Commercial Vehicle Operators’ Safety Manual

Module 5 - Ontario Specific Enforcement Issues

Overview

The Carrier Safety and Enforcement Branch of the Ministry of Transportation of Ontario has prepared this guide to assist and ensure that truck and bus companies (commercial-vehicle operators) operate safely and are compliant with the regulations that govern highway use. Ontario, other provinces, the Government of Canada and the transportation industry developed the rules and regulations to help reduce the number and severity of collisions. Each jurisdiction has used the National Safety Code standards as guides in drafting their own transportation safety legislation. This approach promotes uniformity across Canada and helps to ensure that the transportation industry remains as viable and sustainable as possible.

This guide applies to Ontario operators of commercial motor vehicles that are:

  • Trucks, tractors or trailers, or a combination of these vehicles, that have a registered gross vehicle weight or actual weight of more than 4,500 kilograms
  • Tow trucks, regardless of registered gross weight or actual weight
  • Buses with a manufactured seating capacity of 10 persons or more, excluding the driver
  • Accessible vehicles and school-purposes vehicles, depending upon use

The guide contains several modules, each dealing with a specific topic. To get a complete picture of compliance requirements, you should obtain the complete guide. If you intend to use certain parts of this guide only (for example, Module 1, "Getting Started”) it is recommended that you also obtain the modules "Introduction” and "Commercial Vehicle Operators’ Registration.”

This is a guide only and is not meant to be a substitute for the relevant statutes and regulations. This guide highlights some important legal provisions but is not an exhaustive description of all the laws that apply.

Ontario Specific Enforcement Issues - Learning Objectives

As you work through this module, you will develop an understanding of:

  • The commercial vehicle impound process
  • Violations that can result in a vehicle being impounded and the effects of having a vehicle impounded under the program
  • Who has the authority to impound your vehicle
  • Speed-limiter requirements
  • Which vehicles require a speed limiter and the benefits to your business by reducing the speed of large trucks

Commercial Vehicle Impoundment Program

Introduction

On February 2, 1998, the Government of Ontario introduced the Commercial Vehicle Impoundment Program (CVIP) as part of its aggressive campaign to improve commercial vehicle safety in this province.  This program was a principal recommendation of Target '97, a joint industry/government task force that has worked together closely to improve truck safety in Ontario. 

Commercial Vehicle Impoundment

Commercial vehicle impoundment is part of a progressive enforcement program where critically defective commercial vehicles are impounded for a minimum of 15 days.  Ontario is the first jurisdiction in North America to impound commercial vehicles for critical defects.

If one or more critical defects are found on a bus, truck or trailer, an officer will remove the plates and inspection stickers from the specific vehicle unit.  Vehicles will not be impounded for defects found that meet the Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance (CVSA) out-of-service criteria.  

A vehicle found with a critical defect would be in far worse condition than a vehicle that just meets the out-of-service criteria.

If a vehicle is found to have critical defects, the Deputy Registrar of Motor Vehicles issues an order to impound the vehicle and suspend the vehicle registration.  The vehicle's load will be removed at the inspection location and the vehicle will be transported, by a third-party contractor, to a secure impound facility.

The vehicle must remain at the impound facility for the designated period.  Then the owner may claim the vehicle after all costs associated with the towing, removal and impoundment have been paid.  The vehicle must then be certified as safe before it can be operated in Ontario.  Vehicle repairs can be conducted only at a motor vehicle inspection station following removal from the impound facility.  Commercial vehicles that are abandoned at impound facilities will be disposed of under the provisions of the Repair and Storage Liens Act.

Vehicles That Can Be Impounded

Any commercial motor vehicle that is operated by a Commercial Vehicle Operators' Registration (CVOR) or National Safety Code (NSC) holder, or one that would require CVOR or NSC registration, and has a gross weight or registered gross weight exceeding 4,500 kilograms may be subject to impound if it is operated with critical defects.  This includes buses, trucks and trailers drawn by these vehicles. This also includes all tow trucks, regardless of weight.

Exemptions:

Ambulances, fire vehicles, hearses, casket wagons, mobile cranes and motor homes are not affected by this legislation.

What Is a Critical Defect?

The critical-defect criteria set out clear guidelines for determining when defects are serious enough to be considered critical to the safe operation of a commercial vehicle or trailer.  These criteria have been developed for brakes, wheels and rims, steering, tires and suspension/frame components.

