Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Text size Enlarge Text Shrink Text
Search   |  

About Compass

COMPASS

Compass is a high-tech Freeway Traffic Management System developed by the Ontario Ministry of Transportation (MTO) to respond to traffic congestion problems on urban freeways. Compass helps reduce traffic congestion and increase safety by:

  • allowing for the prompt detection and removal of freeway incidents and vehicle breakdowns;
  • providing accurate and timely freeway incident and delay information to motorists; and,
  • effectively managing peak rush hour traffic flow through innovative traffic control devices.
COMPASS road image

The initial leg of the Highway 401 Compass System - a 16-kilometre section between Martin Grove Road and Yonge Street - was completed and put into operation in January 1991. The system used state-of-the-art technologies and was regarded as one of the most advanced traffic management systems in North America. Over the years, the Highway 401 Compass System has been upgraded with more advanced equipment and computer software programs. The geographical limits of the system have also been expanded both easterly and westerly to cover the entire section of Highway 401 within the Toronto region.

In addition, new initiatives are being designed for the Greater Toronto Area Freeway Network and for Highway 417 in Ottawa. Other systems on the Queen Elizabeth Way (QEW) in Mississauga and Burlington are also going through a series of upgrade and expansion activities.

Top of page   Top of page


How Does Compass work?

Vehicle Detector Stations

Vehicle Detector Stations

Closed Circuit Television Cameras

Closed Circuit Television Cameras

Arrow
Maintenance Patrol

Maintenance Patrol

Arrow Photo: The traffic operations centre is the focal point for all communications and control Arrow
Arrow

Traffic Operations Centre

Arrow
Changeable Message Signs

Changeable Message Signs

Arrow
Emergency Response Agencies

Emergency Response Agencies

Traffic and Road Information Systems

Traffic and Road Information Systems

  1. Traffic flow on the freeway is monitored continuously by Vehicle Detector Stations (VDS) composed of inductance loops embedded beneath the pavement with a minimum of one loop per lane. Stations that have a double-loop arrangement are specifically designed to measure averaged vehicle speeds and lengths as well as traffic volume count and occupancy information. These VDS are installed at frequent intervals along the main freeway (approximately 500 m to 800 m apart) and on transfer roads, exit and entrance ramps, and nearby connecting freeways.
  2. The traffic information collected by the VDS is transmitted to the Traffic Operations Centre (TOC) over a Communications System (fiber optic and coaxial) installed along the freeway. Information is processed by the FTMS Computer System and then displayed to the operator on a computer terminal and a colour graphics system.
  3. Maintenance staff patrolling on the freeway also act as an additional means of detection and are directed to call in any incidents they may observe. They also have an important role to play in providing clean-up and traffic control services for major incidents.
  4. Closed Circuit Television (CCTV) cameras located approximately one kilometre apart along the freeway, transmit live images to the traffic operations centre to confirm information from the vehicle detector stations and to identify problems on the freeway quickly.
  5. Upon confirmation of a freeway incident that slows or obstructs traffic, the operator will coordinate and dispatch the appropriate emergency response agencies such as Ontario Provincial Police, fire departments, ambulance services, and towing companies.
  6. To inform motorists of upcoming traffic conditions, operators approve computer generated messages for display on the Changeable Message Signs (CMS) located at strategic diversion points along the freeway. Compass signs also have the ability to automatically display real-time congestion information as detected by the VDS. When congestion information is not required, the signs are automatically changed to indicate upcoming exits or safety education messages.
  7. Traffic information is also disseminated to the public through the Traffic and Road Information System (TRIS). This system is an automated Fax system designed to provide provincial highways traffic reports to a large subscriber list, primarily the radio media. With an increasing demand for traffic information in the Greater Toronto Area (GTA), motorists can receive timely and accurate reports in their vehicles through commercial radio. The Compass traffic operations centre has a great deal of traffic information regarding the provincial highways in the GTA. Through TRIS, Compass operators enter event information into a computer which is automatically formatted and faxed to subscribers.

