Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Text size Enlarge Text Shrink Text
Search   |  

IRP Carrier Manual - Temporary Permits & Record Keeping

11.  Temporary Registrations

Non-Resident Single Trip Permit

Operators of non-resident commercial vehicles may operate in Ontario by obtaining a single trip permit that is valid for a period not exceeding 10 days. Non-resident permits may be obtained from appointed government agents or service bureaus. The fee for such a permit is $15.00 for an unladen vehicle, $75.00 for a laden single commercial vehicle and $132.00 for a laden truck or tractor and trailer combination.

Oversize/Overweight Permits

An oversize/overweight permit allows the movement of oversize/overweight vehicles, indivisible loads, objects or structures that exceed the limits set out in the Highway Traffic Act on a highway.

Over width:

  • Any vehicle and load greater than 2.6m (8'6")

Exceptions:

  • Raw forest products (at point of origin) do not require a permit until the width is greater than 2.7m (8'10")
  • Raw forest products (en route) do not require a permit until the width is greater than 2.8m (9'2")
  • Motor vehicle and road building machines operated by or on behalf of a municipality or road authority engaged in road maintenance and snow removal
  • Loose fodder

Over height:

  • Any vehicle and load exceeding 4.15m (13'6")

Over length:

  • Single vehicle including load greater than 12.5m (41')
  • Combination of vehicles and load greater than 23.0m (75'5")

Over weight:

  • An oversize/overweight permit is required if axle and/or gross vehicle weight exceeds the limits set out in the Highway Traffic Act. Contact the Ministry of Transportation Drivers and Vehicles Office nearest you.

To make an application for an oversize/overweight vehicle, please complete an Application for Permit under section 110 of the Highway Traffic Act. Applications may be obtained from the Ministry of Transportation Drivers and Vehicles Office or online at Oversize/Overweight Permits, or can be ordered by fax or phone by contacting the locations listed below:

Permit Issuing Office Locations

St. Catharines (Head Office) #061
301 St. Paul Street, 3rd Floor, St Catharines, ON L2R 7R4
Tel: 416-246-7166 or 1-800-387-7736, Dept 4 Fax: 905-704-2545

Downsview Office #979
1860 Wilson Avenue
Downsview, ON M9M 3A7
Tel: 416-212-9410
Fax: 416-212-9444

Kingston Office #982
1355 John Counter Boulevard
Kingston, ON K7L 5A3
Phone: 613-545-4765
Fax: 613-545-4781

London Office #919
659 Exeter Road
London, ON N6E 1L3
Phone: 519-873-4284
Fax: 519-873-4270

North Bay Office #961
447 McKeown Avenue, Suite 301
North Bay, ON P1B 9S9
Phone: (705) 497-6909
Fax: (705) 497-5406

Ottawa Office #928
3091 Albion Road North, Unit 2
Ottawa, ON K1V 9V9
Phone: 613-731-6451 or 613-731-6452
Fax: 613-249-8143

Thunder Bay Office #930
615 South James Street
Thunder Bay, ON P7E 6P6
Phone: (807) 473-2040 or (807) 473-2042
Fax: (807) 473-2133

Waterloo Office #944
500 Weber Street North, Unit 3
Waterloo, ON N2L 4E9
Phone: 519-885-9489
Fax: 519-885-9937

Windsor Office #932
150 Ouellette Place, Suite 210
Windsor, ON N8X 1L9
Phone: 519-972-5579
Fax: 519-966-7567


See Appendix D for Oversize/Overweight Permits for other jurisdictions

IRP Unladen Weight Permit

A 10-Day Unladen Weight Permit (also known as a "hunter's permit") is a paper permit issued for a commercial motor vehicle owned or leased by a resident of Ontario or of another jurisdiction and is issued under the provisions of Section 910 of the IRP Plan. A vehicle displaying the permit is temporarily exempt from IRP registration.

The purpose of this permit is to authorize the temporary operation of an unladen commercial motor vehicle or combination unladen commercial motor vehicle and unladen trailer(s) within Ontario and all IRP member jurisdictions when the registered vehicle owner (i.e. owner/operator) has terminated his/her current employment and is seeking employment with another carrier and under the following conditions:

  • frit unladen commercial motor vehicles without plates; or,
  • fit unladen commercial motor vehicle and unladen trailer or trailers without plates.

The fee for the unladen weight permit is $15.00 for a period of 10 days.


