Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Home
Home > Trucks > Trucks Handbook > Definitions
Text size Enlarge Text Shrink Text
Search   |  
II. Definitions
 

Commercial motor vehicle: any motor vehicle with a permanently attached truck or delivery body, including ambulances, hearses, casket wagons, fire apparatus, buses and tractors used for hauling loads.

Gross weight: the combined weight of vehicle and load.

Registered gross weight: the weight for which a permit has been issued under the HTA; the fee for the permit is based upon the weight of the vehicle or combination of vehicles and load.

Manufacturers’ gross vehicle weight rating (MGVWR): the gross weight as specified by the manufacturer; often attached as a decal or plate on the cab of a vehicle.

Motor vehicle: an automobile, motorcycle, motor-assisted bicycle and any other vehicle propelled or driven other than by muscular power. Not included are the cars of electric or steam railways or other motor vehicles running only upon rails; motorized snow vehicles; traction engines; farm tractors; power-assisted bikes; or road-building machines.

Semi-trailer: a trailer designed to be operated with the forward part of its body or chassis resting upon the body or chassis of a towing vehicle.

Trailer: a vehicle drawn, propelled or moved by a motor vehicle. The definition does not include farm implements, mobile homes, motor vehicles, side cars attached to motorcycles, or any device not designed to transport persons or property. A trailer is considered a separate vehicle and not part of the motor vehicle by which it is drawn.

Vehicle: a motor vehicle, trailer, traction engine, farm tractor, roadbuilding machine or any vehicle drawn, propelled or driven by any kind of power, including muscular power. The definition does not include motorized snow vehicles or the cars of electric or steam railways running only upon rails.

Self-propelled implement of husbandry: a self-propelled vehicle used specifically in farming, such as a farm tractor.

Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Taille du texte Augmentation de la taille du texte Réduction de la taille du texte
Recherche   |  
II. Définitions
 

Matériel agricole automoteur : Tout véhicule automoteur utilisé spécifiquement à des fins agricoles, par exemple un tracteur agricole.

Poids brut : Poids combiné du véhicule et de la charge.

Poids brut enregistré : Poids pour lequel un permis a été délivré en vertu du Code de la route, les droits à payer pour le permis étant calculés d’après le poids du véhicule ou de l’ensemble de véhicules et de la charge.

Poids brut indiqué par le fabricant du véhicule : Poids brut indiqué par le fabricant et figurant souvent sur une plaque ou sur un autocollant apposé dans la cabine du véhicule.

Remorque : Véhicule tiré, mû ou actionné par un véhicule automobile, à l’exception d’un matériel agricole, d’une maison mobile, d’un autre véhicule automobile, d’un side-car fixé à une motocyclette ou d’un dispositif qui n’est pas conçu pour transporter des personnes ou des biens. La remorque est considérée comme un véhicule distinct ne faisant pas partie du véhicule automobile tracteur.

Semi-remorque : Toute remorque conçue de manière à ce que la partie avant de la carrosserie ou de son châssis repose sur la carrosserie ou le châssis du véhicule tracteur.

Véhicule : Désigne un véhicule automobile, une remorque, un camion tracteur, un tracteur agricole, une machine à construire des routes et tout véhicule tiré, mû ou actionné par une force quelle qu’elle soit, y compris la force musculaire, à l’exception des motoneiges et des véhicules ferroviaires électriques ou à vapeur circulant uniquement sur rails.

Véhicule automobile : Automobile, motocyclette, cyclomoteur et tout autre véhicule mû ou conduit autrement que par la force musculaire, à l’exception d’un véhicule ferroviaire électrique et à vapeur, d’un autre véhicule automobile sur rails, d’une motoneige, d’un tracteur même agricole, d’un cyclomoteur ou d’une machine à construire des routes.

Véhicule utilitaire : Véhicule automobile auquel est fixée en permanence une carrosserie de camion ou de livraison. Sont inclus dans la présente définition les ambulances, les corbillards, les fourgons funéraires, les appareils d’incendie, les autobus et les tracteurs utilisés à des fins de remorquage.