Top of page   Top of page


System Benefits

Improved response
Increased safety
Reduced congestion
Reduced pollution

Traffic management systems like Compass have been successfully used by many large cities in the United States, Europe, and Asia. Their track record has shown significant benefits for motorists.

Improved emergency assistance for motorists in the case of collisions or vehicle breakdown.

More detailed and timely traffic information available to help motorists anticipate conditions ahead.

Decreased number and severity of motor vehicle collisions on the highway.

Increased safety assurance in highway travel particularly around construction zones.

Reductions in congestion and the associated delay during rush hour periods and emergency situations.

Adjacent communities benefit from more effective utilization of available road capacity.

Commercial traffic benefits from reduced travel times and more uniform traffic flow.

Less time spent idling in traffic leads to reduced fuel consumption and vehicle emissions.

Top of page   Top of page

Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Taille du texte Augmentation de la taille du texte Réduction de la taille du texte
Recherche   |  

Le système Compas

COMPAS

Compas est un Système de gestion de la circulation autoroutière de haute technologie mis au point par le ministère des Transports de l'Ontario (MTO) afin de régler les problèmes de congestion sur les autoroutes urbaines. Le système Compas permet de réduire la congestion de la circulation et d'accroître la sécurité grâce à :

  • la localisation et l'enlèvement rapides des véhicules en panne ou impliqués dans des accidents sur les autoroutes;
  • la transmission rapide, aux automobilistes, de renseignements précis sur les accidents et les ralentissements;
  • la gestion efficace de la circulation pendant les heures de pointe grâce à des dispositifs innovateurs de régulation de la circulation.
Photo de la circulation autoroutière

L'installation du système Compas sur le premier tronçon de l'autoroute 401 à en être doté - un tronçon de 16 kilomètres entre Martin Grove Road et la rue Yonge - a pris fin en janvier 1991. Ce système hautement sophistiqué était considéré comme l'un des systèmes de gestion de la circulation autoroutière les plus avancés d'Amérique du Nord. Au fil des ans, le système Compas de l'autoroute 401 a été amélioré grâce à du matériel et des logiciels plus perfectionnés. De plus, la portée du système a été élargie à l'est et à l'ouest de façon à couvrir toute la partie de l'autoroute 401 qui traverse la région de Toronto.

De plus, de nouvelles initiatives pour le réseau d'autoroutes de la région du grand Toronto et pour l'autoroute 417 à Ottawa sont mises au point à l'heure actuelle. D'autres systèmes mis en place sur l'autoroute Queen Elizabeth (QEW) à Mississauga et à Burlington font actuellement l'objet de travaux d'amélioration et de développement.

Haut de la page   Haut de la page


Comment le système Compas fonctionne-t-il?