12.  Distance/Operational Records

Every carrier who registers vehicles under the IRP must maintain records to substantiate the reported distances travelled and the costs of all vehicles in the IRP fleets.

Source Documents

Vehicle Costs

Acceptable documentation to support a vehicle's purchase price and date of purchase include a purchase invoice and bill of sale. For leased units, the lease agreements showing the capital cost of the vehicle or other proof of the fair market value of the vehicle (dealer appraisal) at the beginning of the lease are required. Costs of any capital additions and modifications made to the vehicle within 30 days of the purchase must be included in the purchase price.  For vehicles purchased privately, MTO will use the greater of the declared purchase price or the appraised value.

Driver's Trip Records

An acceptable source document to record distances is an "Individual Vehicle Distance Record" (IVDR). The driver for each trip made by a vehicle in an IRP fleet, including owner-operated vehicles and leased vehicles, completes this document. The most common IVDRs are the driver's trip sheets and driver's logs. Other similar records are acceptable provided they contain the following basic information:

  1. Registrant's name
  2. Date of trip (beginning and ending)
  3. Trip origin and destination
  4. Routes (highway numbers) travelled
  5. Odometer/hubometer readings
  6. Distance by jurisdiction
  7. Total trip distance
  8. Vehicle unit numbers, for both power unit and trailer(s)
  9. Fleet number (if registrant has more than one fleet)
  10. Driver's name and signature

Special Permits

Copies of all special permits obtained for operations by prorated vehicles must be available on file. The distances travelled under these permits are to be reported on the next application for IRP registration as estimate values.

Monthly Summaries

The IVDR information must be summarized on a monthly basis. The summary must contain information by individual vehicle (beginning and ending odometer/hubometer readings, individual trip details, distance by jurisdiction, total distance travelled) and by fleet (distance by jurisdiction, total distance). (See Appendix E)

Yearly Summaries

A yearly summary is required for each July 1 to June 30 reporting period and must show the total fleet distance, broken down by month for each jurisdiction. Samples of acceptable IVDRs (both Monthly and Yearly Recapitulation) are provided in Appendix E, and are available electronically from the MTO by sending an e-mail to irp@ontario.ca.

Other Records

Copies of the forms filed for annual registration (IRP Application, Supplemental Applications, Distance Schedules, etc.) must be retained in the carrier's files for audit purposes.

Record Retention Period

Distance records must be retained for the five distance reporting periods (July 1 - June 30), which immediately precede the current licence year.

Vehicle cost and weight records must be maintained for all vehicles that are currently registered in the fleet. For individual vehicles that have been deleted from a fleet, vehicle cost and weight records must be retained for three years after the vehicles were deleted from the fleet.


Reminder: In addition to the above IRP record retention requirements, the carrier must maintain all records pertaining to its operations as required under Section 1500 of the IRP Agreement.


13.  Audits

Authority to Audit

Article X, Section 1015 of the IRP agreement requires each member jurisdiction to conduct audits of carriers based in its jurisdiction on behalf of all IRP member jurisdictions. Auditors from the Motor Fuel and Tobacco Tax branch of the Ministry of Finance will perform IRP audits on Ontario carriers. Carriers will be audited simultaneously for both IRP and IFTA.

Purpose of Audit

The purpose of the audit is to ensure compliance with established rules and regulations governing prorated registration and proper payment of prorated fees and taxes to Ontario and to all other IRP member jurisdictions in which the carrier is (or was) registered for multi-jurisdictional travel.

Registrant Responsibilities

The carrier must keep proper maintenance of all records required for the audit procedure, including all IVDRs, computer system/on board recording device information. All distances travelled by trip permits, as well as loaded, unloaded, inter-jurisdictional and intra-jurisdictional must be kept.

Use of On Board Recording Devices

On board recording devices may be used in conjunction with a computer system in lieu of or in partnership with handwritten IVDRs. All reports from this method must be maintained in hardcopy. If using a recording device, it must meet the standards set forth by IRP Inc, under section 500 of the International Registration Plan - Audit Procedures Manual.

Audit Procedures

In conducting the IRP audit, auditors will use the source documents to determine, on a test basis, the accuracy and completeness of the distance and vehicle information recorded on the Individual Vehicle Distance Records (IVDRs), on the monthly and yearly summaries, and on the forms used for IRP registration. All distance records must be retained for five (5) years plus the current registration year. The carrier will be contacted and advised of an upcoming audit no less than 30 days prior to the commencement. At this time the carrier will be advised of the registration years under audit, type of records required, person(s) conducting the audit, and the proposed commencement date of the audit.

