Transit-Supportive Guidelines

Section 2.5 Parking Management

2.5.1 Parking Management Strategies

A range of parking strategies should be implemented in and around station areas to encourage a shift away from higher levels of automobile use and minimize the impacts of parking on the public realm.

The transition from an automobile-dependent environment to one that is transit-supportive can be a slow process occurring over many years. Strategies to accommodate parking will be required to support that transitional period and assist in shifting modal split and enabling the emergence of a more pedestrian-friendly transit-supportive environment.

While parking may be required in stop and station areas, the over provision of free or low cost parking and creation of areas that are dominated by parking infrastructure can have a negative impact on ridership and the pedestrian environment as well as providing an incentive for single-occupant vehicle use. An effective parking management strategy should be multi-faceted, providing a range of parking options suited to different users while acknowledging that the end goal is a reduction in overall auto use and an increase in more active, shared forms of transportation. To be effective, parking strategies must be tied to the availability of good transit service. In the absence of good service, businesses that will remain largely dependant on vehicular traffic can suffer and adjacent areas without management strategies in place can experience increased levels of traffic and parking demand as drivers seek to avoid paying higher costs.

Markham’s shared parking policy identifies a series of occupancy rates for different uses at three time periods throughout the day. When there is an opportunity for two adjacent uses to share parking, the total parking required in the zoning for each use is first multiplied by the applicable occupancy rates (above). This determines the parking requirements for each use during each of the three time periods. The sum of the parking requirements for the two adjacent uses at each time period are then added to give combined parking requirements for each time period. The largest of these three sums becomes the minimum shared parking requirement.

Markham’s shared parking policy identifies a series of occupancy rates for different uses at three time periods throughout the day. When there is an opportunity for two adjacent uses to share parking, the total parking required in the zoning for each use is first multiplied by the applicable occupancy rates (above). This determines the parking requirements for each use during each of the three time periods. The sum of the parking requirements for the two adjacent uses at each time period are then added to give combined parking requirements for each time period. The largest of these three sums becomes the minimum shared parking requirement.

Strategies Legend
Applicable Community Scale
Small Community icon Small
Mid-size Community icon Mid-size
Large Community icon Large
Big City icon Big City
Planning Scale
Site Planning icon Site
District Planning icon District
Municipal Planning icon Municipal
Regional Planning icon Regional
Green Action icon Green Action

Strategies:

reducing demand

  1. Require large developments, institutions and employers to submit transportation demand management (TDM) strategies as a component of the site plan approval process. These could include a range of features such as car share spaces, cycling facilities or programs such as a carpool strategy, emergency ride home program, private shuttle services and transit fare incentives. Also see Guideline 3.5.5.Municipal Planning iconDistrict Planning iconSite Planning icon
  2. Encourage existing uses to implement TDM strategies by showcasing examples of local developments, institutions or businesses that have incorporated similar measures. Local business improvement associations could be approached to assist in implementing TDM strategies.Municipal Planning icon
  3. Permit reductions in maximum and minimum parking requirements once TDM measures are adopted. Reduce or eliminate maximum and minimum parking standards for small scale retail uses and ground floor commercial uses near transit routes and designed to cater to pedestrian traffic.District Planning iconSite Planning icon

Shared parking and access between uses can help to balance parking fluctuations and reduce the overall need for parking spaces within a development or neighbourhood context.

Shared parking and access between uses can help to balance parking fluctuations and reduce the overall need for parking spaces within a development or neighbourhood context.

The use of real-time parking displays, such as this one in Germany, can help to maximise existing shared parking resources by informing drivers of the location of available spaces within a structure or district.

