Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Home
Home > Trucks > Trucks Handbook > Signs > Other signs
Text size Enlarge Text Shrink Text
Search   |  
I. Signs
Other signs

Here are some other common signs:

Oversize load sign

Vehicles and/or loads in excess of dimensions prescribed under Section 109 of the Highway Traffic Act must be marked with bright red or orange warning flags, which are at least 40 cm square, mounted to the extremities of the vehicle or load. The flag(s) must be kept in good and clean condition so as to not diminish their effectiveness.

In addition to flags, vehicles and/or loads must display on the front of the vehicle and the rear of the load, in a clearly visible position, either one of the two following signs: a sign visible for a distance of at least 150 metres bearing the words “OVERSIZE LOAD” in black letters at least 200 millimetres high on a yellow background; or, a “D” sign, as illustrated. When travelling at night, the sign must be made of high-intensity, retro-reflective material. The sign cannot obstruct lights or other safety devices on the vehicle or trailer; and it must be removed or covered when not in use.


 

Oversize load sign

Slow-moving vehicle sign

The “slow-moving vehicle” sign is an orange triangle with a red border. It alerts other drivers that this vehicle will be travelling at 40 km/h or less. When on a road, farm tractors, farm implements/machinery and vehicles not capable of sustaining speeds over 40 km/h must display the slow moving vehicle sign. Watch for these slow moving vehicles and reduce your speed as necessary.


a slow-moving vehicle sign

Dangerous goods

When transporting dangerous goods, safety marks, placards or labels are displayed to identify dangerous-goods classification and the nature of danger they pose. They are an information tool to provide a quick identification that can be found on trucks, cargo and even pallets.


a dangerous goods sign

Long commercial vehicle (LCV)
This placard indicates a long commercial vehicle, which is a double trailer and can be up to 40 metres in length. It is important to be able to recognize an LCV on the highway, based on rear signage, and anticipate both extended length and limited speed when preparing to pass one on the highway.


a slow-moving vehicle sign

 

EDR signs are used during the unscheduled closure of a provincial highway when OPP detour all traffic off the highway. The EDR markers are located along alternative routes and provide direction to motorists around the closure and back onto the highway.

 

a slow-moving vehicle sign

Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Taille du texte Augmentation de la taille du texte Réduction de la taille du texte
Recherche   |  
I. Panneaux de signalisation
Autres panneaux

Voici quelques exemples d’autres panneaux courants :

Panneau pour charge de dimensions exceptionnelles

Les véhicules et les charges dont les dimensions sont supérieures à celles indiquées à l’article 109 du Code de la route doivent être munis d’un fanion orange ou rouge vif mesurant au moins 40 centimètres carrés placé aux extrémités du véhicule ou de la charge. Ce fanion doit être propre et en bon état afin de ne pas nuire à son efficacité.

En plus du fanion, les véhicules et les charges doivent être munis, à l’avant du véhicule et à l’arrière de la charge, à un endroit clairement visible, d’un des deux panneaux suivants : un panneau visible à au moins 150 mètres portant les mots « OVERSIZE LOAD » (charge de dimensions exceptionnelles) en lettres noires d’au moins 200 millimètres de hauteur sur fond jaune; ou un panneau « D » illustré ci-contre. Si le véhicule est utilisé la nuit, le panneau doit être fabriqué à partir d’un matériau rétroréfléchissant à haute intensité. Le panneau ne doit pas obstruer les phares et les autres dispositifs de sécurité du véhicule et de la remorque et doit être enlevé ou recouvert lorsqu’on ne s’en sert pas.


un panneau pour charge de dimensions exceptionnelles
Panneau de véhicule lent

Le panneau de véhicule lent est un triangle orange avec une bordure rouge. Il avertit les autres conducteurs que ce véhicule circule à 40 km/h ou moins. Lorsqu’ils circulent sur la route, les tracteurs agricoles, les machines agricoles et les véhicules qui ne peuvent pas atteindre une vitesse supérieure à 40 km/h doivent afficher le panneau de véhicule lent. Faites attention à ces véhicules qui circulent lentement et ralentissez au besoin.


un panneau de véhicule lent

Matières dangereuses

Les véhicules qui transportent des matières dangereuses sont munis d’indications de sécurité, de plaques ou d’étiquettes indiquant la catégorie de matière dangereuse et le danger qu’elle pose. Les camions, les charges et même les palettes peuvent en être munis.




un panneau de véhicule lent
Véhicule utilitaire long

Ce panneau indique un véhicule utilitaire long comportant deux remorques et pouvant mesurer jusqu’à 40 mètres de longueur. Il est important de pouvoir reconnaître les véhicules utilitaires longs sur la route selon les panneaux qui se trouvent à l’arrière de ceux-ci et de pouvoir anticiper leur longueur accrue ainsi que la vitesse limite à laquelle ils circulent lorsque vous vous préparez à doubler de tels véhicules.



un panneaux de détour d’urgence

Panneau de détour d’urgence

Les panneaux de détour d’urgence sont utilisés pour la fermeture non prévue d’une route provinciale lorsque la Police provinciale de l’Ontario détourne la circulation. Ces panneaux sont situés sur les parcours de déviation et donnent des indications aux automobilistes afin de contourner la partie de la route fermée et de retourner sur la route en question.

un panneaux de détour d’urgence