Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Home
Home > Traveller's Information > TRIP > About TRIP > About Compass > Systems in Operation
Text size Enlarge Text Shrink Text
Search Search  |  

Systems in Operation

COMPASS

Toronto (Highway 401) Compass System

The Highway 401 Compass System within Toronto went into operation in early 1991. The initial section covered 16 kilometres through the centre of Toronto between Martin Grove Road and Yonge Street. Highway 401 is the "main street" for many Toronto commuters, and has a unique express/collector configuration and a cross-section with a minimum of 12 lanes. Some sections carry in excess of 430,000 vehicles on an average day.

Photo of Highway 401 rush hour traffic congestion

Over the years, the Compass System has been continuously evaluated, enhanced and expanded. The current system stretches from the Highway 403/QEW interchange to Highway 401/410 interchange and easterly to Harwood Avenue, including some sections of adjoining highways for a distance of approximately 110 km. As of December 2010, the Toronto system is made up of 93 CCTV cameras, 42 LED type variable message signs, 761 vehicle detection stations and over 3933 vehicle detectors to help manage traffic on Highway 401/400/403/404/427/410.

Traffic Management Strategies

The GTA Compass System employs four traffic management strategies that complement each other:

Effective traffic management on busy urban freeways such as Highway 401 begins with timely detection and confirmation of traffic incidents or slowdowns. Incident management procedures that provide coordinated on-site activities by emergency response personnel can preserve and protect human life, maintain a reasonable level of safety for all participants, minimize delay to the travelling public and minimize damage to public/private property. Timely and accurate traffic condition information must be supplied to motorists to allow them to choose an alternate route and lessen their chances of collision with stopped vehicles ahead. Compass combines all of the above strategies, and has produced significant benefits.

Related links:

Top of page   Top of page


Mississauga (QEW) Compass System

The Mississauga Compass System, constructed on the Queen Elizabeth Way in 1975, was the first system installed in Ontario. It was designed to smooth the flow of traffic between Erin Mills Parkway and Hurontario Street, where large number of vehicles entering the freeway during morning rush hours created stop-and-go driving conditions.

In 2000, the Mississauga COMPASS Traffic Operations Centre was closed and the equipment on QEW through Mississauga was integrated into the Burlington system.

Traffic Management Strategies

The Mississauga Compass System employs five traffic management strategies that complement each other:

Photo of a QEW ramp metering station

Demand Management

Unique to the Mississauga Compass System is the use of Ramp Metering as a demand management strategy. Vehicle access to the freeway is regulated through the use of ramp metering signals on interchange ramps. These computer-controlled signals, which look like standard traffic signals, allow vehicles onto the freeway at a specified rate to maintain optimum traffic flows. At the same time, queue detectors prevent backups on the access ramps. Experience shows that ramp metering shortens overall trip times for motorists, even though there are short waits at the ramp signals. On the QEW, ramp metering has been placed on eastbound access ramps between Ford Drive and Cawthra Road. It only operates for about three hours in the morning on weekdays, yet makes a significant contribution towards improvement of traffic flows on the freeway.

Top of page   Top of page


Burlington Compass System

Photo of Burlington Skyway and Eastport Drive lift bridge

The Burlington Compass System was installed in 1986 for the purpose of alleviating traffic congestion, particularly during construction activities and peak traffic times on the Burlington Bay James N. Allan Skyway. It soon proved its worth by enabling operators to quickly detect traffic slowdowns, disabled vehicles and collisions. The result was a reduction in traffic congestion, accidents, and delays on the Skyway corridor.

Traffic Management Strategies

The basic components of the Burlington Compass System are the same as the other systems. It utilizes the following traffic management strategies:

Unique to the Burlington Compass System is an interconnection with the lift bridge on the parallel arterial road. In the event of high winds or major incidents, the operator can direct traffic to bypass the Skyway using the lift-bridge and Eastport Drive. A communications link between the lift-bridge operator and the Compass control centre allows the operator to know when the bridge will be lifted so that this information can be used in making system bypass decisions and to inform drivers of the lift-bridge status.