Other Audits

An IFTA audit and an audit under Article X, Section 1015 of the IRP Agreement on the company's operations in the Province of Ontario will generally be conducted at the same time. These concurrent audits will minimize the inconvenience to audited carriers



Back | Contents | Next

Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Taille du texte Augmentation de la taille du texte Réduction de la taille du texte
Recherche   |  

Manuel du transporteur IRP - Permis temporaires et la tenue des dossiers

11.  Immatriculations temporaires

Permis de déplacement unique pour non-résident

peut obtenir un permis de déplacement unique valide pendant dix jours. Ce permis est disponible auprès des agents du gouvernement ou des bureaux de services désignés. Des droits de 15,00 $ sont exigés pour un véhicule à vide, de 75,00 $ pour un véhicule utilitaire simple chargé, et de 132,00 $ pour un camion ou un tracteur avec semi-remorque chargé.

Permis pour véhicule ou charge de dimensions et de poids exceptionnels

Le permis pour véhicule ou charge de dimensions et poids exceptionnels permet le déplacement de véhicules de dimensions et poids exceptionnels, de charges non divisibles ainsi que d'objets ou de structures qui dépassent les limites établies dans le Code de la route.

Largeur exceptionnelle :

  • Largeur d'un véhicule et de sa charge supérieure à 2,6 m (8 pi 6 po).

Exceptions :

  • Produits forestiers bruts (au point d'origine). Un permis n'est pas obligatoire tant que la largeur ne dépasse pas 2,7 m (8 pi 10 po).
  • Produits forestiers bruts (en route). Un permis n'est pas obligatoire tant que la largeur ne dépasse pas 2,8 m (9 pi 2 po).
  • Véhicules automobiles et véhicules de la voirie exploités par ou pour le compte d'une municipalité ou d'une autorité routière pendant l'entretien et le déneigement des routes.
  • Fourrage en vrac.

Hauteur exceptionnelle :

  • Hauteur d'un véhicule et de sa charge supérieure à 4,15 m (13 pi 6 po).

Longueur exceptionnelle :

  • Longueur d'un véhicule simple et de sa charge supérieure à 12,5 m (41 pi).
  • Longueur d'un ensemble de véhicules et de leurs charges supérieure à 23,0 m (75 pi 5 po).

Poids exceptionnel :

Un permis pour véhicule ou charge de dimensions et poids exceptionnels est obligatoire si la configuration et l'espacement des essieux ou le poids brut du véhicule dépassent les limites établies dans le Code de la route. Veuillez communiquer avec le bureau de délivrance des permis de conduire et d'immatriculation des véhicules le plus près de chez vous.

Afin d'obtenir un permis pour véhicule ou charge de dimensions et de poids exceptionnels, veuillez remplir une demande de permis conformément à l'article 110 du Code de la route. Vous pouvez obtenir une demande du bureau de délivrance des permis de conduire et d'immatriculation des véhicules du ministère des Transports, en ligne à la page Permis pour véhicule de dimensions et de poids excessifs ou en faisant une demande par télécopie ou par téléphone auprès des bureaux suivants.

Bureaux de délivrance de permis

St. Catharines (Bureau principal) nº 061
301, rue St. Paul, 3e Étage, St Catharines, (Ontario) L2R 7R4
Tél. : 416 246-7166 ou 1 800 387-7736, Service 4 Téléc. : 905 704-2545

Downsview Bureau 979
1860, avenue Wilson
Downsview, (Ontario) M9M 3A7
Tél. : 416 212-9410
Télécopieur : 416 212-9444

Kingston Bureau 982
1355, boulevard John Counter
Kingston, (Ontario) K7L 5A3
Tél. : 613 545-4765
Téléc. : 613 545-4781

London Bureau 919
659 Exeter Road
London, (Ontario) N6E 1L3
Tél. : 519 873-4284
Téléc. : 519 972-8341

North Bay Bureau 961
447, avenue McKeown, bureau 301
North Bay, (Ontario) P1B 9S9
Tél. : (705) 497-6909
Téléc. : (705) 497-5406

Ottawa Bureau 928
3091 Albion Road Nord, bureau 2
Ottawa, (Ontario) K1V 9V9
Tél. : 613 731-6451 ou 613 731-6452
Téléc. : 613 249-8143

