Commercial Vehicle Operators’ Safety Manual

Module 11 - Vehicle Weights and Dimensions

Overview

The Carrier Safety and Enforcement Branch of the Ministry of Transportation of Ontario has prepared this guide to assist and ensure that truck and bus companies (commercial vehicle operators) operate safely and are compliant with the regulations that govern highway use. Ontario, other provinces, the Government of Canada and the transportation industry developed the rules and regulations to help reduce the number and severity of collisions. Each jurisdiction has used the National Safety Code standards as guides in drafting their own transportation safety legislation. This approach promotes uniformity across Canada and helps to ensure that the transportation industry remains as viable and sustainable as possible.

This guide applies to Ontario operators of commercial motor vehicles that are:

  • Trucks, tractors or trailers, or a combination of these vehicles, that have a registered gross vehicle weight or actual weight of more than 4,500 kilograms
  • Tow trucks, regardless of registered gross weight or actual weight
  • Buses with a manufactured seating capacity of 10 persons or more, excluding the driver
  • Accessible vehicles and school-purposes vehicles, depending upon use

The guide contains several modules, each dealing with a specific topic. To get a complete picture of compliance requirements, you should obtain the complete guide. If you intend to use certain parts of this guide only (for example, Module 1, "Getting Started”) it is recommended that you also obtain the modules "Introduction” and "Commercial Vehicle Operators’ Registration.”

This is a guide only and is not meant to be a substitute for the relevant statutes and regulations. This guide highlights some important legal provisions but is not an exhaustive description of all the laws that apply.

Vehicle Weights and Dimensions - Learning Objectives

As you work through this module, you will be able to:

  • Understand the need for overweight and oversize permits.
  • Describe carrier responsibilities.
  • Identify legal dimensions and weights.
  • Determine which vehicles require permits and the specific conditions that apply.
  • Identify the types of permits available.
  • Obtain the latest road information, through the Traveller’s Information Website.
  • Obtain information on safe, productive, infrastructure-friendly (SPIF) vehicles.

Ministry of Transportation Permits

The Ontario Ministry of Transportation (MTO) monitors, controls and issues permits for the movement of vehicles or combination vehicles that do not comply with dimensional limits under the Highway Traffic Act. MTO establishes maximum weight and dimension limits for any vehicle using public roads, and makes provisions for the movement of oversize and overweight loads by issuing permits. This is done for the following purposes:

  • To ensure the safety of the travelling public
  • To minimize the inconvenience to the travelling public
  • To minimize damage to the roadway infrastructure
  • To facilitate the movement of commodities that are non-divisible, deemed impractical to divide or uneconomical to transport at legal dimensions
  • To establish and communicate to the operator a set of conditions for the safe movement of the load
  • To prevent damage to the operator’s vehicles and load

Responsibilities

It is the responsibility of the carrier to consult the legislation for the exact requirements and to obtain all required permits before moving any oversize or overweight shipment.

MTO’s Oversize/Overweight Permit Office is not responsible for any omissions in these documents. Further, MTO is not responsible for incomplete, inaccurate or missing permits.

Descriptions of vehicle types, with detailed, current legal dimensions and oversize/overweight vehicle and loads, are both available on the MTO website:

Oversize/Overweight Vehicles and Loads in Ontario

Safe, Productive and Infrastructure-Friendly Vehicles

Legal Dimensions (Size)

Width: 2.6 metres (8’ 6”)

Height: 4.15 metres (13’ 6”)

Length:

  • Single Vehicle 12.5 metres (41’0”)
  • Truck-tractor and semi-trailer(s) 23.0 metres (75’6”)
  • Truck and towed trailer(s) in combination 23.0 metres (75’6”)

Legal Weights

MTO establishes maximum vehicle weights to preserve highway infrastructure and ensure public safety. Legal weights are dependent on a variety of factors, including the number of axles and so on.

Vehicle weights and dimensions are detailed in Regulation 413/05 of the Highway Traffic Act.

