Commercial Vehicle Operators’ Safety Manual

Module 12 - Driver and Vehicle Licensing

Overview

The Carrier Safety and Enforcement Branch of the Ministry of Transportation of Ontario has prepared this guide to assist and ensure that truck and bus companies (commercial vehicle operators) operate safely and are compliant with the regulations that govern highway use. Ontario, other provinces, the Government of Canada and the transportation industry developed the rules and regulations to help reduce the number and severity of collisions. Each jurisdiction has used the National Safety Code standards as guides in drafting their own transportation safety legislation. This approach promotes uniformity across Canada and helps to ensure that the transportation industry remains as viable and sustainable as possible.

This guide applies to Ontario operators of commercial motor vehicles that are:

  • Trucks, tractors or trailers, or a combination of these vehicles, that have a registered gross vehicle weight or actual weight of more than 4,500 kilograms
  • Tow trucks, regardless of registered gross weight or actual weight
  • Buses with a manufactured seating capacity of 10 persons or more, excluding the driver
  • Accessible vehicles and school-purposes vehicles, depending upon use

The guide contains several modules, each dealing with a specific topic. To get a complete picture of compliance requirements, you should obtain the complete guide. If you intend to use certain parts of this guide only (for example, Module 1, "Getting Started”) it is recommended that you also obtain the modules "Introduction” and "Commercial Vehicle Operators’ Registration.”

This is a guide only and is not meant to be a substitute for the relevant statutes and regulations. This guide highlights some important legal provisions but is not an exhaustive description of all the laws that apply.

Driver and Vehicle Licensing - Learning Objectives

As you work through this module, you will be able to:

  • Describe the vehicle registration requirements.
  • Identify the types of vehicles that can be operated by a holder of each licence class.

Vehicle Registration Requirements

In Ontario, an operator may register commercial vehicles (power units) with a wide range of registered gross weights and or different declarations. Each type of plate provides for different uses and exemptions.  It is crucial that operators register their vehicles appropriately. Failure to do so may result in the operator being charged with an offence and/or having their vehicle detained until proper registration is obtained.

The following is a summary of what uses are authorized under each type of plate. This is an unofficial version of Government of Ontario legal materials. For accurate reference, refer to the official volumes. The Highway Traffic Act and regulations made under the act may be viewed on the E-laws website.

Commercial Vehicle Registration

Section 1(1) of the Highway Traffic Act defines a commercial motor vehicle as follows:

“commercial motor vehicle” unless otherwise defined by regulation, means a motor vehicle having attached to it a truck or delivery body and includes an ambulance, a hearse, a casket wagon, a fire apparatus, a bus and a tractor used for hauling purposes on a highway.

Most commercial motor vehicles must display a plate that has a white background and black lettering. These plates will normally contain two alpha characters with four or five numeric characters.  You can use personalized or graphic-design plates, but need to ensure that they are classified as commercial on the registration.

The plates for a commercial motor vehicle have to be displayed on the front and rear of the vehicle in a clear and conspicuous location.  The validation device must be put on the front plate in the upper right corner.  The crown on the plate cannot be covered or obscured by any material.

Unlike personal vehicles, a commercial motor-vehicle validation device expires the last day of the month that is shown on it.

If the commercial motor vehicle is used to travel outside of Ontario, the operator may be required to obtain prorated plates.  Prorated plates are similar to regular commercial motor- vehicle plates, but display the letters PRP on them.  More information on prorated plates and the International Registration Program can be found at:

Registered Gross Weight

To determine the registered gross weight for a commercial motor vehicle, the weight of a trailer must be added to the weight of the commercial motor vehicle if the trailer transmits to the highway a weight greater than 2800 kgs.  The commercial motor vehicle is then registered for the total gross weight of the towing vehicle and trailer combined.

To determine the registered gross weight of a school bus, in kilograms, multiply the seating capacity of the bus by 40 and add it to the empty weight of the bus.  The total will be the registered gross weight.

