Commercial Vehicle Operators’ Safety Manual

Module 13 - Passenger Transportation Services

Overview

The Carrier Safety and Enforcement Branch of the Ministry of Transportation of Ontario has prepared this guide to assist and ensure that truck and bus companies (commercial vehicle operators) operate safely and are compliant with the regulations that govern highway use. Ontario, other provinces, the Government of Canada and the transportation industry developed the rules and regulations to help reduce the number and severity of collisions. Each jurisdiction has used the National Safety Code standards as guides in drafting their own transportation safety legislation. This approach promotes uniformity across Canada and helps to ensure that the transportation industry remains as viable and sustainable as possible.

This guide applies to Ontario operators of commercial motor vehicles that are:

  • Trucks, tractors or trailers, or a combination of these vehicles, that have a registered gross vehicle weight or actual weight of more than 4,500 kilograms
  • Tow trucks, regardless of registered gross weight or actual weight
  • Buses with a manufactured seating capacity of 10 persons or more, excluding the driver
  • Accessible vehicles and school-purposes vehicles, depending upon use

The guide contains several modules, each dealing with a specific topic. To get a complete picture of compliance requirements, you should obtain the complete guide. If you intend to use certain parts of this guide only (for example, Module 1, "Getting Started”) it is recommended that you also obtain the modules "Introduction” and "Commercial Vehicle Operators’ Registration.”

This is a guide only and is not meant to be a substitute for the relevant statutes and regulations. This guide highlights some important legal provisions but is not an exhaustive description of all the laws that apply.

Operating Authority

The role of the Ontario Ministry of Transportation

The Ministry of Transportation promotes and monitors the safe operation of all people operating vehicles, including those who provide transportation services using commercial motor vehicles. This ensures that all vehicles are licensed and operate in accordance with provincial legislation. It is essential for this important sector of Ontario's economy to continue to achieve the highest safety standards.

Passenger transportation services

People providing a passenger transportation service in a commercial motor vehicle may require a public-vehicles licence.

A licence is not required by a passenger transportation service that is operated within one municipality.

A public-vehicle licence can be obtained from the Ontario Highway Transport Board (OHTB). This licence authorizes a person to operate a commercial vehicle for hire, to transport passengers. The services requiring a public-vehicles licence may include:

  • Charter (site-seeing and tours)
  • Scheduled services (services provided between two locations on a scheduled basis)
  • Industrial (providing a transportation service under a contract for more than 30 days)

Information on the OHTB can be found at: www.ohtb.gov.on.ca

Ontario Highway Transport Board
151 Bloor Street West, 10th Floor
Toronto, ON M5S 2T5
Canada

Telephone: (416) 326-6732
Fax: (416) 326-6738
e-mail: ohtb@mto.gov.on.ca

The Public Vehicles Act can be found on the E-Laws website.

Back to Top

Manuel de sécurité des utilisateurs de véhicules utilitaires

Module 13 - Services de transport de passagers

Vue d'ensemble

Ce guide rédigé par la Direction de la sécurité des transporteurs et de l’application des lois du ministère des Transports de l’Ontario a pour but d’aider les entreprises de transport en camion et en autobus (utilisateurs de véhicules utilitaires) à fonctionner de manière sécuritaire et conformément aux règlements qui régissent la conduite routière et à s’assurer qu’elles le font. L’Ontario, les autres provinces et territoires, le gouvernement du Canada et l’industrie du transport ont formulé des règles et des règlements visant à réduire le nombre et la gravité des collisions. Chaque palier de gouvernement s’est inspiré des normes du Code de la route pour rédiger sa propre législation en matière de sécurité des transports. Cette approche favorise l’uniformité dans l’ensemble du pays et contribue à assurer la pérennité et la durabilité de l’industrie des transports.

Ce guide s’applique aux utilisateurs de véhicules utilitaires de l’Ontario suivants :

  • Des camions, des tracteurs ou des remorques, ou une combinaison de ces véhicules, qui ont un poids brut enregistré ou un poids réel supérieur à 4 500 kilogrammes
  • Les dépanneuses, quel que soit le poids brut enregistré ou le poids réel
  • Des autobus conçus pour transporter 10 passagers ou plus, à l’exclusion du conducteur
  • Des véhicules accessibles et des véhicules de transport scolaire, selon l’utilisation

Le guide comprend plusieurs modules, dont chacun aborde un sujet précis. Pour connaître toutes les exigences de conformité, nous vous recommandons de vous procurer le guide au complet. Si vous avez l’intention d’utiliser certaines parties de ce guide seulement (par exemple, le module 1, « Démarrage d’une entreprise »), nous vous recommandons de vous procurer également les modules « Introduction » et « Immatriculation des utilisateurs de véhicules utilitaires ».

Cet ouvrage est conçu comme un guide et n’est pas censé remplacer les statuts et les règlements pertinents. On y trouve certaines dispositions légales importantes, mais non une description exhaustive de toutes les lois en vigueur.

Organisme d'exploitation

Rôle du ministère des Transports de l'Ontario

Le ministère des Transports promeut et contrôle la sécurité de toutes les personnes qui conduisent des véhicules, y compris celles qui utilisent des véhicules utilitaires pour fournir des services de transport de passagers. Ainsi, le Ministère s’assure que tous les conducteurs de véhicules de transport en commun détiennent les permis et immatriculations réglementaires, et qu’ils exploitent leurs véhicules en conformité avec la législation provinciale. Il est essentiel que cet important secteur de l’économie ontarienne observe en tout temps les normes de sécurité les plus rigoureuses qui soient.

Services de transport de passagers

Les fournisseurs de services de transport de passagers peuvent être tenus de détenir un permis de transport de passagers.

Pour les services de transport de passagers dispensés à l’intérieur d’une seule municipalité, le permis n’est pas exigé.

Les différents permis de transport de passagers sont délivrés par la Commission des transports routiers de l’Ontario. Ces permis autorisent leurs détenteurs à exploiter des véhicules utilitaires contre rémunération pour transporter des passagers. Les services pour lesquels de tels permis sont exigés peuvent inclure les suivants :

  • service de transport nolisé (circuits touristiques);
  • service régulier (service de transport de passagers à horaire régulier entre deux localités);
  • service commercial (service de transport de passagers offert en vertu d’un contrat d’une durée de plus de 30 jours).

Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter le site Web de la Commission des transports routiers de l’Ontario : www.ohtb.gov.on.ca/.

Commission des transports routiers de l’Ontario
151, rue Bloor Ouest, 10e étage
Toronto, ON M5S 2T5
Canada
Téléphone : 416 326-6732
Télécopieur : 416 326-6738
Courriel : ohtb@mto.gov.on.ca

On peut consulter la Loi sur les véhicules de transport en commun sur le site Web Lois-en-ligne.

Retour en haut de page