Commercial Vehicle Operators’ Safety Manual

Module 10 - Dangerous Goods

Overview

The Carrier Safety and Enforcement Branch of the Ministry of Transportation of Ontario has prepared this guide to assist and ensure that truck and bus companies (commercial vehicle operators) operate safely and are compliant with the regulations that govern highway use. Ontario, other provinces, the Government of Canada and the transportation industry developed the rules and regulations to help reduce the number and severity of collisions. Each jurisdiction has used the National Safety Code standards as guides in drafting their own transportation safety legislation. This approach promotes uniformity across Canada and helps to ensure that the transportation industry remains as viable and sustainable as possible.

This guide applies to Ontario operators of commercial motor vehicles that are:

  • Trucks, tractors or trailers, or a combination of these vehicles, that have a registered gross vehicle weight or actual weight of more than 4,500 kilograms
  • Tow trucks, regardless of registered gross weight or actual weight
  • Buses with a manufactured seating capacity of 10 persons or more, excluding the driver
  • Accessible vehicles and school-purposes vehicles, depending upon use

The guide contains several modules, each dealing with a specific topic. To get a complete picture of compliance requirements, you should obtain the complete guide. If you intend to use certain parts of this guide only (for example, Module 1, "Getting Started”) it is recommended that you also obtain the modules "Introduction” and "Commercial Vehicle Operators’ Registration.”

This is a guide only and is not meant to be a substitute for the relevant statutes and regulations. This guide highlights some important legal provisions but is not an exhaustive description of all the laws that apply.

Dangerous Goods - Learning Objectives

As you work through this module, you will be able to:

  • Define dangerous goods.
  • Understand the need for legislation to regulate the transportation of dangerous goods.
  • Describe the training required.
  • Identify the classes of dangerous goods.
  • Identify the labels and placards used for dangerous goods.
  • Describe the legislated use of labels and placards.
  • Identify the required documentation.
  • Describe procedures for reporting incidents.

Completion of this module does not constitute dangerous-goods training for an employee.

Dangerous-Goods Regulations

Dangerous goods are those that could cause harm to people, property or the environment.

Each day, numerous products defined as dangerous goods are shipped from one point to another within Canada, by road, railroad, air and water. With the significant numbers of dangerous goods in transport, there is a great potential for incidents to occur that would endanger human life and damage the environment.

Manufacturers, shippers, operators, terminals, users and governments need to work continually toward minimizing the risk of incidents during the transportation of dangerous goods, as well as the harm done when an incident does occur.

For this reason, governments established legislation that applies to all stages of dangerous- goods movement. They have also set up inspection and enforcement programs to achieve compliance with the legislation.

In Canada, the federal government, and those of the provinces and territories, have enacted legislation to regulate the transportation of dangerous goods.

Training

The dangerous-goods legislation directs that no one shall handle, offer for transport or transport dangerous goods unless they are trained or in the presence, and under the direct supervision, of someone who has been trained.

It is the responsibility of each operator to make sure that employees and anyone driving the vehicles they are responsible for have the proper training necessary to transport or handle dangerous goods. When the operator believes that the employee has been adequately trained in relation to their duties for transporting dangerous goods, the operator must issue a training certificate to the employee.

The certificate must include the following information:

  • The name and address of the operator
  • The name of the employee
  • The signature of the operator and employee
  • The date of expiry
  • The aspects of training that the employee has received

A certificate is valid for 36 months, and a copy must be kept at the operator’s place of business for a period of two years after the expiry date.

Every trained person who transports dangerous goods is required by law to produce a certificate of training when requested by an inspector.

What is a Dangerous Good?

Many products pose some danger while being transported, but dangerous goods are generally products that are inherently dangerous, whether or not they are in transport. Special precautions are called for to ensure safe transportation. The Transportation of Dangerous Goods Act, 1992, (TDGA, 1992) defines dangerous goods as "a product, substance or organism included by its nature or by the regulation in any of the classes listed in the schedule.”