Oversize/Overweight Permit Process

Permits are required for the movement of vehicles and their loads that exceed the legal weights. Conditions are applied to the permits to minimize infrastructure damage and enhance public safety.

Permits are required for the movement of vehicles and loads that exceed the legal dimensions.

To obtain more information about oversize/overweight vehicles, contact the Oversize/Overweight Permit Office:

From Ontario, 1-800-387-7736, ext 6306
From out of province, (416) 246-7166, ext 6306
Fax-in permit request, (905) 704-2545

Prior to obtaining an over-dimensional permit, there may be other requirements that must be met in order to travel in Ontario (for example, Commercial Vehicle Operators' Registration, National Safety Code and so on).

There are four types of permits that the ministry issues:

  • Annual
  • Project
  • Single trip
  • Special vehicle configuration.

Each oversize/overweight permit will have specific conditions attached, and these must be adhered to strictly. The permit may be terminated for breach of any condition, and the permit-holder may be subject to prosecution.

A permit grants the movement of oversize/overweight loads only on highways under provincial jurisdiction. Municipalities may accept ministry permits or issue their own for highways under their jurisdiction. The carrier must contact appropriate municipalities to ensure compliance with the local bylaws.

For further information, go to the Oversized/Overweight Guide or contact the St. Catharines Permit Issuing Office.

St. Catharines
301 St. Paul Street, 3rd Floor, St Catharines, ON L2R 7R4
Tel: 416-246-7166 or 1-800-387-7736, Dept 4
Fax: 905-704-2545

Long-combination vehicles (LCV) permits and routes

In Canada, any combination of vehicles over 25 metres overall length is considered to be an LCV. Ontario LCVs are made up of a tractor pulling two full-length semi-trailers up to 40 metres in overall length.

LCV Program has established stringent program conditions governing operators, drivers, special LCV equipment and LCV operations. The conditions are specific, and structured to achieve safety, environmental and economic objectives for the program.

Participating operators are responsible for verifying that drivers and instructors meet the specified qualifications, training and experience, and have obtained an Ontario Trucking Association (OTA) issued certificate. This includes ensuring that:

  • LCV drivers are proven safe and reliable tractor trailer operators with a minimum of 5 years experience.
  • All LCV drivers successfully complete specified LCV driver training that includes classroom, yard and on-road training and evaluation including at least 1,000 km of practical LCV experience.
  • LCV instructors have at least 10,000 km of LCV experience.
Tractor Trailer
Existing tractor trailer
(Max. Weight 63,500 kg)
Double Trailer
Existing double trailer
(Max. Weight 63,500 kg)
LCV
LCV
(Max. Weight 63,500 kg)

Operators are required to enter into a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Ministry of Transportation signifying that the operator accepts responsibilities as outlined in the program conditions. All approved operators must maintain a satisfactory Carrier Safety Rating, not just in their LCV operations, but in all their operations.

Strict guidelines detailing the vehicle configuration, dimensions and weight allowances are specified in the permit conditions. LCVs cannot be heavier than single tractor-trailers. LCVs are required to have special equipment including horsepower minimums, on-board speed recording devices, anti-lock braking systems (ABS), additional lighting, rear signage and electronic stability control (ESC).

LCV permits have specific and detailed operating restrictions that outline where and when participants may operate these vehicles. Permit conditions outline that LCVs may only operate on approved routes, must not detour off approved routes for any reason, including for road closures, and must not operate on any routes on the evening preceding and the last evening of long weekends.

LCVs must not exceed a speed of 90 km/h, and must not travel in the Greater Toronto Area or parts of the Ottawa area during morning and afternoon rush hours. LCVs are not permitted to carry livestock or dangerous goods requiring a placard. LCVs must not operate during inclement weather, poor visibility or poor road conditions.

Information on this program can be found on MTO’s website.

Safe, Productive, Infrastructure-Friendly (SPIF) Vehicles

As the name implies, SPIF vehicles are designed to be as productive as possible, while ensuring that their performance characteristics meet or exceed national guidelines for minimizing heavy-truck damage to roads and bridges.