To determine the registered gross weight of a bus, other than a school bus, in kilograms, multiply the seating capacity of the bus by 60 and add it to the empty weight of the bus.  The total will be the registered gross weight.

The fee tables to determine the cost for validation on commercial motor vehicles, farm vehicles and buses are found in Ontario Regulation 628, Vehicle Permits.

Vehicles that operate in excess of their Registered Gross Weight (RGW) are subject to penalty under HTA 121(1).

Vehicle Licence Plates

Farm Plates

Effective January 1, 2015, new requests for farm plates will require the farmer to provide one of four pieces of documentation to demonstrate they have a farm business.

  • An accredited farm organization membership card;
  • A Gross Farm Income Exemption Certificate;
  • An exemption letter from the Agricultural, Food and Rural Affairs Tribunal; or
  • A letter from Agricorp.

A farmer renewing their farm plates will not have to provide documentation to demonstrate they have a farm business.

Farm plates have reduced fees and are subject to certain restrictions.

Use of farm plates

Farm-plated trucks and towed trailers may be used for the transportation of farm products, commodities, supplies, equipment, and building and maintenance items owned by the farmer. Items include the trucking of gravel, rocks, sand and lumber to a farm for use on the farm.

A farmer may only charge a fee to another farmer for trucking these items during the months of September, October and November.

Farm products do not include products preserved by freezing, pickling, cooking, smoking or curing, other than cured tobacco leaves.

Farm-plated trucks and towed trailers may also be used for the farmer's personal transportation – including the movement of personal effects such as household and hobby effects, as well as recreational and pleasure use.

Prohibited use of farm plates

Vehicles transporting logs, pulpwood or rocks from a forest, quarry or mine cannot use farm plates.

Farm plates and logs/lumber

The cutting of trees for purposes of production of paper by pulp mills, or for purposes of processing these logs for lumber, is a forestry operation.  If it is demonstrated that the transportation of these items is to supply the farm, then farm plates may be used.

Farm plates and rocks/sand/gravel

The removal of rocks or stone is a mining or quarry operation and not related to the tilling or production of an agricultural product by a farmer.  If it is demonstrated that the transportation of these items is to supply the farm, (for example, laneways, building construction, soil erosion), then farm plates may be used.

Dealer Plate and Service Plate

Dealer Plate/Permit

Dealer Plate Sample

Ontario motor-vehicle dealers licensed under the Motor Vehicle Dealers Act are eligible for the dealer plate/permit. This is a single portable plate with the word "DEALER" on the left side and red alpha-numeric characters on a white background.

It is for exclusive use by motor-vehicle dealers, and only on those owned as part of the dealer's inventory of vehicles for sale. It may be used privately in Ontario, or for purposes related to the sale of motor vehicles owned as part of the dealer's inventory of those for sale. Commercial motor vehicles operating under the authority of a dealer plate must not be laden (with a load).

Service Plate/Permit

Service Plate Sample

Service providers, including anyone who repairs, customizes, modifies, manufactures or transports motor vehicles or trailers, will use the service plate/permit. This will indicate the service class of "SPR."

A service plate may be used:

  • On a trailer or motor vehicle, other than a motorcycle or motor-assisted bicycle, for purposes related to the repair, road testing, customization or modification of the vehicle, if it is in the possession of the person to whom the service plate is issued
  • For the purpose of transporting the vehicle by a person engaged in that business
  • For the purpose of towing the vehicle by a person engaged in the business of transporting vehicles
  • For purposes related to the manufacturing or sale of a trailer
  • For the purpose of towing a vehicle to a location where its load will be removed or to an impound facility

Commercial motor vehicles and trailers operating under the authority of a service plate must not be laden, unless the vehicle is being towed to an impound facility.

Private use of motor vehicles or trailers with a service plate is not permitted.

If the commercial motor vehicle is being operated in other jurisdictions, refer to the information in the Module 2 "Getting Started” to determine if the vehicle is required to have an International Registration Plan (IRP) Cab Card.

