
  4. Achieve a street intersection density of greater than 0.3 intersections per hectare (iph), with higher street intersection densities of over 0.6 intersections per hectare in mixed-use nodes and corridors.District Planning iconSite Planning icon

Street Intersection Density

One measure of a local street and block network is its street intersection density. The street intersection density considers the number of intersections within a given area and is a useful way of comparing the walkability of one area against another. Generally, the higher the street intersection density the greater potential the area has to become a walkable environment.

Travel and the Built Environment: A Meta-Analysis (Ewing and Cervero)

A rear access lane permits this housing in Markham to face onto a limited access arterial road.

A rear access lane permits this housing in Markham to face onto a limited access arterial road.

Recommended Resources

Case Study: Station Intensification

Urban Design Compendium, Volume 1 (English Partnerships and the Housing Corporation)

physical design

  1. Minimize block lengths to promote greater connectivity and enhance the walkability of neighbourhoods. Generally, residential blocks should be less than 250 m along their longest side, with maximum block lengths of 120 m in mixed-use activity nodes and corridors.District Planning iconSite Planning icon
  2. Design local streets to minimize the need for backtracking and provide direct pedestrian access to primary streets, transit stops and stations where possible.District Planning iconSite Planning icon
  3. Avoid the creation of dead-end streets or cul-de-sacs to maximize street connectivity.District Planning iconSite Planning icon
  4. Avoid the creation of lay-by lanes which result in increased street widths and decreased pedestrian space within the sidewalk and boulevard area of the street. While generally not desired, there may be circumstances such as at elementary schools or daycares where high numbers of drop-offs and legitimate passenger safety concerns may require the use of lay-by lanes to facilitate passenger drop-off and pick up.District Planning iconSite Planning icon

pedestrian access

  1. Avoid the use of window streets, which double up road infrastructure and pull uses away from the street. Where limited access is required, buildings facing onto streets should be accessed via a rear drive or lane.Regional Planning iconMunicipal Planning iconDistrict Planning iconSite Planning icon
  2. Where it is not possible for the layout of streets and blocks to achieve the walking distance criteria, a mid-block connection or pedestrian pathway can be used to minimize walking distances. These should be:
    • constructed of durable, non-slip materials;
    • direct, visible from adjacent uses and illuminated at night to enhance personal safety; and
    • maintained year-round and cleared of snow and ice during winter months.District Planning iconSite Planning icon

2.1.2 Open Space Networks

Planning for new and existing open space networks should be coordinated with existing and planned transit systems to strengthen connections to and from transit services and enhance the experience of transit users.

Open space networks are linked parks, plazas, natural areas, and bicycle/walking trails. The layout and design of a community’s open spaces can help to support transit use by enhancing connections between the community and its transit network, integrating stations into their surroundings and improving the experience for transit users. Plazas, parks, and trails help to make higher-density, transit-supportive environments more attractive and liveable. When provided in conjunction with higher-density, mixed-use development along a route or corridor, open space systems can be important generators of activity, encouraging people to take transit rather than drive to reach recreational activities.

From a commuting perspective, the creation and/or coordination of a comprehensive park and open space network that is linked to transit stops and station areas is an important opportunity to strengthen connections between a community and its transit system. Linking a transit system to a network of parks and open spaces can provide access for users to off-street pedestrian and cycling trail systems, extending the reach of station catchment areas. At the scale of the station, the introduction of new plazas or other open spaces represents an opportunity to strengthen the identity of the station and surrounding area as a neighbourhood and community hub, enhance local connectivity and provide a place for amenities such as seating, public art or cycling facilities.

Where planned investments in transit result in a grade-separated rights-of-way, the creation of a transit-side trail system is an excellent way to enhance connections for pedestrians and cyclists leading to and from stations. The MetroBikeLink in St Clair County, Illinois (above), connects urban and regional open spaces along the MetroLink transit line.

Where planned investments in transit result in a grade-separated rights-of-way, the creation of a transit-side trail system is an excellent way to enhance connections for pedestrians and cyclists leading to and from stations. The MetroBikeLink in St Clair County, Illinois (above), connects urban and regional open spaces along the MetroLink transit line.

