Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Text size Enlarge Text Shrink Text
Search   |  

IRP Carrier Manual - Fees & Refunds

8.  Ontario Fees

Registration Fees

  • Regular annual Ontario registration (licence) fees are based on the gross vehicle weight of a vehicle.

  • For apportionment purposes, these fees are reduced by a percentage factor.

  • The percentage factor is determined by the total in-jurisdiction (eg. Ontario) distance divided by the total distance travelled in all North American jurisdictions during the distance-reporting year (July 1 - June 30 of the previous year), reported in kilometres.

  • Annual apportioned Ontario registration (licence) fees are payable at the time of initial licensing or upon renewal of your vehicle licence at an IRP Office.

Vehicle Tax

All Ontario based and apportioned vehicles are subject to annual registration fees, the Vehicle Tax on private vehicle purchases or original registrations of  and an administration fee.

  • Effective July 1, 2010, the Multi Jurisdictional Vehicle Tax and the Exit Tax will no longer apply to vehicle registered in IRP.
  • Vehicles purchased from a GST/HST registrant will be subject to the Harmonized Sales Tax (HST) at a rate of 13 per cent.  Private purchases of specified vehicles (purchases from a person who is not a GST/HST registrant) will continue to be subject to RST at a rate of 13 per cent. 
  • Specified vehicles that are purchased privately in another Canadian province and brought into or delivered in Ontario after June 30, 2010 will be subject to RST at 13 per cent. HST of 13 per cent will generally apply to specified vehicles brought into Ontario from outside Canada. Please contact the Ministry of Revenue for additional information at 1-800-337-7222.
  • The Multi Jurisdictional Vehicle Tax  (MJVT), applicable to IRP vehicles was implemented effective October 1, 2001 and was  charged based on the purchase price of the vehicle. Credits for previous tax payment were calculated for vehicles purchased within the previous five years.
  • The following Canadian provinces charge a multi-jurisdictional vehicle tax:
    Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Prince Edward Island.
  • The following US states charge some form of recurring tax that will be shown separately on the invoice:
    California, Colorado, Maine, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Utah, West Virginia.

Administration Fee

An administration fee is charged on each renewal/supplement processed for an Ontario-based carrier. The fee is $25.00 per vehicle. Deletions of vehicles are the only exception - there is no fee charged except where the carrier requests a refund of Ontario IRP registration fees. The fee for a refund is $5.00 per vehicle, and is deducted from the refund amount.


9.  Invoice Billings

When an IRP Office processes an application, the fees are calculated for all IRP jurisdictions in which apportioned registration has been requested. (Each jurisdiction bases its fees on different criteria, such as purchase price or model year of the vehicle or carrier type, etc. They do not collectively base their fees on common or standard criteria. Also, some jurisdictions have more than one fee, such as ad valorem tax, excise tax, privilege tax, clean air levy, etc.). All fees are inclusive within the breakdown for each jurisdiction on the invoice billing.

The invoice billing is sent to the carrier via the means of communication chosen by the carrier. The carrier can choose to receive the invoice by fax, by mail, by courier, or in person, from an IRP Office. The invoice will show the total amounts due for the application. The invoice billing consists of both a Jurisdiction Summary and a Vehicle Summary.

The Jurisdiction Summary

View sample Jurisdiction Summary

Sample Jurisdiction Summary (PDF - 183 KB)


View sample Vehicle Summary

Sample Vehicle Summary (PDF - 136 KB)

  • Shows the percentage factor and breakdown for fees and tax (where applicable) per jurisdiction, how that fee is distributed among the jurisdictions and the combined total payments due for all vehicles (recorded on all Vehicle Summary sheets) in the application.

  • Should be checked in detail against your original application to ensure that:
    • All requested jurisdictions are listed;
    • Declared total kilometres per jurisdiction are accurate;
    • Distances have been correctly recorded as Actual or Estimated (1st or 2nd Year).

The Vehicle Summary

  • Shows the breakdown of fees and tax (where applicable) per vehicle, how that fee is distributed among the jurisdictions and the total due for that individual vehicle.

  • Should be checked in detail against your original application to ensure:
    • That all requested units are listed;
    • that all vehicle information, such as unit number, VIN, purchase price and purchase date, etc. is correctly listed; check your renewal application to ensure we have the correct information, or if you are processing a supplemental application, contact your IRP Office for verification.
    • that the gross vehicle weights for each vehicle is correctly listed

If you should find any discrepancies in information, please contact the office that processed your application immediately.

Payment

Payments due are listed on the Jurisdiction Summary only. They are identified in both Canadian and US funds.