Driver Licensing Requirements

Licence types

In Ontario, there are 15 different licence classes. Each one qualifies a driver to drive a different type of vehicle. The class of licence have must match the type of vehicle driven. See the quick-check chart below for the class of licence required for different vehicle types. A driver may hold a licence in more than one class, but never hold more than one driver’s licence.

Class of Licence Types of Vehicles Allowed May Also Drive Vehicle in Class
A Any tractor trailer or combination of motor vehicle and towed vehicles where the towed vehicles exceed a total gross weight of 4,600 kilograms D, G and A with condition (R)
A with condition (R) Drivers with a restricted Class A licence condition would be prevented from operating:
  • a motor vehicle pulling double trailers
  • a motor vehicle pulling a trailer with air-brakes.
D and G
B Any school-purposes bus with designed seating capacity for more than 24 passengers C, D, E, F and G
C Any regular bus with designed seating capacity for more than 24 passengers D, F and G
D Any truck or motor-vehicle combination exceeding 11,000 kilograms (actual gross weight or registered gross weight), provided the towed vehicle is not over 4,600 kilograms G
E School-purposes bus – maximum of 24-passenger capacity F and G
F Regular bus – maximum of 24-passenger capacity – and ambulances G
G Any car, van or small truck, or combination of vehicle and towed vehicle, up to 11,000 kilograms, provided the towed vehicle is not over 4,600 kilograms, but not:
  1. a motorcycle or motor assisted bicycle
  2. a bus carrying passengers
  3. an ambulance in the course of providing ambulance service as defined in the Ambulance Act
G1 Level 1 of graduated licensing – holders may drive Class G vehicles when accompanied by a fully licensed driver with at least four years of driving experience. Additional conditions apply
G2 Level 2 of graduated licensing – holders may drive Class G vehicles without an accompanying driver, but are subject to certain conditions:
  • The number of young passengers that teen G2 drivers can carry will be limited from midnight to 5 a.m.
  • Initially, G2 drivers 19 or under can carry only one passenger aged 19 or under
After the first six months, and until the G2 driver earns a full G licence or turns 20, they can carry only three passengers aged 19 or under
M Motorcycles, including a limited-speed motorcycle (motor scooter) and a motor-assisted bicycle (moped). Holders may also drive a Class G vehicle under the conditions that apply to a class G1 licence-holder M with condition L (motor scooters and mopeds)
M1 Motorcycles, including a limited-speed motorcycle (motor scooter) and a motor-assisted bicycle (moped).
Level 1 of graduated licensing. Holders may drive a motorcycle under certain conditions
M with condition L (motor scooters and mopeds)
M2 Motorcycles, including a limited-speed motorcycle (motor scooter) and a motor-assisted bicycle (moped).
Level 2 of graduated licensing. Holders may drive a motorcycle, but only with a zero blood-alcohol level. Holders may also drive a Class G vehicle under the conditions that apply to a class G1 licence-holder
M with condition L (motor scooters and mopeds)
M with condition L (LSM/Moped) Limited-speed motorcycle or mopeds only. Limited-speed motorcycles are motorcycles with a maximum speed of 70 km/h. If manufactured after 1988, they are identified by a label on the vehicle that indicates it is a "LSM/MVL." For full description, visit: www.mto.gov.on.ca/english/dandv/driver/lsm.shtml
M2 with condition L (LSM/Moped) Limited-speed motorcycle (LSM) or moped only

Driver-licence testing is done by Drive Testoffices throughout the province. General information on driver licensing can be on theMTO website

Air Brakes

Any driver operating a vehicle equipped with a full air-brake system, or air-over-hydraulic brake system, is required to have an endorsement on their driver’s licence. In Ontario, this is called a "Z” endorsement.

Exemptions

A driver of a class D commercial motor vehicle that is registered with farm plates carrying farm products, supplies or equipment not for compensation, or being used for personal use is required only to have a Class G licence.  

A truck or auto technician with a minimum Class G licence is allowed to operate any higher class of vehicle for the purposes of road testing, including a vehicle with air brakes.