The use of real-time parking displays, such as this one in Germany, can help to maximise existing shared parking resources by informing drivers of the location of available spaces within a structure or district.

maximizing resources

  1. Encourage shared parking arrangements between uses to reduce the need for parking spaces within a development.Site Planning icon
  2. Maximize the use of street parking to reduce the need for stand alone surface or structured parking. Use daily rates rather than monthly rates in structured parking to reduce parking demand. Street parking can be maximized through flexible stall spacing that will enable smaller cars to occupy less space, meters that encourage vehicle turnover, and the use of time restrictions.District Planning icon
  3. The use of off-peak street parking on arterials and collectors can enable parking in places that may be congested during peak periods. When locating on-street parking, consider the width available for cyclists to pass parked cars safely as drivers open their car doors.District Planning iconSite Planning icon

standards

  1. Explore the potential for more compact parking standards that can enhance the efficiency of existing lots.Municipal Planning iconDistrict Planning iconSite Planning icon
  2. Evaluate and consider reductions in minimum and maximum parking supply requirements near transit routes. Establish parking supply standards appropriate to existing and planned densities, mix of uses, existing and planned levels of transit service and modal split. Review standards on a regular basis and change as appropriate.Municipal Planning iconDistrict Planning iconSite Planning icon
  3. Permit off-site, shared and existing on-street parking to count toward parking requirements.Municipal Planning iconDistrict Planning iconSite Planning icon

planning strategies

  1. The establishment of parking improvement districts can be used to direct net or surplus revenues from paid parking lots back into the district. These revenues can contribute to the development of more shared parking facilities, snow removal, or other parking related infrastructure. Additional funding for these could be partially achieved through a cash in lieu policy on area developments.District Planning iconSite Planning icon

2.5.2 Priority Parking Users

Encourage priority parking programs that promote a shift to higher vehicle occupancy and greater use of more efficient and sustainable modes of transportation.

Large cars and single-occupant vehicles use more resources than smaller and more efficient alternatives, both in terms of space for parking and their impact upon the environment. In areas where parking spaces are limited, such as station areas and around major stops, giving priority to preferred users such as carpool users and vehicles that occupy less space can be a strong incentive, promoting more space efficient modes of transportation. If four users occupy a single parking space, they are in essence freeing up three additional spaces for other users, maximizing the efficiency of existing parking and minimizing the need for additional spaces. The effectiveness of priority measures will be dependent on proper enforcement to ensure that priority spaces are not being occupied by unauthorized vehicles. Priority measures should be assessed on a regular basis for effectiveness and enforcement strategies planned accordingly.

Providing incentives for more space efficient modes of transportation is inherently sustainable. In addition, it can be beneficial to provide priority for more environmentally friendly forms of private transportation, such as bicycles, hybrid vehicles or electric cars in order to promote more sustainable transportation solutions.

Parking spaces also need to be designed for universal access. Ontario’s Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (2005) will require municipalities and transit agencies to meet standards for accessible parking spaces under the Built Environment Standard. Guideline 3.4.1 provides resources and links to Ontario’s accessibility policies and legislation as they develop and are implemented.

The Dow Jones Princeton campus has 60 preferred parking spaces for cars with high miles per gallon (36 mpg or higher) and carpoolers.

The Dow Jones Princeton campus has 60 preferred parking spaces for cars with high miles per gallon (36 mpg or higher) and carpoolers.

Strategies:

parking priority

  1. Locational priority should be given to accessible parking spaces as well as carpool and alternative energy vehicles such as hybrid or electric cars at stations and within municipally-owned parking lots in and around station areas.Municipal Planning iconDistrict Planning iconSite Planning iconGreen Action icon
  2. The provision of charging stations at priority locations within station areas can help support electric vehicle use. This enables users to charge their vehicles while travelling via transit.Site Planning iconGreen Action icon
  3. Where parking spaces are limited, consider the provision of priority parking for cyclists, scooters, motorcycles and small cars, which occupy less space, as an incentive to encourage the most efficient use of parking areas.Site Planning icon
  4. Prioritizing cyclists and integrating cycling facilities in parking lots at major stops and station areas can help promote higher levels of cycling access. Strategies to promote and enhance access for cyclists can be found in Guideline 2.2.4.District Planning iconSite Planning icon

The prioritization of scooters and motorcycles at this GO Transit Station in Ajax helps to encourage the use of vehicles that require less space to accommodate.

The prioritization of scooters and motorcycles at this GO Transit Station in Ajax helps to encourage the use of vehicles that require less space to accommodate.