Highway Traffic Act regulations are now causing a migration to 31 SPIF alternatives. Each has its own schedule in the regulation describing the vehicle, its axles, suspension and other required equipment, as well as required dimensions and allowable weights. SPIF vehicles can have any body style and carry any commodity. There are no weight reductions for carrying products like sand or gravel.

These vehicles provide superior stability and control, and can operate within acceptable amounts of space when turning or making emergency manoeuvres. In addition, the heavy five- and six-axle SPIF semi-trailers are equipped with an enhanced braking system to minimize the risk of failure and warn the driver of potential problems.

Characteristics of SPIF vehicles are carefully prescribed and include that the vehicles must be:

  • Equipped with fixed axles, or a combination of fixed and self-steering axles, that do not need to be raised for cornering
  • Able to automatically distribute weight over all axles to minimize infrastructure wear
  • Tested against national performance targets to ensure satisfactory stability and control, and reduced risk of rollovers and jack-knives

The following flowchart will aid in determining the grandfathering or your particular vehicle:

Vehicle Grandfathering Flowchart

More Information

The amended Ontario Regulation 413/05 of the Highway Traffic Act, titled Vehicle Weights and Dimensions – for Safe, Productive and Infrastructure-Friendly Vehicles, is available through the e-laws website e-laws website.

Non-SPIF vehicles, excluding 53-foot semi-trailers and other long tractor-trailer combinations, can legally operate in Ontario at reduced gross vehicle weights under what is now a vehicle weights and dimensions, two-tier system.

Back to Top

Manuel de sécurité des utilisateurs de véhicules utilitaires

Module 11 - Poids et dimensions des véhicules

Vue d'ensemble

Ce guide rédigé par la Direction de la sécurité des transporteurs et de l’application des lois du ministère des Transports de l’Ontario a pour but d’aider les entreprises de transport en camion et en autobus (utilisateurs de véhicules utilitaires) à fonctionner de manière sécuritaire et conformément aux règlements qui régissent la conduite routière et à s’assurer qu’elles le font. L’Ontario, les autres provinces et territoires, le gouvernement du Canada et l’industrie du transport ont formulé des règles et des règlements visant à réduire le nombre et la gravité des collisions. Chaque palier de gouvernement s’est inspiré des normes du Code de la route pour rédiger sa propre législation en matière de sécurité des transports. Cette approche favorise l’uniformité dans l’ensemble du pays et contribue à assurer la pérennité et la durabilité de l’industrie des transports.

Ce guide s’applique aux utilisateurs de véhicules utilitaires de l’Ontario suivants :

  • Des camions, des tracteurs ou des remorques, ou une combinaison de ces véhicules, qui ont un poids brut enregistré ou un poids réel supérieur à 4 500 kilogrammes
  • Les dépanneuses, quel que soit le poids brut enregistré ou le poids réel
  • Des autobus conçus pour transporter 10 passagers ou plus, à l’exclusion du conducteur
  • Des véhicules accessibles et des véhicules de transport scolaire, selon l’utilisation

Le guide comprend plusieurs modules, dont chacun aborde un sujet précis. Pour connaître toutes les exigences de conformité, nous vous recommandons de vous procurer le guide au complet. Si vous avez l’intention d’utiliser certaines parties de ce guide seulement (par exemple, le module 1, « Démarrage d’une entreprise »), nous vous recommandons de vous procurer également les modules « Introduction » et « Immatriculation des utilisateurs de véhicules utilitaires ».

Cet ouvrage est conçu comme un guide et n’est pas censé remplacer les statuts et les règlements pertinents. On y trouve certaines dispositions légales importantes, mais non une description exhaustive de toutes les lois en vigueur.