A driver of a tow truck towing a disabled vehicle is exempt from a Class A driver’s licence, provided that they have the appropriate licence to drive the tow truck.

Qualifications, Records and Reporting

An operator is responsible to monitor a driver’s performance by obtaining copies of all convictions in any vehicle and collisions in CVOR type vehicles involving an employed driver.

The operator must ensure that the drivers are qualified for the respective vehicles and the operator must obtain a MTO 3-year driver abstract on every driver at least once a year.

Back to Top

Manuel de sécurité des utilisateurs de véhicules utilitaires

Module 12 - Permis de conduire et immatriculation des véhicules

Vue d'ensemble

Ce guide rédigé par la Direction de la sécurité des transporteurs et de l’application des lois du ministère des Transports de l’Ontario a pour but d’aider les entreprises de transport en camion et en autobus (utilisateurs de véhicules utilitaires) à fonctionner de manière sécuritaire et conformément aux règlements qui régissent la conduite routière et à s’assurer qu’elles le font. L’Ontario, les autres provinces et territoires, le gouvernement du Canada et l’industrie du transport ont formulé des règles et des règlements visant à réduire le nombre et la gravité des collisions. Chaque palier de gouvernement s’est inspiré des normes du Code de la route pour rédiger sa propre législation en matière de sécurité des transports. Cette approche favorise l’uniformité dans l’ensemble du pays et contribue à assurer la pérennité et la durabilité de l’industrie des transports.

Ce guide s’applique aux utilisateurs de véhicules utilitaires de l’Ontario suivants :

  • Des camions, des tracteurs ou des remorques, ou une combinaison de ces véhicules, qui ont un poids brut enregistré ou un poids réel supérieur à 4 500 kilogrammes
  • Les dépanneuses, quel que soit le poids brut enregistré ou le poids réel
  • Des autobus conçus pour transporter 10 passagers ou plus, à l’exclusion du conducteur
  • Des véhicules accessibles et des véhicules de transport scolaire, selon l’utilisation

Le guide comprend plusieurs modules, dont chacun aborde un sujet précis. Pour connaître toutes les exigences de conformité, nous vous recommandons de vous procurer le guide au complet. Si vous avez l’intention d’utiliser certaines parties de ce guide seulement (par exemple, le module 1, « Démarrage d’une entreprise »), nous vous recommandons de vous procurer également les modules « Introduction » et « Immatriculation des utilisateurs de véhicules utilitaires ».

Cet ouvrage est conçu comme un guide et n’est pas censé remplacer les statuts et les règlements pertinents. On y trouve certaines dispositions légales importantes, mais non une description exhaustive de toutes les lois en vigueur.

Permis de conduire et immatriculation des véhicules - Objectifs d'apprentissage

Après avoir parcouru ce module, vous serez en mesure de :

  • décrire les exigences relatives à l’immatriculation des véhicules;
  • énumérer les types de véhicules qu’un détenteur de chacune des catégories de permis est autorisé à conduire.

Exigences relatives à l'immatriculation des véhicules

En Ontario, un transporteur peut faire immatriculer des véhicules utilitaires (véhicules tracteurs) dont les poids bruts enregistrés ou les descriptions sont très variés. Chaque type de plaque prévoit diverses utilisations et exemptions. Il est essentiel que tout transporteur fasse immatriculer ses véhicules correctement, faute de quoi il est passible d’une accusation d’infraction ou peut voir son véhicule confisqué jusqu’à ce que l’immatriculation appropriée ait été obtenue.

Ce qui suit résume les utilisations permises pour chaque type de plaque. Le présent document constitue une version non officielle de textes juridiques du Gouvernement de l’Ontario. Pour des informations exactes, veuillez consulter le Code de la route et les règlements afférents à l’adresse suivante :

https://www.ontario.ca/fr/lois

Immatriculation des véhicules utilitaires

Le paragraphe 1(1) du Code de la route définit un véhicule utilitaire comme suit :

Sauf définition contraire dans les règlements, véhicule automobile auquel est fixée une carrosserie de camion ou de livraison. S’entend notamment d’une ambulance, d’un corbillard, d’un fourgon funéraire, d’un engin d’incendie, d’un autobus et d’un tracteur utilisé à des fins de remorquage sur une voie publique.