Commercial vehicles are in a significantly greater state of disrepair when impounded for critical defects than when they are taken out of service for failing to meet international standards set by the Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance (CVSA).  For example, a vehicle is placed out of service if 20 percent or more of its wheels have brake defects.  However, this defect would be considered critical if more than 50 percent of its wheels have brake defects.

The critical-defect criteria, which were developed by government and industry, are detailed in Regulation 512/97 of the Highway Traffic Act.  Copies of the regulations are available on the E-Laws website.

Locations for Critical-Defect Inspections and impoundment

Inspections for critical defects and impoundment are carried out at specified truck-inspection stations across the province. These stations are selected for their strategic location and their exposure to high volumes of commercial traffic.

CVIP Affect on Buses

Buses, including school buses and motor coaches, are commercial vehicles and are subject to impoundment.

Consequences of Vehicles Impounded under CVIP

After the vehicle is inspected and found to have critical defects, charges are laid against the owner and/or operator and/or driver.  The vehicle is then impounded for a prescribed period.  Before the impounded vehicle is removed from the inspection site, it must be off-loaded, repaired and put in a safe condition for towing.  Vehicles that cannot be made safe for towing must be placed on a flat-bed trailer and transported to the impound facility.

The impoundment period is 15 days for the first incident within a two-year period.  A second incident within two years will result in a 30-day impoundment.  A third or subsequent incident within two years carries a 60-day impoundment.

The operator will be charged with "operating an unsafe vehicle" and is responsible for all costs associated with the removal, transfer and storage of the load.

The owner is also liable for the fees and costs associated with towing and impoundment, and cannot use the vehicle for doing business during the impoundment period.

The driver may also be subject to charges.  Fines for safety-related offences are set out in the Provincial Offences Act and may be as high as $20,000.

When the impound period is complete, the vehicle is released by the Deputy Registrar and must be towed or floated to a qualified repair facility.  The vehicle cannot be driven on any Ontario highway until it has been inspected and a safety standards certificate has been issued.  Only then will plates and permits be reissued for the vehicle.

Cost of Impoundment

The fees charged for towing, floating, storage of vehicles and goods, and the transfer of loads are established in contracts between MTO and impound facilities.

Although a reasonable fee schedule has been established, they may be higher where towing distances are longer or in urban areas where commercial property costs may be higher. This is a user-pay system, whereby the impound facility is paid directly by the owner/operator responsible for the vehicle and load.

Impound Facilities

Impound facilities are located within a reasonable towing distance of the inspection location that they serve.  One impound facility may provide service to more than one inspection location if the facility is in close proximity to multiple inspection sites.

The selection of impound facilities is based upon their ability to provide secure, reliable service at a reasonable cost.

What Happens to the Load?

All impounded vehicles must be off-loaded at the inspection site.  The load must then be transferred to another vehicle.

This transfer of loads and loss of perishable cargo is the responsibility of the operator of the vehicle.  Where buses are impounded, the operator is responsible for providing alternate transportation to the passengers.

Appeal Process

The owner of the vehicle is the only party who can appeal the impoundment. An appeal may be made to the Licence Appeal Tribunal on one of two grounds:

  1. If the vehicle was stolen
  2. If the critical defect was not present at the time of the daily inspection

During the appeal, the owner may apply to the Superior Court of Justice to have the vehicle released from the impound facility after all fees and towing charges have been paid and security has been posted. The Superior Court of Justice will set security of between $5,000 and $10,000.

If the appeal is successful, the owner will be reimbursed by the Crown for the cost of towing and impound fees.

If the Order to Impound and Suspend is not overturned, the owner must return the vehicle to the impound facility for the remainder of the period or forfeit the posted security.

Appeals will be conducted orally unless a written hearing is requested and agreed upon. Hearings will be heard as quickly as possible and decided on within 30 days where required. Appeals may be heard in numerous locations across Ontario.

Effect on Your CVOR Record

The impoundment will be recorded on the operator's CVOR record and applicable points will be assigned.

For further information contact:

Ministry of Transportation
Carrier Safety and Enforcement Branch
Commercial Vehicle Impoundment Program
301 St. Paul Street, 3rd Floor
St. Catharines, ON L2R 7R4
Telephone: (416) 246-7166 or 1-800-387-7736 (in Ontario only)
Fax: (905) 704-2683

Mandatory Truck Speed Limiters

A speed limiter is an electronic device that is installed in heavy trucks, and caps the speed at a maximum of 105 km/h. Most large trucks driven in Ontario are required to use speed limiters.