Do not remit funds for any amounts listed on the Vehicle Summary sheets. These are subtotals only and have already been included in the Total Amount Due portion of the Invoice Summary.

If travel is intended in both Canadian and US jurisdictions, payment must be submitted in Canadian funds for Canadian fees and US funds for US fees.

Payment made by personal cheque must be certified. Company cheques are acceptable if the carrier information is pre-printed on the cheques. Please make your cheque(s) payable to the Minister of Finance/MTO. Cash payment may also be made for Canadian and US fees. Credit cards can be used for payment of Canadian fees ONLY.

Please see the four pages that follow for examples of the Jurisdiction Summary and the Vehicle Summary.

NOTE:

Any NSF amount owing must be paid by cash, certified cheque, money order or credit card. 

Effective March 31, 2008, the ministry introduced a new cheque acceptance policy for the IRP Program.

The new policy will require all new carriers to pay IRP fees by certified cheque, cash, money order, bank draft or credit card (Canadian funds only) until the end of their first full 12 month registration year. Existing carriers that issue an NSF cheque on or after March 31, 2008 will also be required  to pay IRP fees by certified cheque, cash, money order, bank draft or credit card (Canadian funds only) until the end of their next full 12 month registration year.  For the affected carriers, regular business cheques will no longer be accepted as a form of payment until the carrier has completed a full 12 month registration year

This policy also applies to permitting companies paying fees for a carrier requiring certified payment.  A third party regular business cheque will not be accepted from permitting companies.  If a permitting company/third party is paying fees for a carrier requiring certified payment, IRP staff will advise them of the “certified payment only” policy.

*add fee notice displaying the taxes (HST/RST)

irp-fee-notice-jurisdiction-summary


irp-fee-notice-vehicle-summary

10.  Refunds

Ontario can only refund the Ontario portion of the registration (licence) fees.

  • Ontario cannot refund registration fees, vehicle tax, excise tax, ad valorem tax, administration fees or miscellaneous fees for any other jurisdiction.
     
  • For refunds pertaining to fees other than apportioned registration fees, the Ontario carrier must make application directly to the appropriate jurisdictional office.

When an Ontario carrier submits a supplement to delete a vehicle(s) from an IRP account or requests a decrease to the gross vehicle weight, the IRP Office will process the supplement, which will result in the following credit or refunding activity:

Ontario

  • The registration (licence) fees will be refunded upon surrender and cancellation of the apportioned plates, or
  • The difference in registration (licence) fees will be refunded upon processing a decrease to the gross vehicle weight.

To process either of the above, you must visit an IRP Office. Refunds for Ontario fees only are issued directly from the Ministry of Transportation to the carrier.

Canadian Jurisdictions

  • A Remittance Report will be generated and sent by the IRP Office to the other Canadian jurisdictions where apportionment was required. The Report provides the jurisdiction with all registration fees refundable to the carrier. The jurisdictions will individually process the refunds due (subject to any applicable administration fee) and remit directly to the carrier. Please allow six (6) weeks for processing.

U.S. Jurisdictions

  • Applications for a refund of apportioned registration fees for US IRP jurisdictions must be handled directly between the Ontario carrier and the individual jurisdictions in accordance with their statutes. Please be advised that most US jurisdictions do not provide refunds unless there was an error in calculating the original invoice. (The Ministry of Transportation will provide written confirmation of the error to facilitate a refund for the carrier.) As a result, we advise carriers to keep plates until they can be transferred to a new vehicle being added to the same fleet, rather than return them for credit or refund. The exception to this would be if the carrier's prorate percentage in Canadian jurisdictions was considerably higher than its prorate percentage in US jurisdictions, as Canadian jurisdictions refund fees.

Miscellaneous Refunds

  • Refunds for vehicle tax, excise tax, ad valorem tax, etc. must be applied for directly by the Ontario carrier to the appropriate jurisdictional office.

  • Refunds for administration or any other miscellaneous fee must be applied for directly by the Ontario carrier to the appropriate jurisdictional office.

  • Refunds for Ontario harmonized sales tax /retail sales tax must be applied for directly by the carrier (see Appendix C, page 64).

  • No refunds were  issued for taxes collected through the MJVT.. Any credits due for taxes were   stored and used against any further taxes owing.

Idaho Refund

Registrants apportioning a fleet to operate in Idaho may request a refund from Idaho if the average distance per vehicle in a fleet is less than 80,467 kilometres/50,001miles. To determine if a refund may be due, divide the total fleet distance by the number of vehicles in the fleet. If the average is less than 80,467 kilometres/50,001 miles per vehicle, request a refund form from the Revenue Operations Unit, Idaho Transportation Department at (208) 334-8770.