Strategies:

layout

  1. Extend existing park and open space networks, where possible, to link with transit stops and station areas.Regional Planning iconMunicipal Planning iconDistrict Planning iconSite Planning icon
  2. Where planned transit investments occur off-street, along green corridors or in utility rights-of-way, explore the potential for the transit corridors to act as an extension of the community’s open space network. Strategies could include:
    • the creation of a transit-side multi-use trail connecting with existing trails and open spaces along the route; andGreen Action icon
    • landscaping the transit corridor to create a planted greenway that results in a more positive experience for users and enhances the image of the system.Municipal Planning iconDistrict Planning iconSite Planning iconGreen Action icon
  3. Pursue opportunities to co-locate destination open spaces and transit networks to enable access to these areas by transit, while taking into consideration compatibility and safety measures where appropriate.Municipal Planning iconDistrict Planning iconSite Planning iconGreen Action icon

San Francisco: Transit and Trails

The Transit and Trails program run by the Bay Area’s Open Space Council connects transit users with local open space networks. A unique web-based trip planner helps users plan their outings by enabling them to search for parks or trails and identifying how to get there on public transit. Users can search trailheads and preset trips and share trip experiences online.

Transit and Trails Program (Bay Area Open Space Council)

Extending park and open space networks to connect with station areas can help to extend station catchment areas by strengthening connections between surrounding neighbourhoods and the transit system. Networks can be extended over time through targeted streetscape improvements, the extension of pathways through existing public easements or through the development approvals process in negotiation with area developers.

Extending park and open space networks to connect with station areas can help to extend station catchment areas by strengthening connections between surrounding neighbourhoods and the transit system. Networks can be extended over time through targeted streetscape improvements, the extension of pathways through existing public easements or through the development approvals process in negotiation with area developers.

Recommended Resources

Urban Design Compendium Volume 1 (English Partnerships and the Housing Corporation)

transit plazas

  1. Explore the creation of a station-related open space at regional destinations or at stations along rapid transit corridors to:
    • enhance connections between a surrounding neighbourhood and the station area;
    • provide a quality location through design and use of high-quality materials for user amenities such as wayfinding, public art and/or seating and support ancillary uses such as coffee shops and convenience stores;
    • provide a location for cycling-supportive facilities such as racks, lockers and drinking fountains; and
    • strengthen the identity of the station and surrounding area as a destination and community hub.District Planning iconSite Planning icon

planning strategies

  1. Coordinate the planning of new parks and open spaces alongside the planning of new transit systems and/or facilities to maximize mutual benefit.Municipal Planning iconDistrict Planning iconGreen Action icon
  2. Include information on local open spaces and amenities such as recreational facilities in transit websites and other resources, and provide transit links on websites to help residents plan their outings without having to take their cars.Regional Planning iconMunicipal Planning icon
  3. The design of large destination open spaces should support public transit by locating amenities such as washrooms and restaurants where they are easily accessible to transit users. Higher traffic generating uses should be located in closer proximity to transit services.Regional Planning iconMunicipal Planning icon
  4. Account for seasonal variations in open space usage and special events in service scheduling so that there is a higher level of service during peak periods or seasons.Municipal Planning icon

Back to Top

Lignes directrices en matière d'aménagement axé sur les transports en commun

Section 2.1 Disposition des rues locales et des espaces ouverts

2.1.1 Schéma local de rues et de pâtés de maisons

Le schéma local de rues et de pâtés de maisons doit être conçu comme un réseau en grille interrelié visant à maximiser la connectivité de tous les modes de transport et à minimiser les distances à parcourir vers les rues, les utilisations et les espaces ouverts environnants.

L'un des facteurs clés de la création de milieux axés sur les transports en commun est la mise en place d'un réseau routier bien relié capable d'accueillir divers modes de transport, dont la marche, la bicyclette, les transports en commun et la voiture particulière. Les usagers des transports en commun ne sont pas indifférents à la distance qu'ils doivent parcourir à pied ou à bicyclette pour se rendre à un arrêt ou à une station de transport en commun et les trajets longs et sinueux les dissuaderont d'utiliser les services de transport en commun même si la qualité et la fréquence de ces derniers sont bonnes. Bien que les passages pour piétons en section courante puissent parfois contribuer à compenser un réseau routier discontinu, ils doivent être conçus de manière qu'on puisse les utiliser en toute sécurité toute l'année, être dotés d'un éclairage approprié et être bien entretenus afin de faire en sorte qu'ils soient attrayants pour tout un éventail d'usagers.

Les rues aménagées dans des endroits axés sur les transports en commun rassemblent et équilibrent une grande diversité d'usagers, allant des piétons aux cyclistes et aux automobilistes, dans un emplacement très visible et relié aux utilisations avoisinantes. La création d'un schéma de rues et de pâtés de maisons disposé en échiquier où la densité d'intersections est élevée, qui maximise la connectivité et qui est lié aux réseaux routiers existants et proposés créera de nombreuses options de déplacement entre les destinations. Cela peut offrir des liaisons plus directes avec les services de transport en commun le long des artères et des rues collectrices et minimiser les temps de déplacement pour les piétons et les cyclistes.