The schedule to the TDGA, 1992 identifies nine classes of dangerous goods. Manufacturers of dangerous goods, or products containing dangerous goods, cannot offer these for transport unless they have been properly classified. Each dangerous good falls within one of these nine classes. Some classes are further divided into divisions, in order to provide more information. The sub-class identifies additional dangers associated with the particular good within that general class.

Dangerous Goods on Buses

Transportation of Dangerous Goods Regulations, in column nine of Schedule 1, gives the quantity limits for dangerous goods above which those dangerous goods must not be transported on a passenger-carrying road vehicle (bus). The quantity limit is expressed in kilograms for solids; litres for liquids; and, for gases, the capacity of the means of containment of the gases.

The word "Forbidden” in this column means that the dangerous goods must not be transported in any quantity on-board a bus. If no index number is shown, then there is no quantity limit. A few exceptions do exist: for example, dangerous goods that are required for the health and safety of passengers, such as medical oxygen.

Before transporting dangerous goods, bus operators should check the regulation for prohibitions and applicable exemptions.

Classes of Dangerous Goods

Class 1: Explosives

  • Explosives, as included in the Explosives Act

Class 2: Gases

  • Compressed, deeply refrigerated, liquefied or dissolved under pressure

Class 3: Flammable Liquids

  • A liquid which has a closed-cup flash point not greater than 60oC.

Class 4: Flammable Solids

  • Flammable solids, meaning substances liable to spontaneous combustion, and substances that emit flammable gases upon contact with water

Class 5: Oxidizing Substances and Organic Peroxides

  • Substance which causes or contributes to the combustion of other material by yielding oxygen or other oxidizing substances or organic compounds which are strong oxidizing agents and may be liable to explosive decomposition, be sensitive to heat, shock or friction or react dangerously with other dangerous goods

Class 6: Toxic and Infectious Substances

  • A solid or liquid that is toxic through inhalation, by skin contact or by ingestion or Micro-organisms that are infectious or that are reasonably believed to be infectious to humans or animals.

Class 7: Radioactive Materials

  • Nuclear substances, within the meaning of the Nuclear Safety and Control Act, which are radioactive

Class 8: Corrosives

  • A substance that causes destruction of skin or corrodes steel or non-clad aluminum.

Class 9: Miscellaneous Products, Substances or Organisms

  • Miscellaneous products, substances or organisms considered by the Governor-in-Council to be dangerous to life, health, property or the environment when handled, offered for transport or transported

Identification of Dangerous Goods and Communication of Hazards (Safety Marks)

The legislation prescribes labels and placards (safety marks) for each classification of dangerous goods, as well as information that must be included in documents required to accompany the consignment of the dangerous goods.  The prescribed markings and documentation are intended to communicate the nature of the danger to handlers and  those responding to spills and incidents.

Generally, smaller packages are labelled, while larger shipments or goods that are shipped in a large means of containment are placarded.  Transport units that are used must be placarded in accordance with the legislation, and the prescribed documents must accompany the consignment and be readily accessible.

Placards are a clear indication that a transport unit contains dangerous goods.  When a collision or spill occurs that involves a transport unit, these placards alert responders to the presence and nature of the dangerous goods, which allows them to take the necessary precautions and actions.  

Responders may examine the contents of the transport unit to locate the particular consignment of dangerous goods, and examine the accompanying documentation to obtain more precise information.

Generally speaking, prior to taking possession of a shipment of dangerous goods, you must ensure that you are in possession of a shipping document containing the prescribed information, and that the means of containment are displaying the required safety marks.  

When placards are required to be displayed on a large means of containment, they must be displayed on each side and each end.  

The placards must remain on the large means of containment until no hazard remains.  Once the dangerous goods have been unloaded and no hazard remains, the placards must be removed.

If the dangerous-goods safety marks are lost, damaged or defaced during the trip, then the operator must replace them.

