Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Home
Home > Trucks and Buses > International Registration Plan > Carrier Manual > Renewals & Supplemental Applications
Text size Enlarge Text Shrink Text
Search   |  

IRP Carrier Manual - Renewals & Supplemental Applications

6.  Renewals

An IRP renewal application will be mailed to all Ontario based carriers approximately six (6) weeks prior to expiry of their IRP fleet accounts. The application is a computer printout containing the active fleet information at the time of printing.

Because the report is printed and issued prior to expiration, any supplemental activity that has taken place after distribution will not be listed. This includes additions/deletions of vehicles, changes of fleet/vehicle information or added jurisdictions.

The report is issued to the carrier as a reference and convenience for reviewing their fleet and vehicle information prior to completing their applications for renewal.

It is essential that the carrier review the report for accuracy or omission of pertinent information. Failure to report or include factual data could result in processing delays, incorrect fee assessments or maintenance of incorrect records.

The application is to be submitted to an IRP Office or the IRP Program Office for processing. It is the carrier's responsibility to submit weight information on the renewal application.

Renewal of a IRP account requires the completion of a IRP Fleet Application and IRP Vehicle Application(s) which must be submitted as soon as possible to a IRP Office or the IRP Program Office (see Appendix B for forms completion). This allows sufficient time to process the renewal information and fax the fee notice before the effective date.

Once carriers receive their fee notices, they may submit payment directly to the IRP Program Office or to an IRP Office. Credentials and decal(s) will be provided as soon as possible.

Ontario's blank IRP application is available electronically from the Ministry. To receive a copy in Excel format, send an e-mail to irp@ontario.ca, or download the IRP Application Forms. Diskettes are also available from your local IRP Office or the IRP Program Office but supplies are limited. Carriers using the electronic application for renewals are reminded to include vehicles to be deleted from the fleet on separate Form 4's, with the appropriate vehicle transaction code (DV) beside each vehicle.

7.  Supplemental Applications

What is a Supplemental Application?

The carrier submits a supplemental application after the original/renewal application has been processed. Supplemental applications are submitted using the IRP application forms (see Appendix B for forms completion). Number each supplemental application, beginning with 001. The number 000 is assigned to new fleets and renewal applications only.

When do you need to submit a Supplemental Application?

You must submit a supplemental application for the following transactions:

  • Add a Vehicle(s) - Vehicles may be added to an existing fleet anytime during the registration year. The distance information provided with your original application will be used to calculate the fees due.

  • Delete a Vehicle(s) - Vehicles may be deleted from an existing fleet anytime during the registration year. To delete a vehicle(s) from your fleet, the cab card(s), plate(s) and vehicle permit(s) (plate portion) must accompany the application. See Refund Policy at end of this section.

  • Transfer a Vehicle(s) from one Fleet to another Fleet - Vehicles may be transferred between fleets using two application forms, clearly showing the vehicle being deleted from one fleet, and being added to another fleet. Both fleets must be in the carrier's name. Credit will be given for the Ontario fees only. Other Canadian provinces will provide refunds, however US jurisdictions generally do not refund fees. For more information, please consult the "Refunds" section.

  • Replace a Vehicle(s) - Fleet vehicle(s) may be replaced anytime during the registration year. In order to apply the credits from the previous vehicle(s) to the new vehicle(s), the information must be provided on the same supplement. The previous cab card and vehicle permit must accompany the application. The transaction code is AR/DR. This code must be indicated in Section A and B of Form 4. The information for the vehicle being removed from the fleet is indicated in Section C. Please see the forms completion section for more information.

  • Change Vehicle Information - You may apply for a change of vehicle information anytime during the registration year. Changes may include a change of Unit Number, a correction to the VIN (Vehicle Identification Number), a correction of vehicle type or a correction to the taxable owner information, etc. The previous cab card and vehicle permit must accompany the application.

  • Increase/Decrease Vehicle Weight in a Jurisdiction - A change to vehicle weight may be done at anytime during the registration year. If the gross vehicle weight is increased, you will be billed for any difference in registration fees. If decreased, you may be refunded for any difference in registration fees. However, various jurisdictions do not provide refunds for weight decreases during the registration year. Contact the jurisdictions directly for further information. The previous cab card must accompany the application. See Refund Policy at end of this section.

  • Add a Jurisdiction(s) - You may add a jurisdiction(s) to your IRP fleet account at anytime during the registration year. To add an additional jurisdiction(s), you must also complete an IRP Fleet Application listing the jurisdiction(s) you require and the estimated distances to be travelled, and an Estimated Distance Declaration form. Fees for the added jurisdiction(s) will be calculated on the original distances plus the estimated distances.

  • Replace a Lost/Stolen Cab Card - You must attend your nearest IRP Office to obtain a new cab card with completed forms 1 and 4 of the IRP Application along with a letter stating the reason for the replacement.

