Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Text size Enlarge Text Shrink Text
Search   |  

IRP Carrier Manual - How to Apply

5. Applications and Forms

IRP Registration

Ontario Apportioned Application Forms include all registration requirements for the IRP. Forms are available electronically, and from all IRP Offices. To receive a copy of the forms in Excel format, send an e-mail to irp@ontario.ca, or download the IRP Application Forms. It is the applicant's responsibility to properly complete all forms necessary to register vehicles in IRP. If a submitted application is incomplete, the applicant will be notified and asked to provide the information or to submit a new, revised application. Incorrect completion of an application will delay processing.

Sample forms and detailed instructions are included in Appendix B of this guide.

The following is a list of Ontario's local IRP Offices.

Office Address Telephone Fax
Barrie 92 Commerce Park Drive, Unit 4
Barrie, ON  L4N 8W8
(705) 739-6368 (705) 739-6300
Hamilton

903 Barton Street, Unit 1A
Stoney Creek, ON L8E 5P5

(905) 643-7947 Ext. 201

(905) 643-9923

Kingston 1355 John Counter Boulevard
Kingston, ON  K7L 5A3
(613) 540-5185 (613) 545-4781
London 659 Exeter Road
London, ON  N6E 1L3
(519) 873-4280 (519) 873-4270
North Bay 447 McKeown Avenue
North Bay, ON  P1B 9S9
(705) 497 6909 (705) 497 5406
Ottawa 3091 Albion Road North, Unit 2
Ottawa, ON  K1V 9V9
(613) 731-2803 (613) 731-8987
Port Hope 138 Hope Street North
Port Hope, ON  L1A 2P1
(905) 885-8318 (905) 885-4268
Thunder Bay 615 South James Street
Thunder Bay, ON  P7E 6P6
(807) 473-2190 (807) 473-2133
Toronto 1860 Wilson Avenue
Downsview, ON M9M 3A7
(416) 212-9409 (416) 212-9443
Waterloo 500 Weber Street North, Unit 3
Waterloo, ON  N2L 4E9
(519) 885-3403 (519) 885-9937
Windsor 150 Ouellette Place, Suite 210
Windsor, ON  N8X 1L9
(519) 972-8866 (519) 972-8341

New Registrations

Before a vehicle may be registered under IRP in the Province of Ontario, the carrier must:

  • Have an established place of business in the Province (see Appendix F: Glossary). An Established Place of Business questionnaire with accompanying documentation is required at the time of registration. To receive a copy in Word format, send an e-mail to irp@ontario.ca, or download a printable version in PDF format: Established Place of Business Questionnaire (PDF - 162 KB)

  • Complete and submit all IRP Fleet and IRP Vehicle Applications in full (see Appendix B for forms completion). First-time registrants without distance experience may estimate distances based on the proposed operation of the fleet during the year for which registration is required. The carrier will be required to substantiate the estimate by submitting an Estimated Distance Declaration form. This form is required whenever providing estimate mileage on new applications, renewals, or when adding jurisdictions during the registration period. Trip permit operations are included in the total estimated distances.

  • Submit a copy of the Bill of Sale or Lease Agreement, showing the capital cost and the lease start date of the vehicle  (see following 'Points to Remember') for each vehicle.

  • Submit the vehicle registration permit.

  • Provide any other documentation that is deemed necessary according to Ontario law, including safety standards certificates, vehicle emission certificates and letters of authorization (if required).

Applications are processed in the order in which they are received. Once an application has been processed, an invoice will be faxed to the carrier. The carrier may make the payment directly to an IRP Office or at the IRP Program Office. If travel is intended in both Canadian and US jurisdictions, payment will be required in both Canadian and US funds.

Once the invoice has been paid, the carrier will receive:

  • A set of apportioned plates which have "PRP" embossed on the left-hand side (if necessary);
  • A validation sticker;
  • A vehicle permit; and
  • A cab card for each vehicle.

These credentials will be available from your local IRP Office.

NOTE: The new policy will require all new carriers to pay IRP fees by certified cheque, cash, money order, bank draft or credit card (Canadian funds only) until the end of their first full 12 month registration year. Existing carriers that issue an NSF cheque on or after March 31, 2008 will also be required to pay IRP fees by certified cheque, cash, money order, bank draft or credit card (Canadian funds only) until the end of their first full 12 month registration year.  For the affected carriers, regular business cheques will no longer be accepted as a form of payment until the carrier has completed a full 12 month registration year.

For applicants who have previously been registered in IRP, it is a requirement to provide actual distance from the previous jurisdiction or employer. If actual distance can not be provided the applicant is required to complete an Initial Registration Distance Declaration. See an example on the IRP website at irp@ontario.ca

Points to Remember:

  • If applying under a company or firm name, the name must first be registered with the Federal Government or the Ontario Ministry of Consumer and Commercial Relations, Companies branch. You must provide a copy of your Articles of Incorporation (granted by the Federal or Provincial government) when registering for the first time.