Back | Contents | Next

Ministry of Transportation / Ministère des Transports
Taille du texte Augmentation de la taille du texte Réduction de la taille du texte
Recherche   |  

Manuel du transporteur IRP - Droits à payer et remboursements

8.  Droits à payer en Ontario

Droits d'immatriculation

  • Les droits d'immatriculation annuels ordinaires à payer en Ontario dépendent du poids nominal brut du véhicule.

  • Pour fins d'immatriculation proportionnelle, ces droits sont réduits d'un certain pourcentage.

  • On détermine ce pourcentage en divisant la distance intraterritoriale totale (ex. : en Ontario) par la distance totale parcourue dans tous les territoires nord-américains durant l'année de déclaration de la distance (1er juillet au 30 juin de l'année précédente); cette distance est exprimée en kilomètres.

  • Les droits annuels d'immatriculation proportionnelle, en Ontario, doivent être payés lorsque vous immatriculez votre véhicule pour la première fois ou lorsque vous renouvelez l'immatriculation, chez un bureau du IRP.

Taxe sur les véhicules

Tous les véhicules qui sont situés en Ontario et qui sont dotés d’une immatriculation proportionnelle sont assujettis à des droits d’immatriculation annuels, à la taxe sur les véhicules sur les achats de véhicules privés ou les immatriculations originales et à des frais d’administration.

  • À compter du 1er juillet 2010, la taxe multiterritoriale sur les véhicules et la taxe de sortie ne s’appliqueront plus aux véhicules immatriculés en vertu du régime IRP.
  • Les véhicules achetés auprès d’un inscrit en matière de TPS/TVH seront assujettis à la taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH) au taux de 13 p. 100. Les achats privés des véhicules précisés (achats auprès d’une personne qui n’est pas un inscrit en matière de TPS/TVH) continueront d’être assujettis à la TVD selon un taux de 13 p. 100. 
  • Les véhicules précisés qui sont achetés privément dans une autre province canadienne et importés ou livrés en Ontario après le 30 juin 2010 seront assujettis à la TVD de 13 p. 100. La TVH de 13 p. 100 s’appliquera généralement aux véhicules précisés importés en Ontario à partir de l’étranger. Veuillez communiquer avec le ministère du Revenu pour de plus amples renseignements, au 1 800 337-7222.
  • La taxe multiterritoriale sur les véhicules (TMV), applicable aux véhicules de l’IRP, a été mise en œuvre à compter du 1er octobre 2001 et était facturée en fonction du prix d’achat du véhicule. Des crédits quant aux paiements de taxe précédents étaient calculés relativement aux véhicules achetés durant les cinq années précédentes.
  • Les provinces canadiennes suivantes facturent également une taxe multiterritoriale sur les véhicules :
    Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ile-du-Prince-Édouard.
  • Les États américains suivants facturent une forme quelconque de taxe récurrente qui apparaitra séparément sur la facture :
    Californie, Colorado, Maine, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, Pennsylvanie, Tennessee, Utah, Virginie occidentale.

Frais d'administration

Des frais d'administration sont facturés sur chaque renouvellement et chaque demande supplémentaire qui est traité relativement à un transporteur installé en Ontario. Les frais sont de 25 $ par véhicule. Seule la suppression de véhicules fait exception : aucuns frais ne sont facturés, sauf si le transporteur demande à se faire rembourser des droits d'immatriculation du IRP en Ontario. Les frais quant à un remboursement sont de 5 $ par véhicule, lesquels sont déduits du montant remboursé.


9.  Facturation

Quand le bureau du IRP traite une demande, il calcule les droits quant à tous les territoires du IRP pour lesquelles l'immatriculation proportionnelle est demandée. (Chaque territoire fonde ses droits sur des critères différents, comme le prix d'achat ou l'année automobile du véhicule, le genre de transporteur, etc. Elles n'utilisent pas collectivement de critères communs ou standards. De plus, certains territoires imposent plus d'un genre de droits, comme une taxe ad valorem, une taxe d'accise, une taxe sur les privilèges, une taxe sur l'air pur, etc.). Tous les droits sont inclus dans la ventilation apparaissant pour chaque territoire, sur la facture.

La facture est expédiée au transporteur selon le mode de communication qu'il a choisi. Le transporteur peut choisir de recevoir la facture par télécopieur, par la poste, par messager ou en personne chez un bureau du IRP. La facture montre les montants totaux à payer en vertu de la demande. Elle renferme tant un résumé par territoire qu'un sommaire de vos véhicules.