Thunder Bay Bureau 930
615, rue South James
Thunder Bay, (Ontario) P7E 6P6
Tél. : (807) 473-2040 ou (807) 473-2042
Téléc. : (807) 473-2133

Waterloo Bureau 944
500, rue Weber Nord, bureau 3
Waterloo, (Ontario) N2L 4E9
Tél. : 519 885-9489
Téléc. : 519 885-9937

Windsor Bureau 932
150 Ouellette Place, bureau 210
Windsor, (Ontario) N8X 1L9
Tél. : 519 972-5579
Téléc. : 519 966-7567

L'annexe D traite des permis pour véhicule ou charge de dimensions et de poids exceptionnels concernant d'autres territoires.

Permis de poids à vide IRP

Un permis de poids à vide de dix jours (dit « permis de chasseur ») est un permis de papier délivré pour un véhicule automobile commercial qui appartient à un résidant de l'Ontario ou d'une autre région administrative, ou qui est loué par ce résidant, et qui est délivré en vertu des dispositions de l'article 910 du plan IRP. Un véhicule affichant ce permis est temporairement dispensé de l'immatriculation IRP.

Le but de ce permis est d'autoriser l'utilisation temporaire d'un véhicule automobile commercial à vide ou de la combinaison d'un véhicule automobile commercial à vide et d'une remorque à vide en Ontario et dans toutes les autres régions administratives membres IRP dans une situation où le propriétaire actuel du véhicule (c.-à-d. propriétaire/opérateur) a mis fin à son emploi actuel et est à la recherche d'un nouvel emploi auprès d'un autre transporteur et conformément aux conditions suivantes :

  • véhicules automobiles commerciaux à vide en bon état sans plaques d'immatriculation;
  • véhicules automobiles commerciaux à vide et une ou des remorques à vide en bon état sans plaques d'immatriculation.

Le permis de poids à vide coûte 15 $ pour une période de 10 jours.


12.  Registre des distances et dossier d'exploitation

Le transporteur qui inscrit des véhicules à l'IRP doit tenir des dossiers pour attester les kilométrages et les coûts déclarés quant à tous les véhicules de son parc IRP.

Pièces justificatives

Coût d'un véhicule

La documentation acceptable pour confirmer le prix et la date d’achat d’un véhicule comprend la facture d’achat et l’acte de vente. Dans le cas d’un véhicule loué, il est essentiel d’avoir au début de la location, soit le contrat de location sur lequel est inscrit le cout en capital du véhicule, soit toute autre preuve de la juste valeur marchande de ce dernier (évaluation du concessionnaire). Le cout de tout ajout et de toute modification fait ou apportée au véhicule dans les 30 premiers jours de l’achat doit faire partie du prix d’achat. Dans le cas d’un véhicule privé, le ministère des Transports de l’Ontario (MTO) utilise la valeur la plus importante entre le prix d’achat déclaré ou la valeur estimative.

Registre des déplacements du conducteur

La fiche d'enregistrement de la distance parcourue par le véhicule est une pièce justificative acceptable. Le conducteur remplit cette fiche après chaque déplacement d'un véhicule de la flotte IRP, y compris les véhicules exploités par leur propriétaire et les véhicules loués. La feuille de route et la fiche journalière du conducteur tiennent normalement lieu de fiches d'enregistrement. D'autres registres similaires sont acceptables s'ils contiennent au moins les renseignements suivants :

  1. le nom du titulaire de l'immatriculation IRP;
  2. la date du déplacement (au départ et à l'arrivée);
  3. le lieu de départ et d'arrivée;
  4. l'itinéraire (numéros de route);
  5. le kilométrage inscrit à l'odomètre ou au compteur kilométrique d'essieux;
  6. la distance parcourue dans chacun des territoires;
  7. la distance totale du déplacement;
  8. le numéro d'identification du véhicule (de l'unité motrice et de la ou des remorques);
  9. le numéro du parc (si le titulaire possède plus d'un parc);
  10. le nom et la signature du conducteur.

Permis Spécial

Une copie de tous les permis spécial obtenus pour l'exploitation de véhicules assignés doit être versée dans un dossier. Les distances parcourues en vertu de ces permis doivent être consignées comme valeurs estimatives sur la prochaine demande d'IRP.