Les plaques d’immatriculation de la plupart des véhicules automobiles utilitaires doivent comporter des caractères noirs sur fond blanc. Ces plaques comportent normalement deux caractères alphabétiques et quatre ou cinq caractères numériques. Vous pouvez vous procurer des plaques personnalisées ou décorées d’éléments graphiques, mais assurez-vous qu’elles sont conformes aux règlements qui régissent l’immatriculation des véhicules utilitaires.

Les plaques d’un véhicule automobile utilitaire doivent être fixées à l’avant et à l’arrière du véhicule dans un emplacement parfaitement visible. La vignette de validation doit être placée dans le coin supérieur droit de la plaque avant. La couronne figurant sur la plaque ne peut être cachée ou obscurcie par quoi que ce soit.

À la différence des véhicules à usage personnel, la vignette de validation d’un véhicule automobile utilitaire vient à échéance le dernier jour du mois qui y est affiché.

Si un véhicule automobile utilitaire circule à l’extérieur de l’Ontario, le transporteur pourra être contraint d’obtenir des plaques signalant la répartition proportionnelle des droits d’immatriculation. Ces plaques sont semblables aux plaques habituelles des véhicules automobiles utilitaires, mais affichent en plus les lettres PRP. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur ces plaques et sur le Plan d’immatriculation international, veuillez consulter les sites Web suivants :

http://www.mto.gov.on.ca/french/trucks/irp/index.shtml

Poids brut enregistré

Pour déterminer le poids brut enregistré d’un véhicule automobile utilitaire, il faut ajouter au poids du véhicule automobile utilitaire le poids de la remorque tractée par ce véhicule, si cette dernière transmet à la route un poids supérieur à 2 800 kg. Le véhicule automobile utilitaire est alors immatriculé pour le poids brut total du véhicule tracteur et de la remorque.

Pour déterminer le poids brut enregistré d’un autobus scolaire, en kilogrammes, multiplier le nombre de places assises de l’autobus par 40 et ajouter ce nombre au poids de l’autobus à vide. Le total constituera le poids brut enregistré de ce véhicule.

Pour déterminer le poids brut enregistré d’un autobus autre qu’un autobus scolaire, en kilogrammes, multiplier le nombre de sièges de l’autobus par 60 et ajouter ce nombre au poids de l’autobus à vide. Le total constituera le poids brut enregistré de ce véhicule.

Les tableaux des droits d’immatriculation à payer pour la validation des véhicules automobiles utilitaires, des véhicules agricoles et des autobus figurent dans le Règlement 628 de l’Ontario, relatif aux certificats d’immatriculation

Un transporteur qui circule avec un véhicule utilitaire dont le poids brut dépasse le poids brut enregistré de ce véhicule est passible d’une pénalité aux termes du paragraphe 121(1) du Code de la route.

Plaques d'immatriculation des véhicules

Plaques d'immatriculation de véhicules agricoles

À compter du 1er janvier 2015, les agriculteurs qui présenteront une nouvelle demande de plaque d’immatriculation de véhicule agricole devront fournir l’un de quatre documents démontrant qu’ils exploitent une entreprise agricole.

  • carte de membre d’un organisme agricole accrédité;
  • certificat d’exemption liée au revenu agricole brut;
  • lettre d’exemption du Tribunal d’appel de l’agriculture, de l’alimentation et des affaires rurales;
  • lettre d’Agricorp.

Les agriculteurs qui renouvellent des plaques d’immatriculation de véhicules agricoles n’auront pas à fournir de document démontrant qu’ils exploitent une entreprise agricole.

Les plaques d’immatriculation de véhicules agricoles se vendent à tarif réduit, mais sont assujetties à certaines restrictions.

