Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Home
Home > Traveller's Information > Ontario 511 > Frequently Asked Questions
Text size Enlarge Text Shrink Text
Search   |  

Frequently Asked Questions

What information can I get on Ontario 511 and where does it come from?

The Ontario 511 phone line provides up-to-date road condition, closures and construction information for all provincial highways. Road conditions and closures are reported to regional communication centres by Area Maintenance Contractors who patrol the highways and the Ontario Provincial Police (OPP). Construction information is provided by regional Ministry of Transportation staff.

Is Ontario 511 accessible across Ontario?

Yes, the Ontario 511 telephone service is available throughout Ontario and is free. Road closures are posted on Twitter in English @511Ontario and in French @Ontario511. Detailed road information is also online at www.ontario.ca/511.

Can you call 5-1-1 while driving?

The Ontario law prohibits the use of handheld devices while driving. If calling 511 while driving use Bluetooth hands-free technology; Ontario 511 uses voice recognition technology that meets hands-free legislation. Preferably, where possible to do so, pull over to the road shoulder before calling 511 or consult 511 on the ministry’s online traveller information website before driving.

How can Ontario 511 information be used by the public?

Ontario 511 road information can assist provincial road travellers with planning travel routes, avoiding congestion due to poor weather conditions, construction or road closures, and receiving critical information when emergencies or events arise.

How does Ontario 511 accommodate people with speech, visual or hearing impairments?

The 511 phone line provides a touch-tone backup system to its voice recognition technology. The online interactive map provides visual aids and text versions that meet accessibility standards. Agents are also available during business hours. A TTY number is available for users with hearing impairments; if you wish to use this service dial 1-866-471-8929.

How often is Ontario 511 information updated?

Information related to road closures is updated as closure information is received. Road construction project information is updated daily. Road condition information is updated a minimum of five times daily from October to April; or as conditions change.

How do I call Ontario 511 if I am travelling in another province or state?

Ontario 511 is part of a North American approach to providing weather and traveller information services. Most American states, six Canadian provinces and one Canadian territory currently provide this service. If you wish to call Ontario 511 toll free while driving in another province or state, dial 1-866-929-4257.

How do I report a highway problem or any other maintenance issues?

Please contact the appropriate highway maintenance contractor in your area.

To view a map of the maintenance contract areas and phone numbers, click on the links below:

Northern Ontario- PDF (563 KB)

Southern Ontario - PDF (450 KB)

To provide a comment regarding winter maintenance on Ontario provincial highways, you can contact the ministry by email: winterhighways@ontario.ca or routesdhiver@ontario.ca or directly dial 1-844-507-1427 and leave a detailed message.

Top of page   Top of page

Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Page d'accueil
Page d'accueil > Info voyageurs > Ontario 511 > Foire aux questions
Taille du texte Augmentation de la taille du texte Réduction de la taille du texte
Recherche   |  

Foire aux questions

Quels renseignements puis-je obtenir avec le service Ontario 511, et d’où proviennent-ils?

Le service téléphonique Ontario 511 permet d’obtenir des renseignements à jour sur l’état, les fermetures et les travaux relativement à toutes les routes provinciales. Les renseignements sur l’état et les fermetures des routes sont transmis aux centres régionaux de communication par les entrepreneurs chargés de l’entretien qui patrouillent les routes, ainsi que par la Police provinciale de l’Ontario (OPP). Quant aux renseignements sur les travaux, ils sont communiqués par les bureaux régionaux du ministère des Transports.

Peut-on appeler Ontario 511 de partout en Ontario?

Oui, le service téléphonique Ontario 511 est disponible partout en Ontario, et il est gratuit. Les fermetures de route sont annoncées sur Twitter en français, @Ontario511, et en anglais, @511Ontario. On trouvera également de l’information routière détaillée sur le site www.ontario.ca/511.

Peut-on composer le 5-1-1 si on est au volant?

Oui, sauf qu’il faut respecter la loi de l’Ontario qui interdit l’utilisation d’appareils portables au volant. Si vous appelez le 511 alors que vous êtes au volant, utilisez un appareil mains libres Bluetooth. Le système Ontario 511 comporte une technologie de reconnaissance vocale qui est conforme aux dispositions de la loi sur les appareils mains libres. Toutefois, lorsque c’est possible, il est préférable d’arrêter le véhicule sur l’accotement avant de composer le 511, ou de consulter le site d’information routière 511 du ministère avant de prendre la route.

Quelle est l’utilité des renseignements diffusés par le service Ontario 511 pour le public?

L’information routière diffusée par le service Ontario 511 peut aider les automobilistes à planifier leur trajet sur les routes provinciales, leur faire éviter les embouteillages causés par les intempéries, les travaux routiers ou les fermetures de routes et leur donner des informations cruciales en cas d’urgence ou d’incident.

Comment le service Ontario 511 s’adapte-t-il aux personnes qui ont des difficultés liées à la parole, à la vue ou à l’ouïe?

La ligne téléphonique 511 permet aussi la composition au clavier en plus de la reconnaissance vocale. La carte interactive en ligne comporte des aides visuelles et des versions textuelles qui répondent aux normes d’accessibilité. Des agents sont disponibles pendant les heures ouvrables. Un numéro ATS est à la disposition des usagers ayant une déficience auditive. Composez le 1-866-471-8929 pour utiliser ce service.

À quelle fréquence les renseignements du service Ontario 511 sont-ils mis à jour?

Les données concernant les fermetures de routes sont mises à jour dès leur réception. Les informations sur les travaux routiers sont rafraîchies tous les jours. Les renseignements sur l’état des routes sont actualisés au moins cinq fois par jour entre octobre et avril, ou chaque fois que les conditions changent.

Comment appeler le 511 si je me trouve dans une autre province ou aux États-Unis?

Le service Ontario 511 s’insère dans le cadre d’un réseau nord-américain d’informations sur les conditions météorologiques et de renseignements pour les voyageurs. Ce service existe dans la plupart des États américains, et dans six provinces et un territoire du Canada. Pour appeler Ontario 511 sans frais depuis l’extérieur de l’Ontario, composez le 1 866 929 4257.

Comment signaler un problème ou un besoin d’entretien sur la route?

Veuillez communiquer avec l’entrepreneur chargé de l’entretien des routes dans votre région.

Cliquez sur les liens ci-dessous pour afficher une carte montrant les zones visées par les contrats d’entretien, ainsi que les numéros de téléphone des entrepreneurs :

Nord de l’Ontario – PDF (563 Ko)

Sud de l’Ontario – PDF (450 Ko)

Pour laisser un commentaire en ce qui concerne l’entretien sur les routes provinciales de l’Ontario, vous pouvez communiquer avec le ministère par : Courriel routesdhiver@ontario.ca ou winterhighways@ontario.ca ou directement en signalant 1-844-507-1427 et laissez un message détaillé .

Top of page   Top of page