Sommaires mensuels

Des données sommaires mensuelles doivent être tirées des fiches d'enregistrement de la distance parcourue par les véhicules. Ces données doivent être regroupées en fonction de chaque véhicule (kilométrage inscrit à l'odomètre ou au compteur kilométrique d'essieux au départ et à l'arrivée, détails de chaque déplacement, distance parcourue dans chaque territoire, distance totale parcourue), puis en fonction de chaque parc (distance parcourue dans chaque territoire, distance totale). (Voyez l'annexe E).

Sommaires annuels

Un sommaire annuel couvrant la période du 1er juillet au 30 juin est obligatoire et doit indiquer la distance totale du parc en fonction du mois et de chaque territoire. On retrouve dans l'annexe E des modèles acceptables de fiches d'enregistrement de la distance parcourue par un véhicule (sommaires mensuel et annuel). On peut en obtenir des versions électroniques auprès du ministère des Transports (irp@ontario.ca).

Autres registres

Une copie des formulaires accompagnant l'immatriculation annuelle (Demande d'IRP, demandes supplémentaires, plans de kilométrage, etc.) doit être versée au dossier du transporteur en vue des vérifications.

Période de conservation des dossiers

Les registres des distances des cinq périodes de déclaration des distances (du 1er juillet au 30 juin) qui précèdent l'année d'immatriculation en cours doivent être conservés.

Les registres des coûts et de poids de tous les véhicules du parc qui sont actuellement immatriculés doivent être conservés. Dans le cas des véhicules qui ont été supprimés du parc, leurs registres doivent être conservés pendant trois ans à compter de la date de retrait.


Rappel : En plus des exigences de conservation des dossiers IRP susmentionnés, le transporteur doit garder tous les registres pertinents de son exploitation conformément à l'alinéa 1500 de l'entente IRP.


13.  Vérifications

Pouvoirs de vérification

En vertu de l'article X, alinéa 1015 de l'entente IRP, chaque territoire adhérent est tenu d'effectuer des vérifications auprès des transporteurs établis dans son territoire, et ce au nom de tous les territoires adhérant à l'IRP. Les vérificateurs de la Direction de la taxe sur les carburants et le tabac du ministère des Finances effectuent les vérifications IRP auprès des transporteurs ontariens. Les vérifications portent simultanément sur l'IRP et l'IFTA (Entente internationale concernant la taxe sur les carburants).

Objet des vérifications

Les vérifications servent à examiner la conformité à la réglementation sur les immatriculations proportionnelles et à vérifier si les droits et les taxes sont payés proportionnellement à l'Ontario et à tous les autres territoires adhérant à l'IRP dans lesquels le transporteur est (ou était) autorisé à effectuer des déplacements multiterritoriaux.

Responsabilités du titulaire de l'immatriculation IRP

Le transporteur doit conserver tous les dossiers nécessaires aux vérifications, dont les fiches d'enregistrement de la distance parcourue par un véhicule et les données enregistrées par les systèmes d'enregistrement électronique des données d'un véhicule. Tous les registres de distance parcourue selon le permis de déplacement, en charge, à vide, intraterritoriale et interterritoriale doivent également être conservés.

Utilisation de systèmes d'enregistrement électronique des données d'un véhicule

Il est permis d'utiliser un système d'enregistrement électronique des données d'un véhicule à la place des fiches d'enregistrement de la distance remplies à la main, ou les deux. Les rapports ainsi obtenus doivent être imprimés et conservés. Le système d'enregistrement doit satisfaire aux normes établies par IRP Inc., à l'alinéa 500 du manuel des procédures de vérification de l'IRP.

Procédures de vérification

Pendant une vérification IRP, les vérificateurs se servent des pièces justificatives pour déterminer, par échantillonnage, l'exactitude et l'intégralité de la distance et des renseignements sur le véhicule qui sont consignés sur chacune des fiches d'enregistrement de la distance, sur les sommaires mensuels et annuels et sur les formulaires de demande d'IRP. Les registres de distance des cinq (5) années qui précèdent l'année d'immatriculation en cours doivent être conservés. Le transporteur sera avisé au moins 30 jours avant le début d'une vérification. Il saura alors quelle année sera visée, le type de registres nécessaires, l'identité du ou des vérificateurs ainsi que la date prévue du début de la vérification.

Autres vérifications

Afin d'importuner le moins possible les transporteurs ontariens, on effectue généralement en même temps la vérification IFTA et la vérification visée par l'alinéa 1015 de l'entente IRP.