Studies conducted by the federal government, through Transport Canada, have demonstrated the environmental, safety and cost-saving benefits of speed limiters. Ontario and Québec worked together to jointly launch and implement speed-limiter regulations.

Trucks That Require Speed Limiters

If a commercial motor vehicle was built after December 31, 1994, with a manufacturer’s gross vehicle weight rating of 11,794 kilograms or more, and is equipped with an electronic control module, then the vehicle is subject to being speed limited.  Exemptions to these apply only to a limited number of vehicle types such as ambulances or fire trucks.

Legislation

Ontario passed legislation and supporting regulations to mandate the use of speed limiters on commercial vehicles in 2008. Links to the legislation and regulations can be found below:

Enforcement

Police and MTO enforcement officers use both existing traffic-control techniques and portable electronic testing units to verify the activation of a vehicle speed limiter at a maximum of 105 km/h.

The use of portable electronic testing units provides access to the vehicle engine data, and confirms if the limiter has been activated at a speed of 105 km/h or less. It is necessary for officers to plug into a data port located within the cab of the truck. Failure to assist with or allow the inspection will result in charges.

Benefits

  • Reducing the speed of a vehicle will result in lower fuel consumption that helps reduce greenhouse gas emissions and saves money on fuel purchases.
  • Drivers expose themselves to a number of dangers by exceeding speed limits. Driving at higher speeds induces stress that results in fatigue and loss of concentration. Speeding makes it more difficult to react to changes, stop suddenly and control the vehicle – and, in case of a collision, the higher the speed, the more severe the collision.
  • Setting speed limiters at 105 km/h or less will reduce the operating costs of many transportation companies by reducing fuel consumption and increasing vehicle energy efficiency.
Back to Top

Manuel de sécurité des utilisateurs de véhicules utilitaires

Module 5 - Applications spécifiques de la loi en Ontario

Vue d'ensemble

Ce guide rédigé par la Direction de la sécurité des transporteurs et de l’application des lois du ministère des Transports de l’Ontario a pour but d’aider les entreprises de transport en camion et en autobus (utilisateurs de véhicules utilitaires) à fonctionner de manière sécuritaire et conformément aux règlements qui régissent la conduite routière et à s’assurer qu’elles le font. L’Ontario, les autres provinces et territoires, le gouvernement du Canada et l’industrie du transport ont formulé des règles et des règlements visant à réduire le nombre et la gravité des collisions. Chaque palier de gouvernement s’est inspiré des normes du Code de la route pour rédiger sa propre législation en matière de sécurité des transports. Cette approche favorise l’uniformité dans l’ensemble du pays et contribue à assurer la pérennité et la durabilité de l’industrie des transports.

Ce guide s’applique aux utilisateurs de véhicules utilitaires de l’Ontario suivants :

  • Des camions, des tracteurs ou des remorques, ou une combinaison de ces véhicules, qui ont un poids brut enregistré ou un poids réel supérieur à 4 500 kilogrammes
  • Les dépanneuses, quel que soit le poids brut enregistré ou le poids réel
  • Des autobus conçus pour transporter 10 passagers ou plus, à l’exclusion du conducteur
  • Des véhicules accessibles et des véhicules de transport scolaire, selon l’utilisation

Le guide comprend plusieurs modules, dont chacun aborde un sujet précis. Pour connaître toutes les exigences de conformité, nous vous recommandons de vous procurer le guide au complet. Si vous avez l’intention d’utiliser certaines parties de ce guide seulement (par exemple, le module 1, « Démarrage d’une entreprise »), nous vous recommandons de vous procurer également les modules « Introduction » et « Immatriculation des utilisateurs de véhicules utilitaires ».

Cet ouvrage est conçu comme un guide et n’est pas censé remplacer les statuts et les règlements pertinents. On y trouve certaines dispositions légales importantes, mais non une description exhaustive de toutes les lois en vigueur.

Applications spécifiques de la loi en Ontario - Objectifs d'apprentissage

Après avoir parcouru de module, vous serez en mesure de connaître :

  • le programme de mise en fourrière des véhicules utilitaires;
  • les infractions qui peuvent entraîner la mise en fourrière d’un véhicule et les conséquences d’une mise en fourrière en vertu du programme;
  • les autorités habilitées à ordonner la mise en fourrière d’un véhicule;
  • le règlement relatif aux limiteurs de vitesse;
  • les types de véhicules qui doivent être dotés de limiteurs de vitesse;
  • les avantages, pour votre entreprise, de la réduction de la vitesse des poids lourds.

