Status of 6X2 Drivetrains in Ontario Legislation

The Ontario Highway Traffic Act (HTA) and Regulation 413/05, Vehicle Weights and Dimensions for Safe, Productive, and Infrastructure-Friendly (SPIF) Vehicles, sets out the legislative framework and regulatory requirements for vehicle weights and dimensions measures in the province. Reg. 413/05 sets out a two-tier system of vehicle weights and dimensions. The first tier regulates SPIF compliant vehicles that may operate at the highest weights and dimensions. The lower-tier, non-SPIF (non-compliant) vehicles may also operate but, in some cases, at restricted axle weights and dimensions and at significantly reduced gross weights.

SPIF compliant tractor semitrailers and double-trailer combinations (compliant) are afforded allowable weights as set-out in the corresponding SPIF Schedules within Reg. 413/05, if Qualifying Pre-Conditions and Dimensional Criteria are met.

Non-SPIF tractor semitrailers and double-trailer combinations (non-compliant) are limited to axle weights and dimensions as set out within the HTA including: 14.65 metre (48 foot) long semitrailer length limits, 23 metre (75.5 foot) tractor double-trailer overall length limits, and 18.5 metre (60.7 foot) tractor double-trailer box length limits. These combinations are held to allowable gross weight limits as set out in Tables 32 and 33 of Regulation 413/05.

The 6x2 drivetrain on tandem axle truck-tractors only have one driven axle, as opposed to the more common 6x4 drivetrain, where both axles are driven by engine power. (Note: An axle capable of altering the weight transmitted to the highway is deemed a liftable axle and is considered non-compliant)

Compliant Non-Compliant
Tandem axles load equalize within 1000 kg, under all conditions of loading. Tandem axles fail to load equalize within 1000 kg, under all conditions of loading.
Tandem axle set does not include a lift axle. Tandem axle set includes a lift axle.
Tandem axles that are not equipped with load shifting (load biasing) traction-control technology. Tandem axles equipped with load shifting (load biasing) traction-control technology.
There are no driver controls within the cab that allow for the altering of weight transmitted to the highway surface between the tandem axles, or give the ability to lift its tires from contact with the highway surface. There are driver controls within the cab that allow for the altering of weight transmitted to the highway surface between the tandem axles, or give the ability to lift its tires from contact with the highway surface.

Recommended for you

Back to Top

Statut des transmissions 6X2 dans la législation ontarienne

Le Code de la route de l'Ontario et le Règlement 413/05, Poids et dimensions des véhicules - Véhicules sûrs, productifs et n’endommageant pas l'infrastructure (SPNPI), établissent le cadre législatif et les exigences réglementaires concernant les poids et les dimensions des véhicules dans la province. Le Règlement 413/05 définit un système à deux niveaux pour les poids et dimensions des véhicules. Le premier niveau régit les véhicules SPNPI pouvant rouler aux poids les plus lourds et aux dimensions maximales. Le deuxième niveau régit les véhicules qui ne sont pas SPNPI (non conformes); ceux ci peuvent également être utilisés, mais dans certains cas, leur charge sur essieu et leurs dimensions doivent être restreintes, et leur poids brut doit être réduit considérablement.

Les tracteurs semi remorques et trains doubles SPNPI (conformes) sont autorisés à rouler aux poids établis dans les annexes correspondantes du Règlement 413/05, pourvu qu'ils respectent les conditions préalables et les critères relatifs aux dimensions.

Les tracteurs semi remorques et trains doubles qui ne sont pas SPNPI (non conformes) sont limités aux charges sur essieu et aux dimensions prévues dans le Code de la route, c'est à dire une longueur de 14,65 mètres (48 pieds) pour les semi remorques, une longueur totale de 23 mètres (75,5 pieds) pour les tracteurs avec train double et une longueur de 18,5 mètres (60,7 pieds) pour les trains doubles. Ces combinaisons sont limitées aux poids bruts indiqués dans les tableaux 32 et 33 du Règlement 413/05.

La transmission 6x2 sur les véhicules tracteurs à essieu tandem a seulement un essieu rigide moteur, contrairement à la transmission 6x4, plus courante, dont les deux essieux sont entraînés par la puissance du moteur. (Remarque : Un essieu pouvant modifier le poids transmis à la route est jugé « relevable » et n'est pas SPNPI)

SPNPI Non SPNPI
Les essieux tandem égalisent la charge à 1 000 kilos près dans toutes les conditions de chargement. Les essieux tandem n'égalisent pas la charge à 1 000 kilos près dans toutes les conditions de chargement.
La structure de l'essieu tandem ne comprend pas d'essieu relevable. La structure de l'essieu tandem comprend un essieu relevable.
Les essieux tandem ne sont pas équipés d'une technologie de contrôle de traction pour le déplacement de la charge. Les essieux tandem sont équipés d'une technologie de contrôle de traction pour le déplacement de la charge.
Il n'y a pas de commandes à l'intérieur de la cabine permettant de modifier le poids transmis à la surface de la route entre les essieux tandem, ou de lever les roues pour alléger le poids transmis à la route. Il y a des commandes à l'intérieur de la cabine permettant de modifier le poids transmis à la surface de la route entre les essieux tandem, ou de lever les roues pour alléger le poids transmis à la route.

Recommandé pour vous

Retour en haut de page