The National Inspection Standard for Commercial Vehicles


Ontario has adopted the National Inspection Standard for annual, semi-annual and Safety Standards Certificate inspections for the following types of commercial vehicles:

  • Trucks*
  • Trailers*
  • Buses
  • Accessible Vehicles
  • School Purposes Vehicles

* (see weight restrictions below)

The National Standard applies to these commercial vehicle types as detailed below:

Annual Inspection and Safety Standards Certificate (SSC):

  • Trucks, trailers and converter dollies alone or in combination with a total gross weight, registered gross weight or manufacturer’s gross vehicle weight rating exceeding 4,500 kilograms (kg),

Annual Inspection, Semi-annual Inspection and Safety Standards Certificate:

  • Buses designed for 10 or more passengers excluding those with a manufacturer’s gross vehicle weight rating of 4,500 kg or less used exclusively for personal use,
  • Accessible vehicles modified to be used for the purpose of transporting persons with disabilities, excluding those used only for personal purposes, and
  • School purposes vehicles operating under contract with a school board or other authority in charge of a school being used for the transportation of six or more children or adults with a developmental disability.

Instead of inspecting these vehicles to the requirements of Schedules 1, 2 and 4 of the Highway Traffic Act Regulation 611 the change means vehicles must be inspected to the National Safety Code Standard 11 Part B “Periodic Commercial Motor Vehicle Inspection” (National Standard). The Canadian Council of Motor Transport Administrators (CCMTA) produces the National Safety Code Standard for use across Canada.

Effective Dates:

Starting July 1, 2011 the National Standard will take effect by Regulation. However, the ministry will provide a 24 month period during which industry can choose to inspect vehicles to the inspection requirements of Regulation 611 Schedules 1, 2 and 4, as they were in effect June 30, 2011, or they can inspect commercial vehicles to the requirements in the National Standard. For the 24 month transition period from July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2013, vehicles must meet all of the requirements of the chosen standard.

This transition period will allow motor vehicle inspection station licensees, mechanics and owners and operators to become familiar with and apply the new inspection criteria. The transition period will also allow vehicle owners to bring their vehicles up to the requirements of the National Standard.

Starting July 1, 2013 all annual, semi-annual and SSC inspections for the vehicles described above must be conducted to the National Standard.

What is Not Changing

It is important to note that all the current standards under the Highway Traffic Act that apply to commercial vehicles operating on a highway, including on-road inspections, will remain as existing. The changes outlined above only apply to the annual, semi-annual and SSC inspections.

Please see annual, semi-annual and safety standard certificate inspections for more information including:

  • Ontario Guidelines to the National Standard
  • Ontario Customizations to the National Standard
  • Frequently Asked Questions

Coming soon:

  • Mechanics’ Activities Lists
  • Comparison of current standards and the National Standard
  • Sample record keeping documents

Amended Regulations can be found at e-Laws:

La norme nationale pour les inspections de véhicules utilitaires


L'Ontario a adopté la norme nationale pour les inspections annuelles, semi-annuelles et relatives au certificat de sécurité por les types suivants de véhicules utilitaires :

  • Camions
  • Remorques*
  • Autobus
  • Véhicules accessibles
  • Véhicules à usage scolaire

* (voir les restrictions de poids ci-après)

La norme nationale s’applique à ces véhicules utilitaires de la façon suivante :

Inspection annuelle et Certificat de sécurité (CS) :

  • Camions, remorques et avant-trains à sellette utilisés seuls ou dans un ensemble de véhicules dont le poids brut total, le poids brut enregistré ou la catégorie de poids brut indiquée par le fabricant est supérieur à 4 500 kilogrammes (kg)

Inspection annuelle, inspection semi-annuelle et Certificat de sécurité :

  • Autobuss conçus pour le transport de dix passagers ou plus, à l’exclusion de ceux dont la catégorie de poids brut indiquée par le fabricant est de 4 500 kg ou moins et qui sont utilisés exclusivement à des fins personnelles
  • Véhicules accessibles qui ont été modifiés pour servir au transport de personnes handicapées, à l’exclusion de ceux utilisés uniquement à des fins personnelles
  • Véhicules à usage scolaire utilisés aux termes d’un contrat conclu avec un conseil scolaire ou une autre administration responsable d’une école et affectés au transport de six enfants ou adultes ou plus ayant une déficience intellectuelle.

Les modifications apportées font en sorte que, au lieu d’inspecter ces véhicules selon les exigences des annexes 1, 2 et 4 du Règlement 611 pris en application du Code de la route, il faut les inspecter en fonction de la norme 11, partie B, Inspection périodique des véhicules commerciaux, du Code canadien de sécurité (norme nationale). Le Conseil canadien des administrateurs en transport motorisé (CCATM) a rédigé la norme du Code canadien de sécurité, qui est utilisée partout au Canada.

Dates d'entrée en vigueur :

La norme nationale entrera en vigueur par voie de règlement le 1er juillet 2011. Toutefois, le ministère a prévu une période de 24 mois pendant laquelle les entreprises peuvent inspecter leurs véhicules selon les normes établies dans les annexes 1, 2 et 4 du Règlement 611 en vigueur le 30 juin 2011 ou selon la norme nationale. Pendant cette période de transition, qui s’étend du 1er juillet 2011 au 30 juin 2013, les véhicules doivent être conformes à toutes les exigences de la norme choisie.

La période de transition permettra aux titulaires d’un permis de centre d’inspection des véhicules automobiles, aux mécaniciens et aux propriétaires et utilisateurs de se familiariser avec les nouveaux critères d’inspection et de les appliquer. Elle permettra également aux propriétaires de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour rendre leurs véhicules conformes à la norme nationale.

À compter du 1er juillet 2013, toutes les inspections annuelles, semi-annuelles et relatives au CS des véhicules décrits ci-dessus doivent être effectuées conformément à la norme nationale.

Ce qui ne change pas

Il importe de préciser que toutes les normes actuelles du Code de la route s’appliquant aux véhicules utilitaires utilisés sur les routes, y compris celles régissant les inspections sur la route, sont inchangées. Les modifications mentionnées précédemment visent uniquement les inspections annuelles, semi-annuelles et relatives au CS.

Voir la page intitulée Inspections annuelles, semi-annuelles et relatives au Certificat de sécurité pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur ce qui suit :

  • Directives del'Ontario concernant la norme nationale
  • Adaptations de l'Ontario à la norme nationale
  • Foire aux questions

Prochainement :

  • Listes d’activités des mécaniciens
  • Comparaison des normes actuelles avec la norme nationale
  • Exemple de registres

On peut prendre connaissance des règlements modifiés sur le site Lois-en-ligne :