    For more information, please contact:

    Ministry of Government Services
    Companies and Personal Property Security branch
    393 University Avenue, Suite 200
    Toronto, ON  M5G 2M2

    General Inquiry: 416-314-8880
    Toll Free: 1-800-361-3223 (in Ontario)
    Fax: 416-314-4852
    Ministry of Government Services website: Serving Business

  • An Ontario IFTA (International Fuel Tax Agreement) number must be obtained for all vehicles 11,797 kg GVW and over.

  • Ensure that you have obtained the appropriate vehicle inspection approvals.

  • Ensure that you have obtained a Commercial Vehicle Operator's Registration (for Ontario Plated Vehicles), if appropriate.

  • Ensure that you have obtained all the applicable operating requirements from Ontario and other Canadian jurisdictions (e.g., Safety Fitness Certificates / NSC number).

US jurisdictions - this does not exempt a carrier from insurance liability filing requirements or having to obtain operating authority such as Single State Registration, Kentucky/New York HUT, or Oregon Tax Identifier.



Back | Contents | Next

Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Taille du texte Augmentation de la taille du texte Réduction de la taille du texte
Recherche   |  

Manuel du transporteur IRP - Faire une demande

A name="skipmenu">

5.  Demandes et formulaires

Immatriculation IRP

Les formulaires de demande d'inscription de l'Ontario renferment toutes les exigences d'immatriculation quant au IRP. Ces formules sont disponibles en format électronique et chez tous les bureaux du IRP. Pour recevoir une copie des formules en format Excel, expédiez un courriel à l'adresse irp@ontario.ca ou téléchargez une version imprimable en format PDF : Formulaires de demande d'inscription. Il incombe au demandeur de bien remplir les formules nécessaires pour immatriculer ses véhicules chez IRP. Si une demande est incomplète, on en avisera le demandeur et on lui demandera de fournir les renseignements en question ou de soumettre une nouvelle demande révisée. Le fait de soumettre une demande mal remplie prolonge le traitement.

Des exemples de formules et des instructions détaillées figurent à l'Annexe B du présent guide.

Voici une liste des bureaux locaux du IRP, en Ontario.

Bureau   Adresse   Télephone   Télécopieur
Barrie 92 Commerce Park Drive, unité 4
Barrie (Ontario) L4N 8W8
(705) 739-6368 (705) 739-6300
Hamilton

903, rue Barton
Stoney Creek, ON L8E 5P5

(905) 643-7947 poste 201 (905) 643-9923
Kingston 1355, boulevard John Counter
Kingston (Ontario) K7L 5A3
(613) 540-5185 (613) 545-4781
London 659 Exeter Road
London (Ontario) N6E 1L3
(519) 873-4280 (519) 873-4270
North Bay 447, avenue McKeown
North Bay (Ontario) P1B 9S9
(705) 497 6909 (705) 497 5406
Ottawa 3091 Albion Road Nord, unité 2
Ottawa (Ontario) K1V 9V9
(613) 731-2803 (613) 731-8987
Port Hope 138, rue Hope Nord
Port Hope (Ontario) L1A 2P1
(905) 885-8318 (905) 885-4268
Thunder Bay 615, rue South James
Thunder Bay (Ontario) P7E 6P6
(807) 473-2190 (807) 473-2133
Toronto 1860, avenue Wilson
Downsview (Ont.) M9M 3A7
(416) 212-9409 (416) 212-9443
Waterloo 500, rue Weber Nord, unité 3
Waterloo (Ontario) N2L 4E9
(519) 885-3403 (519) 885-9937
Windsor 150, place Ouellette, bureau 210
Windsor (Ontario) N8X 1L9
(519) 972-8866 (519) 972-8341

Nouvelles immatriculations

Avant de pouvoir immatriculer un véhicule en vertu du IRP dans la province de l'Ontario, le transporteur doit :

  • avoir un établissement commercial reconnu dans la province. (Voir : Annexe F, glossaire.) Il faut répondre à un Questionnaire sur l'établissement commercial reconnu et y joindre la documentation connexe au moment de l'inscription. (Pour en obtenir une copie en format Word, expédiez un courriel à l'adresse irp@ontario.ca ou téléchargez une version imprimable en format PDF : Questioinnaire sur l'établissement commercial reconnu (PDF - 152 K) ;