Marks of Safety

Marks of Safety

Accompanying Documentation

When a shipping document is required to accompany the dangerous goods, it must be kept within arm’s reach of the driver. When the driver is not in the cab, the documents must either be on the driver's seat, in the pocket on the driver's door or in a clearly visible position.

One of the most important sources of information for a first responder to an accident is the dangerous-goods documentation. The document outlines the dangerous goods you are carrying in a specific order, in which the first responders are trained.

When a parked trailer carrying dangerous goods is not attached to the tractor, the person in charge of the parking area must keep one copy of the documents. Or, if there isn't anyone in charge of the parking area, place a copy of the documents in a waterproof container attached to the trailer, where it is easily identifiable and accessible. Though there are other options available to leave documentation; the ones above are most commonly used.

If the quantity of dangerous goods changes while in transport, the person in control of the vehicle must indicate this, so that the document reflects the amount of dangerous goods in the vehicle.

Shipping Documents

A shipping document must, at minimum, include the following information for transportation by road:

  • Legible and clear, "dangerous goods” highlighted over other freight
  • Name and address of Consignor (Canadian)
  • Date the document prepared
  • Description of DG in following order
    • UN Number
    • Shipping name
    • (technical name) Special Provision 16
    • Primary class
    • Compatibility group – (explosives Class 1 only)
    • Subsidiary class in parenthesis
    • Packing Group (roman numeral)
    • “Toxic by Inhalation” or “toxic – inhalation hazard” Special Provision 23
  • Quantity of dangerous goods/ NEQ – Explosives (metric)
  • Number of small means of containment
  • 24-hour phone number
  • Residue last contained
  • Declining balance
  • ERAP number and activation telephone number (if required)
  • Consignor’s Certification

Reporting Incidents

In the event of an accidental release of dangerous goods from a means of containment, a person who has possession of them at the time must make an immediate report to the following people, if the accidental release consists of a quantity of dangerous goods or an emission of radiation that is greater than the quantity or emission level set out in the table in Part 8 of the Regulation:

  1. The local police
  2. The owner of the vehicle
  3. Your employer
  4. The person or company that owns the consignment of the dangerous goods (consignor as per TDG Clear Language)
  5. CANUTEC, in the event of an accidental release of Class 1, 6.2, or a catastrophic failure of a gas cylinder

The driver’s employer must submit a 30-day follow-up report to the Director General, Transport Dangerous Goods Directorate, Transport Canada (if you were required to make an immediate report of an accidental release of dangerous goods as per Section 8.1 of the regulations).

Prosecutions

Prosecutions are undertaken for violations of the Dangerous Goods Transportation Act. Penalties include fines of up to $50,000 for first offences, up to $100,000 for second offences, and up to two years imprisonment for indictable offences.

More Information

Emergency Numbers

CANUTEC
(613) 996-6666

M.O.E. Spills Action Centre
1-800-268-6060

Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
(613) 995-0479

Information Numbers

CANUTEC
(613) 992-4624

M.O.E. Spills Action Centre
1-416-325-3011

Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
1-800-668-5284

Hazardous Waste Information Network (M.O.E)
1-866-494-6663

Ontario Ministry of Transportation
1-800-387-7736

The Transportation of Dangerous Goods Act (Federal): www.tc.gc.ca/eng/tdg/clear-tofc-211.htm

The Dangerous Goods Transportation Act: www.e-laws.gov.on.ca/html/statutes/english/elaws_statutes_90d01_e.htm

Back to Top

Manuel de sécurité des utilisateurs de véhicules utilitaires

Module 10 - Matières dangereuses

Vue d'ensemble

Ce guide rédigé par la Direction de la sécurité des transporteurs et de l’application des lois du ministère des Transports de l’Ontario a pour but d’aider les entreprises de transport en camion et en autobus (utilisateurs de véhicules utilitaires) à fonctionner de manière sécuritaire et conformément aux règlements qui régissent la conduite routière et à s’assurer qu’elles le font. L’Ontario, les autres provinces et territoires, le gouvernement du Canada et l’industrie du transport ont formulé des règles et des règlements visant à réduire le nombre et la gravité des collisions. Chaque palier de gouvernement s’est inspiré des normes du Code de la route pour rédiger sa propre législation en matière de sécurité des transports. Cette approche favorise l’uniformité dans l’ensemble du pays et contribue à assurer la pérennité et la durabilité de l’industrie des transports.