Postes de détection des véhicules

Postes de détection des véhicules

Caméras de télévision en circuit fermé

Caméras de télévision en circuit fermé

flèche
Patrouille d'entretien

Patrouille d'entretien

flèche Centre de régulation de la circulation flèche
flèche

Centre de régulation de la circulation

flèche
Panneaux à messages variables

Panneaux à messages variables

flèche
Services d'urgence

Services d'urgence

Système de renseignements sur la circulation et l'état des routes

Système de renseignements sur la circulation et l'état des routes

  1. On surveille constamment le débit de circulation sur l'autoroute à l'aide de postes de détection des véhicules (PDV) formés de boucles à inductance placées sous la chaussée (au moins une boucle par voie). Les postes à doubles boucles ont pour but de déterminer la vitesse et la longueur moyennes des véhicules, le débit de circulation et l'occupation des voies. Ces PDV sont espacés de 500 m à 800 m le long de la partie principale de l'autoroute, des voies de transfert, des bretelles d'entrée et de sortie et des routes de raccordement avoisinantes.
  2. Les données sur la circulation recueillies par les PDV sont transmises au centre de régulation de la circulation (CRC) à l'aide du système de communications (à fibres optiques et à câbles coaxiaux) se trouvant en bordure de l'autoroute. Elles sont traitées par l'ordinateur du système de gestion de la circulation autoroutière (SGCA) et affichées sur le terminal d'ordinateur de l'utilisateur et sur le terminal graphique couleur.
  3. Les employés chargés de l'entretien qui patrouillent l'autoroute permettent également de détecter les incidents. Ils jouent un rôle important, car ils nettoient les lieux et contrôlent la circulation lorsque survient un incident grave.
  4. Des caméras de télévision en circuit fermé espacées d'un kilomètre environ le long de l'autoroute transmettent des images en direct au centre de régulation de la circulation. Elles permettent de confirmer les données recueillies à l'aide des postes de détection des véhicules et de repérer rapidement les problèmes sur l'autoroute.
  5. Lorsqu'un incident qui ralentit ou bloque la circulation a été confirmé, le personnel du CRC en avise les services d'urgence tels que la Police provinciale de l'Ontario, les services des incendies, les services ambulanciers et les entreprises de remorquage, et coordonne leur intervention.
  6. Pour informer les automobilistes des conditions de circulation, le personnel du CRC approuve des messages informatisés qui sont affichés à l'aide de panneaux à messages variables (PMV) placés à des points stratégiques de détournement de la circulation le long de l'autoroute. Ces panneaux peuvent également afficher automatiquement en temps réel les renseignements sur l'encombrement de l'autoroute recueillis par les PDV. Lorsqu'il n'est pas nécessaire de fournir ces renseignements, les panneaux indiquent les prochaines sorties ou affichent des messages sur la sécurité.
  7. On diffuse également des renseignements sur la circulation à l'aide du Système de renseignements sur la circulation et l'état des routes (SRCER). Ce système génère des bulletins faisant état de la circulation sur des routes provinciales et les envoie automatiquement par télécopieur à un grand nombre d'abonnés, constitués surtout de stations de radio. La demande de renseignements sur la circulation dans la région du grand Toronto (RGT) est de plus en plus forte. Les automobilistes peuvent obtenir des bulletins précis, au moment opportun, dans leur véhicule par l'entremise de la station de radio qu'ils écoutent. Le centre de régulation de la circulation du système Compas reçoit un grand nombre de renseignements faisant état de la circulation sur les routes provinciales de la RGT. Le personnel du centre entre les données sur la circulation dans le SRCER, qui produit des bulletins de circulation pouvant être envoyés automatiquement par télécopieur.

Haut de la page   Haut de la page


Avantages du système

Intervention améliorée
Sécurité accrue
Embouteillages atténués
Moins de pollution

Plusieurs grandes villes aux états-Unis, en Europe et en Asie utilisent avec succès des systèmes de gestion de la circulation semblables au système Compas. Leur expérience a démontré que ces systèmes procurent un grand nombre d'avantages aux automobilistes.

Ils permettent d'améliorer les services d'urgence qui sont dispensés à la suite de collisions ou lorsque des véhicules tombent en panne.

Ils fournissent aux automobilistes, au moment opportun, des renseignements plus précis qui les aident à prévoir les conditions de circulation.

Ils réduisent le nombre et la gravité des collisions sur les routes.

Ils rendent les déplacements plus sûrs, particulièrement dans les zones de construction.

Ils atténuent l'encombrement des routes et les retards qui en découlent pendant les heures de pointe et les situations d'urgence.

Les localités avoisinantes bénéficient du fait qu'on utilise de façon plus efficace la capacité routière existante.

Les entreprises bénéficient du fait que les déplacements se font plus rapidement et que le débit de circulation est plus uniforme.

Les véhicules passent moins de temps immobilisés, ce qui réduit leur consommation de carburant et leurs émissions.

Haut de la page   Haut de la page