Le Programme de mise en fourrière des véhicules utilitaires

Introduction

Le 2 février 1998, le gouvernement de l’Ontario lançait le Programme de mise en fourrière des véhicules utilitaires dans le cadre d’une campagne agressive de promotion de la sécurité des véhicules utilitaires à l’échelle de la province. La mise en œuvre de ce programme faisait suite à l’une des principales recommandations du groupe de travail Target ’97, constitué de représentants de l’industrie et du gouvernement qui collaboraient étroitement en vue d’améliorer la sécurité des camions en Ontario.

Mise en fourrière des véhicules utilitaires

La mise en fourrière des véhicules utilitaires fait partie d'un programme d'application progressive de la loi dans lequel les véhicules utilitaires qui présentent des défauts critiques sont mis en fourrière pendant au moins 15 jours. L'Ontario est le premier territoire de l’Amérique du Nord à appliquer de telles mesures.

S'il constate qu'un autobus, un camion ou une remorque présente un ou plusieurs défauts critiques, un agent d'application de la loi confisque les plaques et les vignettes d'inspection du véhicule. Les véhicules ne sont pas mis en fourrière si les défauts détectés ne contreviennent qu’aux critères de mise hors service de la Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance (CVSA). En effet, les critères déterminant si un défaut est critique sont beaucoup moins stricts que les critères de mise hors service de la CVSA.

Lorsque des défauts critiques lui sont signalés, le registrateur des véhicules automobiles (le registrateur) délivre une ordonnance de mise en fourrière et suspend l'immatriculation du véhicule. Le chargement est retiré du véhicule au centre d'inspection et le véhicule est transporté jusqu’à une fourrière par un entrepreneur indépendant.

Le véhicule doit rester en fourrière pendant la période prescrite. Passé cette période, le propriétaire peut réclamer la récupération de son véhicule après avoir payé tous les coûts reliés au remorquage, au retrait de la charge et à la mise en fourrière. Le véhicule doit ensuite être certifié sécuritaire avant de pouvoir reprendre la route en Ontario. Suite à une mise en fourrière, les réparations du véhicule doivent obligatoirement être réalisées dans un Centre d'inspection des véhicules automobiles. On disposera des véhicules utilitaires abandonnés en fourrière conformément à la Loi sur le privilège des réparateurs et des entreposeurs.

Véhicules auxquels s'applique le programme

Tout véhicule utilitaire utilisé par le titulaire d'un certificat d'immatriculation d'utilisateur de véhicule utilitaire (IUVU) ou d'un permis délivré en vertu du Code canadien de sécurité, ou qui nécessiterait un enregistrement pour l'obtention de l'un ou l'autre de ces documents et dont le poids brut réel ou enregistré dépasse 4 500 kg, peut être mis en fourrière s'il est en circulation et présente des défauts critiques. Ceci inclut les autobus, les camions et les remorques tirées par ces véhicules, ainsi que toutes les dépanneuses, quel que soit leur poids.

Exemptions :

Les ambulances, les véhicules de lutte contre les incendies, les corbillards, les fourgons funéraires, les grues mobiles et les autocaravanes ne sont pas visés par cette loi.

Qu'est-ce qu'un défaut critique?

Des critères normalisés de défauts critiques permettent aux inspecteurs de déterminer sans équivoque si des défectuosités détectées sont suffisamment graves pour nuire à la sécurité de l’utilisation d'un véhicule utilitaire ou d'une remorque. Ces critères s'appliquent aux freins, aux roues et aux jantes, à la colonne de direction, aux pneus, à la suspension et au châssis.

Pour qu’on impose la mise en fourrière d’un véhicule utilitaire, il faut que ce véhicule présente des défectuosités significativement plus sérieuses qu’un véhicule qui serait mis hors service en vertu des normes internationales de la Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance (CVSA). Par exemple, un véhicule est mis hors service en vertu des normes de la CVSA si 20 % ou plus de ses roues ont des freins défectueux, alors que, pour être considérée comme un défaut critique et entraîner la mise en fourrière, la même défectuosité doit affecter plus de 50 % des roues d’un véhicule.