Ce guide s’applique aux utilisateurs de véhicules utilitaires de l’Ontario suivants :

  • Des camions, des tracteurs ou des remorques, ou une combinaison de ces véhicules, qui ont un poids brut enregistré ou un poids réel supérieur à 4 500 kilogrammes
  • Les dépanneuses, quel que soit le poids brut enregistré ou le poids réel
  • Des autobus conçus pour transporter 10 passagers ou plus, à l’exclusion du conducteur
  • Des véhicules accessibles et des véhicules de transport scolaire, selon l’utilisation

Le guide comprend plusieurs modules, dont chacun aborde un sujet précis. Pour connaître toutes les exigences de conformité, nous vous recommandons de vous procurer le guide au complet. Si vous avez l’intention d’utiliser certaines parties de ce guide seulement (par exemple, le module 1, « Démarrage d’une entreprise »), nous vous recommandons de vous procurer également les modules « Introduction » et « Immatriculation des utilisateurs de véhicules utilitaires ».

Cet ouvrage est conçu comme un guide et n’est pas censé remplacer les statuts et les règlements pertinents. On y trouve certaines dispositions légales importantes, mais non une description exhaustive de toutes les lois en vigueur.

Matières dangereuses - Objectifs d'apprentissage

Après avoir parcouru ce module, vous serez en mesure de :

  • définir les matières dangereuses;
  • comprendre la nécessité d’une législation régissant le transport de matières dangereuses;
  • décrire la formation requise;
  • reconnaître les classes de matières dangereuses;
  • reconnaître les indications de danger – étiquettes et plaques – apposées aux matières dangereuses;
  • décrire l’utilisation réglementaire des étiquettes et des plaques;
  • connaître la documentation exigée;
  • décrire les procédures de signalement d’incidents.

L’étude de ce module ne constitue pas une formation réglementaire sur les matières dangereuses pour des employés.

Règlements relatifs aux matières dangereuses

Les matières dangereuses sont les substances qui peuvent porter atteinte à l’intégrité de personnes, de biens matériels ou de l’environnement.

Sur le territoire canadien, de très nombreux produits dits dangereux sont transportés chaque jour par voie routière, ferroviaire, aérienne, et fluviale ou maritime. Une quantité aussi importante de matières dangereuses en transit engendre des risques considérables d’incidents susceptibles de mettre des vies humaines en danger et de détériorer l’environnement.

Les fabricants, les expéditeurs, les transporteurs, les travailleurs des terminaux, les utilisateurs et les gouvernements doivent continuellement travailler de concert afin de minimiser les risques d’incidents liés au transport de matières dangereuses ainsi que les dommages provoqués par de tels incidents.

À cette fin, des gouvernements ont adopté des lois régissant toutes les étapes du transport de matières dangereuses. Ils ont également mis en place des programmes d’inspection et d’application des lois et règlements afin de s’assurer que toutes les personnes concernées s’y conforment.

Au Canada, le gouvernement fédéral, de même que les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, ont adopté des lois et des règlements relatifs au transport de matières dangereuses.

Formation obligatoire

En vertu de la loi, il est interdit à toute personne de se livrer à la manutention, à la demande de transport ou au transport de matières dangereuses, à moins que cette personne ait acquis la formation appropriée ou qu’elle soit en présence et sous la supervision directe d’une personne qui a reçu la formation requise.

Chaque transporteur est tenu de s’assurer que quiconque utilise les véhicules dont il a la responsabilité pour transporter des matières dangereuses a reçu la formation requise à la manutention et au transport de telles matières. Lorsque le transporteur juge adéquate et suffisante la formation d’un de ses employés, il doit lui délivrer un certificat de formation.