Poids et dimensions des véhicules - Objectifs d'apprentissage

Après avoir parcouru ce module, vous serez en mesure de :

  • comprendre la nécessité des permis spéciaux pour les véhicules de dimensions ou de poids exceptionnels;
  • décrire les responsabilités des transporteurs;
  • connaître les dimensions et les poids légalement autorisés;
  • déterminer quels véhicules requièrent des permis spéciaux et les conditions particulières assorties à ces permis;
  • reconnaître les différents types de permis;
  • obtenir les renseignements les plus récents sur les conditions routières en consultant le site Web du ministère des Transports, à la page Info pour les voyageurs;
  • obtenir des renseignements sur les véhicules sûrs, productifs et favorables à l’infrastructure (SPFI).

Permis délivrés par le ministère des Transports

Le ministère des Transports de l’Ontario surveille, contrôle et délivre des permis spéciaux pour des véhicules ou des combinaisons de véhicules non conformes aux limites de dimensions et de poids prescrites par le Code de la route. Il établit des limites de dimensions et de poids pour tous les véhicules circulant sur les voies publiques et délivre des permis spéciaux pour réglementer les déplacements des véhicules de dimensions ou de poids exceptionnels. Les objectifs de ces dispositions sont les suivants :

  • assurer la sécurité des voyageurs;
  • minimiser les inconvénients de la circulation des poids lourds pour tous les usagers du réseau routier;
  • minimiser les dommages causés aux infrastructures routières;
  • faciliter le transport de marchandises indivisibles ou jugées à peu près impossibles à diviser, ou dont le transport dans des véhicules de dimensions légales serait non rentable;
  • établir les mesures à prendre pour assurer le transport sécuritaire des charges et les communiquer aux transporteurs;
  • prévenir les dommages causés aux véhicules et aux charges qu’ils contiennent.

Responsabilités

Il incombe au transporteur de prendre connaissance des exigences précises qui le concernent en consultant les lois et règlements. Il doit s’assurer de détenir tous les permis exigés avant de déplacer un véhicule ou une charge de dimensions ou de poids exceptionnels.

Le bureau de délivrance de permis du ministère des Transports n’est responsable d’aucune omission de détenir un permis. De plus, le ministère des Transports ne peut être tenu responsable de permis incomplets, inexacts ou manquants.

Une description détaillée de tous les types de véhicules et des limites légales de dimensions et de poids correspondantes peut être consultée sur le site Web du ministère des Transports de l’Ontario :

Guide sur les véhicules et charges de dimensions/poids exceptionnels en Ontario

Véhicules sûrs, productifs et n'endommageant pas l'infrastructure

Dimensions légales

Largeur maximale : 2,6 m (8 pi 6 po)

Hauteur maximale : 4,15 m (13 pi 6 po)

Longueur maximale :

  • Véhicule seul : 12,5 m (41 pi 0 po)
  • Camion tracteur et semi-remorque : 23,0 m (75 pi 6 po)
  • Camion et train routier : 23,0 m (75 pi 6 po)

Poids légaux

Le ministère des Transports établit des poids maximaux autorisés afin de préserver les infrastructures routières et la sécurité publique. Les limites de poids légales dépendent de différents facteurs, tels que le nombre d’essieux des véhicules.

Le poids et les dimensions des véhicules sont décrits dans le Règlement 413/05 du Code de la route.

Obtention de permis pour véhicules de dimensions ou de poids exceptionnels

Des permis sont requis pour le déplacement des véhicules dont le poids, combiné à celui de sa charge, dépasse la limite autorisée par la loi. Ces permis sont assortis de conditions visant à minimiser les dommages causés aux infrastructures routières et à rehausser la sécurité publique.

Pour obtenir plus d’information sur les véhicules de dimensions ou de poids exceptionnels, communiquer avec le bureau de délivrance de permis en composant l’un des numéros suivants :

Ontario : 1 800 387-7736, poste 6306
De l’extérieur de la province : 416 246-7166, poste 6306
Télécopieur (envoi de demande de permis) : 905 704-2545

En Ontario, pour obtenir un permis pour véhicule ou charge de dimensions ou de poids exceptionnels, il faudra peut-être satisfaire à d'autres exigences relatives au transport routier; par exemple, certificat d’immatriculation d’utilisateur de véhicule utilitaire (IUVU), conformité au Code canadien de sécurité, etc.