Les critères de défauts critiques, qui ont été établis conjointement par le gouvernement et l'industrie, sont définis dans le Règlement 512/97 du Code de la route. On peut consulter ce règlement sur le site Web Lois-en-ligne de l’Ontario.

Lieux d'inspection et de mise en fourrière

Les inspections sont effectuées dans des centres d'inspection des véhicules automobiles désignés dans différentes régions de la province. Ces centres ont été choisis parce qu'ils sont situés à des endroits stratégiques où la circulation de véhicules utilitaires est importante.

Les autobus et le Programme de mise en fourrière

Les autobus, y compris les autobus scolaires et les autocars, sont des véhicules utilitaires et sont donc visés par le Programme de mise en fourrière.

Conséquences de la mise en fourrière d'un véhicule

Quand un défaut critique est détecté sur un véhicule lors d'une inspection, des accusations sont portées contre le propriétaire, le transporteur (entreprise de camionnage ou de transport par autobus) ou le conducteur. Le véhicule est ensuite mis en fourrière pour la période prescrite. Avant que le véhicule ne soit retiré du centre d'inspection, il doit être déchargé, réparé et remis en état pour qu'on puisse le remorquer sans danger. Les véhicules qu'il est impossible de remettre en état pour les remorquer sans danger doivent être placés sur une remorque à plateau pour leur transport vers la fourrière.

Lors d'une première infraction, le véhicule est mis en fourrière pendant 15 jours. Pour une deuxième infraction dans les deux années qui suivent, le véhicule est mis en fourrière pendant 30 jours. Pour une troisième infraction et toute infraction subséquente à l’intérieur ces deux années, la durée de mise en fourrière est de 60 jours.

Le transporteur sera accusé d'« utilisation d’un véhicule dangereux » et devra assumer tous les coûts reliés au retrait, au transfert et à l'entreposage du chargement.

Le propriétaire est également assujetti au paiement des coûts de remorquage et de mise en fourrière, et il lui est interdit d’utiliser le véhicule à des fins commerciales pendant toute la durée de la mise en fourrière.

Des accusations peuvent également être portées contre le conducteur. Les amendes pour infractions rattachées à la sécurité sont établies dans la Loi sur les infractions provinciales et peuvent atteindre 20 000 $.

Une fois la période de mise en fourrière écoulée, le registrateur libère le véhicule, qui doit être remorqué ou transporté jusqu'à un centre de réparations qualifié. Il est interdit de conduire le véhicule sur une voie publique de l'Ontario tant qu'un Certificat de sécurité n'a pas été délivré. Les plaques et les permis concernant ce véhicule ne seront restitués qu'après obtention de ce certificat.

Coût de la mise en fourrière

Les montants à verser pour le remorquage, le transport sur remorque, l'entreposage des véhicules et des marchandises et le transfert des charges sont établis par contrats liant le ministère des Transports de l’Ontario et les fourrières.

Même si un barème raisonnable a été établi, les montants à verser peuvent être plus élevés si la distance de remorquage est particulièrement longue ou si la fourrière se trouve dans une zone urbaine où le coût des terrains à usage commercial est plus élevé. Il s'agit d'un système utilisateur-payeur, lequel prévoit le paiement direct de la fourrière par le propriétaire exploitant responsable du véhicule et de sa charge

Fourrières

Les fourrières sont situées à une distance raisonnable des centres d'inspection des véhicules automobiles auxquels elles sont associées. Une fourrière donnée peut desservir plusieurs centres d'inspection si elle en est suffisamment proche.

Les fourrières sont choisies selon leur capacité à fournir un service sûr et fiable à un coût raisonnable.

Qu'advient-il de la charge?

Avant d'être mis en fourrière, le véhicule doit être déchargé au centre d'inspection, puis la charge doit être transférée dans un autre véhicule.

Le transporteur pris en défaut est responsable du transfert de la charge et, le cas échéant, de la perte de marchandises périssables. Si le véhicule est un autobus, il appartient au transporteur de fournir un autre moyen de transport aux passagers.

Procédure d'appel

Seul le propriétaire du véhicule peut interjeter appel auprès du Tribunal d’appel en matière de permis en invoquant l’un ou l’autre des deux motifs suivants :

  1. Le véhicule avait été volé.
  2. Aucun défaut critique n'avait été constaté au moment de l'inspection quotidienne.

En attendant la décision relative à l'appel, le propriétaire peut demander à la Cour supérieure de justice la restitution provisoire de son véhicule après le versement d’un cautionnement et le paiement de tous les coûts reliés à la mise en fourrière et au remorquage. Le montant du cautionnement fixé par la Cour supérieure de justice peut aller de 5 000 $ à 10 000 $.