As of December 2010, the system consists of 92 CCTV cameras, 12 variable message signs and 280 vehicle detector stations.

Top of page   Top of page


Ottawa (Highway 417) Compass System

The Ottawa Compass system was first installed in 1997 and has since been expanded and improved, enhancing the quality of images suitable for Internet dissemination. This system provides a basic incident management system with a minimum of infrastructure. The complete system provides video coverage along approximately 21 km of Highway 417 from Highway 416 in the west to Regional Road 174 in the east. As of December 2010, the system consists of 15 CCTV cameras mounted on 50-60 foot poles along Hwy 417.

Similar to other Compass systems, the Ottawa system enables operators to quickly detect traffic slowdowns, disabled vehicles and collisions. Incidents are therefore cleared quickly by dispatching the appropriate response crews as soon as the Compass operator becomes aware of it.

Related links:

Top of page   Top of page

Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Taille du texte Augmentation de la taille du texte Réduction de la taille du texte
Recherche   |  

Les systèmes Compas en marche

Système Compas de Toronto (Autoroute 401)

COMPAS

Le système Compas de l'autoroute 401 à Toronto est entré en service au début de 1991. Au départ, il couvrait un tronçon de 16 km au centre de Toronto, entre Martin Grove Road et la rue Yonge. L'autoroute 401 est l'artère principale qu'empruntent un grand nombre de navetteurs torontois. Elle est formée d'un ensemble unique de voies express et collectrices et compte au moins 12 voies. En moyenne, plus de 430 000 véhicules par jour circulent sur certains tronçons.

Photo d'un embouteillage sur l'autoroute 401

Au fil des ans, le système Compas a fait l'objet d'évaluations et d'améliorations constantes et a été élargi à plusieurs reprises. À l'heure actuelle, il s'étend de l'échangeur de l'autoroute 403/QEW jusqu'à l'échangeur des autoroutes 401/410 et jusqu'à l'avenue Harwood en direction Est, soit une distance d'environ 110 km comprenant quelques sections d'autoroutes contiguës. En décembre 2010, le système comptait 93 caméras couleur en circuit fermé, 42 panneaux à messages variables fonctionnant à l'aide de diodes électroluminescentes, 761 postes de détection de véhicules et plus de 3 933 dispositifs de détection des véhicules servant à gérer la circulation sur l'autoroute 401/400/403/404/427/410.

Stratégies de gestion de la circulation

Le système Compas pour la région du grand Toronto repose sur quatre stratégies de gestion de la circulation qui se complètent les unes et les autres :

Pour gérer la circulation de façon efficace sur des autoroutes urbaines encombrées comme l'autoroute 401, il faut d'abord détecter et confirmer, au moment opportun, les incidents et les ralentissements de la circulation. Les procédures de gestion des incidents, grâce auxquelles on peut coordonner les activités du personnel des services d'urgence sur place, permettent de protéger les vies humaines, de maintenir un niveau de sécurité raisonnable pour toutes les personnes en cause, d'atténuer le plus possible les retards pour les usagers de la route et de réduire au minimum les dommages causés aux biens publics et privés. Il faut fournir aux automobilistes, au moment opportun, des renseignements précis sur la circulation pour leur permettre d'emprunter une autre route et réduire les risques qu'ils heurtent un véhicule immobilisé. Grâce aux stratégies mentionnées précédemment, le système Compas s'est avéré fort avantageux.

Lien connexe

Haut de la page   Haut de la page


Système Compas de Mississauga (QEW)

Le système Compas de Mississauga a été installé le long de l'autoroute Queen Elizabeth en 1975. Il s'agit du premier système Compas en Ontario. Il a été conçu pour faciliter la circulation entre Erin Mills Parkway et la rue Hurontario, où la circulation était souvent pare-chocs à pare-chocs en période de pointe le matin en raison du grand nombre de véhicules entrant sur l'autoroute.

En 2000 le Centre de régulation de la circulation du système COMPAS de Mississauga fut fermé et l'equipements sur l'autoroute QEW fut intégrés au système de Burlington.