Les renseignements suivants doivent figurer sur le certificat de formation :

  • nom et adresse du transporteur;
  • nom de l’employé;
  • signatures du transporteur et de l’employé;
  • date d’expiration du certificat;
  • éléments de la formation reçue par l’employé.

Le certificat demeure valide pour une période de 36 mois, et une copie de ce certificat doit être conservée à l’entreprise du transporteur pendant les deux années suivant la date d’expiration.

En vertu de la loi, toute personne dûment formée qui transporte des matières dangereuses est tenue de présenter son certificat de formation à tout agent d’exécution qui en fait la demande.

Qu'est-ce qu'une matière dangereuse?

De nombreux produits présentent un danger lorsqu'ils sont transportés, mais les matières dangereuses sont, en général, des substances de nature dangereuse, qu'elles soient en transit ou non. Des précautions spéciales s'imposent pour en garantir la sécurité durant le transport. Dans la Loi de 1992 sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses (LTDM (1992), les « marchandises dangereuses » sont définies en ces termes : « produits, substances ou organismes appartenant, en raison de leur nature ou en vertu des règlements, aux classes figurant à l’annexe ».

Neuf classes primaires de matières dangereuses sont énumérées dans l’annexe de la LTDM (1992), et chaque matière dangereuse appartient à l’une de ces classes. Il est interdit aux fabricants de produits dangereux ou de produits contenant des matières dangereuses d’expédier ou de transporter ces produits sans qu’ils aient été classés convenablement. Certaines des classes de matières dangereuses sont divisées en sous-classes (classes subsidiaires) plus spécifiques de matières dont les propriétés particulières comportent des dangers associés à la classe primaire.

Matières dangereuses à bord d'autobus

En vertu de l’Annexe 1 du Règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses, l’information donnée dans la colonne 9 du document d’expédition indique la quantité au-delà de laquelle des matières dangereuses ne doivent pas être transportées à bord d'un véhicule routier de passagers (autobus). Cette quantité est exprimée en kilogrammes pour les matières solides, en litres pour les liquides et, en ce qui concerne les gaz, en capacité du contenant.

Dans la même colonne, le mot « Interdit » indique qu'aucune quantité de ces matières dangereuses ne peut être transportée à bord d'un autobus. Il n’y a pas de quantité limite si aucun indice n’apparaît dans cette colonne. Il existe toutefois quelques exceptions, incluant par exemple l’autorisation de transporter des matières dangereuses nécessaires à la santé de passagers, comme l’oxygène thérapeutique. Avant de transporter des matières dangereuses, les transporteurs et les conducteurs d’autobus doivent vérifier les interdictions et les exemptions applicables en vertu de la loi et des règlements.

Classes de matières dangereuses

Classe 1 : Explosifs

  • Ensemble des explosifs, tels que définis dans la Loi sur les explosifs.

Classe 2 : Gaz

  • Gaz comprimés, liquéfiés, dissous sous pression ou liquéfiés à très basse température.

Classe 3 : Liquides inflammables et combustibles

  • Liquides dont le point d’éclair est égal ou inférieur à 60 °C.

Classe 4 : Solides inflammables

  • Substances sujettes à l’inflammation spontanée et substances qui, au contact de l’eau, dégagent des gaz inflammables.

Classe 5 : Matières comburantes et peroxydes organiques

  • Substances qui provoquent la combustion d’autres matières ou y contribuent en libérant de l’oxygène ou d’autres substances comburantes; et composés organiques qui sont de forts agents comburants susceptibles de décomposition explosive, sensibles à la chaleur, aux chocs et au frottement, et réagissent dangereusement avec d’autres matières.

Classe 6 : Matières toxiques et substances infectieuses

  • Solides ou liquides qui sont toxiques par inhalation, contact cutané ou ingestion; et micro-organismes qui sont infectieux ou sont soupçonnés de l’être, et dont il est raisonnable de croire qu’ils peuvent causer des maladies chez l’homme ou les animaux.