S'il gagne son appel, le propriétaire se voit rembourser par la Couronne les coûts de remorquage et de mise en fourrière.

Par contre, si l'ordonnance de mise en fourrière et de suspension est confirmée, le propriétaire doit retourner le véhicule à la fourrière pour le restant de la durée prescrite ou renoncer au remboursement de son cautionnement.

Les audiences d'appel se font oralement, à moins qu'une audience par écrit n'ait été réclamée et accordée. Les audiences ont lieu aussitôt que possible et la décision est rendue dans les 30 jours suivants, lorsque requis. Les audiences peuvent avoir lieu à divers endroits à travers la province.

Répercussions d'une mise en fourrière sur le dossier d'IUVU

La mise en fourrière et des points d’inaptitude figureront dans le dossier d’IUVU du transporteur.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez vous adresser au :

Ministère des Transports
Direction de la sécurité des transporteurs et de l'application des lois
Programme de mise en fourrière des véhicules utilitaires
301, rue St. Paul, 3e étage St.
Catharines (Ontario) L2R 7R4

Téléphone : 416 246-7166 ou 1 800 387-7736 (en Ontario seulement)
Télécopieur : 905 704-2683

Limiteurs de vitesse obligatoires

Un limiteur de vitesse est un dispositif électronique qui permet de fixer la vitesse maximale d’un véhicule à 105 km/h. L’installation de limiteurs de vitesse est obligatoire pour la plupart des poids lourds qui circulent en Ontario.

Des études menées par le gouvernement fédéral, par l’intermédiaire de Transports Canada, ont démontré les avantages des limiteurs de vitesse sur le plan de l’environnement, de la sécurité et de la réduction des coûts. L’Ontario et le Québec ont collaboré à l’élaboration et à la mise en œuvre d’un règlement relatif aux limiteurs de vitesse.

Véhicules concernés

Les véhicules automobiles utilitaires fabriqués après le 31 décembre 1994 dotés d’un module de commande électronique et dont le poids nominal brut (PNB) est égal ou supérieur à 11 794 kg sont visés par le règlement. Les exemptions à ce règlement sont limitées à un nombre restreint de types de véhicules, tels que les ambulances et les véhicules de lutte contre les incendies.

Le Code de la route

En 2008, le gouvernement ontarien a légiféré et établi un règlement afin de rendre obligatoire l’utilisation de limiteurs de vitesse dans les véhicules utilitaires. Pour prendre connaissance de la loi et du règlement pertinents, consultez les sites Web suivants :

L'application de la loi

Les agents d’exécution de la police et du ministère des Transports de l’Ontario ont recours à des techniques de contrôle de la circulation et à des testeurs électroniques portatifs pour vérifier l’activation de limiteurs de vitesse réglés à une vitesse maximale de 105 km/h.

Les testeurs électroniques portatifs donnent aux agents l’accès à des données sur les moteurs des véhicules et leur permettent de vérifier si leurs limiteurs de vitesse sont activés et réglés à une vitesse de 105 km/h ou moins. Pour ce faire, les agents doivent brancher l’outil électronique dans un port d’accès aux données situé dans la cabine du véhicule. Tout refus de collaborer à l’inspection entraîne une mise en accusation.

Avantages des limiteurs de vitesse

  • La diminution de la vitesse d’un véhicule permet une réduction de la consommation de carburant, ce qui contribue à la réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre et les frais de carburant.
  • La diminution de la vitesse d’un véhicule entraîne la diminution des risques liés à la conduite. Les conducteurs s’exposent à un certain nombre de dangers en dépassant les limites de vitesse. Ils sont alors soumis à un stress important, lequel entraîne de la fatigue et une perte de concentration. Lorsque la vitesse est excessive, il est plus difficile de réagir aux situations imprévues, d'arrêter soudainement le véhicule et de le contrôler. De plus, en cas de collision, plus la vitesse est élevée et plus l’impact est important.
  • Les limiteurs de vitesse réglés à 105 km/h ou moins contribuent à la réduction des coûts d’exploitation de nombreuses entreprises de transport en diminuant la consommation de carburant et en augmentant l’efficacité énergétique des véhicules.
Retour en haut de page