Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Home
Home > Trucks > Trucks Handbook > Ontario's Drive Clean program
Text size Enlarge Text Shrink Text
Search   |  
I. Ontario's Drive Clean program
 

Vehicles are a major domestic source of smog-causing emissions in Ontario. Drive Clean, administered by the Ministry of the Environment, reduces smog-causing pollutants by identifying grossly polluting vehicles and requiring them to be repaired. Accordingly, Drive Clean sets up a schedule for when vehi­cles must be tested.

Drive Clean requires diesel-powered, heavy-duty vehicles registered anywhere in Ontario to be tested annually. Non-diesel, heavy-duty vehicles must be tested annually only if they are registered in the Drive Clean program area (for example, southern Ontario from Windsor to Ottawa).

The Ministry of Transportation will notify you if your vehicle needs a test. Or you can check the Drive Clean website www.driveclean.com or call the Drive Clean Contact Centre at 1-888-758-2999 for more information on the program and test requirements.

Effective September 1, 2011, changes were made that exempt some vehicles from Drive Clean. Please visit the Drive Clean website to see if your vehicle is affected.

Drive Clean offers the owners of diesel vehicles an incentive to be tested every two years, instead of every year. To qualify, your vehicle must register a 20 per cent or lower opacity reading. Vehicles that register over 20 per cent opacity still require annual tests.

If you are buying or selling a used vehicle that is older than the current model year, the vehicle must pass a Drive Clean test so that the ownership can be transferred and the vehicle can be plated for the road. This requirement helps to ensure that you do not purchase a vehicle with emissions problems.

You don’t have to wait for a Drive Clean test to do something positive for the environment. Keeping your vehicle well maintained accord­ing to the manufacturer’s recommended service schedules is an important part of driving clean. For example, if the “check engine” or “service engine” lights come on, go to a qualified repair technician to have your engine checked as soon as possible. Otherwise, you could face costly repairs to the vehicle’s engine or emissions-control system.

All vehicles on Ontario’s highways — whether registered in Ontario or out-of-province — are subject to the provincial environmental protection act. The Act prohibits excessive visible exhaust emissions and the alteration or removal of emissions-control equipment. This applies to vehicles even if they have passed a Drive Clean test.

For more information on Ontario’s Drive Clean program, visit www.driveclean.com or call the Drive Clean Contact Centre toll-free at 1-888-758-2999.

Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Taille du texte Augmentation de la taille du texte Réduction de la taille du texte
Recherche   |  
I. Programme Air pur Ontario
 

Le programme Air pur Ontario exige que les véhicules lourds à moteur diesel immatriculés partout en Ontario subissent une analyse annuelle. Les véhicules lourds à moteur autre que diesel doivent subir cette analyse tous les ans seulement s’ils sont immatriculés dans la zone définie pour le programme Air pur Ontario (c.-à-d. le Sud de l’Ontario, de Windsor à Ottawa).

Le ministère des Transports vous avisera si votre véhicule doit subir une analyse. Ou encore, pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le programme Air pur Ontario et les exigences d’analyse, consultez le site www.driveclean.com ou appelez l’InfoCentre d’Air pur Ontario au 1 888 758-2999.

À la suite des changements entrés en vigueur le 1er septembre 2011, le programme Air pur Ontario dispense certains véhicules de ses exigences. Veuillez consulter le site Web d’Air pur Ontario afin de savoir si cela concerne votre véhicule.

Le programme Air pur Ontario offre un incitatif aux propriétaires de véhicules à moteur diesel pour faire l’analyse des émissions tous les deux ans au lieu de chaque année. Pour être admissible, votre véhicule doit obtenir une lecture d’opacité de 20 % ou moins. Les véhicules qui obtiennent une lecture supérieure à 20 % doivent continuer de subir une analyse annuelle.

Vous n’avez pas besoin d’attendre une analyse en vertu du programme Air pur Ontario pour faire quelque chose de positif pour l’environnement. Par exemple, l’entretien régulier de votre véhicule en respectant le calendrier établi par le fabricant joue un rôle important à cet égard. Si les voyants « vérifier le moteur » ou « entretenir le moteur » s’allument, faites examiner le moteur de votre véhicule par un technicien qualifié dès que possible, sinon le moteur ou le système antipollution pourrait nécessiter des réparations coûteuses.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le programme Air pur Ontario, consultez le site www.driveclean.com ou appelez sans frais l’InfoCentre d’Air pur Ontario au 1 888 758-2999.