Utilisation des plaques d'immatriculation de véhicules agricoles

Les camions et remorques dotés de plaques d’immatriculation de véhicules agricoles peuvent être utilisés pour le transport de produits, de marchandises, de fournitures et de matériel agricoles ainsi que de matériel de construction et d’entretien appartenant à l’agriculteur. Cela comprend le transport de gravier, de roches, de sable et de bois d’œuvre vers une ferme, pour être utilisé sur place.

Un agriculteur est autorisé à être rémunéré par un autre agriculteur pour des services de camionnage de tels articles uniquement pendant les mois de septembre, d’octobre ou de novembre.

Les camions et remorques dotés d’une plaque d’immatriculation de véhicule agricole peuvent aussi être utilisés à des fins personnelles par l’agriculteur, y compris pour le transport de ses effets personnels (effets mobiliers et objets liés aux passe-temps), ainsi que pour ses activités récréatives et ses loisirs.

Utilisation prohibée de plaques d'immatriculation de véhicules agricoles

Il est interdit d’utiliser un véhicule muni de plaques d’immatriculation de véhicules agricoles pour le transport de billes de bois, de bois de trituration ou de roches provenant de forêts, de carrières ou de mines.

Plaques d’immatriculation de véhicules agricoles et transport de billes de bois ou de bois d’œuvre

L’abattage d’arbres pour la production de papier ou pour la production de bois d’œuvre est une activité forestière et non agricole. S’il est prouvé que ces ressources sont destinées à la ferme, il est permis d’utiliser des plaques d’immatriculation de véhicules agricoles.

Plaques d’immatriculation de véhicules agricoles et transport de roches, de sable ou de gravier

L’extraction de roches ou de pierres est une activité minière ou de carrière, et n’est pas reliée au labourage ni à la production d’un produit agricole par un agriculteur. S’il est prouvé que ces ressources sont destinées à la ferme (par exemple pour construire une allée ou un bâtiment, ou pour contrer l’érosion du sol), il est permis d’utiliser des plaques d’immatriculation de véhicules agricoles.

Plaques d'immatriculation de commerçants et de fournisseurs de services

Plaque (certificat) d'immatriculation de commerçant

Dealer Plate Sample

Les commerçants de véhicules automobiles de l’Ontario qui détiennent un permis accordé en vertu de la Loi sur le commerce des véhicules automobiles peuvent détenir une plaque (ou un certificat) d’immatriculation de commerçant. Il s’agit d’une plaque portative unique arborant des caractères alphanumériques rouges sur fond blanc ainsi que le mot « DEALER », dans la marge gauche.

Cette plaque est réservée à l’usage exclusif des commerçants de véhicules automobiles et ne peut être placée que sur un véhicule leur appartenant et faisant partie de l’inventaire de véhicules destinés à la vente. En Ontario, elle peut être utilisée à titre privé ou à des fins connexes à la vente des véhicules automobiles compris dans l’inventaire de véhicules qu’un commerçant destine à la vente. Il est interdit d’utiliser un véhicule automobile utilitaire muni d’une plaque de commerçant pour transporter un chargement.

Plaque (certificat) d'immatriculation de fournisseur de services

Service Plate Sample

Les fournisseurs de service, y compris toute personne qui répare, personnalise, modifie, fabrique ou transporte des véhicules automobiles ou des remorques, sont tenus de détenir une plaque (ou un certificat) d’immatriculation de fournisseur de services, ce qui correspond à la catégorie de service dite « SPR ».

Une plaque de fournisseur de services peut être utilisée :

  • sur une remorque ou un véhicule automobile autre qu’une motocyclette ou un vélomoteur, à des fins de réparation, d’essai sur route, de personnalisation ou de modification d’un véhicule, si le véhicule appartient à la personne à l’intention de qui la plaque de fournisseur de services a été délivrée;
  • pour le transport d’un véhicule par une personne qui travaille dans le domaine du transport de véhicules;
  • pour le remorquage d’un véhicule par une personne qui travaille dans le domaine du transport de véhicules;
  • à des fins connexes à la fabrication ou la vente de remorques;
  • pour le remorquage d’un véhicule vers un emplacement où il sera déchargé ou vers une fourrière.