Recommended Resources

Parking Standards Review: Examination of Potential Options and Impacts of Car Share Programs on Parking Standards (City of Toronto)

Parking Management – Strategies, Evaluation and Planning (Victoria Transport Policy Institute)

Park and Ride Electric Vehicle Charging Stations (King County Department of Transportation, WA)

Station Access Strategy (GO Transit)

LRT Carpool Parking Program (City of Edmonton)

paid parking

  1. Charging for parking in and around all major stops and station areas can help promote a shift toward alternative forms of transportation.District Planning iconSite Planning icon

incentives

  1. Transit agencies and transportation demand management associations should consider the creation of carpooling programs that can help riders find carpool partners and promote incentives such as priority parking to members who carpool to station areas.Regional Planning iconMunicipal Planning iconGreen Action icon
  2. Enable the provision of car share services, which provide paid access to a vehicle shared between multiple users, to count toward parking requirements.Municipal Planning iconDistrict Planning iconSite Planning icon
  3. The first priority for parking should be given to accessible parking spaces. Locate accessible spaces, as well as accessible taxi services, close to the shortest accessible route leading to the main accessible pedestrian entrance of a building. Accessible parking areas should be:
    • connected to destinations by routes that avoid curbs, streets and access drives;
    • designed of firm, stable and slip resistant surfaces with no slopes;
    • maintained year round;
    • well marked and identified by the International Symbol of Accessibility;
    • designed to include spaces of an appropriate width as per Ontario’s Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act standards; and
    • provided with wayfinding signage directing users to the nearest accessible entrance if the location of the space is distant or out of view from accessible entrances to the building.Site Planning icon

Back to Top

Lignes directrices en matière d'aménagement axé sur les transports en commun

Section 2.5 Gestion du stationnement

2.5.1 Stratégies de gestion du stationnement

Diverses stratégies relatives au stationnement doivent être mises en œuvre à l'intérieur et autour des zones de station afin d'encourager la diminution des niveaux élevés d'utilisation de l'automobile et de minimiser les répercussions du stationnement sur le domaine public.

Le passage d'un environnement dépendant de l'automobile à un environnement axé sur les transports en commun peut s'avérer un lent processus échelonné sur de nombreuses années. Des stratégies d'aménagement de places de stationnement seront nécessaires pendant cette période de transition pour changer la répartition modale et permettre l'émergence d'un environnement axé sur les transports en commun mieux adapté aux piétons.

Bien que des espaces de stationnement puissent s'avérer nécessaires dans les zones d'arrêt et de station, le fait de fournir un trop grand nombre de places de stationnement gratuites ou à faible coût et la création de zones dominées par une infrastructure de stationnement peuvent avoir des répercussions négatives sur le nombre d'usagers et l'environnement piétonnier, en plus d'encourager l'utilisation de véhicules à passager unique. Toute stratégie efficace de gestion du stationnement doit comporter plusieurs volets, offrant un éventail d'options de stationnement qui conviennent à différents usagers tout en reconnaissant que l'objectif ultime est de réduire l'utilisation globale de l'automobile et d'accroître celle des modes de transport partagés et plus actifs. Pour être efficaces, les stratégies relatives au stationnement doivent être liées à la disponibilité d'un bon service de transport en commun. En l'absence d'un tel service, les entreprises qui demeurent en grande partie tributaires de l'automobile peuvent en subir les conséquences et les zones adjacentes pour lesquelles aucune stratégie de gestion n'a été élaborée peuvent connaître des niveaux accrus de circulation et de demande de stationnement, les conducteurs cherchant à éviter de payer des coûts plus élevés.

La politique de Markham sur le stationnement partagé présente une série de taux d'occupation pour différentes utilisations à trois périodes de la journée. Lorsque deux utilisations adjacentes peuvent partager les places de stationnement, le nombre total de places requises dans le zonage de chaque utilisation est d'abord multiplié par les taux d'occupation applicables (ci-dessus). Cela permet de déterminer les besoins de chaque utilisation en matière de stationnement pendant chacune des trois périodes. Les besoins des deux utilisations adjacentes en matière de stationnement à chaque période sont ensuite additionnés pour obtenir les besoins combinés pour chacune des périodes. La plus élevée des trois sommes devient l'exigence minimale en matière de stationnement partagé.