R?sum? de la facture, par
		territoire
Exemplaire : résumé de la facture, par territoire (PDF - 183 K)
(disponible en anglais uniquement)

Le résumé de la facture par territoire

  • Le résumé de la facture par territoire montre le pourcentage et la ventilation des droits et des taxes (le cas échéant) quant aux territoires, la façon dont ces droits se répartissent entre les territoires et le paiement total combiné à effectuer pour tous les véhicules (inscrit sur toutes les feuilles du sommaire des véhicules) visés par la demande.

  • Vous devriez le vérifier en détail par rapport à votre demande initiale pour veiller à ce que :
    • tous les territoires demandés soient inscrits;
    • la distance totale en kilomètres déclarée par territoire soit exacte;
    • les distances aient été inscrites correctement en tant que réelles ou estimées (1re ou 2e année).

Le sommaire des véhicules

Sommaire des v?hicules

Exemplaire : sommaire des v?hicules (PDF - 136 K)
(disponible en anglais uniquement)
  • Le sommaire des véhicules montre la ventilation des droits et des taxes (le cas échéant) par véhicule, la façon dont les droits sont répartis entre les territoires et le montant total à payer par véhicule.

  • Vous devriez le vérifier en détail par rapport à votre demande initiale pour veiller à ce que :
    • tous les véhicules demandés soient inscrits;
    • tous les renseignements sur les véhicules, comme le numéro d'unité, le VIN, le prix d'achat et la date d'achat, etc. soient inscrits correctement; vérifiez votre demande de renouvellement pour veiller à ce que nous ayons les renseignements exacts ou, si vous traitez une demande supplémentaire, communiquez avec votre bureau du IRP pour fins de vérification;
    • le poids nominal brut de chaque véhicule soit inscrit correctement.

Veuillez communiquer immédiatement avec le bureau qui a traité votre demande si vous découvrez des erreurs dans les renseignements.


Paiement

Les paiements à effectuer sont énumérés dans le résumé de la facture par territoire seulement. Ils sont identifiés tant en devises canadienne qu'américaine.

Ne payez rien relativement à tout montant figurant sur les feuilles du résumé de vos véhicules : ce sont des totaux partiels seulement, qui sont déjà inclus dans la partie du montant total figurant dans le résumé de la facture.

Si les déplacements doivent se faire tant dans des territoires canadiens qu'américains, le paiement des droits canadiens doit être soumis en devise canadienne et celui des droits américains, en devise américaine.

Les chèques personnels doivent être certifiés. Les chèques d'entreprise sont acceptables si les renseignements sur le transporteur y sont imprimés au préalable. Veuillez tirer votre ou vos chèques à l'ordre du Ministre des Finances-MTO. Vous pouvez aussi payer les droits canadiens et américains en argent comptant. Les cartes de crédit peuvent servir à payer les droits canadiens SEULEMENT.

Veuillez voir, dans les quatre pages qui suivent, des exemples de résumé de facture par territoire et de sommaire de vos véhicules.

REMARQUE :

Toutes les sommes exigibles à la suite de l’émission d’un chèque sans provision doivent être payées en argent comptant, par chèque certifié, par mandat ou par carte de crédit.

Le 31 mars 2008, le Ministère a mis en œuvre une nouvelle politique concernant le paiement par chèque en lien avec le programme IRP.

Selon cette nouvelle politique, tous les nouveaux transporteurs devront acquitter les droits liés à l’IRP par chèque certifié, en argent comptant, par mandat, par traite bancaire ou par carte de crédit (en dollars canadiens seulement) jusqu’à la fin de leur première période complète d'immatriculation de 12 mois. Les transporteurs actuels qui émettent un chèque sans provision le 31 mars 2008 ou après cette date devront également acquitter les droits liés à l’IRP par chèque certifié, en argent comptant, par mandat, par traite bancaire ou par carte de crédit (en dollars canadiens seulement) jusqu’à la fin de leur prochaine période complète d’immatriculation de 12 mois. Ces transporteurs ne pourront plus émettre de chèques commerciaux ordinaires, car ceux-ci ne seront plus acceptés comme mode de paiement jusqu’à ce que les transporteurs concernés aient terminé une période complète d’immatriculation de 12 mois.