Quatre types de permis peuvent être délivrés par le Ministère :

  • permis annuel;
  • permis de projet;
  • permis pour déplacement unique;
  • permis pour configuration spéciale d’un véhicule.

Chaque permis pour véhicule ou charge de dimensions ou de poids exceptionnels est assorti de conditions particulières qu'il faut observer strictement. Le non-respect d'une condition quelconque assortie au permis peut entraîner l’annulation du permis et exposer son détenteur à des poursuites judiciaires.

Chaque permis spécial autorise le déplacement de charges de dimensions ou de poids exceptionnels uniquement sur les voies publiques relevant de la province. Les municipalités peuvent accepter les permis du Ministère ou délivrer leurs propres permis pour les déplacements effectués sur les routes dont elles sont responsables. Le transporteur doit communiquer avec la ou les municipalités concernées afin de s'assurer qu'il respecte les règlements municipaux.

Permis et itinéraires des trains routiers (TR)

Au Canada, toute suite de véhicules remorqués formant une unité de transport de plus de 25 m de longueur est considérée comme un train routier (TR). En Ontario, un train routier comprend un véhicule tracteur et deux semi-remorques pleine longueur, et sa longueur totale peut atteindre un maximum de 40 m.

Le Programme de trains routiers prévoit l’application de normes rigoureuses aux transporteurs et aux conducteurs de TR, ainsi qu’à l’équipement et à l’utilisation des TR. Il s’agit de dispositions très précises et structurées en fonction des objectifs du programme concernant la sécurité, l’environnement et l’économie.

Les transporteurs participants ont la responsabilité de s’assurer que les qualifications, la formation et l’expérience des conducteurs et des instructeurs sont conformes aux critères établis, et que ces personnes détiennent un certificat délivré par l’Ontario Trucking Association (OTA). Les transporteurs doivent notamment s’assurer que :

  • les conducteurs de TR ont une expérience attestée d’au moins 5 ans dans la conduite de semi-remorques;
  • tous les conducteurs de TR ont suivi avec succès une formation spécialement conçue pour l’utilisation de TR, laquelle comprenait des cours en classe, des cours pratiques sur la route et en gare ou au terminal, et une évaluation du rendement étalée sur l’expérience pratique acquise lors de déplacements couvrant au moins 1000 km;
  • les instructeurs ont accumulé au moins 10 000 km de conduite de TR.
Tractor Trailer
Semi-remorque usuel
(Poids maximal de 63 500 kg)
Double Trailer
Double semi-remorque usuel
(Poids maximal de 63 500 kg)
LCV
Train routier (TR)
(Poids maximal de 63 500 kg)

Les transporteurs doivent adhérer à un protocole d’entente de pair avec le ministère des Transports. Ce faisant, le transporteur reconnaît accepter les responsabilités afférentes aux conditions prévues par le programme. Tous les transporteurs admis dans le programme doivent conserver une cote de sécurité satisfaisante, et cela, non seulement pour leur utilisation de TR, mais bien pour toutes leurs opérations.

Des exigences très rigoureuses relatives à la configuration, aux dimensions et aux poids admissibles sont incluses dans les conditions assorties aux permis spéciaux délivrés pour les TR. Par exemple, le poids maximal d’un TR ne peut dépasser celui d’un semi-remorque usuel. Chaque TR doit obligatoirement être muni d’équipements spéciaux, incluant une puissance minimale (chevaux-vapeur), un enregistreur de bord de la vitesse, un système de freinage antiblocage (ABS), des phares additionnels, un système de signalisation arrière et un électrostabilisateur programmé (ESP).

Les permis délivrés pour les TR comportent des restrictions spécifiques concernant les moments et les lieux où leur circulation est autorisée. Par exemple, ils prévoient que les TR ne peuvent circuler que sur les routes approuvées par le Ministère, et que tout contournement de ces voies routières est strictement prohibé pour quelque raison que ce soit, y compris une éventuelle fermeture de route. Par ailleurs, toute circulation de TR est interdite le soir précédent un long weekend et le dernier soir d’un long weekend.

