Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Text size Enlarge Text Shrink Text
Search   |  
Vehicle safety, maintenance and daily inspections
Annual inspection certificate

Operators are responsible for having each of their vehicles and trailers inspected each year by a licensed motor-vehicle inspection mechanic. The mechanic checks to ensure that the vehicle or trailer is in compliance with all of the inspection requirements contained in the appropriate standard of the National Safety Code 11, Part B. To read NSC standard 11 for Periodic Commercial Motor Vehicle Maintenance Inspections (PMVI) standards, visit CCMTA’s website at www.ccmta.ca. This standard has been adopted through regulation under the Highway Traffic Act.

If the vehicle/trailer is in compliance with all requirements, the mechanic or another person authorized by the inspection station completes an annual inspection certificate and an annual inspection record. These documents come with a corresponding annual inspection sticker (decal), which indicates the vehicle type, as well as the month and year of the inspection. The mechanic or other authorized person places the decal on the outside lower left corner of the windshield or left side of the truck cab, or on the outside surface on the front left side of a trailer, semi-trailer or trailer converter dolly.

Drivers are also responsible for ensuring the vehicle they are driving is fit for highway use. As part of your daily inspection, check the date on the inspection-certificate decal on the vehicle and/or trailer to ensure that it is still valid.

This illustration depicts a licensed motor vehicle inspection mechanic checking a truck for compliance with performance standards.
Diagram 1-4

Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Taille du texte Augmentation de la taille du texte Réduction de la taille du texte
Recherche   |  
IV. Sécurité, entretien et inspection des véhicules
Certificat d'inspection annuelle

Chaque année, les utilisateurs doivent faire inspecter tous leurs véhicules et remorques par un mécanicien inscrit préposé à l’inspection des véhicules automobiles. Le mécanicien s’assurera que le véhicule ou la remorque répond à toutes les exigences d’inspection énoncées dans la norme 11B du Code canadien de sécurité. Pour lire la norme 11, Normes d’entretien et d’inspection des véhicules commerciaux, consultez le site Web du CCATM à www.ccmta.ca/french. Cette norme a été adoptée dans le cadre d’un règlement pris en application du Code de la route.

Si le véhicule ou la remorque répond à toutes les exigences, le mécanicien ou une autre personne autorisée par le centre d’inspection remplit un certificat d’inspection annuelle et une fiche d’inspection annuelle. Ces documents sont munis d’une vignette d’inspection annuelle qui indique le type de véhicule ainsi que le mois et l’année où il a été inspecté. Le mécanicien, ou une autre personne autorisée, place la vignette dans le coin inférieur gauche de la partie extérieure du pare-brise ou sur le côté gauche de la cabine du camion ou sur la surface extérieure du côté avant gauche de la remorque, de la semi-remorque ou de l’avant-train à sellette.

En tant que conducteur(trice), vous devez également vous assurer que votre véhicule est en bon état. Lors de l’inspection quotidienne, prenez note de la date figurant sur la vignette d’inspection du véhicule ou de la remorque pour déterminer si la vignette est toujours valide.

This illustration depicts a licensed motor vehicle inspection mechanic checking a truck for compliance with performance standards.
Illustration 1-4