Cette politique s’applique également aux entreprises de délivrance des permis qui acquittent des droits pour un transporteur nécessitant des paiements certifiés. Les chèques commerciaux ordinaires de tiers ne seront pas acceptés de la part des entreprises de délivrance des permis. Si une entreprise de délivrance des permis ou un tiers acquitte des droits pour un transporteur nécessitant un paiement certifié, le personnel de l’IRP l’avisera de la politique selon laquelle seuls les paiements certifiés sont acceptés.

*Ajouter l’avis affichant les taxes (TVH/TVD).

irp-fee-notice-jurisdiction-summary

irp-fee-notice-jurisdiction-summary

10.  Remboursements

L'Ontario ne peut rembourser que la partie ontarienne des droits d'immatriculation.

  • L'Ontario ne peut pas rembourser de droits d'immatriculation, de taxe sur les véhicules, de taxe d'accise, de taxe ad valorem, de frais d'administration ni de frais divers relatifs à un autre territoire quelconque.
     
  • Dans le cas des remboursements se rapportant à des droits autres que les droits d'immatriculation proportionnelle, le transporteur ontarien doit soumettre une demande directement au bureau du territoire approprié.

Si un transporteur ontarien soumet une demande supplémentaire visant à supprimer un ou des véhicules d'un compte IRP ou demande une diminution du poids nominal brut d'un véhicule, le bureau du IRP traite la demande supplémentaire, ce qui engendre le crédit ou le remboursement suivant.

En Ontario

  • les droits d'immatriculation sont remboursés lors de la remise ou de l'annulation des plaques d'immatriculation proportionnelle; ou
  • la différence quant aux droits d'immatriculation est remboursée lors du traitement d'une diminution du poids nominal brut du véhicule.

Vous devez vous rendre chez un bureau du IRP pour obtenir l'un ou l'autre des remboursements ci-dessus. Le ministère des Transports émet directement aux transporteurs les remboursements quant à la partie ontarienne des droits seulement.

Autres territoires canadiens

  • un rapport de remboursement est produit et expédié par le bureau du IRP aux autres territoires canadiens où l'immatriculation proportionnelle était nécessaire. Ce rapport indique aux territoires tous les droits d'immatriculation à rembourser au transporteur. Les territoires traitent séparément les remboursements à effectuer (sous réserve de tous frais d'administration applicables) et les remettent directement aux transporteurs. Veuillez allouer six (6) semaines pour le traitement.

Territoires américains

  • les demandes de remboursement de droits d'immatriculation proportionnelle se rapportant à des territoires américains du IRP doivent se faire directement entre le transporteur ontarien et les territoires particuliers, conformément aux lois de ces derniers. Veuillez noter que la plupart des territoires américains ne remboursent pas, sauf en cas d'erreur dans le calcul de la facture initiale. (Le ministère des Transports fournira alors une confirmation écrite de l'erreur pour aider le transporteur à se faire rembourser.) Nous conseillons donc aux transporteurs de conserver leurs plaques jusqu'à ce qu'ils puissent les apposer à un nouveau véhicule venant s'ajouter au même parc, plutôt que de les retourner pour fins de crédit ou de remboursement. Il y aurait exception si la répartition proportionnelle du transporteur quant aux territoires canadiens était considérablement plus élevée que la répartition proportionnelle quant aux territoires américains, les territoires canadiens remboursant les droits.

Remboursements divers

  • Les transporteurs ontariens doivent demander directement au bureau du territoire approprié les remboursements quant à la taxe sur un véhicule, à la taxe d’accise, à la taxe ad valorem, etc.

  • Les transporteurs ontariens doivent demander directement au bureau du territoire approprié les remboursements quant aux frais d’administration ou à tous les autres frais divers.

  • Les remboursements de la taxe de vente harmonisée / taxe de vente au détail de l’Ontario doivent être demandés directement par le transporteur (voir l’Annexe C, page 60).

  • Aucun remboursement n’a été produit pour des taxes perçues par l’intermédiaire de la TMV. Tout crédit exigible concernant les taxes a été réservé et utilisé pour assumer toute autre taxe due.

Remboursement en Idaho

Les titulaires d'immatriculation qui immatriculent de façon proportionnelle un parc de véhicules pour l'exploiter en Idaho peuvent demander un remboursement auprès de l'Idaho si la distance moyenne par véhicule d'un parc est inférieure à 80 467 kilomètres ou 50 001 milles. Pour déterminer si on vous doit un remboursement, divisez la distance que parcourt le parc par le nombre de véhicules qu'il renferme. Si la moyenne est inférieure à 80 467 kilomètres ou 50 001 milles par véhicule, demandez une formule de remboursement auprès de la Revenue Operations Unit, Idaho Transportation Department, au (208) 334-8770.