Les véhicules automobiles utilitaires et les remorques pour lesquels une plaque de fournisseur de services a été délivrée ne doivent pas transporter de chargement, à moins que le véhicule remorqué ne soit en route vers une fourrière.

L’utilisation à des fins personnelles de véhicules automobiles ou de remorques munis d’une plaque de fournisseur de services est interdite.

Si un véhicule automobile utilitaire doit circuler à l’extérieur de l’Ontario, consultez le Module 2, Démarrage d’une entreprise pour déterminer si le véhicule doit être muni d’un certificat d’immatriculation en vertu du Plan d’immatriculation international (IRP).

Exigences relatives aux permis de conduire

Catégories de permis

En Ontario, il existe 15 catégories de permis, lesquelles correspondent à autant de types de véhicules différents. Le type de véhicule conduit par une personne doit correspondre à la catégorie du permis de conduire détenu par cette personne. Le tableau ci-dessous indique les catégories de permis exigées pour les divers types de véhicules. Nul n’est autorisé à détenir plus d’un permis de conduire. Cependant, le permis de conduire détenu par une personne peut inclure plus d’une catégorie.

Catégorie de permis Types de véhicules autorisés Autorisé à conduire aussi les véhicules de catégorie
A Tout tracteur semi-remorque ou tout ensemble composé d’un véhicule automobile et de véhicules tractés dont le poids brut total dépasse 4 600 kg. D, G et A avec restriction (R)
A avec restriction (R)

Les conducteurs détenant un permis restreint de catégorie A ne sont pas autorisés à conduire :

  • un véhicule automobile tractant une double remorque (train routier);
  • un véhicule automobile tractant une remorque munie de freins à air comprimé.

Pour en savoir davantage, voir : http://www.mto.gov.on.ca/

D et G
B Tout autobus servant au transport scolaire dont le nombre de places assises est supérieur à 24. C, D, E, F et G
C Tout autobus ordinaire dont le nombre de places assises est supérieur à 24. D, F et G
D Tout camion ou ensemble de véhicules automobiles dont le poids dépasse 11 000 kg (poids brut ou poids brut enregistré), pourvu que le poids du véhicule tracté ne dépasse pas 4 600 kg. G
E Autobus servant au transport scolaire – capacité maximale de 24 passagers. F et G
F Autobus ordinaire – capacité maximale de 24 passagers – et ambulances G
G

Toute automobile, fourgonnette ou camionnette, ou tout ensemble composé d’un véhicule tracteur et d’une remorque, jusqu’à un poids maximal de 11 000 kg, pourvu que le poids du véhicule tracté ne dépasse pas 4 600 kg, à l’exception de :

  1. une motocyclette ou un vélomoteur;
  2. un autobus transportant des passagers;
  3. une ambulance fournissant des services ambulanciers selon la définition donnée dans la Loi sur les ambulances.
G1 Niveau 1 du système de délivrance graduelle des permis de conduire – Le détenteur est autorisé à conduire un véhicule de catégorie G à condition d’être accompagné par une personne détenant un permis de conduire doté de tous les privilèges et ayant au moins quatre ans d’expérience au volant. Des conditions supplémentaires s’appliquent.
G2

Niveau 2 du système de délivrance graduelle des permis de conduire – Le détenteur est autorisé à conduire un véhicule de catégorie G sans accompagnateur, mais il est assujetti à certaines restrictions :

  • entre minuit et 5 heures du matin, le nombre de jeunes passagers que peut transporter un jeune conducteur détenant un permis G2 est limité;
  • au départ, un conducteur détenant un permis G2 âgé de 19 ans ou moins est autorisé à transporter un seul passager âgé de 19 ans ou moins;
  • au bout de six mois, et jusqu’à ce qu’il atteigne l’âge de 20 ans, un conducteur détenant un permis G2 est autorisé à transporter un maximum de trois passagers âgés de 19 ans ou moins.
M Motocyclettes, y compris les motocyclettes à vitesse limitée (vélomoteurs) et les cyclomoteurs. Le détenteur de ce permis est également autorisé à conduire un véhicule de catégorie G sous réserve des conditions qui s’appliquent au permis de conduire de catégorie G1. M avec restriction L (vélomoteurs et cyclomoteurs)
M1

Motocyclettes, y compris les motocyclettes à vitesse limitée (vélomoteurs) et les cyclomoteurs.