La politique de Markham sur le stationnement partagé présente une série de taux d'occupation pour différentes utilisations à trois périodes de la journée. Lorsque deux utilisations adjacentes peuvent partager les places de stationnement, le nombre total de places requises dans le zonage de chaque utilisation est d'abord multiplié par les taux d'occupation applicables (ci-dessus). Cela permet de déterminer les besoins de chaque utilisation en matière de stationnement pendant chacune des trois périodes. Les besoins des deux utilisations adjacentes en matière de stationnement à chaque période sont ensuite additionnés pour obtenir les besoins combinés pour chacune des périodes. La plus élevée des trois sommes devient l'exigence minimale en matière de stationnement partagé.

Légende des stratégies
Échelle de collectivité applicable
Petite Petite
Moyenne Moyenne
Grande Grande
Grande ville Grande ville
Échelle de planification
Emplacement Emplacement
District District
Municipalité Municipalité
Région Région
Mesure écologique Mesure écologique

Stratégies:

réduction de la demande

  1. Exiger que les grands projets d'aménagement, les institutions et les employeurs présentent des stratégies de gestion de la demande des déplacements (GDD) dans le cadre du processus d'approbation du plan de situation. Ces stratégies pourraient notamment comprendre des places pour le multivoiturage, des installations cyclables ou des programmes comme une stratégie de covoiturage, un programme de retour à domicile en cas d'urgence, des services de navette privée et des incitatifs liés à la tarification des transports en commun. Voir également la ligne directrice 3.5.5. Municipal Planning iconDistrict Planning iconSite Planning icon
  2. Encourager les utilisations existantes à mettre en œuvre des stratégies de GDD en montrant des exemples d'intégration de mesures semblables par des institutions, des entreprises ou des projets d'aménagement locaux. Les associations locales d'amélioration commerciale pourraient être abordées pour aider à mettre en place les stratégies de GDD. Municipal Planning icon
  3. Permettre la réduction des exigences maximales et minimales en matière de stationnement une fois que les mesures de GDD sont adoptées. Réduire ou éliminer les normes de stationnement maximales et minimales pour les activités de détail à petite échelle et les utilisations commerciales au rez-de-chaussée situées à proximité des itinéraires de transport en commun et conçues pour répondre aux besoins des piétons. District Planning iconSite Planning icon

Le partage du stationnement et de l'accès entre les utilisations peut contribuer à équilibrer les fluctuations et à réduire le nombre global de places de stationnement nécessaires à l'intérieur d'une zone d'aménagement ou d'un quartier.

Le partage du stationnement et de l'accès entre les utilisations peut contribuer à équilibrer les fluctuations et à réduire le nombre global de places de stationnement nécessaires à l'intérieur d'une zone d'aménagement ou d'un quartier.

L'utilisation de dispositifs d'affichage en temps réel du nombre de places disponibles, comme celui-ci qui se trouve en Allemagne, peut aider à maximiser les ressources existantes en matière de stationnement partagé en informant les conducteurs de l'emplacement des places disponibles à l'intérieur d'un parc ou d'un district.

L'utilisation de dispositifs d'affichage en temps réel du nombre de places disponibles, comme celui-ci qui se trouve en Allemagne, peut aider à maximiser les ressources existantes en matière de stationnement partagé en informant les conducteurs de l'emplacement des places disponibles à l'intérieur d'un parc ou d'un district.

maximisation des ressources

  1. Encourager le partage du stationnement entre les utilisations afin de réduire le nombre de places de stationnement requises à l'intérieur d'une zone d'aménagement. Site Planning icon
  2. Maximiser l'utilisation du stationnement dans la rue afin de réduire le besoin de parcs de stationnement en élévation ou en surface autonomes. Utiliser des taux quotidiens plutôt que mensuels pour le stationnement en élévation afin de réduire la demande. Le stationnement dans la rue peut être maximisé grâce à l'espacement variable des places de stationnement qui permet aux voitures plus petites d'occuper moins d'espace, à des compteurs qui encouragent la rotation des véhicules et à l'imposition de limites de temps. District Planning icon
  3. L'utilisation du stationnement dans la rue pendant les périodes creuses sur les artères et les routes collectrices peut permettre le stationnement dans des endroits susceptibles d'être congestionnés aux heures de pointe. Au moment d'établir l'emplacement du stationnement dans la rue, examiner la largeur dont disposent les cyclistes pour passer en toute sécurité à côté des voitures stationnées lorsque les conducteurs ouvrent leur portière. District Planning iconSite Planning icon