Classe 7 : Matières radioactives

  • Matières nucléaires – au sens de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires – qui sont radioactives.

Classe 8 : Matières corrosives

  • Substances qui causent la destruction de la peau ou qui corrodent l'acier ou l'aluminium non cuirassé.

Classe 9 : Produits, substances ou organismes divers

  • Produits, substances ou organismes dont la manipulation ou le transport présentent, selon le gouverneur en conseil, des risques de dommages corporels ou matériels, ou de dommages à l’environnement, et qui sont inclus par règlement dans la présente classe.

Identification des matières dangereuses et indications de danger

La loi prescrit l’utilisation d’étiquettes et de plaques (indications de danger) pour chaque classe de matières dangereuses, de même que l’inscription de renseignements déterminés sur les documents qui doivent accompagner les matières dangereuses en transit. Les indications de danger et les documents exigés sont destinés à renseigner les manutentionnaires et les personnes appelées à intervenir en cas de déversements ou d’autres incidents.

En règle générale, les étiquettes sont apposées sur les petits contenants et les plaques sur les grands contenants. Des plaques indicatrices de danger conformes au règlement doivent être apposées sur les véhicules qui transportent des matières dangereuses, et les documents d’accompagnement exigés doivent être en tout temps conservés et rapidement accessibles.

Les plaques constituent une indication claire qu’un véhicule contient des matières dangereuses. Lors d’un accident, les plaques avertissent les intervenants de la présence de matières dangereuses et de la nature de ces matières, ce qui leur permet de prendre promptement les précautions nécessaires et de poser les actions appropriées.

Les intervenants peuvent inspecter le contenu du véhicule afin de repérer les matières dangereuses étiquetées qui s’y trouvent et examiner les documents d'accompagnement pour obtenir des informations plus précises.

Avant de prendre la responsabilité d’un transport de matières dangereuses, le conducteur doit s’assurer d’avoir en sa possession un document d’expédition sur lequel sont inscrits tous les renseignements exigés et que les indications de danger réglementaires sont apposées à tous les contenants utilisés pour le confinement des matières dangereuses.

Lorsque des matières sont placées dans un grand contenant, des plaques indicatrices de danger doivent être apposées de chaque côté et à chaque extrémité de ce contenant.

Les plaques doivent rester apposées aux grands contenants de matières dangereuses tant et aussi longtemps que le risque existe. Une fois les matières dangereuses déchargées et les risques disparus, les plaques doivent être retirées.

Si les indications de danger sont perdues, endommagées ou mutilées en cours de route, le conducteur doit les remplacer.

Marks of Safety

Marks of Safety

Documentation d'accompagnement

Lorsqu’un document d’expédition est exigé pour le transport de matières dangereuses, ce document doit toujours être gardé à la portée de la main du conducteur. Lorsque ce dernier n’est pas dans l’unité motrice du véhicule, le document doit être placé sur le siège du conducteur, dans une pochette fixée à la porte du conducteur ou à un endroit où il est nettement visible.

La documentation relative aux matières dangereuses est l’une des plus importantes sources d’informations pour les premiers intervenants, sur les lieux d’un accident. Le document d’expédition leur fournit les renseignements essentiels sur les matières dangereuses transportées dans un ordre prédéterminé, auquel les intervenants ont été formés.

Lorsqu’une remorque non attachée au véhicule tracteur contenant des matières dangereuses est laissée dans un endroit surveillé, la personne responsable de cet endroit doit prendre possession d’une copie du document d’expédition et la conserver. Si la remorque est laissée dans un endroit non surveillé, le conducteur doit placer le document d’expédition dans un récipient étanche et fixer solidement ce récipient à la remorque, à un endroit facilement reconnaissable et accessible. Bien qu’il soit possible de procéder autrement, les conducteurs adoptent habituellement les méthodes décrites ci-dessus pour ranger leur documentation.