Niveau 1 du système de délivrance graduelle des permis de conduire. Le détenteur de ce permis est également autorisé à conduire une motocyclette sous réserve de certaines conditions.

M avec restriction L (vélomoteurs et cyclomoteurs)
M2

Motocyclettes, y compris les motocyclettes à vitesse limitée (vélomoteurs) et les cyclomoteurs.

Niveau 2 du système de délivrance graduelle des permis de conduire. Le détenteur de ce permis est autorisé conduire une motocyclette, mais seulement lorsque son alcoolémie est nulle. Il est également autorisé à conduire un véhicule de catégorie G sous réserve des conditions qui s’appliquent au permis de conduire de catégorie G1.

M avec restriction L (vélomoteurs et cyclomoteurs)
M avec restriction L (MVL/Cyclomoteur) Motocyclettes à vitesse limitée (MVL) ou cyclomoteurs seulement. Les motocyclettes à vitesse limitée sont des motocyclettes dont la vitesse maximale est de 70 km/h. Les modèles fabriqués après 1988 sont identifiés par une étiquette apposée sur le véhicule portant la mention « LSM/MVL ». Pour une description détaillée, voir : http://www.mto.gov.on.ca/french/dandv/driver/lsm.shtml
M2 avec restriction L (MVL/Cyclomoteur) Motocyclettes à vitesse limitée ou cyclomoteurs seulement

 Les examens exigés pour l’obtention d’un permis de conduire sont fournis par Test au Volant, qui a des bureaux dans toute la province.  Des renseignements généraux sur l’obtention d’un permis sont offerts sur le site Web du MTO.

 

Freins à air comprimé

Toute personne conduisant un véhicule muni d’un système de freins à air comprimé ou d’un système de freinage hydraulique à commande pneumatique doit se munir d’un permis de conduire indiquant une autorisation particulière; en Ontario, on l’appelle « autorisation Z ».

Exemptions

Le conducteur d’un véhicule automobile utilitaire de catégorie D muni de plaques d’immatriculation de véhicules agricoles qui utilise ce véhicule à des fins personnelles ou pour transporter sans rémunération des produits, des fournitures ou du matériel agricoles est autorisé à ne détenir qu’un permis de conduire de catégorie G.

Un technicien camion ou automobile qui détient un permis minimal de catégorie G est autorisé à conduire tout véhicule de catégorie plus élevée afin d’effectuer des essais sur route, y compris un véhicule muni de freins à air comprimé.

Le conducteur d’une dépanneuse remorquant un véhicule en panne est dispensé de détenir un permis de conduire de catégorie A, pourvu qu’il détienne le permis l’autorisant à conduire la dépanneuse.

Qualifications, dossiers et rapports

Un transporteur doit assurer une surveillance du rendement de ses conducteurs en obtenant copie de toutes les déclarations de culpabilité délivrées à l’encontre d’un de ses employés alors qu’il était au volant de quelque véhicule que ce soit, ainsi que de tout rapport d’accident impliquant un conducteur à son emploi alors que ce dernier conduisait un des véhicules utilitaires qu’il exploite.

Le transporteur doit s’assurer que les conducteurs à son emploi sont autorisés à conduire les divers véhicules auxquels ils sont affectés, et le transporteur doit s’adresser au ministère des Transports de l’Ontario au moins une fois par année pour obtenir un résumé de chaque conducteur portant sur les trois dernières années.

Retour en haut de page