Les quartiers piétonniers comptent habituellement un nombre plus élevé d'intersections par hectare (iph). La réalisation d'une densité d'intersections de 0,6 iph ou plus dans les carrefours d'activités et les couloirs permettra de créer de nombreuses options de déplacement entre les destinations, améliorant les liaisons entre les services de transport en commun et les utilisations situées à proximité.

Les quartiers piétonniers comptent habituellement un nombre plus élevé d'intersections par hectare (iph). La réalisation d'une densité d'intersections de 0,6 iph ou plus dans les carrefours d'activités et les couloirs permettra de créer de nombreuses options de déplacement entre les destinations, améliorant les liaisons entre les services de transport en commun et les utilisations situées à proximité.

Légende des stratégies
Échelle de collectivité applicable
Petite Petite
Moyenne Moyenne
Grande Grande
Grande ville Grande ville
Échelle de planification
Emplacement Emplacement
District District
Municipalité Municipalité
Région Région
Mesure écologique Mesure écologique

Stratégies :

disposition

  1. Établir un réseau interrelié de rues dans les nouvelles zones d'aménagement et améliorer les zones existantes (ligne directrice 1.1.4) afin de maximiser les choix de trajets entre les destinations.Municipal Planning iconDistrict Planning iconSite Planning icon
  2. Aménager les nouvelles rues et les liens entre les pâtés de maisons au-delà des limites de propriété et concevoir les réseaux de façon à les relier aux rues existantes et proposées au sein de la collectivité. District Planning iconSite Planning icon
  3. Concevoir ou améliorer les réseaux routiers de manière que la grande majorité des résidants ou des emplois (p. ex., 90 %) soient situés à une distance de marche de 400 m (environ 5 minutes) ou moins d'un arrêt de transport en commun. District Planning iconSite Planning icon
  4. Réaliser une densité d'intersections supérieure à 0,3 intersection par hectare (iph) et des densités d'intersections supérieures à 0,6 intersection par hectare dans les carrefours d'activités et les couloirs diversifiés. District Planning iconSite Planning icon

Densité d'intersections

L'une des mesures d'un réseau local de rues et de pâtés de maisons est sa densité d'intersections. Cette dernière tient compte du nombre d'intersections à l'intérieur d'une zone donnée et constitue un moyen utile de comparer le potentiel piétonnier d'une zone par rapport à une autre. En règle générale, plus la densité d'intersections est élevée, plus la zone a la possibilité de devenir un milieu propice à la marche.

Travel and the Built Environment: A Meta-Analysis (Ewing et Cervero)

Une voie d'accès arrière permet à ces habitations de Markham de donner sur une artère à accès limité.

Une voie d'accès arrière permet à ces habitations de Markham de donner sur une artère à accès limité.

Ressources recommandées

Étude de cas : densification des stations

Urban Design Compendium, volume 1 (English Partnerships and the Housing Corporation)

conception physique

  1. Minimiser la longueur des pâtés de maisons afin de promouvoir une meilleure connectivité et d'améliorer le potentiel piétonnier des quartiers. En règle générale, le côté le plus long des pâtés de maisons situés dans des zones résidentielles devrait mesurer moins de 250 m et les pâtés situés dans des carrefours d'activité et des couloirs diversifiés devraient avoir une longueur maximale de 120 m. District Planning iconSite Planning icon
  2. Concevoir les rues locales de manière à minimiser le besoin de revenir en arrière et, dans la mesure du possible, fournir un accès piétonnier direct aux rues principales ainsi qu'aux arrêts et aux stations de transport en commun. District Planning iconSite Planning icon
  3. Éviter la création de culs-de-sac ou d'impasses afin de maximiser la connectivité des rues. District Planning iconSite Planning icon
  4. Éviter la création de points d'arrêt qui entraînent l'élargissement des rues et la diminution de l'espace réservé aux piétons dans la zone occupée par le trottoir et la bordure. Bien que cela ne soit généralement pas souhaitable, il peut y avoir des circonstances, comme dans le cas des écoles primaires ou des garderies, où le grand nombre de gens descendant de voiture et les préoccupations légitimes en matière de sécurité peuvent exiger l'utilisation de points d'arrêt dans le but de faciliter le débarquement et le ramassage de passagers. District Planning iconSite Planning icon