Stratégies de gestion de la circulation

Le système Compas de Mississauga repose sur cinq stratégies de gestion de la circulation qui se complètent les unes et les autres :

Photo d'un poste de comptage sur la QEW

Gestion de la demande

Pour le système Compas de Mississauga, on utilise une stratégie de gestion de la demande qui lui est propre, soit le comptage des accès. Des feux placés sur les bretelles des échangeurs permettent de contrôler le nombre de véhicules qui entrent sur l'autoroute. Ces feux informatisés, qui ressemblent à des feux de circulation ordinaires, laissent entrer les véhicules sur l'autoroute selon un débit précis afin de maintenir une circulation optimale des véhicules. Parallèlement, des détecteurs de file d'attente empêchent les véhicules de refouler sur les bretelles d'accès. L'expérience a démontré que le comptage des accès réduit la durée globale des déplacements des automobilistes même s'il y a de courtes périodes d'attente aux bretelles en raison des feux. Sur l'autoroute QEW, des dispositifs de comptage des accès ont été installés sur les bretelles d'accès en direction Est entre Ford Drive et Cawthra Road. Bien qu'ils ne fonctionnent que pendant trois heures environ le matin les jours de semaine, ces dispositifs ont permis d'améliorer considérablement la circulation sur l'autoroute.

Haut de la page   Haut de la page


Système Compas de Burlington

Photo de l'autoroute surélevée et du pont levant Eastport Drive

Le système Compas de Burlington a été installé en 1986 afin de réduire les embouteillages, particulièrement pendant les travaux de construction et les heures de pointe, sur l'autoroute surélevée James N. Allan qui enjambe la baie de Burlington. Ce système s'est avéré utile dès le départ, car il permet de détecter rapidement les ralentissements de la circulation, les véhicules en panne et les collisions. On a ainsi pu réduire les embouteillages, le nombre d'accidents et les retards dans le couloir de cette autoroute.

Stratégies de gestion de la circulation

Les principales composantes du système Compas de Burlington sont semblables à celles des autres systèmes. On utilise les stratégies suivantes pour gérer la circulation :

Une des caractéristiques uniques du système Compas de Burlington est le fait qu'il est relié au pont levant d'une artère parallèle. Lorsque les vents sont violents ou si un incident grave est survenu sur l'autoroute surélevée, on peut diriger la circulation vers le pont levant et Eastport Drive. Comme les employés chargés du système Compas sont en communication avec le personnel responsable du pont levant, ils savent quand le pont sera levé, ce qui les aide à prendre des décisions concernant le détournement de la circulation et leur permet de transmettre ces renseignements aux automobilistes.

En décembre 2010, le système comptait 92 caméras de télévision en circuit fermé, 12 panneaux à messages variables (fibres optiques et disques réversibles) et 280 postes de détection des véhicules.

Haut de la page   Haut de la page


Système Compas d'Ottawa (autoroute 417)

Le système Compas d'Ottawa a été installé en 1997. Depuis cette date, il a été élargi et perfectionné, améliorant la qualité des images afin qu'elles puissent être diffusées sur Internet. Il s'agit d'un système de base de gestion des incidents doté d'une infrastructure minimale. Le système complet fournit une couverture vidéo sur une distance approximative de 21 km sur l'autoroute 417, de l'autoroute 416 à l'ouest jusqu'à la route régionale 174 à l'est. Depuis décembre 2010, le système est composé de 15 caméras de télévision en circuit fermé, montées sur de hauts immeubles ou des poteaux d'une hauteur de 50 à 60 pieds le long de l'autoroute 417.

Le système d'Ottawa est semblable aux autres systèmes Compas et permet aux opérateurs de détecter rapidement les ralentissements de la circulation, les véhicules en panne et les collisions. Ainsi, les incidents sont rapidement réglés par l'envoi des équipes d'intervention pertinentes aussitôt que l'opérateur du système Compas en prend connaissance.

Lien connexe

Haut de la page   Haut de la page