  • remplir au complet et soumettre toutes les demandes IRP quant aux véhicules et aux parcs de véhicules (voyez l'annexe B quant à la façon de remplir les formules). Ceux et celles qui sont détenteurs d'immatriculation pour la première fois, sans expérience en matière de distance, peuvent estimer la distance en fonction de l'exploitation proposée du parc de véhicules durant l'année pour laquelle ils doivent s'immatriculer. Le transporteur devra justifier l'estimation en soumettant une formule intitulée Déclaration d'estimation de distance. Cette formule est nécessaire chaque fois qu'on fournit une estimation du kilométrage sur une nouvelle demande, lors d'un renouvellement ou lorsqu'on ajoute des territoires, durant la période d'inscription. L'exploitation en vertu de permis de déplacement unique est incluse dans l'estimation de la distance totale;

  • soumettre une copie de l’acte de vente ou du contrat de location montrant le coût et la date du commencement du bail de chaque véhicule (voyez les « Points importants » ci-dessous);

  • soumettre le certificat d'immatriculation du véhicule;

  • fournir tout autre document qui pourrait être jugé nécessaire selon la loi de l'Ontario, y compris des certificats de sécurité, des certificats sur les émissions du véhicule et des lettres d'autorisation (le cas échéant).

Les demandes sont traitées dans l'ordre d'arrivée. On télécopie une facture au transporteur une fois la demande traitée. Le transporteur peut effectuer son paiement directement chez un bureau du IRP ou au bureau du programme IRP. Si on prévoit effectuer les déplacements tant dans des territoires canadiens qu'américains, le paiement doit être effectué en devises canadienne et américaine.

Une fois la facture acquittée, le transporteur reçoit :

  • un jeu de plaques d'immatriculation proportionnelle dans lesquelles les lettres « PRP » sont estampées à gauche (au besoin);
  • une vignette de validation;
  • un certificat d'immatriculation du véhicule;
  • une certificat d'immatriculation IRP quant à chaque véhicule.

Ces preuves sont disponibles chez votre bureau IRP local.

REMARQUE : Selon cette nouvelle politique, tous les nouveaux transporteurs devront acquitter les droits liés à l’IRP par chèque certifié, en argent comptant, par mandat, par traite bancaire ou par carte de crédit (en dollars canadiens seulement) jusqu’à la fin de leur première période complète d'immatriculation de 12 mois. Les transporteurs actuels qui émettent un chèque sans provision le 31 mars 2008 ou après cette date devront également acquitter les droits liés à l’IRP par chèque certifié, en argent comptant, par mandat, par traite bancaire ou par carte de crédit (en dollars canadiens seulement) jusqu’à la fin de leur prochaine période complète d’immatriculation de 12 mois. Ces transporteurs ne pourront plus émettre de chèques commerciaux ordinaires, car ceux-ci ne seront plus acceptés comme mode de paiement jusqu’à ce que les transporteurs concernés aient terminé une période complète d’immatriculation de 12 mois.

Les demandeurs qui se sont inscrits au préalable à l’IRP sont tenus de fournir la distance réelle de leur ancien territoire ou de leur ancien lieu de travail. Si le demandeur n'est pas en mesure de fournir la distance réelle, il doit remplir un formulaire de déclaration d’immatriculation à distance initiale. Voir un exemple sur le site Web de l’IRP à irp@ontario.ca.

Points importants :

  • Si vous soumettez une demande au nom d'une société ou d'une entreprise, vous devez d'abord enregistrer ce nom auprès du gouvernement fédéral ou du ministère de la Consommation et du Commerce de l'Ontario, Direction des compagnies. Vous devez fournir une copie de vos statuts constitutifs (accordés par le gouvernement fédéral ou provincial) la première fois que vous vous enregistrez.

    Renseignements : Ministère des Services Gouvernementaux
    Direction des compagnies et des sûretés mobilières
    393, avenue University, bureau 200
    Toronto (Ont.)  M5G 2M2

    Renseignements généraux : 416 314-8880
    Numéro sans frais : 1 800 361-3223 (en Ontario)
    Télécopieur : 416 314-4852
    Site Web : http://www.gov.on.ca/mgs/fr/Home/STEL01_039111.html

  • Vous devez obtenir un numéro IFTA de l'Ontario (Entente internationale concernant la taxe sur les carburants) pour tous les véhicules ayant un PNBV de 11 797 kg ou plus.

  • Assure-vous d'obtenir les approbations d'inspection appropriées quant aux véhicules.

  • Assurez-vous d'obtenir un certificat d'immatriculation d'utilisateur de véhicule utilitaire (pour les véhicules immatriculés en Ontario), s'il y a lieu.

  • Assurez-vous de répondre à toutes les exigences d'exploitation applicables de l'Ontario et des autres territoires canadiens (p. ex. : certificats de sécurité / numéro de Code canadien de la sécurité [CCS]).

Territoires américains : ceci ne soustrait pas un transporteur à l'exigence de soumettre une preuve d'assurance responsabilité ni d'obtenir une autorisation d'exploitation comme l'inscription Single State Registration, Kentucky/New York HUT ou le Tax Identifier de l'Oregon.