normes

  1. Examiner les possibilités d'élaborer des normes de stationnement plus compact qui peuvent accroître l'efficacité des parcs existants. Municipal Planning iconDistrict Planning iconSite Planning icon
  2. Évaluer les exigences minimales et maximales en matière de places de stationnement près des itinéraires de transport en commun et en envisager la réduction. Établir des normes en matière de places de stationnement qui conviennent aux densités, aux diversités d'utilisations et aux niveaux de service de transport en commun et de répartition modale existants et prévus. Passer régulièrement en revue les normes et apporter les modifications nécessaires au besoin. Municipal Planning iconDistrict Planning iconSite Planning icon
  3. Permettre la prise en compte du stationnement existant dans la rue, hors site et partagé dans les exigences relatives au stationnement.
    Municipal Planning iconDistrict Planning iconSite Planning icon

stratégies de planification

  1. L'établissement de districts d'amélioration du stationnement peut faire en sorte que les revenus nets ou excédentaires tirés des parcs de stationnement payant retournent dans le district. Ces revenus peuvent contribuer à l'aménagement d'un plus grand nombre d'installations de stationnement partagé, au déneigement ou autres éléments d'infrastructure liés au stationnement. On pourrait en partie accroître le financement de ces éléments par l'élaboration d'une politique de compensation sur l'aménagement des zones. District Planning iconSite Planning icon

2.5.2 Usagers du stationnement prioritaire

Encourager les programmes de stationnement prioritaire qui favorisent le passage aux véhicules à occupation multiple et une utilisation accrue de modes de transport plus efficaces et plus durables.

Les grosses voitures et les véhicules à passager unique utilisent davantage de ressources que les solutions de rechange plus petites et plus efficientes, en ce qui a trait à la fois à l'espace de stationnement et à leurs répercussions sur l'environnement. Dans les zones où les places de stationnement sont limitées, comme dans les zones de station et autour des principaux arrêts, le fait d'accorder la priorité aux usagers privilégiés comme ceux qui font du covoiturage et les véhicules qui occupent moins d'espace peut s'avérer un puissant incitatif, favorisant des modes de transport qui utilisent plus efficacement l'espace. Si quatre usagers occupent une seule place de stationnement, ils libèrent essentiellement trois places supplémentaires pour d'autres usagers, maximisant l'efficience du stationnement existant et minimisant le besoin de places supplémentaires. L'efficacité des mesures prioritaires dépendra d'une application appropriée de la loi pour s'assurer que les places prioritaires ne sont pas occupées par des véhicules non autorisés. L'efficacité des mesures prioritaires doit faire l'objet d'une évaluation régulière et les stratégies d'application de la loi doivent être planifiées en conséquence.

Le fait de fournir des incitatifs à l'utilisation de modes de transport qui utilisent plus efficacement l'espace constitue une mesure fondamentalement durable. Il peut également s'avérer avantageux d'accorder la priorité aux modes de transport particulier plus écologiques, comme la bicyclette, les véhicules hybrides ou les voitures électriques, dans le but de promouvoir des solutions de transport plus durables.

En outre, les places de stationnement doivent être conçues de manière à permettre un accès universel. La Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario exige que les municipalités et les organismes de transport en commun respectent les règles relatives aux places de stationnement accessibles en vertu de la Norme d'accessibilité au milieu bâti. La ligne directrice 3.4.1 fournit des ressources et des liens relativement aux politiques et aux lois ontariennes en matière d'accessibilité à mesure qu'elles sont élaborées et mises en œuvre.

Le campus Dow Jones Princeton dispose de 60 places de stationnement réservées aux voitures dont la consommation d'essence est peu élevée (6,5 litres aux 100 km ou moins) et aux covoitureurs.