Si la quantité de matières dangereuses en transit varie, la personne responsable du véhicule doit l’indiquer sur son document d’expédition, de sorte que l’information demeure exacte en tout temps.

Document d'expédition

Lorsque des matières dangereuses doivent être transportées par voie routière, le document d’expédition doit minimalement contenir les renseignements suivants :

  • Mention « Matières dangereuses » lisible et surlignée d’une couleur qui contraste avec les renseignements relatifs aux autres matières ou marchandises.
  • Nom et adresse de l’établissement de l’expéditeur au Canada.
  • Date à laquelle le document d’expédition est produit.
  • Description des propriétés de la matière dangereuse, dans l’ordre suivant :
    • numéro UN;
    • appellation réglementaire;
    • appellation technique - disposition particulière 16;
    • classe primaire;
    • indice du groupe de compatibilité (explosifs de la Classe 1 seulement);
    • classe subsidiaire, entre parenthèses;
    • groupe d’emballage (nombre en chiffres romains);
    • « toxique par inhalation » ou « toxicité par inhalation » – disposition particulière 23.
  • Quantité de chacune des matières dangereuses/Poids net d’explosifs (unités métriques).
  • Nombre de petits contenants.
  • Mention « Numéro 24 heures » suivie du numéro de téléphone où joindre l’expéditeur.
  • Mention « Résidu – dernier contenu » suivie de l’appellation réglementaire des dernières matières placées dans un contenant.
  • Changement relatif à la quantité de matières dangereuses en transit.
  • Numéro de référence du PIU et numéro de téléphone à composer pour le mettre immédiatement en œuvre (s’il y a lieu).
  • Accréditation de l'expéditeur

Signalement d'incidents

En cas de rejet accidentel de matières dangereuses d'un contenant, toute personne qui est en possession des matières dangereuses à ce moment en fait immédiatement rapport aux personnes énumérées ci-dessous, qu’il s’agisse du rejet de matières dangereuses ou de l’émission de radiations qui dépassent en quantité ou en intensité les seuils indiqués dans la Partie 8 du Règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses (fédéral) :

  1. police locale;
  2. propriétaire du véhicule;
  3. employeur;
  4. personne ou entreprise propriétaire des matières dangereuses en transit (soit « l’expéditeur », selon la définition du TDM en langage clair afférant au règlement);
  5. CANUTEC, dans le cas de rejet accidentel de matières de Classe 1 ou de Classe 6.2, ou résultant d’une défaillance catastrophique d’une bouteille à gaz.

Si un rapport immédiat a été exigé en vertu du paragraphe 8(1) du règlement lors d’un rejet accidentel de matières dangereuses, l’employeur du conducteur est tenu de soumettre un rapport de suivi au directeur général (Direction générale du transport des marchandises dangereuses, Transports Canada) dans les 30 jours suivant l’incident.

Poursuites judiciaires

Quiconque contrevient à la Loi sur le transport de matières dangereuses s’expose à une poursuite. La peine encourue peut inclure une amende maximale de 50 000 $ pour une première infraction ou de 100 000 $ en cas de récidive, ainsi qu’une peine d’emprisonnement pouvant atteindre deux ans pour acte criminel. 

Autres ressources

Numéros d’appel des secours :

CANUTEC
613 996-6666

Centre d’intervention en cas de déversement
(ministère de l’Environnement de l’Ontario)
1 800 268-6060

Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
613 995-0479

Numéros d’information :

CANUTEC
613 992-4624

Centre d’intervention en cas de déversement
(ministère de l’Environnement de l’Ontario)
416 325-3011

Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
1 800 668-5284

Réseau électronique d’information sur les déchets dangereux (ministère de l’Environnement de l’Ontario)
1 866 494-6663

Ministère des Transports de l’Ontario
1 800 387-7736

Sur le Web :

Règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses (Fédéral) :

Loi sur le transport de matières dangereuses (Ontario) :

Retour en haut de page