Ontario Credit and Refund Policy

Ontario will allow carriers to use credits for deleted vehicles towards new fees for vehicles added to the fleet on the same application. Any unused credit from the application will be refunded. It cannot be used to pay the subsequent year's registration fees.

Ontario can only refund the Ontario portion of the registration fees. Refunds are generated when you cancel and surrender your Ontario apportioned licence plates or decrease the gross vehicle weight of your vehicle at an IRP Office. Refunds are issued directly to the carrier from the Financial Control office in Sudbury.

On behalf of the carrier, the IRP Office will issue a refund Remittance Notice to Canadian jurisdictions only. Upon notification, the other Canadian jurisdictions will individually process refunds due the carrier (subject to any applicable administration fee) and remit the refund directly to the carrier. Please allow six (6) weeks for processing.

For information on the refund policies of non-Canadian IRP jurisdictions, please refer to the Refunds section.



Back | Contents | Next

Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Taille du texte Augmentation de la taille du texte Réduction de la taille du texte
Recherche   |  

Manuel du transporteur IRP - Renouvellement et demandes supplémetaires

6.  Renouvellement

Tous les transporteurs établis en Ontario reçoivent une demande de renouvellement du IRP environ six (6) semaines avant l'échéance du compte de leur parc de véhicules du IRP. Cette demande est un imprimé informatique qui renferme les renseignements détenus sur le parc actif, au moment de l'impression.

Le rapport étant imprimé et émis avant l'échéance, toute activité supplémentaire qui a eu lieu après l'émission n'y apparaît pas. Cela comprend les ajouts et les annulations de véhicules, les changements quant aux renseignements sur le parc ou sur les véhicules et les territoires qui se seraient ajoutés.

Le rapport est émis au transporteur pour fins de référence et de commodité pour lui permettre de vérifier les renseignements sur son parc et ses véhicules avant de remplir les demandes de renouvellement.

Il est essentiel que le transporteur examine le rapport pour en vérifier l'exactitude ou voir s'il y manque des renseignements pertinents. Le fait de ne pas signaler ou de ne pas inclure des données réelles pourrait engendrer des délais lors du traitement, une évaluation erronée des droits ou le maintien de dossiers inexacts.

On doit soumettre la demande à un bureau du IRP ou au bureau du programme IRP pour fins de traitement. Il incombe au transporteur de soumettre les renseignements sur le poids, dans la demande de renouvellement.

Le renouvellement d'un compte du IRP exige qu'on remplisse un « Formulaire 1, renseignements sur le parc du transporteur » et une ou des demandes d'immatriculation proportionnelle qu'il faut soumettre dès que possible à un bureau du IRP ou au bureau du programme IRP (voyez la façon de remplir les formules, à l'annexe B). Cela donne le temps de traiter les renseignements de renouvellement et de télécopier l'avis concernant les frais avant la date d'entrée en vigueur.

Une fois que le transporteur a reçu son avis concernant les frais, il peut remettre son paiement directement au bureau du programme IRP ou à un bureau du IRP. Les preuves d'immatriculation et la ou les vignettes sont fournies dès que possible.

La formule de demande vierge du IRP de l'Ontario est disponible en format électronique auprès du ministère. Pour en recevoir une copie en format Excel, expédiez un courriel à l'adresse irp@ontario.ca ou téléchargez une version imprimable en format PDF : Formulaires de demande d'inscription. Des disquettes sont également offertes chez votre bureau local du IRP ou au bureau du programme IRP, mais en quantité limitée. Nous rappelons aux transporteurs qui utilisent la formule de demande électronique pour effectuer le renouvellement d'inclure les véhicules à supprimer du parc sur une formule 4 distincte, en inscrivant le code de transaction du véhicule approprié (DV) à côté de l'inscription de chaque véhicule.

7.  Demandes supplémentaires

Qu'est-ce qu'une demande supplémentaire?

Le transporteur soumet une demande supplémentaire après le traitement de la demande initiale ou de la demande de renouvellement. Les demandes supplémentaires se soumettent à l'aide des formules de demande du IRP (voyez la façon de remplir les formules à l'annexe B). Numérotez chaque demande supplémentaire en commençant par 001. Le numéro 000 est réservé aux nouveaux parcs de véhicules et aux demandes de renouvellement seulement.

Quand devez-vous soumettre une demande supplémentaire?

Vous devez soumettre une demande supplémentaire lors des transactions suivantes :

  • Ajout d'un ou de plusieurs véhicules - Vous pouvez ajouter des véhicules à un parc existant n'importe quand durant l'année d'immatriculation. Les renseignements sur la distance que vous avez fournis dans votre demande initiale serviront à calculer le montant des droits à payer.