Le campus Dow Jones Princeton dispose de 60 places de stationnement réservées aux voitures dont la consommation d'essence est peu élevée (6,5 litres aux 100 km ou moins) et aux covoitureurs.

Stratégies :

priorité de stationnement

  1. La priorité d'emplacement doit être accordée aux places de stationnement accessibles ainsi qu'au covoiturage et aux véhicules à énergie de substitution, comme les voitures hybrides ou électriques, dans les stations et dans les parcs de stationnement municipaux situés à l'intérieur et autour des zones de station. Municipal Planning iconDistrict Planning iconSite Planning iconGreen Action icon
  2. L'aménagement de bornes de recharge aux emplacements prioritaires à l'intérieur des zones de station peut contribuer à favoriser l'utilisation des véhicules électriques. Les usagers peuvent ainsi recharger leur véhicule pendant qu'ils se déplacent dans les transports en commun. Site Planning iconGreen Action icon
  3. Lorsque les places de stationnement sont limitées, envisager de fournir des places de stationnement prioritaires aux vélos, aux scooters, aux motocyclettes et aux petites voitures, qui occupent moins d'espace, encourageant ainsi l'utilisation la plus efficiente possible des zones de stationnement. Site Planning icon
  4. Le fait d'accorder la priorité aux cyclistes et d'intégrer des installations cyclables dans les parcs de stationnement aux principaux arrêts et dans les principales zones de station peut aider à promouvoir des niveaux plus élevés d'accès aux cyclistes. La ligne directrice 2.2.4 renferme des stratégies visant la promotion et l'amélioration de l'accès des cyclistes. District Planning iconSite Planning icon

Le fait d'accorder la priorité aux scooters et aux motocyclettes à cette station du réseau GO Transit à Ajax permet de promouvoir l'utilisation de véhicules qui nécessitent moins d'espace.

Le fait d'accorder la priorité aux scooters et aux motocyclettes à cette station du réseau GO Transit à Ajax permet de promouvoir l'utilisation de véhicules qui nécessitent moins d'espace.

Ressources recommandées

Parking Standards Review: Examination of Potential Options and Impacts of Car Share Programs on Parking Standards (ville de Toronto)

Parking Management – Strategies, Evaluation and Planning (Victoria Transport Policy Institute)

Park and Ride Electric Vehicle Charging Stations (King County Department of Transportation, WA)

Station Access Strategy (GO Transit)

LRT Carpool Parking Program (ville d'Edmonton)

stationnement payant

  1. La tarification du stationnement à l'intérieur et autour des principales zones d'arrêt et de station peut contribuer à promouvoir le passage à d'autres modes de transport.District Planning iconSite Planning icon

incitatifs

  1. Les organismes de transport en commun et les associations de gestion de la demande des déplacements doivent envisager la création de programmes de covoiturage qui peuvent aider les usagers à trouver des covoitureurs et promouvoir les incitatifs comme la priorité de stationnement aux gens qui se rendent à la station par covoiturage. Regional Planning iconMunicipal Planning iconGreen Action icon
  2. Permettre la prise en compte des services de partage de voiture, qui fournissent l'accès payant à un véhicule utilisé par de multiples usagers, dans les exigences relatives au stationnement. Municipal Planning iconDistrict Planning iconSite Planning icon
  3. La priorité de stationnement doit d'abord être accordée aux places de stationnement accessibles. Situer ces places, ainsi que les services de taxi accessibles, près de l'itinéraire le plus court menant à la principale entrée d'un bâtiment accessible aux piétons. Les zones de stationnement accessibles doivent être :
    • reliées aux destinations par des voies qui évitent les bordures de trottoir, les rues et les voies d'accès;
    • faites de surfaces fermes, stables et antidérapantes sans pente;
    • entretenues toute l'année;
    • bien marquées et identifiées à l'aide du symbole international d'accessibilité;
    • conçues de manière à avoir une largeur suffisante conformément aux normes de la Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario;
    • munies de panneaux de signalisation orientant les usagers vers l'entrée accessible la plus proche si la place de stationnement est située loin ou hors de vue des entrées accessibles du bâtiment. Site Planning icon

haut de page  


Retour en haut de page