Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Home
Home > Trucks > Trucks Handbook > III. A and D licence classes and requirements > Size and weight limits for commercial motor vehicles
Text size Enlarge Text Shrink Text
Search   |  
III. A and D licence classes and requirements
Size and weight limits for commercial motor vehicles

Commercial motor vehicles are restricted in width to a limit of 2.6 metres (8.5 ft.). Exceptions are made for specialized equipment such as snow removal equipment. In determining the width of a motor vehicle, the mirrors will not be included if they do not extend more than 30 centimetres beyond the vehicle on either side. In regards to the width of a motor vehicle or trailer equipped with auxiliary equipment, it will not be included in the width, provided it does not extend more than 10 centimetres from the side of the vehicle and is not designed or used to carry a load. Semi-trailers are limited to a length of 14.65 metres (53 ft.) if the trailer and tractor meet special requirements.

No combination of vehicles is permitted to exceed a length of 23 metres (75.5 ft.) except double-trailer combinations that meet special requirements for both trailers and the tractor.

All vehicles, including loads are limited to a height of 4.15 metres (13.6 ft.) to ensure adequate clearance is maintained at bridges and overpasses.

You cannot operate a vehicle or combination of vehicles on a highway when its gross weight exceeds the maximum weight permitted under Part VII of the Highway Traffic Act and its regulations.

To determine the gross allowable weight of a commercial vehicle, several factors must be considered, including the number of axles, the size of the tires, the type of suspension, the distance between the axles, the type of load carried (aggregate or non-aggregate load) and the weight allowed on the steering axle.

Several formulas are used to determine the maximum allowable gross weight. These include calculating the sum of the weights allowed on each axle, the registered gross vehicle weight or the weight prescribed in regulations under the Highway Traffic Act. Once these weights have been determined, the lower figure of these is the maximum gross allowable weight.

Drivers, operators and shippers are all responsible for the weight of the commercial vehicle, and any may be charged with an offence.

a tractor-trailer
Diagram 1-2

Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Taille du texte Augmentation de la taille du texte Réduction de la taille du texte
Recherche   |  
III. Exigences concernant les permis de catégories A et D
Dimensions et poids limites des véhicules utilitaires

La largeur des véhicules utilitaires ne doit pas dépasser 2,6 mètres (8,5 pieds). Il y a cependant des exceptions pour certains véhicules comme les engins de déneigement. Pour déterminer la largeur d’un véhicule automobile, les rétroviseurs extérieurs ne sont pas compris s’ils ne s’étendent pas à plus de 30 cm de chaque côté du véhicule. En ce qui concerne la largeur d’un véhicule automobile ou d’une remorque doté de matériel auxiliaire, ce matériel n’est pas compris s’il ne s’étend pas à plus de 10 cm du côté du véhicule et n’est pas conçu ni utilisé pour transporter une charge. La longueur des semi-remorques ne doit pas dépasser 14,65 mètres (53 pieds) si le véhicule tracteur et la remorque satisfont à des exigences spéciales.

La longueur d’un ensemble de véhicules est limitée à 23 mètres (75,5 pieds), sauf pour les ensembles formés d’une remorque double qui satisfont à des exigences spéciales applicables au véhicule tracteur et aux deux remorques.

La hauteur de tous les véhicules, charge incluse, ne doit pas dépasser 4,15 mètres (13,6 pieds) afin d’assurer un dégagement adéquat sous les ponts et les passages supérieurs.

Il est interdit d’utiliser sur la voie publique un véhicule ou un ensemble de véhicules dont le poids brut est supérieur au poids maximum permis en vertu de la partie VII du Code de la route et des règlements y afférents.

Pour déterminer le poids brut autorisé d’un véhicule utilitaire, il faut prendre plusieurs facteurs en considération notamment le nombre d’essieux, la taille des pneus, le type de suspension, l’espace entre les essieux, le type de charge (composée ou non d’agrégats) et le poids admis pour l’essieu directeur.

Diverses formules servent à déterminer le poids brut maximal admis. Il peut s’agir de la somme des poids admis pour chaque essieu, du poids brut enregistré du véhicule ou encore de valeurs précisées dans les règlements pris en application du Code de la route. Le poids brut maximum admis correspond à la valeur la plus faible de celles déterminées suivant ces diverses méthodes.

Les conducteurs, les utilisateurs et les expéditeurs sont tous responsables du poids du véhicule utilitaire et peuvent faire l’objet d’accusations s’ils commettent une infraction.

un camion-remorque
Illustration 1-2