La vitesse des TR ne doit pas dépasser 90 km/h, et la circulation de ces véhicules est interdite à l’intérieur de la région du Grand Toronto aux heures de pointe de la matinée et de l’après-midi. Il est interdit de transporter du bétail ou des matières dangereuses qui exigent des indications de danger (panneaux « D ») dans des TR. La circulation de TR est interdite pendant les mois de décembre, janvier et février ainsi que dans les cas de conditions météorologiques défavorables, de visibilité réduite ou de mauvaises conditions routières.

La description du Programme de trains routiers peut être obtenue à l’adresse suivante :
http://www.mto.gov.on.ca/french/trucks/long-combination-vehicles.shtml

Véhicules sûrs, productifs et favorables à l'infrastructure (SPFI)

Comme leur nom l’indique, les véhicules sûrs, productifs et favorables à l’infrastructure (SPFI) sont conçus pour être aussi productifs que possible, tout en offrant des caractéristiques de rendement conformes ou supérieures aux lignes directrices nationales visant à minimiser les dommages causés aux routes et aux ponts.

Les règlements pris en application du Code de la route imposent désormais la conformité des véhicules à 31 exigences visant à garantir que ces véhicules sont sûrs, productifs et favorables à l’infrastructure. Une date limite pour la satisfaction de chacune de ces exigences par les transporteurs est prévue dans les règlements applicables à la description des véhicules et de leurs dimensions, charges maximales, essieux, suspensions et autres équipements obligatoires. Tous les types de véhicules peuvent être des véhicules SPFI, quels que soient leur genre de carrosserie ou les types de marchandises qu’ils transportent. Il n’y a aucun assouplissement des exigences relatives au poids maximal pour les véhicules qui transportent des produits tels que du sable ou du gravier.

Les véhicules SPFI offrent une stabilité et une manœuvrabilité supérieures, et ils permettent des virages et des manœuvres d’urgence à l’intérieur d’un espace raisonnable. De plus, les semi-remorques lourds SPFI à cinq ou sept essieux sont équipés d’un système de freinage perfectionné qui contribue à minimiser les risques de défaillance des freins et prévient les conducteurs de problèmes potentiels.

Les caractéristiques des véhicules SPFI sont rigoureusement prescrites. Elles incluent la nécessité que ces véhicules soient :

  • équipés d’essieux fixes ou d’une combinaison d’essieux fixes et d’essieux autovireurs, qui n’ont pas besoin d’être relevés lors des virages;
  • capables de répartir automatiquement le poids sur tous les essieux afin minimiser l’usure de l’infrastructure;
  • testés en fonction des objectifs nationaux de rendement afin de garantir une stabilité et une manœuvrabilité satisfaisantes et de réduire les risques de tonneaux et de mises en portefeuille.

L’organigramme suivant aidera les transporteurs à déterminer s’ils peuvent bénéficier de la prolongation de droits acquis et reporter ainsi l’échéance en vigueur pour se conformer aux nouvelles dispositions du règlement :

Les poids bruts de mes véhicules non SPIF les rendent-ils admissibles à la prolongation des droits acquis?

Vehicle Grandfathering Flowchart

Information supplémentaire

Le Règlement 413/05 modifié de l’Ontario, pris en application du Code de la route et intitulé « Vehicle Weights and Dimensions — for Safe, Productive and Infrastructure-Friendly Vehicles » peut être consulté sur le site Web de Lois-en-ligne : (en anglais seulement)

À l’exclusion des semi-remorques de 53 pieds et des longs trains routiers, les véhicules non SPFI sont autorisés à circuler en Ontario, pourvu que leurs poids bruts maximaux aient été réduits conformément à un système à deux paliers maintenant en vigueur concernant les dimensions et les poids des véhicules.

Retour en haut de page