accès piétonnier

  1. Éviter l'utilisation de rues de desserte qui dédoublent l'infrastructure routière et éloignent les utilisations de la rue. Là où l'accès doit être limité, il faut accéder aux bâtiments dont la façade donne sur la rue par une allée ou une voie arrière. Regional Planning iconMunicipal Planning iconDistrict Planning iconSite Planning icon
  2. Lorsque la disposition des rues et des pâtés de maisons ne peut respecter le critère relatif aux distances de marche, un passage pour piétons en section courante ou une allée piétonnière peut être utilisé pour minimiser ces distances. Ils doivent être :
    • construits avec des matériaux durables et antidérapants;
    • directs, visibles à partir des utilisations adjacentes et éclairés la nuit pour accroître la sécurité des personnes;
    • entretenus toute l'année et déneigés et déglacés pendant les mois d'hiver. District Planning iconSite Planning icon

2.1.2 Réseaux d'espaces ouverts

La planification des réseaux d'espaces ouverts nouveaux et existants doit être coordonnée avec les réseaux de transport en commun existants et prévus afin de renforcer les liaisons avec les services de transport en commun et d'améliorer l'expérience des usagers de ces derniers.

Les réseaux d'espaces ouverts sont constitués de parcs, de places publiques, de zones naturelles ainsi que de pistes cyclables et de sentiers pédestres qui sont reliés. La disposition et la conception des espaces ouverts d'une collectivité peuvent contribuer à favoriser l'utilisation des transports en commun en améliorant les liaisons entre la collectivité et son réseau de transport en commun, en intégrant les stations dans leur milieu environnant et en améliorant l'expérience des usagers des transports en commun. Les places publiques, les parcs et les sentiers contribuent à faire en sorte que les milieux à forte densité axés sur les transports en commun soient plus attrayants et supportables. Lorsqu'ils sont conçus dans le cadre d'une urbanisation diversifiée à forte densité le long d'une route ou d'un couloir, les systèmes d'espaces ouverts peuvent être d'importantes sources d'activité, encourageant les gens à utiliser les transports en commun plutôt que leur voiture pour se rendre à des activités récréatives.

Du point de vue du navettage, la création ou la coordination d'un réseau complet de parcs et d'espaces ouverts qui est relié aux arrêts et aux stations de transport en commun présente une occasion importante de renforcer les liaisons entre une collectivité et son réseau de transport en commun. La liaison d'un réseau de transport en commun à un réseau de parcs et d'espaces ouverts peut fournir aux usagers un accès aux sentiers pédestres et aux pistes cyclables hors rue, ce qui élargit la portée des zones desservies par les stations. À l'échelle de la station, l'aménagement de nouvelles places publiques ou autres espaces ouverts présente une occasion de renforcer l'identité de la station et de la zone avoisinante en tant que carrefour communautaire de quartier, d'améliorer la connectivité locale et de fournir un endroit où aménager notamment des places assises ou des installations pour cyclistes ou encore exposer des œuvres d'art.

Lorsque les investissements prévus dans les transports en commun donnent lieu à l'aménagement d'emprises séparées, la création d'un réseau de sentiers près des voies de transport en commun est une excellente façon d'améliorer les liaisons piétonnières et cyclables qui mènent aux stations et en proviennent. Le MetroBikeLink dans le comté de St Clair en Illinois (ci-dessus) relie les espaces ouverts urbains et régionaux le long de la ligne de transport en commun MetroLink.

Lorsque les investissements prévus dans les transports en commun donnent lieu à l'aménagement d'emprises séparées, la création d'un réseau de sentiers près des voies de transport en commun est une excellente façon d'améliorer les liaisons piétonnières et cyclables qui mènent aux stations et en proviennent. Le MetroBikeLink dans le comté de St Clair en Illinois (ci-dessus) relie les espaces ouverts urbains et régionaux le long de la ligne de transport en commun MetroLink.