  • Raturation d'un ou de plusieurs véhicules - Vous pouvez supprimer des véhicules d'un parc existant n'importe quand durant l'année d'immatriculation. Pour éliminer un ou des véhicules de votre parc, vous devez joindre à la demande le ou les certificats d'immatriculation IRP, la ou les plaques et le ou les certificats d'immatriculation du ou des véhicules (partie plaque). Voyez la politique de remboursement, à la fin de la présente section.

  • Transfert d'un ou de plusieurs véhicules d'un parc à un autre - Vous pouvez transférer des véhicules entre parcs en utilisant deux formules de demande et en indiquant clairement quel véhicule vous raturez d'un parc pour l'ajouter à un autre. Les deux parcs doivent être au nom du transporteur. Un crédit est accordé quant aux droits payés en Ontario seulement. Les autres provinces canadiennes vous rembourseront également, mais les territoires américains ne remboursent généralement pas les droits. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter la rubrique sur les « Remboursements ».

  • Remplacement d'un ou de plusieurs véhicules - On peut remplacer un ou des véhicules d'un parc n'importe quand durant l'année d'immatriculation. Pour faire appliquer les crédits d'un ou de véhicules précédents à un ou à des nouveaux véhicules, vous devez fournir les renseignements sur la même demande supplémentaire. Le certificat d'immatriculation IRP et le certificat d'immatriculation précédents doivent accompagner la demande. Le code de transaction est AR/DR. Vous devez indiquer ce code aux sections A et B de la formule 4. Indiquez les renseignements sur le véhicule à supprimer du parc à la section C. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, voyez la section portant sur la façon de remplir les formules.

  • Modification des renseignements sur un véhicule - Vous pouvez demander de modifier les renseignements sur un véhicule n'importe quand durant l'année d'immatriculation. Les modifications peuvent inclure un changement du numéro d'unité, une correction du VIN (numéro d'identification du véhicule), une correction du genre de véhicule ou une correction des renseignements sur le propriétaire taxable, etc. Le certificat d'immatriculation IRP et le certificat d'immatriculation du véhicule précédents doivent accompagner la demande.

  • Augmentation et/ou diminution du poids d'un véhicule dans un territoire -Vous pouvez modifier le poids du véhicule n'importe quand durant l'année d'immatriculation. Si le poids brut du véhicule augmente, vous recevrez une facture quant à toute différence dans les droits d'immatriculation. S'il diminue, vous pourriez vous faire rembourser toute différence quant aux droits d'immatriculation. Cependant, divers territoires n'accordent pas de remboursement si le poids diminue en cours d'année d'immatriculation. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, communiquez directement avec les territoires en cause. Le certificat d'immatriculation IRP précédent doit accompagner la demande. Voyez la politique de remboursement, à la fin de la présente section.

  • Ajout d'un ou de plusieurs territoires - Vous pouvez ajouter un ou des territoires à votre compte de parc IRP n'importe quand durant l'année d'immatriculation. Pour ajouter un ou des territoires, vous devez aussi remplir un Formulaire 1, renseignements sur le parc du transporteur, en indiquant les territoires dont vous avez besoin et une estimation de la distance à parcourir, ainsi qu'une Déclaration d'estimation de distance. Les droits quant aux territoires ajoutés seront calculés à partir de la distance initiale plus la distance estimée.

  • Remplacement d'un certificat d'immatriculation IRP perdu ou volé - Vous devez vous rendre au bureau du IRP le plus proche pour obtenir un nouveau certificat d'immatriculation IRP et remplir les formules 1 et 4 de la demande IRP, en joignant une lettre mentionnant la raison du remplacement.

Politique de crédit et de remboursement de l'Ontario

L'Ontario permet aux transporteurs d'affecter les crédits relatifs aux véhicules supprimés aux droits relatifs aux nouveaux véhicules qu'ils ajoutent au parc, sur la même demande. Tout crédit inutilisé dans la demande sera remboursé; il ne peut servir à payer les droits d'immatriculation de l'année suivante.

L'Ontario ne peut rembourser que la partie ontarienne des droits d'immatriculation. Il y a remboursement si vous annulez et remettez des plaques d'immatriculation proportionnelle de l'Ontario ou si vous diminuez le poids nominal brut de votre véhicule, chez un bureau du IRP. Les remboursements sont émis directement au transporteur depuis le Bureau du contrôle financier, lequel est situé à Sudbury.

Le bureau du IRP émet, au nom du transporteur, un avis de remboursement à l'intention des territoires canadiens seulement. Sur réception de l'avis, les autres territoires canadiens traitent séparément le remboursement qu'ils doivent au transporteur (moins tous les frais de territoire applicables) et remboursent directement le transporteur. Veuillez allouer six (6) semaines au traitement.

Pour vous renseigner sur les politiques en matière de remboursement des territoires non canadiens du IRP, veuillez consulter la section sur les remboursements