Stratégies :

disposition

  1. Agrandir les réseaux existants de parcs et d'espaces ouverts, dans la mesure du possible, afin de les relier aux arrêts et aux stations de transport en commun. Regional Planning iconMunicipal Planning iconDistrict Planning iconSite Planning icon
  2. Lorsque les investissements prévus dans les transports en commun sont effectués hors rue, le long de couloirs verts ou dans des emprises de services publics, évaluer la possibilité de se servir des couloirs de transport en commun pour élargir le réseau d'espaces ouverts de la collectivité. Les stratégies pourraient comprendre :
    • la création d'un sentier polyvalent près des voies de transport en commun qui est relié aux sentiers existants et aux espaces ouverts le long du trajet; Green Action icon
    • l'aménagement du couloir de transport en commun de manière à créer un couloir vert planté qui entraîne une expérience plus positive pour les usagers et améliore l'image du réseau. Municipal Planning iconDistrict Planning iconSite Planning iconGreen Action icon
  3. Profiter des occasions de regrouper les espaces ouverts des lieux de destination et les réseaux de transport en commun afin de permettre l'accès à ces zones par les transports en commun, tout en tenant compte de la compatibilité et des mesures de sécurité, le cas échéant. Municipal Planning iconDistrict Planning iconSite Planning iconGreen Action icon

San Francisco : transport en commun et sentiers

Le programme Transit and Trails géré par le Bay Area Open Space Council relie les usagers des transports en commun aux réseaux locaux d'espaces ouverts. Un planificateur de trajet en ligne unique en son genre aide les usagers à planifier leurs sorties en leur permettant de chercher des parcs ou des sentiers et de déterminer comment s'y rendre par les transports en commun. Les usagers peuvent chercher les débuts de sentiers, préétablir les trajets et partager leurs expériences de voyage en ligne.

Transit and Trails Program (Bay Area Open Space Council)

Le prolongement des réseaux de parcs et d'espaces ouverts pour les relier aux stations peut contribuer à agrandir les zones desservies par ces dernières en renforçant les liaisons entre les quartiers avoisinants et le réseau de transport en commun. Les réseaux peuvent être agrandis au fil du temps grâce à l'amélioration ciblée des paysages de rue, au prolongement des sentiers en se servant des servitudes publiques existantes ou du processus d'approbation de l'aménagement en négociation avec les promoteurs.

Le prolongement des réseaux de parcs et d'espaces ouverts pour les relier aux stations peut contribuer à agrandir les zones desservies par ces dernières en renforçant les liaisons entre les quartiers avoisinants et le réseau de transport en commun. Les réseaux peuvent être agrandis au fil du temps grâce à l'amélioration ciblée des paysages de rue, au prolongement des sentiers en se servant des servitudes publiques existantes ou du processus d'approbation de l'aménagement en négociation avec les promoteurs.

Ressources recommandées

Urban Design Compendium, volume 1 (English Partnerships and the Housing Corporation)

places de transit

  1. Examiner la création d'un espace ouvert près de la station des destinations régionales ou des stations situées le long des couloirs de transport en commun rapide afin :
    • d'améliorer les liaisons entre un quartier environnant et la station;
    • de fournir un endroit de qualité sur le plan de la conception et de l'utilisation de matériaux de grande qualité pour les commodités offertes aux usagers, telles que la signalisation, l'art civique et (ou) les places assises, et favoriser les utilisations accessoires comme les cafés et les dépanneurs;
    • de fournir un endroit pour les installations axées sur la bicyclette telles que les supports, les armoires et les fontaines à eau potable;
    • de renforcer l'identité de la station et de la zone avoisinante en tant que destination et carrefour communautaire. District Planning iconSite Planning icon

stratégies de planification

  1. Coordonner la planification des nouveaux parcs et espaces ouverts avec celle des nouveaux réseaux de transport en commun et (ou) des nouvelles installations afin de maximiser les avantages mutuels. Municipal Planning iconDistrict Planning iconGreen Action icon
  2. Inclure des renseignements sur les espaces ouverts locaux et les commodités, telles que les installations récréatives, sur les sites Web des réseaux de transport en commun et autres ressources et fournir des liens sur le transport en commun sur les sites Web afin d'aider les résidants à planifier leurs sorties sans qu'ils aient à prendre leur voiture. Regional Planning iconMunicipal Planning icon
  3. La conception de grands espaces ouverts dans les lieux de destination doit appuyer le transport en commun en plaçant les commodités, comme les toilettes et les restaurants, là où elles sont facilement accessibles aux usagers des transports en commun. Les utilisations générant une circulation accrue doivent être situées à proximité immédiate des services de transport en commun. Regional Planning iconMunicipal Planning icon
  4. Tenir compte des variations saisonnières en ce qui a trait à l'utilisation des espaces ouverts et aux événements spéciaux au moment d'établir les horaires de passage afin de faire en sorte qu'il y ait un niveau de service plus élevé pendant les périodes ou les saisons de pointe. Municipal Planning icon

haut de page  


Retour en haut de page